Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Ilkley > Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams Reviews

Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams
West Chevin Road,otley
Menston
Ilkley
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LS29 6BG
Tel: 01943 876300
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Travelling with daughter and grandchild. Arrived at 6pm. It was dark and your name was on a board at the entrance with your pitch number.

The pitch was not over big and it was not particularly hard standing. When you got out of the van you had no choice but to stand in mud.

The Ladies toilet facilities were poor. There was only one shower and above the shower the ceiling was peeling way. The toilet floor was very wet and there was no lock on one the doors.

It was our first campervan trip and we were very disappointed with the facilities. We never saw any site staff.

Would not go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ged600 17 reviews from this member

 We booked this site in January for a weekend in February. This was a test run for our fresh caravan to check everything worked etc.

The weekend in question was one of the horrible storms but we gave it a go and arrived in high winds and rain, the site was very wet and boggy because of the weeks of rain. We were greeted by Jo who was very helpful, I couldn't get the motor mover engaged properly so we had to turn the van manually to face outwards towards the view. A lot of people on the site came to help as it was so boggy the van kept getting stuck.

On another weekend it would be lovely.

The site was small and compact the toilet block clean with sinks shower and toilets. There's a little shed in the middle of the site with washing up sinks and info about the site and surrounding area. We never saw any re cycling bins just two large skip type bins.

The area was lovely but we only stayed one night instead of two as we never slept on the first night with constant high winds and rain. The Chevin is around a mile walk from the site with views and walks for miles. There's a pub just up the road but we never went in. We never got chance to visit Otley which is the nearest town.

We had two dogs and locally couldn't find a short walk without walking on pavements with the roads busy.

We are going to try and return again after this Covid 19 lockdown.

Overall lovely site and location and the owners are very very helpful. 


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ged600 17 reviews from this member

 We booked this site in January for a weekend in February. This was a test run for our fresh caravan to check everything worked etc.

The weekend in question was one of the horrible storms but we gave it a go and arrived in high winds and rain, the site was very wet and boggy because of the weeks of rain. We were greeted by Jo who was very helpful, I couldn't get the motor mover engaged properly so we had to turn the van manually to face outwards towards the view. A lot of people on the site came to help as it was so boggy the van kept getting stuck.

On another weekend it would be lovely.

The site was small and compact the toilet block clean with sinks shower and toilets. There's a little shed in the middle of the site with washing up sinks and info about the site and surrounding area. We never saw any re cycling bins just two large skip type bins.

The area was lovely but we only stayed one night instead of two as we never slept on the first night with constant high winds and rain. The Chevin is around a mile walk from the site with views and walks for miles. There's a pub just up the road but we never went in. We never got chance to visit Otley which is the nearest town.

We had two dogs and locally couldn't find a short walk without walking on pavements with the roads busy.

We are going to try and return again after this Covid 19 lockdown.

Overall lovely site and location and the owners are very very helpful. 


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandra 1 review from this member

 Lovely, peaceful, small dog friendly site. Very kind and obliging owner. Front row pitches give a fantastic view (there are only 2 rows).

Toilet block was spotless.

Lovely pub within walking distance (literally 2 mins) which does brilliant food and great value for money (and is dog friendly), short drive to the lovely town of Otley.

Very reasonable price. If you want peace and quiet this is a good spot. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton3 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location, plenty of pitches.

Great walks on the beach.

Facilities are ok but they could do with a refresh and a few more of them.

Very friendly people who run the place 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Beth B 1 review from this member

 Clarion Lodge was a lovely, small campsite and the owner was really helpful, offering to lend us extra pegs as it was really windy as we were pitching up.

The toilet blocks have 2 toilets, one shower and sinks, and we're always warm and clean. The washing up facility is a small shed so protects from the weather.

There is a basket of bat's and balls in there for children to use, but unless the campsite was very quiet, it'd be tricky finding space to play as the site is small.

My kids enjoyed the duck on site, and watching the planes right overhead (the site is under the flightpath for Leeds Bradford Airport so you get to see planes up close as the take off and land). 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Lynndiloo 1 review from this member

 Pros: We had a very friendly welcome and the local pub was so close for good pub grub. The views across the countryside were lovely and the low flying planes overhead added an element of fun to the hols. Otley was nearby for all sorts of facilities. Ilkley Cinema is definitely worth a visit!

Cons:The draw back was that the hard standings really aren't hard at all. We ended up with a mudbath which was awful under our breathable awning and it really smelt.

I know that it rained on some days but with proper drainage, decent chippings/pebbles and wider hardstanding pitches suitable for awnings our time there would have been so much better!

The toilet facilities were ok but appeared not to be cleaned everyday.

To walk the dog you either had to go in the car or go on very busy country lanes to get to the Chevin Forest. Once you got there, the walks were great. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mumamialeeds 3 reviews from this member

 As very new campers living in Leeds we decided to make our first trip to a site which would be near enough to travel home if we had forgotten any essentials, hence our visit to Clarion Lodge.

Our first visit was just for one night to see how we fared with our tent in the great outdoors. We received a very warm welcome from Jo the site owner and had a good pitch near to all facilities.

The pub across the road served excellent food and was good value for money.

The facilities on site were very clean with plenty of hot running water and no charge for the shower.

On our fist visit we stayed in our tent, this visit our adult children and grandchildren used the tent and we slept in a wigwam, which was well appointed and well stocked with full size fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster and heater.

Children loved playing in the grounds which were beautifully kept.

Looking forward to our next visit - many thanks Jo! 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doncaster76 12 reviews from this member

 Likes: View and location. Good base for large area.

Dislikes: No value for money. Spacing between pitches. Condition of pitch (not proper hard standing just muddy with but if rubble). Size of pitch (not what advertised. Caravan is 7.4metres long and did not fit fully onto what was meant to be hard standing area). Only 10 amp electricity. Cleanliness of facilities. Lack of basic facilities (only 1 shower which was not adequate at weekend when site was full; lack of waste bin in pot wash area etc). 3 charge per night for a dog (with no facilities for them what is the huge charge for?).

Needs serious TLC. Maybe it was just to it being off season, but all hard standing was full on weekend and the owner in my opinion needs to have more care for site. Definitely should not be allowing awnings to be pitched so close to neighbouring units. Finally. Please replace the mop in the bathroom it was disgusting. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Luluwebby69 1 review from this member

 I took my 2 younger grandchildren the first night in a tipi tent and we were welcomed by a very friendly lady called Joanne. The site is situated on the chevin itself so you get the views of ilkley and wharfdale just gorgeous to look at. The facilities are brilliant. A small summer house to wash your pots along with leaflets of various activities off the site such as the stepping stones at ilkley. The shower was awesome lovely power shower and very neat and tidy. There's an outside tap to fill your kettle. The youngest who is 2 loved the ducks n geese at the top end of the park.

The 2nd night I took the younger ones home after climbing the chevin n we had a ay down town in the children's area near the weir. The older one came with me this time. But we had to nip home because it rained and the tent leaked. Lol. So we went back on 3rd day and tookthe spare tent. We had a laugh because we made dinner on the stove and I wantd a cuppa so I boiled the kettle but it chucked it down and all you could see was large blobs rain haa.

All in all a great place to stay between menston. Otley and ilkley. The site is well maintained and peaceful. The sunset is fabulous. There isnt a bus to the site from otley but its a great walk up the hill even with a pram.

There's a good pub at top of the road as well.

I'm hoping its open when it snows x now that would be awesome. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Clarion Lodge Campsite & Wigwams dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilkley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1107 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December