Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Huntly Castle Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Huntly > Huntly Castle Caravan Park Reviews

Huntly Castle Caravan Park
The Meadows
Huntly
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB54 4UJ
Tel: 01466 794999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
                8/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: FindlayMac 10 reviews from this member

 We intended to stay at Aberlour on Speyside but unfortunately it was pouring of rain so decided to head over the Cabrach to Rhynie then onto Huntly. So we stayed at Huntly castle Caravan Park.

Absolutely beautiful and very friendly and accommodating with lovely Wardens and very safe and adherence to all the current guidelines regarding Coronavirus.

Felt very safe in this Site and so wished we could have stayed for much longer but without a doubt we would definitely return to Huntly.

A very nice site and Huntly is a very friendly town and it was a pleasure to return as loved going to Huntly when I was a teenager to stay with Family Friends at Clinkstone Farm, Drumblade.

Some beautiful walks from all around the site and in no time you are in the Town Centre. We certainly supported the local shops, Forbes Raeburn (1st Class Butchers) Sinclairs of Rhynie (Bakers) Esson of Huntly and also purchased goods from all the Charity Shops.

A great stay and always happy to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Delzer 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely site facilities were still closed due to the lock down so can’t comment. Thought a wee bit pricey having to use our own facilities. Well kept site wardens and workers lovely people.

Excellent walks for dogs and a short walk into town and Tesco. We were in the adult site great pitches.

Only problem was the 10amp on the pitch but we were warned about this when we checked in.

Seemed to be areas for the younger children to play but was very quiet while we were there.

Lovely river at back of campsite as well. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nightowl06 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site well looked after. Grass kept short, made welcome by owners.

Loved the adult site.

Showers/toilets very good.

Quite location in a small town.

Would recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Trev.jones 8 reviews from this member

 Second time at this site that is laid out nicely in small areas with tree surroundings and own facilities block; unfortunately ours wasn’t open except chemical waste and washing-up.

Our area had about 16 pitches but most were vacant mid-week; some pitches appear to have fresh water and grey disposal. MH “drive-over” grey disposal behind office is curious and looks like a normal, albeit large, surface drain; fresh MH water is also behind the office but the fresh/waste in the area we were in are very accessible to MHs.

Site staff were friendly and very helpful.

Nice short walks from site along river and to the castle. Tescos and town also a short walk away. Other large supermarkets are also in town but a drive away from the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marjsim 3 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights here beautiful location great facilities and friendly staff. We opted for a spot in the adults only area which would have been perfect apart from the fact that we backed onto a rather loud group with children. Select your space carefully and enjoy the peace and quiet. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Renwickv 2 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 great nights at this lovely site where the staff were excellent. The park is well laid out and there is lots of nice walks.

The park is well organised with an area which is for those with no kids which is good although even with a few kids there was no hassle and noise was minimal. Looking forward to going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Udny24 6 reviews from this member

 Very pleased with our visit to this caravan site. Woman on the phone when I booked was very efficient. Toilets very clean, obviously cleaned every day. Must say staff seem very hard working. Lots of lovely walks along the river and very easy walk into Huntly itself. Well worth a visit! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pauls14 3 reviews from this member

 Visited here for the second time. First visit about 4 years ago in a tent. Visited this time in our folding camper and not disappointed. Good friendly welcome too. Well kept site too. Well looked after. Heated toilet blocks even though one block was out of order. Children's play area and dish washing facilities and not far into Huntly itself. Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Ficklejade 9 reviews from this member

 Just back from this site. First, need to say we'd taken the static for three nights because we were providing safety coverage on an event on the Saturday so we weren't on holiday.

The static we had was Spey, a six berth comprising a double e/s; two twins with separate shower and w/c; open plan kitchen/dining area/lounge. It was spotless and (unusually) all you needed in terms of glasses, crocks, cutlery and food preparation equipment was there. Complimentary sachets of milk, tea and coffee available. Complimentary toiletries in the shower rooms but no additional loo roll, so bring your own supplies. Bed linen provided but not towels and bring your own tea towels, as well. Usual cooker top and oven plus microwave and large fridge/freezer, discreetly hidden as part of a cupboard and a good heating system. Heaters in bedrooms are adjustable, too. There is decking to front and main (side) entrance.

There is a separate fire to the living room area and tv with Sky and Freeview. Unfortunately, the gentleman showing my colleagues

My colleagues arrived early and had to wait a wee while but that waiting time was well served as my colleague had to remove his orange safety light unit array from the roof of his vehicle 'because it would be seen as being commercial'. I checked in around 5pm and was courteously given directions to the static van, but the initial staff member I spoke to wasn't welcoming though her colleague was very helpful.

Being a tenter, I did try to suss out a bit about the camping area, which was empty. Flat and level with views to Huntly Castle and a very good facilities block. I asked if there was a discount for single campers - the receptionist didn't know.

It's a lovely site in a good location with a lot of different things to do/ places to visit (see other reviews and from my own knowledge of the area)

UPDATE: I wish to add to my review above regarding the visit. I was unaware at the time that my friends who had made the booking for the Spey static had been asked on arrival for £75 deposit against damages; this requirement had not been made known to them when booking. Fair enough, a deposit against damages is common enough. What has now transpired, though, is that the site will not return that deposit because "it took them all day to get rid of the smell of smoke". Whilst there were two smokers in the party, at no time did they smoke inside the unit but outside and they had their own ashtrays which were sealable so no smells could escape. When our party left, the unit was spotless, carpets hoovered, tile floors washed; loos and shower cleaned and wiped down as were all other surfaces, other surfaces dusted and beds stripped with used linen neatly piled up. The excuse for failing to return the deposit is not acceptable and none of us will be returning to the site.  


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TomMac 27 reviews from this member

 Huntly is a really nice large village, it has a large ASDA and Tesco and a magnificent Castle within walking distance from the site. Fantastic shower/toilet blocks, could see three. Laundry. Huge camping grassed area. Separate touring areas. No privacy between pitches. Sat outside and fed the very friendly crows. Very friendly wardens. We went on The Whiskey Line train from Keith to the nearby Whiskey distilleries on an old 1960s (?) train. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Huntly Castle Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Huntly Castle Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Huntly Castle Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Huntly      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2100 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement