Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Domaine Du Chateau De Drancourt

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Hauts de France > St Valery Sur Somme > Camping Domaine Du Chateau De Drancourt > Reviews

Camping Domaine Du Chateau De Drancourt
185 Rue Du Chateau
St Valery Sur Somme
Hauts de France   (Browse area)
80230
Tel: +33 3 22 26 93 45  or  +33 5 46 22 38 24
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 14/04/2024 to 15/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 15 Reviews
                6/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ian english 7 reviews from this member

 We have been visiting this amazing campsite with our touring caravan for 14 years and have never been let down

A family and adult friendly site, it has three toilet shower washing blocks

Two new modern heated covered sliding roofs swimming pools with slide, full size tennis courts, mini golf, golf driving range, football field, under cover table tennis, excellent restaurant/takeaway, shop, children's playgrounds, pony rides and lots more.

The pitches are very large all with very good electric and water points near by the staff are always friendly and helpful.

There is three super markets (lidl carrefour intermarche) and mac donalds close by all in all We think it is a top quality site that is very pictures at a very good price we think the best in this region A 5 STAR CAMPSITE ***** 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sharonwyn 8 reviews from this member

 What can I say, apart from the weather what a fantastic location.

Entertainment on site for kids and adults - BRILLIANT - Max, Howie and the gang made the week for us as we'd had little entertainement for the rest of our holidays. Excellent activities for lots to enjoy, football, tennis, water polo, kids games and evening entertainment to include quiz, bingo, showtime.

Toilet blocks were unisex showers, toilets, basin areas, washing machines, tumble dryers, disabled showers and WC's separately, very accommodating.

Lovely staff on site, comfortable Drancourt Cafe, Take away, restaurant on site, Chateau bar and also a Cinema Bar for entertainment. Large Tennis Court, mini golf, lots of WC facilities around this huge camp site too. Pony Rides on site along with go kart/bike hire for the site.

Helpful and good english spoken throughout the site.

St Valery sur Somme - definate visit - amazing little village near the Somme river with lots to offer as shops, restaurants, pharmacy, horse rides, train rides. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jjgderbyshire 8 reviews from this member

 Not many recent reviews, so I decided to give my views. Not the type of site we normally choose, but we stayed to meet up with family who regularly go there and stay in one of the statics. We found it an easy drive from Calais and easy to find, although beware of following sat nav as you find yourself towing a caravan along horse tracks. Reception staff friendly and helpful, although very little English spoken (not a criticism).

We had one of the more expensive super pitches which give you a shed with a fridge, patio set, barbeque and your own water and drainage. We had a good time because it was not school holiday, although a lot of French people with kids turn up at weekends, but no problems.

St Valery is a busy place with difficult parking, loads of restaurants and expect to pay a lot more than you do in rural France. The take-away at the site is only recommended if you are desperate and we didn't try the restaurant. I wouldn't go there again, but would recommend it if you have young children as there are pools and it's busy enough to keep them occupied.

We didn't use the shower/toilet blocks so can't really comment but they looked ok. I asked at the reception where the chemical toilet disposal facilities were located and was directed to the motorhome service point which was about 300 meters from my caravan - later found out there was one nearby in the toilet block.

I only used the bar a couple of times and preferred to drink at my caravan. Bar is more of a wi-fi area and somewhere for the reps to meet. Picardy is nice but found St Valery very commercial and touristy. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adambrown2499 31 reviews from this member

 Had to wait for a hour at reception as turned up while they were having lunch.

They told us our pitch which had no grass just mud.

Lots of the pitches were shut down as they were putting lots of pitches to statics the site is becoming lots of statics and pre erected tents

Felt it was very scruffy.

The swimming pool was very nice though.

Dident think the area was up to much st valery, le crotoy and rue were nice but apart from that not much else in the area will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Briary 14 reviews from this member

 Sadly I have to agree with some of the most recent reviews. We arrived to book in and as no information was forthcoming about the facilities. We felt that we were asking all the questions. One of the main reasons we chose this site was that it was a Castels chain site. Castel really have to check up on this one as we certainly would not return.

Our pitch was smaller than we are used to and cats seemed to roam freely and twice I had to chase them in the space of an evening. Then again in the morning.

The toilets had graffiti on them and we saw quite a bit of litter lying around. Even saw a petrol can lying abandoned. For us as a couple this site was more suited to families who like entertainment, noise and hundreds of statics.

