Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Islecroft Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalbeattie > Islecroft Caravan And Camping Reviews

Islecroft Caravan And Camping
Mill Street
Colliston Park
Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4HE
Tel: 07421008699  or  07931173122
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 1 March To 31january

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 1dog2folk1tent 1 review from this member

 Fab little site!

This is a compact site, located next the park (excellent for the dog), local football ground & primary school, so not a site for lots of space & views.

However, there is plenty of room on the site to not feel on top of your neighbours. Literally 2 minutes from the town, & a 20 minute walk to Dalbeattie forest - which is why we picked this site.

The wardens & all the regulars on the site are all very friendly and accommodating, & the facilities are spotless. Even though the site was full, no queueing at all!

The only negative is the 2nd shower in the ladies, this is simply curtained off in the main part of the bathroom. Whilst I doubt anyone would open the curtain when the shower is in use, I just wouldn't feel comfortable using this shower.

Lovely part of the world & would book again next we are in the area 


Date of Visit: November 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Warbuj 19 reviews from this member

 We stopped off here to empty and refill. The site is small and compact at the side of Dalbeattie all statrs ground and Colliston park.

You access the site from the town centre past the oblisc. The access is a little tight with a big unit. The site is level with mixed gravel and hard standings with electric. The amenities are outside the pitched area at the side of the football ground.

Male and female toilets and showers. Elsan point. There are 2 showers and toilets in each block which were clean enough.

The wardens were nice and live on site.

It's a short walk to the kings for a tasty meal and drink (vivid restrictions permitting). A short drive to coral towns of kippford and Rockliffe also Mereshead bird reserve is worth a visit especially for the beach.

Dalbeattie has one of the 7 Stanes mountain bike tracks which are well worth a ride plus miles of woodland walks with wild deer and a small loch in the town wood and 1 at the Colvend side. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kirstsw 45 reviews from this member

 Ideal site for the Dalbeattie mountain biking trail and forest walks.

The owner was very helpful and accommodating.

The site was immaculate and facilities good.

A few minutes walk into the town with pubs and local shops. Fabulous bakers also. Had a meal at the kings hotel where the food was excellent 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Allan T 1 review from this member

 Found this site by pure chance. We were looking for a one night stay at short notice.

During this current coronavirus situation most sites were full or had not reopened yet. Sent an enquiry to Islecoroft and they had a space for the night we wanted.

The site was fantastic and everything we wanted, close to town for shops and pubs, grass or grandstanding pitches, near good playpark for the dog. Friendly and helpful staff. Very fair price.

We will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dawnb1973 1 review from this member

 We have just returned after a 4 night stay at Islecroft Caravan and Camping Site. At first I was a little disappointed at where the site was situated, however the site is close to all places of interest and within the beautiful town of Dalbeattie.

The site is small and compact with very little privacy, however the couple who run the site are really nice people and very friendly. We travelled around the area and visited Auchencairn, castle Douglas, Powmillimount, Southerness and Kirkaldy and went on some nice forest walks close by.

The beaches are really nice around the area too. Sandy hills is spectacular, however, parking very limited at busy periods.

The site has laundry facilities, toilet and shower block which I must say was very clean and also an area for washing up dishes etc and clean drinking water.

There is a nice park nearby for children to play in which is directly next to the site.

No camp fires allowed, however fire pits and barbeque are allowed. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: X4nder50 4 reviews from this member

 What an excellent site. Small and quiet, but very friendly. I am planning to go back again if not this year definitely next. Might even look around Christmas.

Facilities are great and a park within 100m. Shops are within walking distance. Plenty of places to eat and the Birchtree Hotel has kids free with adult paying.

Meals are fantastic and they cater for gluten and dairy intolerances. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dunkydoughnut 1 review from this member

 Handy site for the nice town off Dalbeattie, this is under new management the guy has done a fair bit he is just waiting on the council renovation to the toilets.

Until then they are clean a bit dated but rmost sites are similar, plenty hot water and a nice quiet site, great for dogs as there is a great park beside and a play park for kids.

Plenty off good places to eat in the town and lots off great places to go about the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pamela 56 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived with our friends in their motor home and our camper nice friendly welcome. We chose our spot on grass but field was very soft and wet. I asked if we could change to hard standing and this was done with no problem, site is quiet and relaxing toilets and showers are nice, plenty hot water paper towels etc and you get your own key.

Laundry room with washing machine, dish washing facilities. 10 minute walk to town. Enjoyed our stay.

We are looking forwards to coming back next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Peter Davis 4 reviews from this member

 We came for 2 days and ended up staying over. Site Manager could not be more helpful. Toilets basic but clean. Washing up facilities and laundry are first class. Dalbeattie is a lovely town and Islecroft means you are right next to the town centre but not noisy - lovely park for dog walking and Dalbeattie Town Woods a few minutes drive away. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DCHart 1 review from this member

 Good flat draining site - very well-maintained. Torrential rain but no flooding. Very friendly welcome. Small quiet site - exactly what we were looking for. Excellent wifi connection!

Toilet block old fashioned but perfectly serviceable and very clean, with soap, paper towels, toilet paper.

Wooden picnic benches on-site.

I chose this site because of walking distance to village so that we didn't need to unhook the campervan from the drive away awning all the time.

Loved all the fluffy bunnies hopping around the site!

Will definitely be back again soon! 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Islecroft Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Islecroft Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Islecroft Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2440 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement