Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kielder Village Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Kielder > Kielder Village Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Kielder Village Caravan And Camping Site
Kielder Campsite
Kielder
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 1EJ
Tel: 01434 239257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 75
Open: 27/03/2024 to 28/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 87 Reviews
                9/10 from 87 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mieko74 2 reviews from this member

 Having stayed here a few year back we returned to find litlle had changed. Pleasant enough campsite. The nice bloken in charge of the site warned us about a fox that was running off with people bags and boxes, didn't see that but we had some sort or mouse/rodent coming from the forest (I followed the trail in the grass back) and chewing holes in our tent. Nothing else taken and thankfully it was an old 2nd hand one so not that worried.

Absolutely no free WiFi signal, I believe there is meant to be a free BT one but the number of people loitering round the reception with disappointed facial expressions proved they couldn't get one either.

There's a BT one you have to pay for, multiple security password protected ones for the observation hut that is available halfway down the site but inaccessible. Had absolutely no phone signal either but we're here for the nature and go offline, but try and explain that to the kids 🤣

Thankfully the Anglers Arms does have free WiFi, some reasonable ales and okay pub grub (much improved since last we came). So if you have device addicted children it's a bit of a godsend I'd suppose.

Great walks around the area and you hardly see anyone on them. Midges were not a problem just have a fire going they keep away pretty much.

I'd say that the toilet block is a bit tired and needs a bit of an update. Why sinks are directly opposite the urinals in the blokes is beyond me. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: John R Kaye 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent location, good facilities, big pitches, great for walking (and biking), great views from local viewpoints.

Steve is a great host (albeit a bit blunt (in a nice way)) but great for his knowledge of the local area and very helpful. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Myusef 1 review from this member

 Site is quiet, well kept and close to many forest and lakeside trails. The facilities are good and well maintained.

The site manager (Steve) is excellent: friendly, helpful and with loads of advice about the local area.

There is a pub just beyond the lower end of the site, that does meals. Some dishes are cooked from scratch in house. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 641 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site in Kielder Forest, a short walk from Kielder village.

The site is in a lovely woodland setting and everything is nicely spaced out. Friendly warden and good facilities. Short walk to Anglers Arms and Kielder castle.

The site is an excellent base for walking, cycling and watersports.

Great site! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mushroom72 2 reviews from this member

 We loved our stay at this campsite. Itís in a beautiful area. The manager is helpful and friendly. He told us to pick our own pitch. Due to the rainfall the ground was extremely soft and by the end of our stay it was very muddy.

It is naturally a wet site though due to itís situation near the river. This also brings the midges! I had taken citronella candles and incense burners plus spray after reading reviews.

It helped a bit but we still got bitten. The facilities are excellent. The showers were lovely and hot - I never had to wait and the site did get busy.

There was a laundry which I used - you get the tokens from reception. There was a covered area for cooking if you didnít have room in your tent. Usual washing up area.

A small playground on the site too. Everything you would need really. We went to the pub just a short walk from the site on the first night. I thought there was a good choice of menu and we enjoyed our meal.

The area is really popular with mountain bikers and there is a bike hire place in the village. We had some lovely walks in the area. We went to the Birds of Prey Centre at Leapfish which is well worth a visit. Your ticket is for all day so you can go in and out as many times as you like.

We visited Hadrianís wall sites which are not too far away. Alnwick castle was about 90minutes away - expensive but a full day out which we really enjoyed. There is no WiFi at all so I suggest you do all your planning of places to visit before you go.

The nearest shops are in Bellingham (17 miles away). The site is remote and you do have to travel to get to anything but on a clear night the sky is amazing and well worth it even with the pesky midges! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susyat 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with friendly enthusiastic warden. Stunning scenery great location but beware of the mosquitoes, !

Would definitely revisit 👍

Unfortunately the local pub was closed when we visited but only 5 mins away, 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Seasidenana 9 reviews from this member

 A lovely peaceful site. The toilet and shower block brilliant ! The very best camp website we have come across, loads of helpful information in amusing style.

We took our bikes to the lake and rode part of the south shore. As a disabled rider note the path is wide, accessible, but prepare for some steep sections.

There are toilets located at car parks along the route and a decent cafe and bar at Leeaplish. The pub has decent beer, food is not home cooked unfortunately. Observatory is really good, needs pre booking.

We didnít encounter midges as it was October. No mobile signal and Wi-fi only by reception. We found wifi and signal at Leaplish. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nmwright1974 1 review from this member

 Excellent facilities. Great showers. Steve the Manager was very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay any better. A credit to the campsite. We will definitely be going back.

This is a Child friendly peaceful campsite.

Don't worry if you forget your Midge repellent Steve has a great stock to keep the beasties at bay. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 641 reviews from this member

 Excellent stay at the Anglers in Kielder village.

Excellent base for cycling. We did the lap of the reservoir.

Bike hire is 5 minute walk away.

Excellent food and a warm welcomed in the pub. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neil684 37 reviews from this member

 A great location near the Kielder Visitor Centre with dog-friendly pub and cafť. The site is flat with plenty of hardstandings - very necessary as the grass areas were extremely soft. The facilities were excellent, lovely and warm, a real bonus at this time of year.

The warden was very friendly and helpful so overall we had a lovely three days.

One point, with the closure of the only other campsite, Leaplish, this site will probably become oversubscribed so book early. 


Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Kielder Village Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kielder Village Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kielder Village Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kielder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3996 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement