Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Retanna Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Falmouth > Retanna Holiday Park > Reviews

Retanna Holiday Park
Edgcumbe
Helston
Falmouth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR13 0EJ
Tel: 01326 340733
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 34
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Robin Parkinson 1 review from this member

 Great staff welcoming and accommodating. However a couple of gripes: When we arrived it was obvious that the grass had been recently cut but they had neglected to collect all the cuttings and it got absolutely everywhere including inside the awning, the van and also was tread all over the facility blocks. There was no escaping it!

The toilet block was though adequate it was extremely basic, no plush fittings here and when the toilets were cleaned they were respectable and clean however the staff seemed to only have time to clean them once a day which was usually morning time. By the evening through normal use they became dirty, full of grass and sparse of toilet roll and hand towels. The chemical toilet disposal was abysmal.

Non of this was the staffs fault but that of the owners neglecting to invest in the site bringing it into the 21st century! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sarahs 1 review from this member

 The site was great. We had a warm welcome and were shown to our pitch. The facilities were all close to the pitch and well maintained.

The showers were clean, hot and powerful enough. The playground was perfectly placed to give our children independence and enable them to make friends.

We enjoyed our stay, which was great value for money too and will definitely be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rebecc 1 review from this member

 The campsite was lovely, well maintained and spacious. We saw lots of wildlife around including buzzards, rabbits, fox and bats.

The guy who checked us in was friendly and helpful, he told us about a place further up the road we could go to for cheap drinks in the evening.

We left it very late to book for bank holiday weekend so we felt lucky to get a pitch but ideally would have been away from the children's play area as we had escaped our own kids for the weekend lol.

The site was perfect to be used as a base but there is nothing else in the immediate area. We tried to go for a walk in the countryside nearby but our options were very limited. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nikita 2 reviews from this member

 Very welcoming

Very helpful

Good on site park for children

Detailed welcome pack

Tidy around site

Nice views

Good on site facilities

Would recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LucyBond 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from a fab few days camping at the campsite. It's a really quiet and relaxed place. The dog was super welcome and we felt really chilled out. It's near a main road but is really quiet, no sound at all and is really well placed to explore from.

There's a park for younger kids and a big field that they can play ball in. The shower block was clean and the water hot. The shower cubicles had lots of hooks and places to put stuff. Paper towels etc were replenished all the time and never ran out. The bin was emptied often and the floors cleaned a lot.

The games room needs updating. Air hockey doesn't have any bits to use with it n chalk for pool would be really helpful. However the free WiFi which is brilliant more than made up for no chalk!

The family who run it are really friendly and happy to help. Really relaxed and nice. The children are fab and help out too of they can. My two kids - 12 and 14 had the best time and were gutted to leave!

Great place to stay and will be back asap! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vikki C 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of weeks in August as a family of four in our caravan. This site is very well located for exploring the south and west of Cornwall. The facilities were always clean and well maintained, as was the rest of the site. The free wifi across the whole site was an added bonus especially for the teenagers and the husband! Plenty of space on the pitch - very generous. Electric supply was good and there were conveniently located water/waste points. This site has a lovely feel to it and we would happily return. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and always available. Excellent value. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsRose 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely August Bank Holiday weekend stay at Retanna Holiday Park. We were pleasantly surprised by how quiet the site was.

We stayed on the Badger Field and had masses of space despite our rather large tent (a Vango Diablo 600XL). It was a very short walk around to the facility block, containing clean toilets and showers, washing up, laundry and freezer facilities.

The free showers were very welcome, though did take a few minutes to come through warm. That could have just been that I was in the shower block so early each morning, due to the joys of camping with a 4 year old depriving me of a lie in.

The site seems to have more static caravans than touring pitches, but if the touring pitches were full the facilities might get a little busy.

The play park was well used by our son, but we were glad to be able to choose when booking not to take a pitch looking on to this. These pitches do have EHU, but the street lighting I would have found intrusive.

All in all a lovely site, that we are likely to return to. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy 2013 2 reviews from this member

 Great place to come for our first long break in our new tent. I will start by saying the bad points. And there was only one. The tent pitches where on a slope, which was far to uncomfortable. We needed EHU and in view of the play area, so the pitch we were given was not nice to be sleeping on for 10 nights. Lying in bed on a hill didn't make for a good night sleep. However, there where pitches which seemed to be a bit more level. But as for service, facilities and location, it was amazing. The best weather of 2012, quiet, peaceful, and a pleasure to stay at. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Enscjb 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at this site many times over the last few years in static vans and in the cottage. Consistently excellent. Quiet, good value for money, good location, very friendly and helpful owners.

It is a quiet site with no club or any other noisiness and despite the road being over the field it is not noticeable.

They have a range of static vans and the camping pitches are either near to the small children's play area (small play area for small children in case that's ambiguous!) or on the top field for peace and quiet.

The toilet/shower/washing up block is modern and well kept.

The cottage is lovely and if we had the cash we'd book it every year. As it is we may well be going back with a tent!

Ideally placed between the lizard, Falmouth and Helston.

The rating of 9 for facilities is for cleanliness etc rather than comprehensiveness as this is a very simple site and I like that. Could only be a 10 overall if it was alongside a beach!

Will be going back! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rob-O 1 review from this member

 Retanna is a lovely site between Helston and Falmouth. The site is a small family owned operation and this is very apparent in the high levels of personal service given.

I have camped at this site twice, the pitches are well spaced some have free electrical hookups. The ground is largely flat and very well maintained with large numbers of trees and shrubs.

The toilet block is very new and well equipped. The facilities were always spotlessly clean and the showers hot at any time of day.

In the last year the games room has been relocated to a new building and upgraded to provide WiFi as well as TV, a pool table, air hockey and table football.

There is also a children's playground for the younger kids, this is also very modern and well maintained. I would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone looking for a small and peaceful location for a couple of family holiday. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Retanna Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Retanna Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Retanna Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Falmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3444 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement