Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams
West Chevin Road,otley
Menston
Ilkley
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LS29 6BG
Tel: 01943 876300
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doncaster76 12 reviews from this member

Likes: View and location. Good base for large area.

Dislikes: No value for money. Spacing between pitches. Condition of pitch (not proper hard standing just muddy with but if rubble). Size of pitch (not what advertised. Caravan is 7.4metres long and did not fit fully onto what was meant to be hard standing area). Only 10 amp electricity. Cleanliness of facilities. Lack of basic facilities (only 1 shower which was not adequate at weekend when site was full; lack of waste bin in pot wash area etc). £3 charge per night for a dog (with no facilities for them what is the huge charge for?).

Needs serious TLC. Maybe it was just to it being off season, but all hard standing was full on weekend and the owner in my opinion needs to have more care for site. Definitely should not be allowing awnings to be pitched so close to neighbouring units. Finally. Please replace the mop in the bathroom it was disgusting.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Luluwebby69 1 review from this member

I took my 2 younger grandchildren the first night in a tipi tent and we were welcomed by a very friendly lady called Joanne. The site is situated on the chevin itself so you get the views of ilkley and wharfdale just gorgeous to look at. The facilities are brilliant. A small summer house to wash your pots along with leaflets of various activities off the site such as the stepping stones at ilkley. The shower was awesome lovely power shower and very neat and tidy. There's an outside tap to fill your kettle. The youngest who is 2 loved the ducks n geese at the top end of the park.

The 2nd night I took the younger ones home after climbing the chevin n we had a ay down town in the children's area near the weir. The older one came with me this time. But we had to nip home because it rained and the tent leaked. Lol. So we went back on 3rd day and tookthe spare tent. We had a laugh because we made dinner on the stove and I wantd a cuppa so I boiled the kettle but it chucked it down and all you could see was large blobs rain haa.

All in all a great place to stay between menston. Otley and ilkley. The site is well maintained and peaceful. The sunset is fabulous. There isnt a bus to the site from otley but its a great walk up the hill even with a pram.

There's a good pub at top of the road as well.

I'm hoping its open when it snows x now that would be awesome.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phj140256 1 review from this member

We have been twice during May because we use it as a base to visit family in the area, this is a lovely little site, and the people friendly, the place is clean and well kept, and will certainly be using this site many more times

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SteveMG 1 review from this member

A fabulous little site in a great location. We visited once or twice over the winter period as it is very handy for Otley shopping, eating and drinking.

The only thing that lets it down are the state of the pitches and roads. MUD is the word ! It really wouldn't cost the owner a lot to put some gravel down on the pitches and roadways. The mud totally spoils the enjoyment of this otherwise lovely site !

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ditsy79 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the August Bank Holiday weekend, with our 8-man tent.

First impressions were very good - the owner is very friendly and greeted us when we arrived, then showed us the various facilities.

The campsite is small, with stunning views. There are only 2 toilets and 1 shower for each gender, but we never had to queue. The showers were free, powerful and hot - and none of those annoying push buttons that time out every 10 seconds. There is a separate hut for washing up, with 2 sinks and draining boards. This is one of the places you can also get your drinking water - the other is outside the toilet block.

As the site is small there is no shop or playground - although there was a plastic playhouse for smaller kids.

Not far from Otley where there are shops and restaurants, and there is a pub a couple of hundred yards walk away.

We were really impressed with this campsite - lovely location, fantastic owners and very reasonably priced (£15 pn or £18 with ehu)

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Monkey12 1 review from this member

Myself and my wife just spent four days here. Really enjoyed it. Well worth the visit. Very nice people and helpful at all times, nothing was too much trouble. Will be returning back very soon. Nice walks, views. Shops not too far away, within walking distance

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geh961982 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from a one night stay at Clarion Lodge.

Beautiful little site run by very friendly helpful people.

There is a Pub 2 minutes walking distance serving great food and drink.

Would highly recommend the site and will definitely be returning

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Crystal Singer 7 reviews from this member

This was a last minute choice and we could not have chose better. Lovely level site, clean and well kept. Fantastic views across the valley. Facilities clean and not far from the field. Owners friendly & informative. Yes it's next to a road and also on the flight path, but to be honest that never bothered us at all. Sitting watching the stunning sunset across the Valley was just perfect!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CampingScout 1 review from this member

Clarion Lodge is a fantastic site in a nice area. From the camping/caravan field, there is a view right over the valley, but the site itself is sheltered from high wind by a hedge, so even in a 3-man tent in the rain, I didn't feel much wind hitting my tent. There are no electric hookups on the tent field, but there are for caravans.

The toilet block is clean and in good condition, and not too far from the field! There is a washing up area with 2 sinks, which is also clean and in good condition, although the sign that says 'caution, very hot water' isn't quite accurate, because it was lukewarm at best. I don't know whether this is normal or whether it was just because of outside pipes after a cold night.

The site owner is very friendly and approachable. She was out when I arrived, but came down to introduce herself when she got home, and then later to come and have a chat with some of the visitors.

Clarion Lodge seems to be about halfway between Guiseley and Otley, so it doesn't matter whether you turn left or right out of the site, you'll meet a town with shops fairly quickly.

I would recommend this site to anyone, and the pitches are a really good price!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Sam1985 1 review from this member

Clarion Lodge offered the perfect setting for our group of 9 adults, staying two nights in the Wigwams. This was the fifth annual ‘glamping’ trip for my work friends and I and Joanne at the site was most accommodating in answering our many questions prior to our arrival at the site. We were really pleased to see such well equipped wigwams which included a toaster, kettle, microwave and large fridge as well as crockery and cutlery. All three were spotlessly clean and were comfortable with plenty of space to move around (we had to shelter from the rain!). We’ve stayed in similar accommodation before but we felt that Clarion offered the best value for money compared to other sites we’ve visited. The toilets and shower were always clean and a stones throw away from the wigwams which was perfect for us. It was a nice touch to have a washing up bowl in the wigwam and the washing facilities were only a short walk away and were always clean. The views from the site are absolutely stunning and we were able to relax and enjoy these sat on the picnic benches located outside the wigwams. The location of the site is ideal for exploring local areas and some of our party went into Ilkley to do a spot of shopping. All in all, we had a fantastic weekend at Clarion and wouldn’t hesitate to go back again.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2957 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019