Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Foxholme Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Foxholme Caravan Park > Reviews

Foxholme Caravan Park
Harome
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 7SD
Tel: 01439 772336
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Humble 1 review from this member

 If you're looking for peace, quiet, and tranquillity, then Foxholme is the place to be.

There is plenty of wildlife around, including hedgehogs, deer, rabbits, squirrels, hares, and a variety of birds, including pheasants, owls and oystercatchers, which visit in the summer.

It's situated in a beautiful setting with woodland walks and a dog field, where they can have a run around, 3 miles from Helmsley and Kirkbymoorside, 10 miles from Pickering, with wonderful views of the Yorkshire moors.

There are lots of places to visit around and about and plenty of eating places which allow dogs. It is about an hours drive from the coasts of Scarborough, Whitby, Bridlington too. There are also a few local pub/restaurants within half an hours walk.

The toilet and shower block has now been renovated to a very high standard.

Dave, the manager, is a pleasant, friendly man who always greets you with a smile and takes great care of the site. There are seasonal and touring pitches, too.

I highly recommend this adult only site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 20 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yorkie Paul 1 review from this member

 After reading the reviews on this site I would like to put my views forward.

I have been a seasonal caravaner on this site for many years now. So to start the shower / toilet block /laundry and campers pot wash was totally re-built in 2023 so dated itís definitely not they are extremely clean and comfortable.

The site is maintained to the highest standards if peace and quiet is what you are after with a central location to local market towns and surrounding attractions then this is the place for you.

Located at the bottom of The North York Moors with its many walks and picturesque villages just a few miles out of Helmsley within a short drive to the many popular costal towns of the East Coast 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Athena 9 reviews from this member

 We recently booked for a two night stay at this site unfortunately we left after one night.

Most of the pitches are seasonal/sited caravans. There is a field that had some serviced grass pitches that Iím guessing theyíd prefer you to use. There didnít seem to be any taps on any pitches we had to go looking for water. There is no grey waste disposal we had to use chemical disposal point. The facilities are diabolical! Extremely run down and dirty. The worst Iíve seen. We paid £35 per night, definitely not cheap.

Itís a very quiet site during the night, during the day we had constant barking dogs and the farmer shooting goodness knows what continually and very close to the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Southern contingent 5 reviews from this member

 We chose to stay at this site because of very favourable reviews from earlier in the year.

However, although the site was quiet, being adults only, there were so many dogs it was like being at Crufts - and not all owners used the dog field and from time to time you had to mind where you were walking!. Also, there was no grey-water disposal facility - one had to use the drinking water areas, which some dog owners used to clean off their muddy dogs.

The facilities block was very grubby and not in great shape. On top of that, one felt slightly peeved that there was a notice saying that if one didn't like the state of the sinks, then use the sponges to clean them!

The caravan-owner parked alongside us warned that the electricity supply is only 6 amp so to be careful how we used it - the warden hadn't advised us about this. It didn't affect us, but one does need to know.

The campsite is well placed for travelling to places by car/bike, but not particularly handy for walking to the village, especially as we found the road quite busy and we had to keep hopping into the verge. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chalky9 39 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 nights here over a Bank Holiday weekend, though you'd hardly know it was a holiday as the place was delightfully quiet. This is due partly to it being an adults-only site and partly the fact that the vast majority of units in the main area are seasonal or permanently sited caravans.

We found the facilities more than adequate and the location is ideal for exploring the nearby moors. Our only disappointment was the lack of walks in the immediate vicinity.

We had an excellent meal in the Plough at Wombleton and another at Gepetto's Italian Restaurant in Helmsley. Scotts supposedly renowned Fish and Chip restaurant was, however, a bit of a letdown. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CWild 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful campsite. Facilities were clean. Friendly owners but not intrusive. No kids so blissfully quiet. Our dog loved the field to run around in. Short walk to village for a pint, not dog friendly but could have eaten outside if we chose.

Only bad point was finding it as neither the address postcode nor the postcode for satnav were for the site itself but we got there :)

Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Haisman 4 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site - plenty of room, flat - quite rare on many camp-sites, peaceful and perfectly located if you like walking - North York Moors and Coast nearby. We had an evening meal in the Plough in Wombleton and were very impressed.

There is an excellent deli (Hunters) in Helmsley if you feel indulgent - we had some delicious sandwiches and pies during our stay. All round a great experience - particularly enjoyable if you like a child free environment to relax in. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lmalcolm 1 review from this member

 Just got back from 5 nights at this lovely site. Like previous reviews have said, this is a peaceful site which for a bank holiday weekend is pretty rare. They don't pack people in like some sites and being in the the huge camping field with so few other tents/ caravans it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Warden very friendly too.

Yes the pigeons and cockerel do make for an early rise but bring earplugs and you'll be fine.

Plenty of toilets, showers etc. Infact I never saw more than 2 people in the ladies block. The block could do with updating but not a big issue.

We walked to The Star in Harome twice. Takes about 25 mins. Its a gorgeous cosy pub with an award winning restaurant although we didn't eat there. Food not cheap but looked delicious. One night we walked in the opposite direction (about 30 mins) to The Plough at Wombleton. Again, a really great pub with excellent service. Food was delicious.

Plenty of things to see in the area but we just didn't have time to do it any justice! Rievaulx Abbey definitely worth a visit.

We shall definitely be returning to this site, highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 112 reviews from this member

 I guess this review will repeat a lot of other users' comments but here goes:

For

Really quiet rural situation but with plenty to see - Helmsley, Castle Howard, Nunnington Hall are all nearby or within good, flat walking distance.

Excellent local food at The Star & Pheasant in nearby Harome but remember, quality isn't cheap. There's a Chip Shop & Takeaway curry place in Nawton too.

The site has plenty of space & shade with good staff.

Cons

The toilet & washing facilities are all a bit dated, even if clean.

With a lot of permanent caravans, many of the best spaces are taken.

There can be a lot of dogs, especially if you're near the dog field.

Overall, a good site though, we'd go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adventurer 1 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a very peaceful weekend at this site, The warden was very helpful pointing out places of interest etc.

The site is well maintained and toilet block is clean but dated (would be nice if a bucket and mop were available to clean shower out after use)

If you are looking for a relaxing break it is ideal.

Fish and chip van on site Friday evening ( to early for us 16:30 hrs) we used the one in the village a mile from site (very nice) also nice pub.

To conclude:- Impressed and we will return. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Foxholme Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Foxholme Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Foxholme Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helmsley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4517 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement