Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shieling Holidays Mull Ltd

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle of Mull > Craignure > Shieling Holidays Mull Ltd Reviews

Shieling Holidays Mull Ltd
Craignure
Craignure
Isle of Mull   (Browse area)
PA65 6AY
Tel: 01680 812496
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 04/03/2021 to 01/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sheila 1 review from this member

 The site was lovely, we were on the side of the loch, views to die for,

Plenty of vans in site, very busy, but alas only two toilets and two showers for a lot of people, so first come, first served, said it was due to covid rule, but we had come from two much bigger sites in Scotland and their facilities were fully open, couldn't understand this,

But having said that we would return,

Lovely lady that booked us in, very quiet site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Landcaper 12 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site many times. I believe it has recently changed hands. The new owners are really helpful and quick to return enquiries left by phone or email.

The views from this site are beautiful across to where the ferry comes in from Oban. If you are lucky enough to get a pitch by the beach side, as we were this time, then you can have a really fabulous view and the sunsets are also lovely.

There is dog walking from the site.

The showers and toilets are cleaned very regularly and are spotless. They are careful Covid regulations. There is a pub in walking distance which basically sells “pub grub”.

Lots to see and do on Mull and the bonus is that the council seems to have resurfaced most of the roads and are busy doing the remainder. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 107 reviews from this member

 This was our second stay at Shieling. Previously we had camped at the top of the hill with fantastic views NE and across to mainland and mountains.

This time we chose a pitch right in front of the reception with fantastic views NW, straight up the Sound of Mull. Perfect, if the weather is calm.

The facilities are spotless and the staff amazingly helpful. My only complaint was that the water in the lower shower block could have been a few degrees warmer. But everything else was great:

You are close to the ferry, there is a pub at the entrance, there is a small shop too, the mountain range behind (Dun da Ghaoithe) is awesome, Inverlussa mussels and Loch Buie are close by and you will see otters in the sea from the tent door! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Liverpooljohn 7 reviews from this member

 Initial thoughts were OMG what have we let ourselves in for. The area near reception looks a bit like a car park but is close to the shore and gives a good view of the ferry. Fortunately our pitch was further up the site and gave us a great view to watch the sun set over the mainland.

The Motorhome dwellers that were down in the car park area seemed to be enjoying themselves though, They had BBQs lit at night and the atmosphere seemed friendly with people enjoying themselves. I had a walk around the site, at the top end are a couple of cottages and the camping area with some pre-erected tents. The grass is well maintained and its a very nice camping area.

The facilities are spotless and first class showers and toilets. The staff going the extra mile to keep everything clean.

Pub serving meals within walking distance as well as shops.

Despite my initial misgivings this is a well equipped, well maintained site and I would visit again. Dont be put off by your initial impressions.

The only downside was the people who came and parked their campervan directly in front of us. There were at least a dozen pitches to chose from but they park in such a way as to block our view and as if to rub salt in the would they sit under their canopy watching the sunset drinking wine! All we get to look at is the side of their van 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: West744 2 reviews from this member

 Very good site, its evolving and improving year on year. There's easy access from the ferry which is half a mile away and can be seen coming and going from the pitches.

The pitch is on the the shoreline which is prone to windy weather, but is such a beautiful spot.

There's a pub and a spar shop just outside the ferry terminal, also fuel available.

A visit to Tobermory is a must. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: L0k1 1 review from this member

 Yeah I liked it, it was nice.

Good facilities and friendly staff, we had a great view over the bay with nearby facilities. Shower and toilet good.

Games room available for the kids.

Wet and windy during the night, but we were expecting that. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pawsfortents 2 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site. Ideally situated for the ferry terminal and exploring the island. Facilities are clean and adequate. We were on the top field with great views.

The top field had one of their sheiling tents for a shower and toilet facility. There was also a community tent with space to sit, watch TV, use the microwave, kettle or freezers for your ice blocks. Showers were free and hot water was plentiful.

The site was a real mix of people there for 1 night or longer stays. Never any problems with noise or rubbish. The grass is kept short and the astroturf pitches are different sizes according to your tent. Dogs are welcome and a nice walk along the coast to exercise them.

The local area has a dog friendly pub, a shop and post office, tourist information, charity shop and two cafes. The washing machine [£3] was handy when there for more than a few nights and the items we washed had dried in a day under one of the drying tents they provide. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Raymie 1961 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site next to the sea. Excellent staff and very helpful.

Toilets and showers very clean but could really do with hotter water and some pressure.

But overall 10/10 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Munro844 6 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site on a number of occasions whilst touring the Western Isles.

We are grateful for their flexibility that after booking and paying for our 3 nights, our van broke down but we were able to adjust the dates to visit when it was fixed. Well done and thank you Shielings.

It is a superb location on the shore of the Sound of Mull, with good facilities, close to the ferry and central to the island. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michaelmorris 17 reviews from this member

 A professionally run site with a great location, friendly helpful staff, good loos, showers and washing up facilities. We got a pitch overlooking the harbour.

A 5 minute walk around the headland and we saw sat watching an otter feed for 15 minutes!

Highly recommended, especially if you love wildlife and you can get a pitch overlooking the bay. 
via mobile


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shieling Holidays Mull Ltd child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shieling Holidays Mull Ltd?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Shieling Holidays Mull Ltd dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Craignure      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Mull

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3414 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement