Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Kielder Village Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Kielder > Kielder Village Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Kielder Village Caravan And Camping Site
Kielder Campsite
Kielder
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 1EJ
Tel: 01434 239257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 04/07/2020 to 28/10/2020
           27/03/2021 to 28/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 83 Reviews
                9/10 from 83 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mushroom72 2 reviews from this member

 We loved our stay at this campsite. Itís in a beautiful area. The manager is helpful and friendly. He told us to pick our own pitch. Due to the rainfall the ground was extremely soft and by the end of our stay it was very muddy.

It is naturally a wet site though due to itís situation near the river. This also brings the midges! I had taken citronella candles and incense burners plus spray after reading reviews.

It helped a bit but we still got bitten. The facilities are excellent. The showers were lovely and hot - I never had to wait and the site did get busy.

There was a laundry which I used - you get the tokens from reception. There was a covered area for cooking if you didnít have room in your tent. Usual washing up area.

A small playground on the site too. Everything you would need really. We went to the pub just a short walk from the site on the first night. I thought there was a good choice of menu and we enjoyed our meal.

The area is really popular with mountain bikers and there is a bike hire place in the village. We had some lovely walks in the area. We went to the Birds of Prey Centre at Leapfish which is well worth a visit. Your ticket is for all day so you can go in and out as many times as you like.

We visited Hadrianís wall sites which are not too far away. Alnwick castle was about 90minutes away - expensive but a full day out which we really enjoyed. There is no WiFi at all so I suggest you do all your planning of places to visit before you go.

The nearest shops are in Bellingham (17 miles away). The site is remote and you do have to travel to get to anything but on a clear night the sky is amazing and well worth it even with the pesky midges! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susyat 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with friendly enthusiastic warden. Stunning scenery great location but beware of the mosquitoes, !

Would definitely revisit 👍

Unfortunately the local pub was closed when we visited but only 5 mins away, 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Seasidenana 7 reviews from this member

 A lovely peaceful site. The toilet and shower block brilliant ! The very best camp website we have come across, loads of helpful information in amusing style.

We took our bikes to the lake and rode part of the south shore. As a disabled rider note the path is wide, accessible, but prepare for some steep sections.

There are toilets located at car parks along the route and a decent cafe and bar at Leeaplish. The pub has decent beer, food is not home cooked unfortunately. Observatory is really good, needs pre booking.

We didnít encounter midges as it was October. No mobile signal and Wi-fi only by reception. We found wifi and signal at Leaplish. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nmwright1974 1 review from this member

 Excellent facilities. Great showers. Steve the Manager was very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay any better. A credit to the campsite. We will definitely be going back.

This is a Child friendly peaceful campsite.

Don't worry if you forget your Midge repellent Steve has a great stock to keep the beasties at bay. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 566 reviews from this member

 Excellent stay at the Anglers in Kielder village.

Excellent base for cycling. We did the lap of the reservoir.

Bike hire is 5 minute walk away.

Excellent food and a warm welcomed in the pub. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neil684 35 reviews from this member

 A great location near the Kielder Visitor Centre with dog-friendly pub and cafť. The site is flat with plenty of hardstandings - very necessary as the grass areas were extremely soft. The facilities were excellent, lovely and warm, a real bonus at this time of year.

The warden was very friendly and helpful so overall we had a lovely three days.

One point, with the closure of the only other campsite, Leaplish, this site will probably become oversubscribed so book early. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Des1603 4 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyable site, Midge season had just finished, the only internet was at the local pub.

Booked the day before arriving, as it is one of the sites open in October, long drive past beautiful the scenery of the Kielder Lake and forest, but well worth it.

Easy walk to the forest area and to the local pub and shop. If we were stopping longer we would have taken the bycycles.

Not far from the Keilder Observatory, however the night sky from the site (clouds permitting) is fantastic.

Only a short hop up the road into Scotland and back to internet land again.

During the Midge season there are Midges, however there are Midge reduction systems on site so although controlled they are still here but in reduced numbers.

Well worth another visit next year 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Creelo 3 reviews from this member

 Greeted by the most friendly and helpful warden, couldn't do enough a real credit, we were able to pick our pitch which we did, but it wouldn't have mattered as all pitches were good and really spacious.

The campsite was immaculate the shower / toilet block was spotless with endless hot water, the camp is the ideal place to get away from it all, so peaceful and tranquil, with endless walks for our dogs, the local pub was a 2 min walk through campsite next to the stream, where they served really nice meals all day, the staff were friendly and welcoming.

In all couldn't fault our stay it was so peaceful would without a doubt return here and recommend if you want a quiet place to stay

Only one thing to fault that's the midges on an evening but that can't be helped and in the camps situation only to be expected 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Summersmum 27 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome from the warden on arrival who explained where everything was. Easy to book online. Plenty of hard standings for non tent campers, well spaced out. Great to be in middle of the forest especially as midges hadn't arrived yet! Walks in all directions plus bike rides. We enjoyed finding Okey Doke in the forest as it brought back memories now our kids are at Uni ! You can go Gruffalo hunting too if your kids are younger.

Wifi works well outside office. If you are in line of sight it even works further away. No mobile reception but wifi calling works ok.

Easy to exercise your dog off the site though one owner let their dog poo outside our campervan! Maybe site needs a sign for those daft owners!

Lovely toilet block with rain showers i. E. The type of shower head not the weather ! All very clean. One shower has very limited space in the ladies so avoid that one if you can. Easy walk to pub though we didn't enjoy our meal there. Microwave well used by the cook ! Landlord very welcoming though and happy for you to bring your dogs in.

Close to Kielder observatory so great if you have booked an event there. Didn't get back till 11. 45pm so was conscious that it was hard not to disturb others but there is no restriction on when you come and go from campsite.

I'm sure we will be back again. Can't see on website when campsite opens and closes though for season. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lukeledge 20 reviews from this member

 Bank holiday weekend on the site, warden said it was fully booked but it still seemed quite relaxed and not overcrowded, it is in a really nice spot and an easy walk to pub and wee shop.

Lots of walks and bike rides from the site.

Toilet facilities very good and kept clean. Excellent reception from the warden - would stay again. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kielder Village Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Kielder Village Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kielder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2048 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December