Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shieling Holidays Mull Ltd

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle of Mull > Isle Of Mull > Shieling Holidays Mull Ltd Reviews

Shieling Holidays Mull Ltd
Craignure
Isle Of Mull
Isle of Mull   (Browse area)
PA65 6AY
Tel: 01680 812496
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 04/03 To 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 85 Reviews
                9/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Raymie 1961 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site next to the sea. Excellent staff and very helpful.

Toilets and showers very clean but could really do with hotter water and some pressure.

But overall 10/10

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Munro844 3 reviews from this member

We have been to this site on a number of occasions whilst touring the Western Isles.

We are grateful for their flexibility that after booking and paying for our 3 nights, our van broke down but we were able to adjust the dates to visit when it was fixed. Well done and thank you Shielings.

It is a superb location on the shore of the Sound of Mull, with good facilities, close to the ferry and central to the island.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michaelmorris 17 reviews from this member

A professionally run site with a great location, friendly helpful staff, good loos, showers and washing up facilities. We got a pitch overlooking the harbour.

A 5 minute walk around the headland and we saw sat watching an otter feed for 15 minutes!

Highly recommended, especially if you love wildlife and you can get a pitch overlooking the bay.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ENOCH 29 reviews from this member

The site is in a stunning location overlooking the ferry terminal at Craignure. On arrival we were given a plan of the pitches and told what our number was, nice spot set slightly back but sill with views across the bay.

After setting up it was soon apparent that our's and the adjacent pitch were right next to the water points and the camp kitchen, for 3 days we endured people walking through our pitch with dishes to wash, containers to fill and motorhomes reversing into the area behind us to empty and replenish water.

The site is in new ownership and they are making improvements, the newly refurbished shower block is excellent apart from the pressure in the showers and around 10 seconds per push on the shower button (I hate them things).

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cwarchc 25 reviews from this member

A well placed site, very near the ferry terminal

As had been mentioned before the views are stunning

The organisation was poor. We had pre-booked with our caravan, told where to pitch. Great spot, stunning views

Then an hour later, when everything is set up, water tanks filled, electric sorted, etc. We are told to move?? Moved to a pitch opposite the amenities block. It was like being on a car park. Motorhomes emptying and filling. People filling aquarolls at all hours of the day

It's also the most expensive site I have used in Scotland. It's handily placed for the ferry. However, I wouldn't use it again

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

This is a nice site ! Although quite expensive it's siutated in a Stunning location, with friendly wardens. The site is situated right on the water overlooking the small ferry terminal.

There is a pub (which we were going to have a meal in but having called for an earlier pint and been sold out of date crisps and the look of the food wasn't good), and village shop within walking distance

The toilet and shower block is rather small (2 showers & 2 cubicles in each) but was always very clean and warm but water pressure was very low (took age's to fill the tank on the motorhome) The site also has free wifi.

The site has recently changed hands and the new owners are looking to make significant improvements in the future !

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 81 reviews from this member

We'd seen this Site many times as we took the ferry up the Sound of Mull and always wondered what the military style rows of tents were. Now we know, they're a sort of pre-erected tent village.

The Site itself doesn't seem to operate with such precision though. Staff on location don't seem to have control of all the bookings and pitches and we had to change pitch partway through our stay. Others just took vacant spaces.

The Site itself seems to have been there for some years and is well maintained if facilities aren't brand new. On Site staff were very approachable and helpful.

Craignure isn't our favourite end of Mull. The one shop isn't great and one of the cafes had closed. Its probably good for bus connections to Iona & Tobermory though.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Damaca 30 reviews from this member

Wish we'd stayed longer at this lovely site! The views are great, even if like us you are not given a pitch at the seafront. There are plenty of trees, bushes and little hills to break up the site and give it an intimate feel.

The 'Shielings' in the title seem to be a number of tents of various sizes. We particularly liked the mini-sized ones which were useful to dry and air our washing when we went out, as a precaution against leaving the items out in possible rain.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The location, just nearby the small arrival jetty for the ferry from Oban, and close to a nice pub, is perfect.

There are walks you can do from the site, along the shore (lots of wildlife to see) and to 2 nearby castles. The free wifi even reached to our pitch. The location is at the start of the single track road to Fionnphort, from where you get the little ferry to Iona - a trip not to be missed!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We have not visited this site for several years, on arrival we found it had hardly changed.

When we last visited the pitches on the front could only be used overnight as the small railway to the castle used the area during the day for parking - now the pitches are used as part of the general site.

The loos / showers were clean, water got but maybe not as hot as it could be. With only 2 showers and a reasonably full site there was the odd queue. The facilities are old, could maybe do with updating and upgrading.

Staff are great, friendly, helpful and always around for questions.

The pub at Craignure is just a few minutes walk, lovely home cooked food. There is a Spar and two coffee shops also within 5-10 minutes walk.

We did find the areas around the hard-standing very muddy and boggy, but the pitches themselves are well kept each with ehu supply. There is a moho empty and full point and a chem disp as well as a few water taps across the site.

This really is a lovely site, the views over the Sound of Mull are incredible and the site is perfectly placed for visiting all the major places of interest on this amazing island.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JCockcroft 6 reviews from this member

Brilliant site with stunning views and good facilities. The staff were very helpful both on arrival and during our stay.

The communal space with wood burner was a much appreciated bonus during a very wet week.

The pub, play park and shop are all within walking distance which is also a great asset.

Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Mull

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3594 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019