Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Torvean Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Inverness > Torvean Caravan Park Reviews

Torvean Caravan Park
Glenurquhart Road
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV3 8JL
Tel: 01463 220582
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 04/07/2020 to 15/10/2020
           24/03/2021 to 15/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 24 Reviews
                7/10 from 24 Reviews

Photos (13)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elaine 1 review from this member

 The site was basic. Neat & tidy enough. But we feel that people like ourselves are being "shortchanged "@ moment due to "Covid restrictions " only having toilet facilities from 8am -6pm seems excessively restrictive & inconvenient for visitors, near to shops locally but nothing on site

This isnt the only site being restrictive however it seems none of them dropping prices accordingly. This was a consensus of a few campers we met, ie: who have had the same experience. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kathie20 7 reviews from this member

 Have stayed here quite a lot of over the years and always found the toilets spotless although a bit dated. The two guys who previously worked there cleaned the toilets and showers a few times a day. I was very disappointed this time as they were not cleaned properly, the floor look liked it had not been washed when we were there. Other people that I spoke to made the same comments. Also it was very inconvenient closing the toilets at 6pm every night. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Welshy165 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night in our motorhome while touring the north of Scotland. Most expensive campsite on our 8 night tour (33).

On arrival we were informed that toilet block was only opening between 8am and 6pm. This is totally unacceptable as no other site on our tour had this crazy rule. The campsite had 2 toilet blocks one was totally closed the other had only 1 shower and 1 toilet open during opening hours. We met a family who were staying in a tent who had to buy a bucket to pee in during the night as they had no toilet.

In the morning we walked to the other campsite in Inverness and had a look around. So much better and 9 cheaper. Toilets and showers open. It's a no brainer next time we will be staying there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Scotsbob 8 reviews from this member

 This is a site we enjoy coming to and have been here several times, but it is beginning to show its age. It is really requiring done up. It is all grass pitches which get really boggy when wet.

The toilet/shower blocks are"adequate" but with plenty hot water. Wi-Fi is available but 'patchy', if pitched near the wi-fi mast its OK.

The site owners also run the North500 Rental Vans and it looks like all the profits from the site are being ploughed into the rental side rather than the caravan site.

The owners Simpson's Garden Ctre during the closed season should be upgrading the site to make hard standing as its a decent site and very handy for I/ness & touring roundabout the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jimagallan 11 reviews from this member

 The site has a great location for canal, river and city. It's the site itself that really needs attention. It's not necessarily untidy but there is no attempt to recycle the rubbish at all.

At 27 for a standard pitch you would expect a lot more care and attention to the toilet, showers and disposal cubicle.

It's fairly clean but dark, dingy and too regularly outstanding maintenance not attended to. A bit of city centre competition would Buck up their ideas or drop the price to reflect what's on offer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 186 reviews from this member

 A return visit, as the location suits well if (like us) you haven't decided whether to go east, west or north. Relaxed friendly welcome, the fee for a sunny grass pitch & EHU is now 29 (relatively expensive in our fortnight's travels).

Worth it for the canal walks nearby, but not worth it for the washrooms. Didn't shower as the instructions stuck up suggested the controls weren't working as they should. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ouchayethenoo 2 reviews from this member

 Terrible. Toilet chemical disposal out of service for the duration of my 4 day stay.

Shower didn't work in one shower block and three sinks out in the other toilet block.

Not much urgency to correct the chemical disposal unit.

Disgusting toilets with no apparent cleaning. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Danny4 9 reviews from this member

 We came to this site from the great Glen, so we found it without any difficulty. We were made welcome and directed to our hardstand. This had both water and electric access. Great. The site is level, not too close to the next motorhome or caravan. We were about 1. 6 miles walk from the centre of Inverness, a good walk going along the side of the river for a lot of the way.

The toilets were good, and there are 2 blocks of them. You need to enter a pass number to get in, which was difficult because it was difficult to read the worn numbers.

Unfortunately the ladies showers were quite cold, and my wife was unable to use them properly.

Apart from that, the site was excellent. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Debbiesmum 12 reviews from this member

 We visited this site with American visitors for two nights. We had called ahead to say that we had been delayed and there was someone in attendance to tell us which pitch to go to. We had booked a superior pitch and it was great to have our own tap to top up our water tank and an easily accessed drain for grey waste. Staff were welcoming and helpful. The pitch was a good size, toilet blocks were immaculately clean - I had been slightly worried by other reviews which commented on the toilets and showers being a bit dated, but couldn't fault cleanliness. Used the tumble dryer for towels one morning - you need old 1 coins but reception had a supply of them. There were rabbits running around and we picked two bowls of the most delicious blackberries whilst walking along the canal. It is an easy walk into Inverness centre we were fortunate enough to see canoes and boats making their way along the canal.

A delightful place to stay. Very happy to recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 Perfectly placed to visit Inverness, just a 20 minute walk along the river from the site to the centre of town.

Some hardstanding around the edge of the site, rest on grass. All have ehu, pitches around the edge have water taps, there are two more taps in the centre.

Staff are great, pleasant, helpful and always around. The site is really well kept and despite being next to the road its very quiet.

Wifi worked well across the site.

For us the facilities let the place down, gents looks as if they had an overall, ladies were pretty dire. Must be said always clean and staff did a great job considering the loos and showers last saw better days some 20 years ago. The water in the showers was fairly hot, pressure ok but nothing great.

As well as the other attractions mentioned the Inverness Botanic garden is worth a visit, just 10 minutes walk, free to enter and with a lovely cafe. Its not massive but is worth an hour at least - the glass houses are stunning.

We loved where this site was, the great atmosphere and even the price of 24 including ehu wasn't too bad. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Torvean Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Torvean Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Torvean Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1709 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement