Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Red Squirrel Campsite ( Formerly Glenmidge Smithy )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Red Squirrel Campsite ( Formerly Glenmidge Smithy ) Reviews

Red Squirrel Campsite ( Formerly Glenmidge Smithy )
Auldgirth
Dumfries
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG2 0SW
Tel: 01387 740328  or  07766 986464
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 68 Reviews
                9/10 from 68 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (9)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stesse 1 review from this member

 Situated 8 miles north of Dumfries, this idilic place is a couple of miles from the main road, down in a valley, surrounded by forests and hills.

The hosts, Margaret and Hamish are a fountain of knowledge of the area, they gave us a map of a local walk, which was scenic and historical. Seeing the red squirrel was a bonus. The homemade honey was amazing!

Looking forward to returning soon 😊 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vicbrown 11 reviews from this member

 Perhaps 'Glen Midge' is not the best name for a campsite location. Don't let that put you off. We hardly saw a single midge while we were there.

Red Squirrels is the perfect 'back to nature' site, and adult only which adds to the sense of peace and quiet. Do not expect a 'bijoux' campsite - this is good, simple camping, but with all the basics you will require inc Internet access.

Well run by Hamish and his wife ( Hamish is a former site inspector, and once the village blacksmith), this is a lovely place at which to just be quiet and listen to nature. The squirrels did not turn up for us, but this was down to an abundance of new hazelnuts on the trees down the lane.

Access is good. Once you see the 'Red Squirrel signs, just follow them directly to the site.

Hamish and his team are extremely helpful, and always up for a friendly conversation. Don't miss out an the excellent 'crack' ( conversation) - it's part of the hoiday.

Some good fishing to be had locally ( trout and salmon) - ask Hamish for details. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Denisea 13 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic little site! The facilities are immaculate. Great walks from the site.

We enjoyed the walk to the ruined tower and farmhouse. The owners are a lovely couple.

Hamish's honey is delicious - a must buy. Thank you both very much indeed. We certainly hope to return again. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alec Norris 1 review from this member

 Well what a little gem of a site this is only stopped 1 night. Its clean and tidy only a few pitches so no real problem queuing as there is only one toilet and shower.

Nice location plenty of walks and wildlife even red squirrels which comes down to feed a couple of times a day. Warden very helpful and informative.

Hope to go back there soon ( 16 for two adults dog and hook-up ) 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kiyasmum 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week. It is a lovely wee site. The wardens and owner were very friendly and helpful. Only one toilet and shower which have been described as basic.

As they are tiled on the floor and have a shower board all round I would not call them basic. Plenty of hot water and the shower worked well.

Both are very clean. Site is down a couple of narrow roads but no problem towing. Nice views all round and there are red squirrels on site. Also some nice birds with buzzards over head.

We had never visited this part of Scotland before and loved it. A short walk is needed on the quiet country road to walk dogs. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Topaz1 1 review from this member

 This site is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The setting is superb with lovely views of the surrounding hillsides and along the glen. The roads are very quiet both around the site and in this area generally.


You can cycle for miles and only meet a handful of cars. There are also lovely walks from the door and many places of interest if you want to explore the area. On clear nights, the stars are truly breathtaking. There's no light pollution here.

The red squirrels didn't visit the feeding box next to our pitch during our stay this time but the jays did. They've learned how to lift the lid and feast on the nuts which kept us amused.

For a small site, the facilities are superb. The shower and toilet are always lovely and clean and the water is very soft so don't overdo it on the shampoo!

The owner and warden gave us a warm welcome on arrival and they are always available for help or advice. The owner keeps bees and has honey for sale.

This is the third year in a row that we've been here and we'll definitely be back again. Sometimes, when you find a little gem, you don't want to share, just in case there's no space next time you want to visit. However, credit where credit is due. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

 I feel awfully mean saying anything negative about this site as both Hamish and Gary were probably the nicest owners/wardens we have ever come across! Nothing was too much trouble.

But as someone else said there was only one toilet and the shower did have a mind of its own temperature wise. But Gary did show me how to set it once I'd spoken to him about it. Everything was spotless and the washing area was ina big agricultural shed that was very well equipped for campers.

I'm afraid our view wasn't v impressive, the road on one side a big green shed on the other. I couldn't believe how much traffic there was from 5. 30am on a Saturday on this tiny little lane! There were grass pitches in another small area which looked lovely, but with a big motorhome we were directed onto firmer ground.

We thought the area was beautiful, and would definitely come back to explore some more. But whether we would come back to this site, in truth I'm not sure. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nellyford 2 reviews from this member

 Extremely friendly warden and deputy wardens. I even got a wee present.

Good level pitch with EHU.

Beautiful surroundings with easy access to numerous places of interest though narrow roads. The locals reversed all the way back up a lane to let me go forward in my van.

Unfortunately there is only one toilet and one wash basin.

There is only one very poor shower with the temperature having a mind of its own.

The communal wash up and social room is a good extra.

Much too few basic facilities for a site of this size.

Saw a red squirrel though. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The highbury 24 reviews from this member

 We would like to say on our stay at this little site it was very outstanding.

The owners Margaret & Hamish were so lovely and not forgetting Helen & Gary who helps around the site. They made us feel very welcome. The site was very clean, the shower and toilets were spotless. The views were outstanding.

The site had everything you needed - washing machine/ freezer/tumble dryer. The friendliness was so warming. People that book this site will not be disappointed. There are nice walks for people that like walking.  


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobcat234 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 5 nights at Red Squirrel and would fully endorse all of the previous reviews. We can not speak highly enough of the warm welcome and friendly atmosphere at this absolute gem of a site. We were so pleased to have found this site and will be back to enable wider exploration of this area. The facilities are as described with well thought out personal touches by the owners, Hamish and Margaret, a most engaging and down to earth 'canny folk' you would ever have the pleasure to meet and would make an ideal base for both caravaners and campers, particularly with the use of the alongside barn with 'facilities' and the whole ambiance of this small hamlet as nestling in a part wooded glen ( and not a single midge!).

We spent most of our time road cycling of which this part of D&G is just about as perfect as you can get with well surfaced and traffic free roads, plenty of straight downhills and scenic views. Can recommend glen whisk cafe and also piccolo Italia in nearby moniaive together wth an artisan chocolatier and also Thomas Tosh (cafe) in Thorn hill.

Also cannot recommend highly enough the local supply of honey as facilitated by Hamish ( and his bees). 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Red Squirrel Campsite ( Formerly Glenmidge Smithy ) child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Red Squirrel Campsite ( Formerly Glenmidge Smithy )?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Red Squirrel Campsite ( Formerly Glenmidge Smithy ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dumfries      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3522 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement