Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Argyll Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Inveraray > Argyll Caravan Park Reviews

Argyll Caravan Park
Inveraray
Inveraray
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA32 8XT
Tel: 01499 302285
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 29/03 - 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jambogogs 2 reviews from this member

 Only came here at last minute but so glad we did. Called en route to check there was space. Lovely lady on the phone said yes, reception closed at 6 (it was just after 4) and if we arrived after then to just park up and pay in the morning. On arrival lovely lady greeted me and quickly booked us in, showing me on a map the park facilities.

All pitches have electricity and water, most have views of loch Fyne. Shower block was spotlessly clean, only 2 showers so could get busy at times.

Didnít use the on site bistro or games room but both looked lovely. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pepsik54 2 reviews from this member

 Disappointing would be the single word summary. The check in / welcome was lack lustre,

The pitch was no more than a gravel car park and the toilet / washroom was no more than a portacabin which had only 2 showers that had grass cuttings in them.

The only redeeming point was the view over Loch Fyne. Would not stay here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CBDR 5 reviews from this member

 This site was OK for one night stop over. It had easy access to water etc with motorhome service point. Electric hook up on all pitches and we could choose where to pitch because it was almost empty when we arrived.

Plenty of space for dog walks around the edge of the touring area. It was not as picturesque from the touring site as one might expect due to the statics in view, and we were disappointed that an evening stroll along lakeside path just took us to the busy main road, where there is no footpath to get to Inveraray.

Generally clean and facilities OK. The town is worth a stop and has 4 dedicated motorhome parking spots (full when we arrived), plus plenty of other space to park the van in a large pay and display. The factory shop is same as Edinburgh Woollen Mill so disappointed not to see something local.

Overall, it was a welcome stop over in a long drive down to Campbelltown. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Argyllie 11 reviews from this member

 Loch side park mainly populated by statics with a touring area to one end. The fully serviced, electric and water, pitches were closer together than on some sites but most had grassed areas around them.

We were told we could pitch anywhere free which we appreciated at the time. During our first evening a large group of about 20 Italian motorhomes arrived and had also obviously been told they could pitch anywhere.

I feel it may have been better if a group of this size were placed together by the site management as we and other visitors were overrun by these group members going between motorhomes, calling out and disturbing the peace that had reigned up to that point.

Unfortunately it appeared to be the group leader who parked next to us with his habitation door facing ours. They left early the next morning and we were hearing reports of this group from alm over Scotland for the next week or so. :)

There are pleasant woodland walks around the site and the shore is accessible directly from site. We didn't try the toilets and showers as we use our own. There was no sign of recycling when we were there, just biffa bins, which we found disappointing.

At £26/night it was getting on the dear side but we plan to return as it is one of the closest sites to where we live. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 182 reviews from this member

 We had always been put off staying here by the sight of hundreds of static vans. Don't be! We'd planned one night & stayed two because we liked it so much. No tents but there were pup tents beside some campervans.

The campsite is almost out of sight of the statics with glorious wide views of Loch Fyne & the hills - one evening the shore was lined with people photographing the sunset. Moonlight on the water later was spectacular. No road noise. And very popular for all things water related - we saw paddle boards, inflatable dinghies, canoes & kayaks being carried to the shore, and wet suits drying on the grass. There's a motorhome dump & adjacent manhole cover for the CDP, with the two water hoses (drinking or rinsing) very clearly labelled.

The toilet block was spotless, but the Ladies floor did get damp because the showers leaked out of the cubicles (was the portacabin floor sloping?) & people didn't use the mop. There's one generous family cubicle with shower, loo & sink. Varying mobile reception (from 4G to zero) & no Wifi. Didn't use the wee restaurant on site. £26 for 2 adults.

We enjoyed visiting Crarae Gardens (NTS), famous for its rhododendrons, and Inveraray Castle - as seen in Downton Abbey, and still lived in by the proprietor of the campsite.

Finally, another reason we'd come back - the dog loved it. Off-lead walking in both directions in the woods beside the site along the shore. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trummy200 5 reviews from this member

 One night 2 people -£26 with hook up (standard). Toilet block appeared a little inadequate especially as it appeared to be used by some from the static cabins (reasonably clean).

Mixture of hard standing and hard standing/grass. Good space between units. Not really our cup of tea to be honest. Large complex. Close to Loch side - diving school on site. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catarinabod 50 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights over Easter as part of our Highlands tour. Good value as we paid in advance and not busy so had a choice of pitches and nothing between us and the loch (might be more of a car park during busy times). Fab views over loch towards mountains. Pitches were flat and a mixture of grass/gravel. Excellent hot showers in modern portakabin.

Loch-side and field walk into Inverary (good Co-op en route). George Hotel dog-friendly and great food and service. Fish and chip shop overpriced. No wi-fi but good mobile signal. Pitches totally separate from static homes, which in any case were well cared for.

Recycling bins needed near pot washing area.

We really enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: LBBK 43 reviews from this member

 Stayed two nights mid week, mid April in one of the wooden camping pods - you need to bring everything except your tent, but they are very well made & comfortable. There is lighting, a heater, a worktop, food cupboard, electric kettle, curtains, plenty of power sockets, a veranda and picnic table. You can park one car by each pod on gravel based hardstanding.

The site itself is mainly statics but don't let this put you off as the touring 'field' is self contained with its own toilet/shower block and a separate washing up building. Both were very clean and well maintained, though neither especially spacious. We assumed most of the caravans & motorhomes use their own facilities? Bring an umbrella and a torch as a midnight loo stop will take a couple of minutes from the furthest pods.

There was a shop, clubhouse and launderette at reception but we did not use them.

Inveraray: you can walk to town along a flat off-road path. Most of it is gravel but there are also two fields to cross.

We would also recommend the Crinan Canal for its excellent towpath walking and views across to Jura at its western end. Nearby is Dunadd Fort, from the A816, is a cracking little rocky hill famous for its footprint shapes carved into the rock where the ancient kings were proclaimed ruler. No charge, there is a large car park and plenty of information boards.

Any problems? only that our phone booking, made the week before, had been 'lost' so there was some confusion on arrival. Fortunately we were the only people using the pods on these nights so it wasn't a big issue but did take a couple of minutes to sort out. I've therefore had to mark down the customer service rating but the staff were friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Beebeebus 9 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site right on the shore of Loch Fyne. My granddaughter and I stayed for two nights over the Easter weekend. There were lots of pitches available at this time of year as the weather was still quite cold. We were on a hard standing pitch and there was plenty of room between pitches.

The toilet and shower block was nice and clean. There was a small shop but we didn't use it as we had plenty provisions already. Inveraray is just a five minute drive along the road with a co-op store.

We would stay here again if in the area. I likes the idea that the site is protective of nature and bees. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LouLiz 15 reviews from this member

 This was a fabulous site with fantastic views. Well kept - clean and tidy and the shower block was immaculate. We had a fully serviced pitch on tarmac. Stayed 3 nights for the price of 2 as there was an offer on for October. Lady in reception was very helpful - would definitely recommend and return when in the area. Only a couple miles from Inveraray and there is a car park there with 6 bays for motor homes.

Very good location. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Argyll Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Argyll Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Argyll Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inveraray      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5035 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020