Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor House Farm Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Manor House Farm Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Manor House Farm Caravan Park And Campsite
Summerbridge
Harrogate
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG3 4JS
Tel: 01423 780322  or  07723 324504
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 20 Reviews
                7/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cockerspadgers 47 reviews from this member

 Just had 3 weekends at this fantastic site. Previous reviews had negative comments but as there were no recent ones we thought wed give it a try for one weekend but ended up returning for three.

The owner was very friendly as were all the other campers. The facilities were ok if a little dated, always clean & we never had to queue.

However apart from clean toilets, its the location which is important to us when choosing a site & this site is in a fabulous area with lots of beautiful walks on the doorstep. We braved the stepping stones and enjoyed a great stroll to the neighbouring villages and also to Pateley Bridge.

I think the owners have relaxed some of their rules now as our dog Harry was made very welcome despite the site sign clearly stating no dogs.

We enjoyed our stays so much we are looking to stay for longer next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gemma77 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights, we were one of only 2 tents in the field which was great in August. The field is on a slight slope so we chose the side which was flattest, however we learned the side nearest the track gets the sun in the evening so would camp there if we went again. The field is well drained, we had heavy rain for 2 days but it didn't get waterlogged. The toilets were fine if rough, I imagine they get very busy with queues if the field is full as there are only 2 showers each for ladies and gents. Hot water was plentiful. It would be nice if there was a climbing frame or slide in the field for the kids but I think the site prefers adults, as the owner asked my kids to keep it down before 9pm when they were looking at the horses in the top field. I really liked the site, however I did have one big issue. The site advertises itself as 'no dogs' which was great for us as we are not doggy people. However the owners dogs ran into our field several times unsupervised (the farmhouse is just round the corner) and pooed right next to our tent. With 3 kids running around this was awful. The owner did see them do this at one point and came and picked it up but there were several times no one came and picked up. I have to be honest and say this has put me off from returning.

The surrounding area is amazing, brimham rocks, newby hall, stump cross caverns, lightwater valley, pateley bridge, all great fun.

The price at 20 per night was ok, but I have stayed on sites with play areas, family bathrooms, shops etc for not much more. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinkloz66 5 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site many times and fully enjoy ourselves every time.

The toilet and shower facilities are adequate but could do with a bit of updating.

The campsite itself is amazing, the views and the walks.

However this time we had pitched our tent on Friday enjoying the view down the field and watching children from other tents playing ball games then, a family group came and pitched two large tents in the middle of the field spoiling our view. Common sense comes to mind.

Other than that lovely owner who always comes for a chat and asks how your day has been. Will be definitely coming again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Theparkins 3 reviews from this member

 We booked this as it was the only site available for the bank holiday weekend and didn't expect much due to the past reviews.

We were a bit confused when we arrived - no signs at the entrance telling us where to go so we abandoned the trailer and walked up to the farmhouse.

The woman at the farm showed us a couple of pitches and let us choose.

We were able to stay for 2 nights (unusual for a bank holiday) and there were no exit times either.

Water was hot at all times of day and night and we had no problems with the electricity either.

All in all, not a bad campsite, a bit rough round the edges but we would come back, not for any longer than a weekend though. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Outdoorytypegirl 8 reviews from this member

 Me and my 14yr old son stayed just the one night to test out a new tent & was really happy with the site, large flat grassed area which is well drained too even though it rained heavily in the night, & nicely sheltered surrounded by tree's.

The showers & toilets are basic but clean, plenty of hot water for showers.

A walk through a field leads you to the river with stepping stones across it, with all the recent rain the river woz quite high & flowing pretty fast, . But am a brave girl & risked it & stayed dry. Couldn't say the same for my son :-).

Once across you can turn either left or right for a nice walk.

It really is a nice area & would definitely be returning.

My only gripes really are that when I phoned the night before the last thing the lady said was 'oh & no dogs'. Which I thought fair enough so left her at home, but when I turned up I spotted many a pooch taking their owners for walks. Passed it off with must be the regulars in their caravans, . But then a tent turned up with two dogs! So check before you go.

I thought 7. 50 is reasonable for each adult, but to be charged that for a child was a bit steep, other than that look forward to spending a couple of nights to explore the area a bit more.

Visited Ripley castle & gardens, the tour guide very informative & quite humorous. 8. 50 for adults, kids are free during august, which I must admit would have begrudged paying for children. Disappointing for the so called deer park, . Yes there are deer but penned in a couple of fields away, . Take binos. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhodesmi 1 review from this member

 Agree with all the comments on here. You don't have to pay for the showers any more and we never had any issues with hot water, the toilets, basic yet very clean and functional. No problems a very relaxed campsite.

My only advice would be to perhaps negotiate a price with the owner beforehand - I think they are open to 'offers' from what I have heard. I didn't and paid 20 a night for a tent (no electric) where some Caravans pay 100 a month! But I knew that was the price before booking so no harm done. You can always ask they can only say no. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeepersdevrose 1 review from this member

 A really perfect camping field, nice and flat with tall trees around for shade or shelter, unfortunately no electricity - but heck - we are campers!

I visited local towns but people who stayed in the area said there was some beautiful walks. Price was reasonable, I paid 45 for 3 nights 1 adult and 2 children, which was good.

The toilet and facilities block was very basic but clean. Although as in the other reviews, absolutely no hot water (when we tried to use it) we had to boil a kettle on our gas stove then carry it up to the washing up area, maybe if we had tried earlier? It was a bit of a talking point on the site so it is definitely the 'norm'.

Would I go again? Yes, I think so it was in a nice area, owner seemed nice and not too keen to take your money and you could choose where you wanted to pitch your tent, there is quite a lot to do around and about without driving too far, and the stepping stones were supposed to be a fun place to visit.

Brimham Rocks was nearby and a good day out, free apart from 4 carpark charge. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redfred237 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location close to the river Nidd which is accessible from the site.

There are some stepping stones across the river and the kids enjoyed playing about on them. The river is not deep or wide but parts of it are fast moving so small children would have to be watched.

There was plenty of space for tents with two fields to chose from, although this may have been due to cancellations because of the weather.

Facilities were basic but usually clean with with 2 showers for men and 2 for ladies. There is however a problem with the hot water, there isn't any after 7am. Out of 8 people in our group only 3 of us got a hot shower. There is also confusion as to whether or not you pay 20p for them, with some of the static owners saying they were free.

Shops and pubs are nearby but not what I would call walking distance,the spar shop had the basics but we did not use the local pubs.

BBQ's were allowed on site despite the sign that was to the contrary.

Overall a lovely but basic site that could do with the hot water sorting. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cookie7447 2 reviews from this member

 Came back to this site having visited last year. We booked last minute and got on. There were 4 families that came and we had electric hook-up. We knew there were problems with the hot water from last year, we hoped they had been sorted but unfortunately they hadn't. If you went very early you had hot water but once people started using the water to wash etc it ran out. We also had problems with the electric, the whole camping field kept tripping out and we had to keep ringing the owner to switch it back on which he wasn't too happy about. The electric obviously needs updating and a bigger amp supplied. The tourers & statics had no problems so it is obviously just the camping field.

This is a lovely site with basic but clean facilities. The camping field is very level and it drains very well if you have lots of rain (which we did), it is also quite sheltered. The river and the stepping stones are a great attraction for the kids and the walk into the village is great going along the river or through the local farm. I do like this campsite but if you reply on electric I would avoid it. If you don't need electric & are not bothered about a cold shower then I would say give it a try. It's in a lovely location but I personally won't be returning unless the electric & hot water is sorted out. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Candypant5 1 review from this member

 We visited this site for a weekend. When we arrived the owner showed us where to pitch up and said could we make sure we didn't use too much electricity! As we had paid for this we found this a bit cheeky. In the mens showers you had to pay 20p for a shower and there seemed to be hot water But I could not get any in the womens. They were dirty and a little smelly. This is such a shame as it is a lovely site in a lovely location. A river close by great for the children to play in and a great field for them to run about in. Also lots to do in the surrounding area, we had fun going strawberry picking and visited a local village.  


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Manor House Farm Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor House Farm Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Manor House Farm Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harrogate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Great Caravan, Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/09 to 08/09

Held in Harrogate - a huge array of products on show. Industry leading manufacturers of holiday homes, caravans, motorhomes and tourers, with hundreds of different models on show. Win Two tickets and 500 to spend at the Show

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5679 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement