Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Retanna Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Retanna Holiday Park
Edgcumbe
Helston
Falmouth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR13 0EJ
Tel: 01326 340733
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LucyBond 1 review from this member

We have just come back from a fab few days camping at the campsite. It's a really quiet and relaxed place. The dog was super welcome and we felt really chilled out. It's near a main road but is really quiet, no sound at all and is really well placed to explore from.

There's a park for younger kids and a big field that they can play ball in. The shower block was clean and the water hot. The shower cubicles had lots of hooks and places to put stuff. Paper towels etc were replenished all the time and never ran out. The bin was emptied often and the floors cleaned a lot.

The games room needs updating. Air hockey doesn't have any bits to use with it n chalk for pool would be really helpful. However the free WiFi which is brilliant more than made up for no chalk!

The family who run it are really friendly and happy to help. Really relaxed and nice. The children are fab and help out too of they can. My two kids - 12 and 14 had the best time and were gutted to leave!

Great place to stay and will be back asap!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vikki C 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a couple of weeks in August as a family of four in our caravan. This site is very well located for exploring the south and west of Cornwall. The facilities were always clean and well maintained, as was the rest of the site. The free wifi across the whole site was an added bonus especially for the teenagers and the husband! Plenty of space on the pitch - very generous. Electric supply was good and there were conveniently located water/waste points. This site has a lovely feel to it and we would happily return. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and always available. Excellent value.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsRose 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a lovely August Bank Holiday weekend stay at Retanna Holiday Park. We were pleasantly surprised by how quiet the site was.

We stayed on the Badger Field and had masses of space despite our rather large tent (a Vango Diablo 600XL). It was a very short walk around to the facility block, containing clean toilets and showers, washing up, laundry and freezer facilities.

The free showers were very welcome, though did take a few minutes to come through warm. That could have just been that I was in the shower block so early each morning, due to the joys of camping with a 4 year old depriving me of a lie in.

The site seems to have more static caravans than touring pitches, but if the touring pitches were full the facilities might get a little busy.

The play park was well used by our son, but we were glad to be able to choose when booking not to take a pitch looking on to this. These pitches do have EHU, but the street lighting I would have found intrusive.

All in all a lovely site, that we are likely to return to.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy 2013 2 reviews from this member

Great place to come for our first long break in our new tent. I will start by saying the bad points. And there was only one. The tent pitches where on a slope, which was far to uncomfortable. We needed EHU and in view of the play area, so the pitch we were given was not nice to be sleeping on for 10 nights. Lying in bed on a hill didn't make for a good night sleep. However, there where pitches which seemed to be a bit more level. But as for service, facilities and location, it was amazing. The best weather of 2012, quiet, peaceful, and a pleasure to stay at. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Enscjb 1 review from this member

We have stayed at this site many times over the last few years in static vans and in the cottage. Consistently excellent. Quiet, good value for money, good location, very friendly and helpful owners.

It is a quiet site with no club or any other noisiness and despite the road being over the field it is not noticeable.

They have a range of static vans and the camping pitches are either near to the small children's play area (small play area for small children in case that's ambiguous!) or on the top field for peace and quiet.

The toilet/shower/washing up block is modern and well kept.

The cottage is lovely and if we had the cash we'd book it every year. As it is we may well be going back with a tent!

Ideally placed between the lizard, Falmouth and Helston.

The rating of 9 for facilities is for cleanliness etc rather than comprehensiveness as this is a very simple site and I like that. Could only be a 10 overall if it was alongside a beach!

Will be going back!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob-O 1 review from this member

Retanna is a lovely site between Helston and Falmouth. The site is a small family owned operation and this is very apparent in the high levels of personal service given.

I have camped at this site twice, the pitches are well spaced some have free electrical hookups. The ground is largely flat and very well maintained with large numbers of trees and shrubs.

The toilet block is very new and well equipped. The facilities were always spotlessly clean and the showers hot at any time of day.

In the last year the games room has been relocated to a new building and upgraded to provide WiFi as well as TV, a pool table, air hockey and table football.

There is also a children's playground for the younger kids, this is also very modern and well maintained. I would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone looking for a small and peaceful location for a couple of family holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fluffygoldfish 2 reviews from this member

We chose this campsite as a base for a two day camping trip exploring Cornwall, for which it was very well located.

The toilet / shower facilities were all exceptionally clean. As was was the games room with a pool table, air hockey table and table football - but you will need some loose change to play on these.

We went on the Saturday at the end of half term week, and possibly due to the timing and the awful week of weather, we were the only two tents on site. There were several people staying in static caravans.

Unfortunately, probably due to the uncharacteristic low temperatures for this time of year, the toilet / shower block was absolutely freezing.

We would stay again, but would pick a week where there was likely to be more campers, as it did feel like a ghost town.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: MKC123 2 reviews from this member

This year was our fourth visit to this site and each being for a two week stay. It is a very well maintained site with the owners being as friendly the day you leave as the day you arrive.

We visit Cornwall for coastal walks and whether it is Lizard area or across to St Ives this site is central and coast to coast is minutes away.

The site is inland, quiet and well worth a visit. If it is a nice beach you are after then they are minutes away or if its a theme park you need then Flambards is 10 minutes drive.

There are no shortage of pubs for a reasonable meal within 5 minutes drive.

Helston town has a good assortment of shops along with there being a Sainsbury's supermarket within a 10 minute drive from the camp site.

Highly recommended

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gary92 4 reviews from this member

Good points about this site, it is very central when visiting Cornwall so everything is within easy travelling distance. The site is long and thin and the grass is cut regular and is nice and short when pitching your tent.

Although our pitch was on quite a slope but have seen worse. The new loo and shower block is really nice and cleaned every day. The tumble dryer, washing machine, iron that you can higher was great.

The kids really enjoyed the park and the pool table and air hockey that wasn't expensive. Now the not so good points, there is a farm next door so the farm yard noises at different times was a bit loud at times.

Overall a nice park as a base when visiting Cornwall.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thewhittakers 3 reviews from this member

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on this quiet campsite. Although it is close to the main road the traffic noise wasn't too bad.

The play park is excellent for children and there is plenty of space for them to run around in.

The shower block is nice and clean and the water temperature for showering and dishwashing remains at a decent constant temperature.

The tent pitches are a on a slight slope but not so much as to spoil things.

The family who run it are friendly. They gave us a voucher for Flambards which saved us about 15 on a family ticket. We will return!

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3982 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0977