Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wernddu Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Wernddu Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Wernddu Farm Caravan Park
Old Ross Road
Wernddu
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP7 8NG
Tel: 01873 856223
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 68
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eifeva 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful staff.

Nothing was too much problem for them, even helped with printing off tickets for an event we booked during our stay.

This was our second visit and will return again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Philip 1 review from this member

 Great relaxing stay. Friendly helpful staff. Site facilities excellent.

I did have difficulty in siting my caravan due to tight location and length of convoy however, I was assisted by site staff, thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Countrymouse 5 reviews from this member

 Positive things first, the site is blissfully child free (that’s the number 1 reason for choosing it, as it was the week of August bank holiday so most sites would be unbearable). The location is also very handy for exploring the black mountains and for visiting Abergavenny and Hay-on-Wye. On site there is a little fishing lake surrounded by willow trees which makes an idyllic little shady spot to relax on a hot day, from there we saw lots of wildlife, including the turtle that lives in the lake as well as a red kite, a heron, and lots of rabbits and squirrels. One evening we investigated the golf club bar, which serves very reasonably priced drinks and has a pool table that is only 50p a game – bargain.

However, the negative aspects of our stay were as follows: There is constant traffic noise from both the B road that runs directly past the tent field, and the nearby A465.

There are no recycling facilities on site at all. Instead we saw them burning rubbish, on a big bonfire right next to the tent field. (You will note that camp fires are not allowed though. )

Also all of the toilet facilities on site are closed for cleaning for an indeterminate amount of time each day, there did not seem to be a regular time for this to happen and there are no notices warning about it. On two separate days we were forced to drive to the public toilets in Abergavenny as we had been waiting to use the toilets on site for over an hour.

When cutting the grass they do not collect the grass clippings, so inevitably as soon as the toilets are cleaned big clumps of grass get trodden all over them, despite best efforts clean your boots off before entering, it's just not possible to avoid it. The showers and toilets are in wet rooms, so it even ends up under your bare feet in the shower. And likewise your tent, car, and every single one of your possessions gets covered in grass by the end of your stay.

On the whole, we stayed the full six nights we intended to, but we would not return or recommend to other tent campers. Probably better if you are in a caravan, situated further away from the road and with your own toilet. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jabawokee 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night but wished it could have been more.

Massive grass fully serviced pitch, big enough for at least three Motorhomes.

Warm and very clean facilities, although the Site was busy we didn't have to queue once.

Lovely grounds with a small lake which you can fish for £5 a day.

Didn't play the Golf Course but it looked very good and you get reduced green fees whilst staying on Site.

We went to the Club House for food on the Friday evening, huge burger with ALL the trimmings and a gammon steak the size of a frisbee again with all the trimmings for just £14, great value for money, friendly and attentive Staff rounded off the evening.

Will we return, YES, would we recommend the Site to others, a big definite YES. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GeoffreyI 21 reviews from this member

 This adult only site was excellent for what we needed as we wanted to visit Abergavenny. We did walk into Abergavenny Town which is approx. 1. 5 Miles each way. The site had very clean facilities with good showers, well maintained grounds and if you are into golf this is the site for you (with reduced rates for people staying in the camp site). They also have a pitch and put, a golf clubhouse serving breakfast and snacks. We booked Sunday lunch and it was excellent and very reasonable, they also serve real ale. Our pitch was a hard standing which was fully serviced which was very convenient. A little noise from the B road at the back of our caravan but it eased off over the weekend. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Also convenient one mile away there is a parking facility that you can leave your car to catch a bus into Hereford which we did, and it takes approx. 45 minutes. There are plenty of walks and the oldest pub in Wales The Skirrid Inn which is about 7 minutes by car. Dogs are very welcome too. There are a few pot holes on the entry to the sit which is our only complaint but I am sure they will be dealing with this. We will definitely return to this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hooley03 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, friendly and helpful staff, peaceful until summer Sunday morning when the weekend bikers screamed past on the nearby fairly minor road at suicidal speeds.

Reasonable prices, use of golf clubhouse bar and restaurant or take-away meals. Excellent all round. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris5448 34 reviews from this member

 Situated by a golf course but that in no way impacts on us non golfers.

A very warm welcome at reception. Use of club house if required. The site sheet was very informative with all the telephone numbers you could need.

Facilities very clean. Pitches are level and easily serviced. The site was busy but there wasn't any noise. Adult only. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

 First I have to say that the site is much nicer than it looks on their web site, the pictures don't do it justice at all.

There are three different areas, a grassy open area with some hardstandings, a large tent field and the area we were in, which had huge grass pitches divided by low shrubs, just enough to be private without being enclosed.

Each pitch had it's own tap and grey waste pipe, it rained quite heavily on a couple of nights but the pitch dried up very well after.

The golf club bar do meals on Fri and Sat and they also do takeaways, I can't say what the food was like as the Saturday we arrived they weren't available as there was a private party on.

We could hear the the people outside the bar and we did wonder if it would go on until late but at eleven on the dot it went quiet and we didn't hear anything else. Goes to show they stick to the no noise ruling.

The toilet block is huge and so are the wet rooms within it which all include toilet and basin. It was all very clean and the showers were always hot though I didn't like the press button arrangement as it didn't stay on long enough each press.

The ground in front of the toilet block got a bit muddy when it rained as did parts of the roadway around the site.

I think a few chippings or something on them would be a big improvement as it would also keep down the dust when dry.

That said it's a nice site and really good value for money.

The site is about a mile from the edge of Abergavenny, then about half a mile into town and is walkable, there is a footpath. We couldn't believe the scale of the market on Tuesday there was everything, possibly one of the best I've seen in a small town.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and if it were nearer to home would probably visit again, I would recommend it, don't let the web site pictures put you off it's much better than it looks. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ljamfam 33 reviews from this member

 Wernddu campsite is on part of the golf club. It is adults only site laid out in small areas with plenty of trees giving privacy to the units. A nice quite site with the exception of one side which runs alongside of a B road. This meant noise from about 6 in the morning up until about 10 at night. We were two rows away from the road and could hear it very clearly.

On first look the toilets/showers appeared very nice until you realised they were wet rooms. This gave way to two problems. The first appears when you use the shower, or you go in after someone to use the toilet, it's covered in water! The other problem is when it's pouring with rain people go into the toilets in boots (not unusual in itself), leave mud all over the floor, then you want to use the shower - not nice!

They have a no clothes line policy which, when you are camping in a motorhome, is a bit of a problem because you have to dry wet towels in the van. It would also help if they had a tumble dryer which worked correctly

Nice site, nice location, shame about the facilities. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winniepeg 2 reviews from this member

 We would recommend this lovely site. Staff are so helpful and accommodating. Adults only heaven! Good fishing lake. Food in clubhouse very reasonable and plenty. Visited this site for 2 years now and sad to say the toilet block is now looking very dated and needs a bit of an upgrade. Apart from this it is an excellent site and we will be back for more happy days! 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wernddu Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wernddu Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wernddu Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abergavenny      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3901 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement