Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Parbola Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Gwinear > Parbola Holiday Park > Reviews

Parbola Holiday Park
Wall
Gwinear
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5HA
Tel: 01209 831503
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 110
Open: 29/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Globetrotter4 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site. It's huge but feels smaller as there are lots of smaller fields divided by hedges.

Positives:

*Staff were fantastic. Nothing too much trouble for them. Friendly and polite throughout our stay.

*Small shop with refil stations for drinking water and fresh milk.

*Swimming pool. Very clean and well managed. Especially appreciated during the heatwave.

*Separate large children's play area

*Large communal tent for charging phones/games/wifi

*Food vans serving evening meals

*Great atmosphere

*Easy access to beaches, St Ives etc.

Suggestions:

*The pitches are generally better suited to medium size tents so if you have anything larger than a 5/6 berth tent, best to call the site first to check the tent will fit.

We were camping on the Wild field as we have a 7 person tent (without awning) that wouldn't have fitted anywhere else.

Though our pitch was large enough for our tent, it was a bit of a squeeze to park the car. Most of those camping around us, even those with smaller tents, seemed to be having the same issue with parking.

This really is a lovely site. We are regular campers and have stayed on many, many sites. This is definitely one of our favourites and we will certainly consider visiting again. Thank you for a wonderful holiday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Aysekn 1 review from this member

 We were so pleased with the campsite, fantastic staff and clean grounds, loved how its sectioned so not a load of tents on one big field.

The fairy walk, bug hotel and wild flower gardens were an amazing bonus. I'd definitely come back.

My only negative would be that more showers are needed, it was never a long wait, but still I think one more shower block would have been great. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rampyx2 1 review from this member

 We have stayed here for many years never finding anywhere that we liked more.

The location is what first encouraged me to stay here as its 10 minutes from the sea at Gwithian and about 20 minutes from Penzance. There is a shop on site and a post office in the village but its the peace and tranquillity of the countryside that was so initially appealing.

The pitches are varied, whether you want to stay in a wooded or more open area. Sections are thoughtfully screened with high bushes to break it up and are flat.

There are plenty of electric points in these different areas. As you drive in, should it be dark, there are discreet lights along the way.

The facilities are always spotlessly clean and in excellent working order with free showers. There are freezers to chill ice packs and a fully undercover washing up area with plenty of space. Attached is the WiFi Zone with loads of plug sockets. Another room has sockets for hairdryers and mirrors available.

Outside this block is an area with herbs in pots should you be doing a bit of cooking. There are barbecues for hire.

The clean pool area is a good size with chairs available and there is also a games room.

There really is plenty of room not to get in anyones way. At the back there is a massive field with nets for football and the like.

There are static caravans but they are in a separate area.

As I said I have stayed here a great number of times and while the above describes whats available, its the standards here that I appreciate. As a family run site they work hard at the detail and during times of crisis (often caused by my own stupidity) the level of customer service we have received has been just outstanding and for us that is what sets Parbola way above the rest.  


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dean Dixon 1 review from this member

 Lovely well managed site, family friendly, no rowdiness.

Staff extremely helpful friendly and polite.

Site is well sited and quiet and itís central location between Helston and Hayle offers convenient access to south Cornwall.

If you need to see a beach from your pitch then this is not for you, but the benefits of this lovely site definitely outweigh that.

10 out of 10 and thank you for helping us to have a great holiday in Cornwall. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Olbz 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet campsite, with lots of space for kids to run around, without the worry of cars everywhere! Lovely pool, with play areas for younger and older children. Also a games room with arcade games and pool table.

Staff very helpful and polite. Close to excellent sandy beach

Will be visiting again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Baileyjake 11 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a visit to this site.

I booked this site because when I was looking to book a pitch near Hayle, last february, everything near the beach was already full or could only offer bookings saturday to saturday. When I phoned the people there they seemed friendly and said they were not yet open for the season but would take my booking. I paid a deposit the balance to be paid 90 days before our arrival forgot about it until the lady called me to ask if I was ok and did I still want the pitch. I paid straight away.

When I first arrived I was a little disappointed at not being so close to the beach (10 minute drive). The guy who showed us to our pitch seemed quite stern and said heres your pitch, put your caravan against the hedge there. Well you can put it anywhere you like you have to sleep in it! so I set my caravan and awning up and carried on thinking what a miserable guy. Truth is I spoke to him on several occasions afterwards and he was in fact very helpful and friendly.

The site is set in woodland, the facilities (showers etc) look a little old fashioned but are kept immaculately clean.

The swimming pool was not as large as I expected but we used it a few times and in july it was on the chilly side but still fun for a short swim with my sons.

The site seems to be mainly occupied by tents, lots of tents which gave it a bit of a 'carry on camping' feel. In fact there were only 4 touring caravans there and a few motor homes but dozens of mostly huge tents.

Would I go back? I certainly would and this is why. Although I was disappointed to be away from the coast I visited some relations on the rivier sands Haven site and it got me thinking. The haven site is statics only but they are packed together (literally enough room to drive a car between), there are people everywhere, kids kicking balls that are hitting neighboring caravans people shouting a lot of hustle and bustle. The coastal camp sites seem to be open plan and must be similarly busy. Each evening we returned to the Parbola park it was like a quiet sanctuary. No trouble no noise. There were lots of open spaces for my children to run or cycle round where there was no traffic, fields where cars cant go. Separate play grounds for older and younger children.

There was also the WIFI zone, which is basically the washing up area and laundrette with a room to use computers (i could also get the WIFI from my awning but it was because I was closer to the building) if you are a teenager the WIFI zone is the place to be! whenever in the communal areas the other visitors were friendly.

If I could make any suggestion to the owners it would be to remove some of the older unused statics, these were in a different area but walking about the park you could see them. They just made the pace look a but don at heal. There were newer statics and these were the ones in use. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lightningrider 7 reviews from this member

 This site is well placed for exploring West Cornwall and all its delightful scenery. It is well served by Hayle with its small town feel but big town heart. We had several meals out in Hayle and would heartily recommend taking the time to sample its world cuisine. It's worth taking a drive to sample a pint at The Bucket of Blood. If you're into real ale, it's a must visit!

The pool was not heated but enjoyable once you've steeled yourself and taken the plunge. We did not use the games room but it did appear well appointed.

The washing up, laundry and shower facilities were satisfactory and there are plenty of water and fire points throughout the site.

The wildlife is stunning! We were regularly entranced by a large bird of prey which entertained us on its search for tasty rodents and swimming in the pool while the swallows are dipping their beaks in for a thirst quencher is beyond lovely.

However, if you are looking to stay somewhere with warm and friendly staff, this is definitely not the place. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: T+ap 3 reviews from this member

 Went back for a return stay just as we promised. Stayed in a static caravan, lovely and clean and had everything we needed. Beautiful, family run site, well presented and well maintained. You couldn't get anymore of a countryside feel on this site, with its woodland and abundant wildlife. Lots of open space and play area's, swimming pool, bird aviary and games room.

Within 10 mins you can be on a golden sandy beach, in a local pub or a supermarket or chip shop. In half an hour you could be at any one of a dozen or more attractions on either coast! The owners are very knowledgeable about the locality and Cornwall in general. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purplepeople 7 reviews from this member

 There is no doubt that this site is in a lovely setting.

The pitches are a good size but stony and on a slight slope.

Showers/toilets not cleaned well enough/often enough, showers tepid and only stay on for less than 30 seconds but a good size with plenty of pegs to hang towels etc on. (I'm referring to the main block but am assuming that the other block(in the woods) is not as good as I saw most of the people from the wood pitches using the main showers)

Swimming pool and facilities for children e. G playgrounds, games room(arcade games all coin operated) etc very nice

Other nice touches. Pots of fresh herbs that you can pick to add to your cooking/BBQ, two washing lines that are available for use and free ice block freezing facilities, plenty of hot water and dish drainers (but sadly no bin!) in the washing up room.

My main problem with the site is that apart from a small local shop and a post office there is nothing else within walking distance. The pub mentioned on previous reviews, closed down over 2 months ago and the nearest beach is 3 miles away. There is a Tesco, M&S, Aldi within 3 miles and a larger Tesco and Morrisons 4-5 miles away. Take aways etc are 3-4 miles away.

Having said all of that the site is well placed as a base to view Cornwall but if you don't like driving, this site is not for you! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Mikescott 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second year staying at this campsite, last year in a tent, this year we upgraded to one of the on site statics. It's a beautiful area and very clean, friendly site.

Thoroughly enjoyable stay again. Lots of outdoor space for the kids, especially if you have a football mad one like us! Great facilities, clean and well maintained.

All the places you want to see are close by. We would recommend this site to families or even couples/ singles. We hope to return next year! 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Parbola Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Parbola Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Parbola Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Parbola Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gwinear      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4499 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement