Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shaws Trailer Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Shaws Trailer Park Reviews

Shaws Trailer Park
Knaresborough Road
Harrogate
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HG2 7NE
Tel: 07921 761066
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 24 Reviews
                6/10 from 24 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Liz eaton 1 review from this member

 Excellent location. Bus route to Harrogate and knaresborough. Train station nearby. Plenty of shops, a wine bar and pub in walking distance.

Only saw two water pipes and these are on pitches, awkward when occupied.

Toilet and shower block, what can I say, awful, no change since reviews in 2013. Wouldn’t use showers ever, no soap in basins. Cobwebs, spiders etc.

Simon manager very nice. Don’t bother to email him because he is to busy to read them. Office usually closed, ring him or text if need to contact

Noisy from main road because have cut trees down.

Entrance to site is a bit tight especially if cars parked there.

Name needs changing 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debcon 4 reviews from this member

 Pitched up for 2 nighs Fri sat with 2 friends had a good weekend Simon was on hand to give us all the info we needed he was painting the curb edges and keeping the site clean,

Toilets and showers are a bit dated but they do what you expect and they don't cost to use.

Ideal site for harrogate knaresborough and on an bus route to both.

We will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RosieLR 8 reviews from this member

 On the plus side - there is a fantastic frequent bus service from just outside the site which runs between Harrogate and Knaresborough. The site is quiet and considering it is on a main road the traffic noise is not intrusive. There are a lot of takeaways close by.

On the negative side - There are only three water taps available, one halfway along each length of the three sides of the square which the pitches are arranged around. They are at the back of individual pitches which makes them difficult to get to if the pitches are occupied.

Also, some permanent trailer tenants have put cones out which block the pitches near to one of the taps, making it virtually unusable. (The site manager offered to fill our tank up when we arrived, but then directed us to a pitch with one of the taps. Luckily I had asked about water when we arrived. )

The toilet and shower block is not heated and could do with a good clean. (The bin in the ladies was never emptied all the time we were there, there were thick cobwebs round the lights and the floor under the duckboard in the shower was black. ) The showers work but need new shower curtains to stop the flood every time the non-disabled one is used. I asked a lady if the disabled shower was better, but she said it was 'a dribble'.

There were signs up asking people to leave the toilets clean, but there were no toilet brushes, or mop and bucket to do so. We could not find find a waste bin, or recycling bins, although there was a sign saying not to use the bin in the toilets, but use the one in the car parking area. Where? The grey waste drain on the pitch was impossible to position a motorhome drain over.

Also useful to know - There is a sink and draining board which we used for washing up in the laundrette and washroom next to the ladies.

There is an electric socket with circuit breaker in the ladies which can be used for a hairdryer.

There is a bar of shared soap in the ladies, and a hot air hand drier. There was toilet paper supplied.

There is a chemical waste point.

Excellent position, but be prepared! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

 Simon is in the process of taking over the management of this site

His contact number is 07921761066 not the above number

Facilities above needs updating. No Bath plus this is now an adults only site.

After reading some of the reviews we nearly didn't book this site but in the end decided to try it. The location was the main factor in this decision, perfect for exploring Harrogate and Knaresborough, on a bus route and 10 mins away from Starbeck Railway station with trains to Harrogate, Knaresborough, York and Leeds. Close by are two or three Supermarkets and many takeaways.

The site itself was well maintained, grass cut, plenty of EHU and a waste water grate on every pitch you were also on hardstanding.

The showers and toilets were dated but reasonably clean but everything worked perfectly with loads of hot water, I certainly enjoyed my showers and the time I spent in the toilet block was minimal. The fact is we were only on site to sleep as we were out all day. The road is busy so some noise but with earplugs it wasn't a problem. Yeah I will return next year, Simon seems a good guy, very friendly and hopefully we will see some improvemnets in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davidsteel 14 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights here, was checked in by a very pleasant lady warden. As previously stated the touring area is close to the main road so there was some traffic noise at night.

Pitches are hardstanding with a grass area for awning, basically level but with a very slight slope sideways but I did not need levelling blocks. As other people have pointed out, the facilities block is a bit dated but clean and unusable with plenty of hot water and disabled facilities.

Buses to Harrogate or Knaresborough stop close to the entrance and run every 7 minutes. Fare to Harrogate was £2 or £2. 20 return as I found out on the return journey!

Starbeck station is a short walk away with regular service to York or Leeds. Lots of take-aways in the area - both directions, but Starbeck slightly nearer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vinmar49 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a few days at the campsite. We went to the east yorkshire show as well as into Harrogate.

The site was very clean and tidy and nice to see that all grass cuttings are picked up. Each hard standing pitch had a large grassed area to one side plus electric point plus water plus grey waste sink.

The toilets were very clean. The only drawback was the showers which really could do with updating. There is a bus stop outside to the town centre which runs every 7 minutes. There is plenty of shops up and down the main street.

We went to the local fish and chip shop/restaurant and had the best fish AND chips that we've had in a long time. All in all we recommend it wholeheartedly. Sdg 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Autowbars 3 reviews from this member

 The name does not do this site justice.

It is well kept, and nice and quiet, no road noise that we noticed, on a Saturday night.

Even the residents in the statics, chalets were so quiet.

If you want a bar, bingo, eatery on site it ain't for you.

But it is all available within less than a mile!

Young ones may get a bit bored as did not notice a playground or such.

Very friendly lady booked us in, choose your pitch!

Great to be able to wander into Starbeck and Harrogate.

Tesco and Morrisons very close.

Never seen as many take aways in such close proximity.

As we only live 20 miles away we need somewhere close for the odd Saturday night.

This is now TOP of our list I can tell you. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Our Vera 4 reviews from this member

 Never again.

As the last reviewer said the only redeeming feature of this site is it's location being on a good bus route, but that is an accident of geography and of no credit to the site.

Quite loud vehicle noise from the busy main road but we wouldn't even mention that if that was the only issue.

The facilities are appalling. The toilet and shower block are in a terrible condition and appear to have had nothing done since being built. All fittings are ancient or in poor condition. Porcelain shower tray chipped, urinals badly stained, damp and mildew on the walls and plaster missing, showers fittings and pipes rusty, copper pipes green. Paint peeled off wooden shower benches/shelves.

Even a lick of paint on something might have shown some effort. It looks beyond being rectified by new fittings; looks like it needs to be demolished. Nothing appears to have been done to improve or even maintain the site - ever. The only activity by staff appears to be taking money and maybe a quick wipe with a cloth or mop. We paid for two nights and left after one. No refund given on the unused night but it was worth it to leave.

The AA 2015 book even lists this place as a 2 Pennant site and say they inspect every site every year. What did they look at? This hasn't deteriorated suddenly in the last few months; it has clearly been in decline for years. £18 a night for this is a joke.

If the last two reviews had been on ukcampsite before we went we would never have booked. 


Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nortonmonkey 1 review from this member

 Based in the middle of a seemingly long established estate of statics, the area is kept quite neat, and whilst the site is ideally located for trips to Harrogate and Knaresborough with a bus stop right outside the entrance and a bus every 7 minutes, and with the train station nearby, unfortunately this is the ONLY good thing about the site!

The toilet and shower block is like something from the 50's, original but not in a good way! No heating or lighting. Cleaned every day, but with a bit of a lick with a dirty mop. In fact I refused to use them and had to manage having a shower in our small motor home. The block needs demolishing and re built.

Unfortunately I could not find anything good to say about the facilities at all. We were charged £18 per night and the couple next to us were charged £22 per night, so not sure how they work the prices out either. We have stayed on some fantastic sites, much cheaper.

Hence to say we will not be going back. 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Campers2 6 reviews from this member

 Our greeting on arrival, despite our pre-booking was somewhat frosty, definitely not welcoming.

All the negative comments about the showers & toilets from several years ago, still stand and I can now confirm, as they are still untouched!

The water was hot, but not even a sighting of soap. I was pleased we have our own facilities. As already stated, the tourist pitches are by the main road, so be prepared with ear plugs.

Fee's are on the high side, when compared with other nearby sites, which have better facilities. Will I visit again? Not a chance! 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shaws Trailer Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shaws Trailer Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Shaws Trailer Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harrogate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2232 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement