Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Rising Sun

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > The Rising Sun Reviews

The Rising Sun
Old Hereford Road
Pandy
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP7 8DL
Tel: 01873 890254
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 24 Electric 16 Tent
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Denz63 7 reviews from this member

We have stayed here several times over the years. I must say the new owners seem to have made a big difference. Friendly welcome, site is well maintained, with clean facilities.

Enjoyed a few drinks in the evening. Nice to see the pub full. Hopefully the new owners will stay for some time to come.

Will definitely return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: DP68 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend over the Big Black Mountain Challenge. Really pleased that I chose this place. It was very easy to find and access was very easy, as it is on an A-road (but not a busy, noisy one).

The site was clean and flat, had plenty of water points and good ablution facilities. The owners were very friendly and easy to do business with.

The site is at the back if the pub, which I also tested (only for review purposes, of course) and again was really pleased. The site also has a small play area for those with kids too.

I will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Rising Sun 1 review from this member

Pity about the very wet easter weekend but enjoyed the stay nether the less. The Shower block has been given a nice spring clean and freshly painted and also new windows in the gents shower block. It has been tastefully upgraded no more signs of the holes in walls or rusty radiators mentioned the the previous reviews. The campsite I believe is due to be upgraded with more hard standing pitches it has been unfortunate for the new owners that the weather has been against them and so a delay starting the upgrade has hindered them. I trust that future caravanners will understand and give the young couple a break and not be put off from last years reviews.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Gi11 19 reviews from this member

Had a club visit with many friend in tents, caravans and motorhomes. Changed a bit in the last year. Pub has shortened its opening hours quite a bit, and the menu is further reduced. The campsite itself is less well maintained than in previous years, longer grass, patches of mud and soggy land at the far end, and the loos and showers could do with a good spring-clean. But we had a great weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dinkum 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for just one night after spotting the pub and campsite whilst passing by. Did not need electricity but did choose a hardstanding. The site was respectable enough and the showers functional and clean. The pub food was good and the bar staff friendly. Had a pleasant, quiet night along with a mix of fellow campers, ranging from our small campervan to a huge motorhome and three tents. Lots to see within a 10 mile radius including Castles, free river swimming at Skenfrith and loads more. The guard dog did bark a little early evening but was taken away for walking and did not trouble us at all later. Recommended if you want good value and good atmosphere.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cuprox 2 reviews from this member

Agree with previous review. Nice meal in the busy pub, but the campsite feels neglected. The gents showers/loos had not been cleaned. There is an accumulation of cobwebs around a window and all that mown grass which people walk in was left on the floor. The pitch had not been mown for a while so it must have been 3or 4 days at least. There is an Alsatian in a run at the back of the pub - which means it has a view of the campsite. It barks at every newcomer - or anyone it hasn't got bored with barking at because they are staying there. Not nice.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rlnorton 4 reviews from this member

The pub is good, looks to have been recently renovated, and the young couple running it friendly and helpful. Food available although we didn't eat there. The site itself is not particularly tidy or well maintained. The pitches are small. The mens showers and toilets were in the top three worst that I have encountered in nearly 25 years of caravaning. Holes in the walls, metalwork rusty, windows matted with cobwebs. They did not appear to have been cleaned recently and there was no heating at the times I used them. My wife did however say that the ladies were in better condition. The hot water only heats up at certain times of the day, out side these times is pot luck or you have to ask for a boost. Electric pitches available but you have to purchase cards from the bar. Fenced off children's play area next to the pub.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Gi11 19 reviews from this member

Been here many times, for a club weekend with many friends.

The place has changed hands again earlier in the year, and has returned to being family friendly, with the publican having a 9-week old baby and two older kids.

Over the years, we have used a tent, trailer tent, folding caravan and normal caravan, but since they built some B&B rooms a couple of years ago, have made use of those, but with a 'day tent' on the campsite. Age is showing! The toilets /showers /washing-up sinks are excellent. They are kept locked, but one is given the code to get in. Issues with use by passing walkers, I believe.

The scale of the pub menu has, I think, reduced, but good choice and value. No food Sunday evenings after a lunchtime carvery. The pub now stays open from noon to closing, which is 10 on a Sunday, later other days.

Felt much more welcomed by the extended family now owning it.

Great area to explore, too much to list here.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: LisaLvVw 2 reviews from this member

Visited this campsite a few times with a tent and loved it. Good wifi signal I'm with EE. Grounds are flat and well kept. Toilet facilities kept clean. Park and football nets for the kids. Staff were lovely. Excellent camping and food prices. Great food served in pub. I recently purchased a VW camper van with lowered suspension and returned to the campsite only to be disappointed that I could not enter the campsite due to the pole that's fixed to the ground on the entrance to the campsite. I did try to enter but my vehicle was to low to clear the pole. So if you have a lowered vehicle please be aware of this. So unfortunately I am unable to return here.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tlck9 32 reviews from this member

The caravan club site was fully booked so we headed to this site. It is close to the road but it didn't bother us.

The site was level and clean, showers were hot once you had run it a couple of times. Washing up facilities is inside.

There is a footpath to the bottom of the site, which if you go left takes you through a farmers field but walk for 3/4 mile turn left and go to top of hill and go left gives a nice circular walk. There's a country pub just to the top of this hill.

The pub was closed during the day which was a shame as we would gave gone for a drink. Sadly it didn't allow dogs in - don't know about the other pubs locally. Because of this couldn't speak about food/drinks etc.

Owner was pleasant and explained where everything was.

Electric is by 1 card which I'm sure would have lasted a few days. But price of pitch was very good. Showers etc were free.

I've rated this as 7/10 only because I'd have liked To have been able to go in for a drink, and places with heatEd flooring etc and more modern facilities I normally rate at 8/9.

Yes I'd go again.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Abergavenny      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2907 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder