Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lochy Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Fort William > Lochy Holiday Park Reviews

Lochy Holiday Park
Camaghael
Fort William
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH33 7NF
Tel: 01397 703446
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 41
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Shakeymc 6 reviews from this member

The site is perfectly placed for access to NCR 78 & the Great Glen Way, turn right at the entrance and follow the quiet lane to the Caledonian Canal and Neptune's staircase, the Great Glen Way and NCR 78 run along the canal at this point.

Very nice site on the banks of the River Lochy. Friendly greeting at the reception, hardstanding with hook up for tourers and large grassed area with picnic tables for those camping.

Facilities are of a good standard and cleaned daily. The outstanding feature for us was the view of Ben Nevis and its changing moods.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tubby2 20 reviews from this member

We stayed here whist walking the Great Glen Way.

This is a medium size camp site which takes full range of accommodations'. As well as cabins which looked quite luxurious. The abolitions are clean and modern and well maintained as is the whole camp site. Also price very reasonable.

The views from the tent area are fabulous of Ben Nevis and surrounding mountains. The camp area is flat well cut with bench you can move to your tent. Seems quite campsite. Also near Neptune Steps.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wildrover58 5 reviews from this member

Two nights booked, first impressions was of a well maintained and cozy little site.

There were a couple of large youth groups arrived just after us, resulting in waiting in line for toilets and showers in the morning. Showers adequate and clean.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alpinestomper 4 reviews from this member

Write Up for Locky Holiday Park Fort William 11 to 18 July 2015

Situated on the outskirts of Fort William and with Ben Nevis as its backdrop we were pleasantly surprised at the lovely views from our pitch. We had a discount from being members of the Camping and Caravan Club and paid £20. 50 a night.

Very easy to access we had a grass pitch near the gas container compound (not a pretty sight) and were lucky to be a couple of pitches away from a part of the site which flooded every time it rained. A couple of tenters moved closer to us to avoid this flooding. However there are lots of hardstandings around which did not have any problems.

The site has the river Lochy running down the back of it and a small walk along it for the dogs. The Toilet Block was clean and modern but unheated, some mornings the temperature was as low as 11 degrees and a bit of warmth would have been nice.

Bus stops about 10 minutes away. Motorhome and Caravan owners are highly privileged in Fort William – there is a specific parking area near Lidls for them to park all day for a couple of pounds, ideal for the walks along Glen Nevis or dare I say Ben Nevis! And of course Fort William itself. Excellent views everywhere you look.

DTV and Sky have good reception.

The staff were helpful and friendly.

There is a shop on site which also sells parts for Motorhomes and Caravans. A garage is near for newspapers and just across the road is a Homefarm discount shop.

We enjoyed our visit and did our usual car rides to the surrounding places of interest.

My only complaint was that the drinking water and grey water were together and the hose was in use for both operations – not good.

The only problem with the North West of Scotland is the weather. It seems to be a magnet for rain and we found it fairly cold for mid July.

Recommend the site – good value for money especially if you get the discount.

Alpinestomper

5 Aug 2015

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andyharvey 10 reviews from this member

Nice site with a great view of Ben Nevis, when it's not hidden in mist.

40min walk to Fort William station.

Gravel pitches for motorhomes with hookup, which we didn't need so we pitched up on grass area with picnic tables. Pick your grass site with care as there are a few low patches which filled with water when it rained.

Showers were clean and warm, though cubicles were quite small.

Very helpful staff particularly as we had to extend our stay and get a new starter motor fitted on site.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nizzy99 4 reviews from this member

I spent a weekend here with my 2 year old son at the weekend, it has a good play park that would probably have been considered a little old for my son but he managed ok climbing the cargo nets to go down the slide, there were even 2 chickens wondering about at one point which again pleased my son.

The views of Ben Nevis are spectacular while you watch your child play or sit by the tent and relax, the Tent field is vast and was scattered with quite a good number of picnic benches which we found very helpful as my son likes to sit and eat at the table.

The shower block was well kept and very clean, showers were hot as well which is always a good bonus, my main issue was a lack of space to get dried and dressed with a toddler ie if I was in the shower on my own it was fine id have had plenty of space or id have just went back to the tent and got dressed but with a toddler and all that goes with him it was a little tight, the only other option was a bench outside the showers but that was right by the door so cold and in the way of footfall, I'm not sure if the ladies had a 'family shower' or not but we managed fine so it wasn't a major issue.

That one thing does not detract from what is a brilliant site, in a fantastic location, run by lovely people.

We will definitely book again in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hapspouse 7 reviews from this member

We stayed 10 nights, only because we had booked that time. Friendly enough, but a non-descript site, quite large with some static caravans for hire. We felt the site was aimed at those mostly. The toilet and shower blocks were very good, clean etc. , but the shower cubicles were no bigger than the toilet cubicles and no shower curtains! I 'hung' my towel and clothes over the door to keep from getting them wet. The dish wash area is very inadequate for the size of the site with only 2 sinks, and only room for 2 people, whereas a lot of couples do the washing up together. In busy times it is probably a nightmare. The laundry facilities are excellent. The site is in a stunning location on the outskirts of town, with a tremendous view of Ben Nevis, and a short walk or cycle takes you to The Caledonian Canal at Neptunes staircase. The site has a small shop with basic needs and some caravan accessories. A good size Morrisons in town, and decetly priced fuel 5 minutes drive away.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 41 reviews from this member

Our family stayed here for 5 nights, holiday. The reception was very friendly and helpful. Lots of local information displayed, which was very useful. The pitches are quite basic grass or small hardstandings, undivided. Some of which were on a slight slope. The pitches are not marked very clearly and caused confusion for new arrivals. We had booked so had a cone placed on the pitch with a label and our name. There was no motorhome service point which meant us having to carry water and waste containers about, not a big problem. The toilet and shower blocks were very good, but please can you fit shower curtains in the showers as all the clothes and towels get wet. The toilets were kept very clean. The dish wash area is inadequate for the size of the site with only 2 sinks, there was always a queue. There is a children's play park on site which looked very good. The laundry facilities looked excellent. The site is in a stunning location on the outskirts of town, with a tremendous view of Ben Nevis, and a short walk or cycle takes you to The Caledonian Canal at Neptunes staircase. There is a cycle/walking path in to town if you turn right at Farmfoods then across the footbridge at the railway. The site had a small shop with basic needs and some caravan accessories. There is a Good Farmfoods shop 5 minutes walk or 2 minutes drive from the site and Morrisons and Lidl in town 5 minutes drive away. A bus service runs approx every 15 minutes from the bus stop at the health centre nearby the site for buses into town and elsewhere. I rated 7/10 because of the very basic pitches and no shower curtains.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bessie28 6 reviews from this member

This is such a good site if you want to be based near Ben Nevis. It has a mixture of hardstanding and grassed sites for caravans and campervans, as well as a large field for tents

I had forgotten to book awnings for ourselves and our friends who were in a caravan. It was a problem for the caravan as the adjacent pitch was reserved for a similar rig and there wasn't enough room for both. The staff were brilliant, re-jigging spaces in very busy site to accommodate us.

The toilet and shower facilities were heavily used due to the sheer numbers of campers on the site, and despite the frequent rain and muddy boots were pretty clean. The only minor criticism I have is that the shower floors did get muddy at times so a mop would have been useful.

There is a Morrisons in Fort William for provisions and several places to eat, as well as a variety of shops. The train from Fort William to Mallaig is a lovely trip and can be done in style on The Jacobite steam train, or more cheaply on the normal diesel train.

The site is well situated for trips to Glen Coe and Loch Ness, as well as to the Nevis Range.

I would happily stay here again as it is one of the friendliest sites we have stayed on.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 130 reviews from this member

Located 1 ½ miles at the North Eastern edge of Fort William the site is accessed by the side of a senior school and industrial estate, the site is a mixture of lodges, static units, touring pitches and a camping field that can and does accommodate up to 300 tents. The fast flowing River Locky runs the Eastern edge of the site with Ben Nevis dominating the backdrop.

The toilet block is basic functional and dirty (gents smells of stale urine!). Lots of posted rules and ‘don’t do’ notices around the site – great fun!

A poor reception Wi-Fi is available at an extortionate ‘hotel’ rate of £ 2. 99/hour or £ 4. 99/day.

The disappointing Fort William can be accessed on foot or bike via the 2 mile signpost route away from the busy main roads. Morrison, Lidl and Tesco (Express) supermarkets are all found at Fort William ideal for stocking up on supplies.

The Western end of the Caledonian Canal with its eight rise Neptune’s Staircase is 1 ¼ miles to the North of the site.

The site serves a function for a stop-over and re-stocking whilst touring, booked for three nights, stayed two and wish I had only stayed one!

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1801 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019