Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Foxholme Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Foxholme Caravan Park Reviews

Foxholme Caravan Park
Harome
Helmsley
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO62 7SD
Tel: 01439 772336
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Southern contingent 5 reviews from this member

 We chose to stay at this site because of very favourable reviews from earlier in the year.

However, although the site was quiet, being adults only, there were so many dogs it was like being at Crufts - and not all owners used the dog field and from time to time you had to mind where you were walking!. Also, there was no grey-water disposal facility - one had to use the drinking water areas, which some dog owners used to clean off their muddy dogs.

The facilities block was very grubby and not in great shape. On top of that, one felt slightly peeved that there was a notice saying that if one didn't like the state of the sinks, then use the sponges to clean them!

The caravan-owner parked alongside us warned that the electricity supply is only 6 amp so to be careful how we used it - the warden hadn't advised us about this. It didn't affect us, but one does need to know.

The campsite is well placed for travelling to places by car/bike, but not particularly handy for walking to the village, especially as we found the road quite busy and we had to keep hopping into the verge. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chalky9 30 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 nights here over a Bank Holiday weekend, though you'd hardly know it was a holiday as the place was delightfully quiet. This is due partly to it being an adults-only site and partly the fact that the vast majority of units in the main area are seasonal or permanently sited caravans.

We found the facilities more than adequate and the location is ideal for exploring the nearby moors. Our only disappointment was the lack of walks in the immediate vicinity.

We had an excellent meal in the Plough at Wombleton and another at Gepetto's Italian Restaurant in Helmsley. Scotts supposedly renowned Fish and Chip restaurant was, however, a bit of a letdown. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CWild 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful campsite. Facilities were clean. Friendly owners but not intrusive. No kids so blissfully quiet. Our dog loved the field to run around in. Short walk to village for a pint, not dog friendly but could have eaten outside if we chose.

Only bad point was finding it as neither the address postcode nor the postcode for satnav were for the site itself but we got there :)

Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Haisman 4 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site - plenty of room, flat - quite rare on many camp-sites, peaceful and perfectly located if you like walking - North York Moors and Coast nearby. We had an evening meal in the Plough in Wombleton and were very impressed.

There is an excellent deli (Hunters) in Helmsley if you feel indulgent - we had some delicious sandwiches and pies during our stay. All round a great experience - particularly enjoyable if you like a child free environment to relax in. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lmalcolm 1 review from this member

 Just got back from 5 nights at this lovely site. Like previous reviews have said, this is a peaceful site which for a bank holiday weekend is pretty rare. They don't pack people in like some sites and being in the the huge camping field with so few other tents/ caravans it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Warden very friendly too.

Yes the pigeons and cockerel do make for an early rise but bring earplugs and you'll be fine.

Plenty of toilets, showers etc. Infact I never saw more than 2 people in the ladies block. The block could do with updating but not a big issue.

We walked to The Star in Harome twice. Takes about 25 mins. Its a gorgeous cosy pub with an award winning restaurant although we didn't eat there. Food not cheap but looked delicious. One night we walked in the opposite direction (about 30 mins) to The Plough at Wombleton. Again, a really great pub with excellent service. Food was delicious.

Plenty of things to see in the area but we just didn't have time to do it any justice! Rievaulx Abbey definitely worth a visit.

We shall definitely be returning to this site, highly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 89 reviews from this member

 I guess this review will repeat a lot of other users' comments but here goes:

For

Really quiet rural situation but with plenty to see - Helmsley, Castle Howard, Nunnington Hall are all nearby or within good, flat walking distance.

Excellent local food at The Star & Pheasant in nearby Harome but remember, quality isn't cheap. There's a Chip Shop & Takeaway curry place in Nawton too.

The site has plenty of space & shade with good staff.

Cons

The toilet & washing facilities are all a bit dated, even if clean.

With a lot of permanent caravans, many of the best spaces are taken.

There can be a lot of dogs, especially if you're near the dog field.

Overall, a good site though, we'd go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adventurer 1 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a very peaceful weekend at this site, The warden was very helpful pointing out places of interest etc.

The site is well maintained and toilet block is clean but dated (would be nice if a bucket and mop were available to clean shower out after use)

If you are looking for a relaxing break it is ideal.

Fish and chip van on site Friday evening ( to early for us 16:30 hrs) we used the one in the village a mile from site (very nice) also nice pub.

To conclude:- Impressed and we will return. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Voncy 3 reviews from this member

 Similar to previous reviews, water very hot nice and clean. Facilities a bit dated but clean with soap provided and plenty of loo roll. 3 showers and 4 cubicles could do with more hooks hair dryer provided free of charge. Warden really helpful and keeps and eye on the site at all times if any problems these are sorted out straight away. No shop on site would be nice for basics and newspapers. But need a bird of prey to cull the vast amount of pigeons on the site which were making a noise all the time non stop. Other than that had a great time here but not much sleep. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hallkerr 4 reviews from this member

 This is a pleasant, peaceful site. I agree the toilet block is dated but is still very clean so didn't bother us. The site is dog friendly and it's nice not to be treat like a second class citizen for having a dog with us as most sites do.

There aren't many places to visit on foot but it's only a 5 min drive into Helmsley.

We had a curry from the restaurant down the road one night, which I wouldn't advise to go to.

I will be visiting this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Haysam69 1 review from this member

 Visited this site for our first adventure in our new tent and could not ask for more. Yes there are a lot of residential caravans but everyone is friendly and the site is spotless. Toilets are clean and loads of hot water for showers and dish wash area. The warden was friendly and helpful. The site is a good point to tour from as there are plenty of places to go some nice country pubs in the area and the Indian restaurant and the end of the road is superb, would use this site again. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Foxholme Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Foxholme Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Foxholme Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helmsley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4070 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement