Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nolton Cross Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Nolton Cross Caravan Park Reviews

Nolton Cross Caravan Park
Nolton Cross
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 3NP
Tel: 01437 710701  or  07814779020
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshnurse 1 review from this member

We have just returned home having cut short our stay by 5 days, although this was primarily the weather and the fact that this site is so out of the way from anywhere, needing a car to get anywhere. The site is spotless, the owner friendly and helpful when asked. However my score reflects it's remoteness but more so the ridiculous distance that the caravan site is from the toilets. The site has static caravans that all look lovely and are all sited in a circle, yet right next door to the showers and toilets. Now correct me if I'm wrong, but static caravans all have toilets and showers. Yet the proximity for the tourers was approximately 1000yds. A lovely walk on a dry day/night but ridiculous when wet (which was about 80% of our stay) and with no lighting on the track from the tourer site to the loo it was not pleasant at night; hence a car trip was needed! Now don't get me wrong this site is ideal for those with toilets in their vans but I would not recommend at all for those who don't. For those camping, the toilet block is slightly closer but not by much. I would not visit again unless they build a toilet block in the tourer section.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Valentines 2 reviews from this member

It was a very hot day and after working was looking forward to getting to the site. We turned off the main rd to find narrow lanes to the site, but we managed. We were booked in, polite but not over friendly or didn't tell us where anything was. We were looking forward to peace and quiet and spectacular scenery, you could only see the scenery if you were on tiptoe in the van, and constant noise from screaming kids. There was tractors going up and down in the lane beside the site from 9am till 9. 50pm one night. The people in tents parked their vehicles in front off our van, and people didn't keep their dogs on leads and were fouling everywhere. Dirty and cold showers. So needless to say couldn't wait to come home.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Storeman_uk 7 reviews from this member

Nice campsite with decent sized tent pitches. 16amp EHU and a single water point for the field we used (The Paddock) which had eight pitches. There is a laundry room close by as another source of water. The laundry room has a free electric socket which can be used for charging mobiles etc. The field was level and the grass was kept short.

Toilets & showers are indeed by the exit but it is by no means a long trek to reach them except maybe if it is raining hard. The whole site isn't really that large. Can't speak for the ladies but in the gents there are two of everything, urinals, washbasins with mirrors, cubicles and showers. During our stay there were quite a few tents and tourers but the facilities weren't busy when I needed to use them as a lot of the site is made up of static vans with onboard facilities.

The shop has the basics and does now sell calor but at a premium price which was a fair bit more than I expected but I suppose the quantity and frequency they sell it at does explain the price.

The shop is only open for an hour in the morning and another hour late afternoon / early evening so if you like to be out and about early and get back late then you will need to stock up outside the camp.

The site does have a chargeable wifi but we couldn't get into the system to pay for it on mobile phones. May be a little easier with a laptop or tablet with more screen real estate but considering the login / register page states you will get an email after registering I have to ask the question - how do you get your email if you can't get internet access. We didn't even have mobile data or phone signal.

As a campsite it is very good but if you can't live without internet or phone access it may disappoint. The site is very well placed for visiting the local area with Tenby being close by car. Some great beaches which are dog friendly are within a few minutes drive. A bit further afield is Freshwater West beach near CastleMartin. Lovely big beach with some great rugged coastline and free parking. The carpark has one of the best street food vans you could wish to find and sells a great fresh lobster sandwich.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Photo4x4 16 reviews from this member

We used this site as a quick stop-over to meet up with relatives so did not spend much time on site. The touring section is grassed and flay (levels not needed) and despite heavy rain the surface was firm. It was neat and tidy and quiet. The CDP was on the touring section but the shower block was near the entrance and was a bit of a jaunt so we used our own on-board facilities. We had a friendly and helpful welcome and the price with EHU was reasonable. This site would make a good base for holidaying in the area.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeparry 5 reviews from this member

Had a lovely weekend break. We were the only ones on the touring site which suited us well. There are about 30 statics in the next field but less than half of them were occupied on our visit so it was hard to gauge their impact on the site. However, the feel of the site is very positive and I guess most people visiting this site are after peace and quiet.

A nice, warm welcome from the lady owner who told me to find a nice spot and pitch up. The layout is simple and the pitches are of good size and are level. Each pitch has electric [16 amp] and a shared water point. I like to have my own water supply to the caravan and this was no problem on this weekend. I have an adapter that allows two water hoses to be fitted to the tap and this site is ideal for this. The chemical disposal is only a short step away as are the refuse facilities but don't worry they are discreet and well kept.

The toilet block is situated at the entrance to the site but the touring area is at the rear of the site; a long[ish] walk but no big deal. They were well maintained and housed the usual facilities with plenty of hot water.

Very quiet at night, only light traffic on the adjacent road. The view is excellent over St Bride's bay and the site is within easy reach of the beaches and coves.

This site is excellent and we will be returning before the year is out.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andydavis 1 review from this member

A lovely little site situated just a few miles from Haverfordwest and very close to Broad haven. There is a play area on site which is great for smaller children, but a little limited for the slightly older ones. There plenty of grassed areas, which were very well maintained, for kicking a ball around or cricket, etc, but not for flying a kite! Kite flying isn't allowed due to the electricity cables that go across the site.

The toilet block was adequate if not a little bit of a walk for campers. It was at the furthest point away from our tent and other campers would have had even further to travel. I'm also not a huge fan of toilets and showers in the same room.

There is a small shop on site which sells a lot of the essentials, but not Calor.

Although we stayed in a tent, we also had limited use of one of the static caravans as a friend was using one for their stay. I have to say that the caravan was lovely and was also a really good price for a sea view.

Would I camp there again? Probably. The owner was really nice and I'm sure that the site will improve even more over the next few years.

There was also a fishing lake which was only a 5 minute walk away. Didn't get around to using it, but I was told it was well stocked.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul janet 1 review from this member

Stayed here for four weeks and had a right mixture of weather from gales when we we first arrived to a whole week of glorious sunshine. The site is brilliant and the owners are really friendly and helpful.

The site was kept to a good standard, the grass was cut often, the toilets and showers were always nice and clean and there was always plenty of hot water which was free. The toilets were a bit of a walk but we were never in a rush and even when the site was full we still didn't have to wait for a shower. There is a play area for children which they seemed to enjoy. The laundry was nice and clean and was only 2. 20 for a wash. The pitches are large and there are plenty of wooden picnic tables for everyone to use and water is available between every two pitches.

The site is well situated for travelling to various places and Haverfordwest, 5 miles away is a nice town with all of the shops you could need. If there was a downside it would be the fact that it was often quite windy. The view from the site was great and the sunsets are something we will never forget.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paula121065 2 reviews from this member

Had a great time at Nolton Cross for Whitsun weekend. It was blowing a gale when we arrived and the owner, who was very friendly and helpful, advised us not to erect our awning until later that evening (she checked the web to find out when the wind died down). We found our pitch which was lovely and had our own electric and water points. We decided to go ahead and put our awning up but should have listened as one of our poles broke! We told the owner the next morning who immediately found us another pole which meant the awning was up for the rest of the weekend!

The campsite was absolutely gorgeous with views down to the sea and the sunsets in the evening were stunning. The shower and toilet block could really do with an update, it was very dark at all times of the day and not a lot of storage space/hooks while showering, the toilets didn't always flush and the hand dryers were a waste of time but the place was clean and the showers were lovely and hot. Also, it was very strange to have the shower/toilet block in the same field as the statics rather than the camping field so going to the loo was a 10 minute round trip. These are just small niggles though as we had a brilliant time and the owners were great.

The surrounding area is beautiful with the nearest beach and pub in Nolton Haven, 1. 5 miles away. We walked there the first day which took half hour but the walk back is all uphill! The beach is lovely and ideal for children as it's quite small and sheltered. We cycled to Broad Haven and Little Haven one day and to Newgale on another, going the long way round through Roch. Warning - it's very hilly for cyclists and I did end up pushing a lot! We ate in the van most of the time but did go to the Ocean Restaurant in Broad Haven one night. A very good meal and service but a bit expensive for what we had, a glass of wine was 3. 95!

All in all a very good weekend and I would recommend Nolton Cross to others, especially as we only paid 46 for 3 nights over Whitsun, a bargain!

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Morgz84 22 reviews from this member

Booked 4 nights in a static caravan for 2 people just for a short getaway. Usually a tent camper but due to the time of year felt like something more luxurious.

The location is second to none and boasts wonderful views of the sea, because of this it is very exposed and would recommend a strong tent in less than fine conditions. I was glad of being in the caravan during the gales - it did rock slightly but it helped get me to sleep :-)

The caravan was extremely well equipped, modern and nicely furnished. We were warm and cosy during 2 nights of gales and the gas fire was very effective. Some other nice additions were having the decking, extractor fans in the toilets / shower and fan heaters in the bedrooms. The campsite owner lent us a portable oil heater however, which was perfect just to tick over and keep the landing and all bedrooms warm enough. We ran out of gas on the last night which after a short visit to the house was quickly and cheerfully replaced. The only thing I felt the caravan could have done with was a toaster. Other than that, a perfect holiday home.

It is difficult to rate this site as a camper as I have not been there with my tent and had no need to use the shower blocks but I can say that the location is beautiful and the owners were very friendly. This site is also within easy reach of a convenience store / chippy / garage at Pelcombe Cross and to all the supermarkets in Haverfordwest. It's 1 1/2 mile walk to catch the 441 bus at Simpson Cross which we did to go out in Haverfordwest for the evening.

Whilst I am sure this site would not welcome big loud groups of lads my friend and I were not turned away for being a 'non family' group and were made to feel welcome. I highly recommend this site and will be back to visit either to hire a static again in the spring or maybe in the summer with the tent.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachieb 17 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights here in Aug

A lovely site,friendly,helpful owners

Free hot showers,and clean toilet blocks ( in ladies: 4 loos and 2 showers)

Kids play area,and plenty of space for ball games etc too

Has a laundry and small shop ( didn't use either of these though)also at reception lots of leaflets of things to do locally

Close to Little Haven,Broad Haven and Newgale beaches,where you will also find pubs,shops,cafes etc etc

Also the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path

It was full on one night we were there,but it was still quiet (only cows mooing in the next field !)

And they do not pack the tents in,so was still loads of room

If fishing is your thing,there is a lake 500 metres from the site,with caro,orfe and roach.Equipment available to hire

We will definitely return to this site

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4026 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019