This is advertised as a four star site but due to its condition I would only say it is worthy of two stars. Will not be back.

St Valery is such a lovely place with fantastic cycling in the vicinity and beautiful beaches. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Globalhobo 34 reviews from this member

 Stayed here without much research on way back up to Calais for 2 nights, booked direct and still cost 35 euros a night. Ok, it's a little isolated, but it's not too far to drive to St Valery which is a nice enough little town for a day or 2.

BUT. Site entrance badly designed, many people arriving at same time, no clear arrival waiting spot meant long delays and 3 point turns. Staff fine and we could pick a pitch anywhere we liked, pitches were flat, can't complain.

Loos and showers dated with mouldy sealant, you get the picture. Lots of noise from older kids and teenagers, not little ones playing, but stopped at night.

Pub not open much, expensive and the one at the castle really quiet, felt like you were intruding, the other one was like dante's fourth circle of euro disco hell. Retreated immediately.

Ultimately our fault for not checking before booking but really would advise steer clear of this one. Also - Don't book through Eurocamp, they tried to charge us over 60 a night for the same stay. Would not return, sorry. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomandchris 32 reviews from this member

 We have just returned 2 days early from this site, we were supposed to stay two and a half weeks and only stayed as long as we did because both our friends and ourselves had dogs with us so we had to sort out bringing them home.

First, the plus side, the toilets and showers were always clean and never had to queue for them, the lady that cleaned ours worked tirelessly to keep them clean, although I must say they could do with a refurb.

Now the minuses, it is in the middle of nowhere and although it says St Valery is 2km away, we walked it one day and it was 4 miles, when you get there it has a marina, a steam train, and hundreds of restaurants which are very dear, oh and a good vet, but that's it. En route to St Valery there are 3 supermarkets, Lidl, Intermarche and Carrefour and a Bricomarche, a bit like a B&Q. Everything else is miles away.

Now for the sites minuses, the shop is small, overpriced and even in August has limited opening times, and you have to order the bread. The 3 pools are far too small for the size of the site. The children's playground is like you would have in your back garden at home. The mini golf, although we didn't use it ourselves was supposed to be rubbish as it wasn't laid how it was supposed to be. The pony trekking is only round the site. The bars are only open from 7 at night and even then only until about 11, we only went twice and both times were refused a last drink even though the reps etc were getting served. There is nobody in charge that is over 20, just run by kids, some who couldn't even speak english. My husband wanted to go fishing and when he asked they couldn't understand him, good job I have limited french. We never went to the restaurant, the prices put us off, or the take-away.

Now the two biggest gripes, first the weather, it was worse than in England, good job we had Sky, otherwise we would have gone crackers. Secondly, on our second night, our friends who we travelled with and ourselves got talking to two other couples, Tania and Giles who were in a static behind us, and Alison and Simon who were next to us in a trailer tent, and another lady, didn't catch her name but she too was in a static, anyway, we were all stood round talking, no music, no nothing, at then we got told we had to be quiet, the site had had a complaint about the noise, wait for it, this was at 9. 20 at night! it wasn't even dark. Obviously, this just put a dampener on the holiday. The next morning they came to us again and said if it happened again we would have to leave the site, for talking????? We found out later that it was a french family across from us that had complained but when we went up to the office to sort things out we were told we had swore at these people, we never even spoke to them. So don't dare talk if you go here. The same chap told our friend to 'shut up' when we were pitching up.  


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MadFrank 21 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from this site with mixed thoughts.

Restaurant and take-away - over priced and truly the most shocking pizzas I've ever eaten. The only thing the take-away was good for was some chips to go with the BBQ :)

Pool - getting tired and in need of a refurb.

Bars - don't bother - tiny and over priced - mainly used by lap top users taking advantage of the wifi.

Toilets and showers - adequate but nothing to praise them for - in need of refurb.

Shop - only opened for limited hours although reasonably well stocked

Access - getting to the site from the main roads very easy even for the largest of vehicles - although in busy times there may be congestion at the entrance as people queue up to check in.

Site roads - generally very good - the only tight spots being the little cul-de sacs.

Pitches - depends on your luck and how busy it is. Some pitches nicely shaded, others in full sun. Most pitches are a good size but many of them are sloping to a greater or lesser extent.

