Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > West Yorkshire > Menston > Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams > Reviews

Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams
West Chevin Road
Otley
Menston
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LS29 6BG
Tel: 01943 876300  or  01132841142
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 60 Reviews
                8/10 from 60 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: November 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alvina 1 review from this member

 Smart site, very quiet in November, apart from the occasional surprise plane take-off coming over the hill from the nearby airport!

Don't try to walk on footpaths alongside the road down into Otley though. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Tianna 1 review from this member

 Myself and my partner stayed at St Helena’s campsite for one night.

The campsite was easy to access and the owners of the park were very friendly and helpful.

The site was very clean and very peaceful. Thank you for a lovely stay! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: ThePeckhamites 5 reviews from this member

 Nice little historic site. We stayed for a wedding on the bank holiday, so were busy with that one of the days, but there's some nice walks around.

Unfortunately close to the Leeds-Bradford airport runway, and a not so busy road. But it didn't disturb us much.

Decent facilities, including a summerhouse with washing up sinks and laminated local maps for some good walking on the nearby hill - Otley Chevin, with its country park.

The site was under new ownership for a week or so, so it'll probably be developed and improved. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helen.harrison2 28 reviews from this member

 This is the fourth time we have visited this site over the last few years and we feel it's gone downhill.

We had asked for a pitch overlooking the road on the front row, the views are fantastic, although it felt as though the hedge was higher than previously, so maybe we wouldn't have benefitted anyway.

We were allocated the third row, the owner said that requests weren't guaranteed, which we acknowledge, she also said the pitches at the front were smaller and difficult to fit an awning on - yet we've always had our awning there previously.

The pitch we were on was hardstanding, but the hardstanding only accommodated half of our awning, the grass the remainder of it was on was on a slope meaning several spilled drinks and an awning not fully used.

My daughter was on the next pitch, once her awning was up the gap was less than 2 metres from our caravan. It rained whilst we were there and water collected on her pitch - she had to take the groundsheets up, dry them and the sodden equipment out, the water remained although the rain cleared up, so she was also unable to use her awning fully.

The ladies toilets had two toilets and a shower, there was no evidence that they were cleaned during our visit, the bin was full, the sinks were dirty and the mop bucket left to clean out the shower room had dirty water in it. The plaster on the ceiling was hanging off and the walls were mouldy, although the shower was hot.

The pictures on this site show a utility room freshly painted with plants around the site, there were no plants and the room was in need of a lick of paint, although it is a useful room to have with washing facilities.

WE thought the site was expensive at £26 per night, having said that other sites are now similar prices, but it didn't warrant this in view of the small pitches, 10 amp electricity supply and poor facilities.

It was contactless check in which is fine, but there was no human contact, no one came to see if we were ok, which they have done previously.

Such a shame as the location is fantastic as are the views, hopefully things will improve. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sarrison 13 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately we were left very disappointed with this site.

Family had already visited once and were booked to go again so I tagged along. Unfortunately when I enquired about availability they were fully booked so I asked to be alerted for any cancellations. The owner very kindly emailed back stating she could squeeze us on but did advise our might be tight to get our awning up for the caravan, however did charge us for this before arrival so I was determined to get it up.

Arrival is contactless, on arrival you note your pitch from a board with the site map drawn on. Although this would have been ideal during covid, it did lack the personal touch.

Unfortunately the pitches are very small and I wouldn't have normally liked to pitch my awning so close to another unit but given it was a family members it wasn't too bad.

The hard standing pitches do not look as neat as the pictures anymore and unfortunately drainage on the site isn't very good. All the hard standings pitches were surrounded by mud and some large puddles.

Disappointingly we awoke one morning after some heavy rain over night to a soaking ground sheet and carpet in the awning, this was due to water either collecting on our pitch or possibly leaking on the way to the drains which were next to our pitch.

The campsite is open with no security gates and does open up onto a busy road which can be quite noisy in the night.

I was also awoken two nights to someone (I think) being dropped off in the middle of the night and then the car using the campsite to turn around.

Toilets are small and will need expanding in the future if more units are added. Women's consisted of two toilets and one shower. Shower was very small but hot. Unfortunately the toilet block wasn't cleaned during our entire stay, meaning the wonks became rather dirty and the mop bucket provided to clean the shower floor was dirty. Women's showers also looked to have been affected by damp with the ceiling paint peeling away.

Although the location is excellent we likely won't return again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Alexmc 1 review from this member

 We stayed a couple of nights to visit friends. The site was easy to find and in a nice location overlooking the countryside.

It isn't a massive site but it has everything we needed. Toilet and shower block was close by (only one shower in ladies) which was clean and tidy.

They have a hand full of glamping pods which looked nice.

You don't really speak to a reception as there is a board when you arrive with you name and pitch allocation on.

There is a shed with washing up facilities and grey waste and water point and a drinking water tap located by the toilets.

There are communal bins by the drive way.

The site is not enclosed and there is a road which has a lot of passing cars so I was on tender hooks with my two younger ones. There was a old Wendy house they did enjoy playing with but we weren't there that long as only using it as a base but could imagine they may get a bit board with it after a while.

There is a good local pub 3 mins walk away whichever served lovely food but supermarket was a bit of a drive.

Good site for what we needed it for but would say it was quite noisy due to being under Bradford's airport flight path. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: JRRD 3 reviews from this member

 The best point in favour of this campsite is its location, handy for Otley and Leeds, and with a truly glorious view. Unfortunately, the road outside is a busy road run and there are frequent frequent low aeroplanes taking off from Leeds Airport. That is fine if you are if you already live under a flight path, but I found it quite intrusive.

I have given customer service one out of 10, because I never met any of the staff. I booked online, paid by bank transfer, and when I arrived I was directed to my pitch by a clumsily scrawled notice on a blackboard. I think this is the only campsite I have ever stayed at where the staff were completely invisible.

The facilities were perfectly adequate, but then the campsite was only half full. There is only a single shower for men, but it provided abundant hot water for as long as I wanted.

Some other campers complained that the shower floor was filthy, but perhaps it depends on the time of the you use it and it was always perfectly clean when I went in (and after I had used it !). Some campers also complained that the ladies shower had no hot water at all, but I cannot comment further on this. Washing up is done in a separate small building which was always spotlessly clean, but again never any hot water.

The main business activity is glamping, and I get the impression that touring campers are an afterthought. There was a poster in the washroom boasting about their plans to build a glamping loft above the shower block, but apparently no plans to build extra showers. This will leave the site really rather undersupplied with facilities.

I enjoyed my stay there because there is plenty to do in the local area and I used the site only for cooking and sleeping. However, I cannot wholeheartedly recommend it for the above reasons. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Myfanwy Couple 47 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our stay at Clarion Lodge despite the weather. The 20min walk downhill to town was easy. The road is very busy pavements narrow.

The uphill walk back strenuous. Good facilities and pleasant outlook.

Our only criticism is the pitches are quite small with little space between units 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Travelling with daughter and grandchild. Arrived at 6pm. It was dark and your name was on a board at the entrance with your pitch number.

The pitch was not over big and it was not particularly hard standing. When you got out of the van you had no choice but to stand in mud.

The Ladies toilet facilities were poor. There was only one shower and above the shower the ceiling was peeling way. The toilet floor was very wet and there was no lock on one the doors.

It was our first campervan trip and we were very disappointed with the facilities. We never saw any site staff.

Would not go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ged600 33 reviews from this member

 We booked this site in January for a weekend in February. This was a test run for our fresh caravan to check everything worked etc.

The weekend in question was one of the horrible storms but we gave it a go and arrived in high winds and rain, the site was very wet and boggy because of the weeks of rain. We were greeted by Jo who was very helpful, I couldn't get the motor mover engaged properly so we had to turn the van manually to face outwards towards the view. A lot of people on the site came to help as it was so boggy the van kept getting stuck.

On another weekend it would be lovely.

The site was small and compact the toilet block clean with sinks shower and toilets. There's a little shed in the middle of the site with washing up sinks and info about the site and surrounding area. We never saw any re cycling bins just two large skip type bins.

The area was lovely but we only stayed one night instead of two as we never slept on the first night with constant high winds and rain. The Chevin is around a mile walk from the site with views and walks for miles. There's a pub just up the road but we never went in. We never got chance to visit Otley which is the nearest town.

We had two dogs and locally couldn't find a short walk without walking on pavements with the roads busy.

We are going to try and return again after this Covid 19 lockdown.

Overall lovely site and location and the owners are very very helpful. 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Menston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5248 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement