Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Argyll Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Argyll Caravan Park
Inveraray
Inveraray
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA32 8XT
Tel: 01499 302285
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 29/03/18 - 31/10/18

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CBDR 5 reviews from this member

This site was OK for one night stop over. It had easy access to water etc with motorhome service point. Electric hook up on all pitches and we could choose where to pitch because it was almost empty when we arrived. Plenty of space for dog walks around the edge of the touring area. It was not as picturesque from the touring site as one might expect due to the statics in view, and we were disappointed that an evening stroll along lakeside path just took us to the busy main road, where there is no footpath to get to Inveraray. Generally clean and facilities OK. The town is worth a stop and has 4 dedicated motorhome parking spots (full when we arrived), plus plenty of other space to park the van in a large pay and display. The factory shop is same as Edinburgh Woollen Mill so disappointed not to see something local. Overall, it was a welcome stop over in a long drive down to Campbelltown.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 167 reviews from this member

We had always been put off staying here by the sight of hundreds of static vans. Don't be! We'd planned one night & stayed two because we liked it so much. No tents but there were pup tents beside some campervans. The campsite is almost out of sight of the statics with glorious wide views of Loch Fyne & the hills - one evening the shore was lined with people photographing the sunset. Moonlight on the water later was spectacular. No road noise. And very popular for all things water related - we saw paddle boards, inflatable dinghies, canoes & kayaks being carried to the shore, and wet suits drying on the grass. There's a motorhome dump & adjacent manhole cover for the CDP, with the two water hoses (drinking or rinsing) very clearly labelled.

The toilet block was spotless, but the Ladies floor did get damp because the showers leaked out of the cubicles (was the portacabin floor sloping?) & people didn't use the mop. There's one generous family cubicle with shower, loo & sink. Varying mobile reception (from 4G to zero) & no Wifi. Didn't use the wee restaurant on site. 26 for 2 adults.

We enjoyed visiting Crarae Gardens (NTS), famous for its rhododendrons, and Inveraray Castle - as seen in Downton Abbey, and still lived in by the proprietor of the campsite.

Finally, another reason we'd come back - the dog loved it. Off-lead walking in both directions in the woods beside the site along the shore.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trummy200 5 reviews from this member

One night 2 people -26 with hook up (standard). Toilet block appeared a little inadequate especially as it appeared to be used by some from the static cabins (reasonably clean). Mixture of hard standing and hard standing/grass. Good space between units. Not really our cup of tea to be honest. Large complex. Close to Loch side - diving school on site.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catarinabod 36 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights over Easter as part of our Highlands tour. Good value as we paid in advance and not busy so had a choice of pitches and nothing between us and the loch (might be more of a car park during busy times). Fab views over loch towards mountains. Pitches were flat and a mixture of grass/gravel. Excellent hot showers in modern portakabin. Loch-side and field walk into Inverary (good Co-op en route). George Hotel dog-friendly and great food and service. Fish and chip shop overpriced. No wi-fi but good mobile signal. Pitches totally separate from static homes, which in any case were well cared for. Recycling bins needed near pot washing area. We really enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 39 reviews from this member

Stayed two nights mid week, mid April in one of the wooden camping pods - you need to bring everything except your tent, but they are very well made & comfortable. There is lighting, a heater, a worktop, food cupboard, electric kettle, curtains, plenty of power sockets, a veranda and picnic table. You can park one car by each pod on gravel based hardstanding.

The site itself is mainly statics but don't let this put you off as the touring 'field' is self contained with its own toilet/shower block and a separate washing up building. Both were very clean and well maintained, though neither especially spacious. We assumed most of the caravans & motorhomes use their own facilities? Bring an umbrella and a torch as a midnight loo stop will take a couple of minutes from the furthest pods.

There was a shop, clubhouse and launderette at reception but we did not use them.

Inveraray: you can walk to town along a flat off-road path. Most of it is gravel but there are also two fields to cross.

We would also recommend the Crinan Canal for its excellent towpath walking and views across to Jura at its western end. Nearby is Dunadd Fort, from the A816, is a cracking little rocky hill famous for its footprint shapes carved into the rock where the ancient kings were proclaimed ruler. No charge, there is a large car park and plenty of information boards.

Any problems? only that our phone booking, made the week before, had been 'lost' so there was some confusion on arrival. Fortunately we were the only people using the pods on these nights so it wasn't a big issue but did take a couple of minutes to sort out. I've therefore had to mark down the customer service rating but the staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Beebeebus 7 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site right on the shore of Loch Fyne. My granddaughter and I stayed for two nights over the Easter weekend. There were lots of pitches available at this time of year as the weather was still quite cold. We were on a hard standing pitch and there was plenty of room between pitches. The toilet and shower block was nice and clean. There was a small shop but we didn't use it as we had plenty provisions already. Inveraray is just a five minute drive along the road with a co-op store. We would stay here again if in the area. I likes the idea that the site is protective of nature and bees.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2117 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0898