Atmosphere was very good - mostly Brits, French, Belgians and Dutch in that order with a few Germans as well. Had no problems with noise or rowdy kids/adults

Kids playground was poor considering size of the site.

Locality - St Valery - very pleasant little town. Go up the coast towards Le Touquet if you want sandy beaches or south towards Dieppe if you like the cliffs.

We enjoyed the site despite its short comings and would return because of the lack alternatives in a nice area. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Frizzer 4 reviews from this member

 This was the second time we had visited Chateau Drancourt and we were not disappointed.

The site is very easy to find and well signposted from the main road. It is located about 5 minutes drive from the town of St-Valery-sur-Somme, which is a lovely small French town with good restaurants. There are also 2 large supermarkets again within 5 minutes drive.

Access to the site in a large motorhome was good and we were able to chose our pitch from those available. We were just outside peak season and I believe they do allocate within the height of Summer. However, the pitch we had was a great size.

The facilities at the site are great with a bar, restaurant, small shop which you can pre-order your bread from and the swimming pools. For the children there is also mini golf, miniature pony rides (my son was way too big for this) and the usual table tennis etc. There are also small play areas dotted around.

The toilet facilities are good and very clean. The toilets do have seats and a toilet paper supply located on the wall outside. The showers are timed but very warm at all times of day.

I really like this site and the surrounding area. We only stayed for 1 night before travelling further on but I would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Badger582 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 10 nights, two parties in a tent and tourer with three children of 7,9 and 12. After booking in at a very friendly reception area, we were shown to our pitches, which were an average size, and were sunny pitches.

A lot of the pitches were under the trees, but we were happy with a sunny pitch. The toilet block was very clean, and they were cleaned 2/3 times a day during our stay. The showers weren't very hot, and were a little trickly, but we found them adequate. We only queued once which wasn't bad for August.

The children enjoyed the very large football field, and use of the tennis court (1 court)and table tennis (2 tables)which were free. There were scooters and horse rides for hire at a reasonable 5/6 euros, but our 3 were happy on their bikes. There is a fairly good pitch and put, and they only charge 1 euro for hire of any amount of clubs, which again we thought reasonable.

What was not reasonable was the price of the takeaway foods! 12 euros for a pizza! We went to the Intermarche (about 10 mins drive) and bought 3 pizza's for 6 euros, which were delicious. Also a lager cost 4.5 euros, so we didn't eat out or drink out much at all, which was a shame. Those I spoke to said they had queued for an hour for a bag of chips, and I think the average wait time of those I spoke to was a half hour or more.

The kids clubs were a bit hit and miss, a few times ours went down to the rendezvous point, and there was just no-one in sight which was a bit poor. They did do an archery session, but the arrows were pointing at the football field which was a little disturbing! There was a helicopter ride on the Tues, which we thought quite reasonable at 25 euros for the kids, 30 for adults. All enjoyed the experience.

The swimming pools were adequate, and we had no trouble finding a bed around the pool. We have been to France for the past 8 years, and found this the quietest pool side ever! The pools are a little 'worn', but the children enjoyed playing for an hour or two in them The shop by pool side again was hit and miss as to when it opened.

Our pitches were by the road that ran through the site, and we found it quite noisy at 11pm onwards as groups of teenagers were returning from the bars. The security guy seemed to come around about 10pm, then we didn't see him again.

We visited St Valery, which has a lovely steam train ride, and estuary boat rides. Some nice restaurants to be had, and very quaint village.

We were told about Parc Bagatelle, about a 40 minute journey towards Berck (well sign posted). It cost us 100 euros for 7 to get in, and is a little like Wales Oakwood park for any that know that park. Very good value for money, we were there all day from 10am until 6.30pm. We do recommend if theme parks are your thing. The rides were all very family friendly for all ages.

We won't return to this site as we prefer the bigger pool complexes, but this is an okay park, and we all had an okay time, not brilliant, but we made the best of it and it is within a very easy hour and a half drive from the ferry at Calais. It's a little isolated, set amongst the farm lands, but Intermarche and Lidls within ten mins drive. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Domaine Du Chateau De Drancourt child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Domaine Du Chateau De Drancourt have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Domaine Du Chateau De Drancourt?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Domaine Du Chateau De Drancourt dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Valery Sur Somme      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Hauts de France

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2269 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement