Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Jedwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Jedburgh > Jedwater Caravan Park Reviews

Jedwater Caravan Park
Jedburgh
Jedburgh
Borders   (Browse area)
TD8 6PJ
Tel: 07779219219  or  07711418419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October (inc)

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kathie20 5 reviews from this member

Stayed one night to break our journey, the pitch was very muddy due to heavy rain night before.

Toilets were horrible, didn't use shower looked as though it hadn't been cleaned for a while.

Glad it was only one night, would not return in future.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mouseybrown 10 reviews from this member

You cant fault the friendly welcome Jim gives you. He escorted us to our pitch on his little quad bike and made a fuss of the kids. Hes a lovely guy. The park is a good base for visiting the surrounding area. The site is mainly caravans - statics and seasonal touring pitches. Tent pitches are on a very narrow strip by the river and in the summer you definitely need your midge repellent. I was covered in bites! We visited on a busy weekend at the end of July and found the pitches were allocated quite tightly. There was a lot of noise during the night going on well into the early hours from the neighbouring seasonal caravans who seem to have staked their claim on one end of the strip! One day somebody spent at least an hour using a hose on the drinking water tap, washing his car, creating lots of mud and I thought it was bit rude, he didn't seem to mind hogging the tap for so long! The toilet block is dated and there are only two showers each so be prepared to queue. They are lovely warm power showers however, so the wait was worth it. The site could really do with a bit of tender loving care. We noticed quite a lot of litter lying and you cant call it a pretty site. We didn't see any other members of staff over our 3 night stay. Jim seems to do it all! Perhaps he could consider employing some help to raise park standards. He does his best - He's the receptionist, shop keeper, cleaner, warden, gardener and the rest. But the man cant be everywhere at once!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beadsbyfiona 4 reviews from this member

Excellent idyllic relaxing site along the shallow, gently sloping bank of the river. A zip-wire and play parks for children, toilet block somewhat dated but clean, and a shop, selling ice cream, sweets, etc prices were good, Jim, the owner just does not stop working, and always on hand helping folk out with beds etc and lent us a long tv cable which gave us an excellent picture on the tv. I use a mobility scooter and was able to travel around the site and admire the lovely gardens of the static caravans, an overall feeling of total relaxation, peace and tranquillity, the birdsong and the noise of the river, total bliss. This campsite is a credit to the owner, and a joy to visit.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angieorange67 2 reviews from this member

We were heading to the North of Scotland and decided to break our journey partway up. We had previously stayed in Howick but decided to try a different area.

We enjoyed looking around Jedburgh, especially the jail and Queen Mary's house, both of which were free.

Booking was straightforward and we requested a hardstanding for 3 nights.

On arrival, the warden showed us to our pitch and then left us to it. We were situated on a large hardstanding area adjacent to a grassy area which housed 4 other touring caravans, though these were seasonal pitches. There was a couple of picnic benches placed together at the far side of the grassy area, but the area felt a bit 'off limits' to other campers.

There were quite a few other touring vans which were seasonal.

We were left to find out where the various facilities were, drainage was via the drinking water stands and there was only one bin that we could find which consisted of a very high container that we had to throw our bin bags up into. We saw no other bins around.

My daughter used the shower block and said the water kept running cold. When I used it on the first morning, the water took ages to get warm and before the end of the shower it suddenly turned ice cold again. There were also cobwebs in the cubicles. We used the shower in the caravan for the rest of our stay.

We deliberately chose this site as previous reviews had mentioned how quiet it was. We were extremely disappointed as I was awoken at 00:15 by lots of shrieking coming from the area with the four seasonal touring vans. I went to the toilet block and noticed that all the occupants of the seasonal vans were sat around the two picnic benches with various children also milling around. The other side of us was a couple of touring vans who had also got together to have a small party, though they were not as noisy as the main group. I telephoned the number on the leaflet but after a few rings, this went to a voicemail. I had not made note of the wardens number from the door of the recpetion. The noise continued until 2am and then the gaps between loud shrieks got long enough for me to get back to sleep. The next morning, the amount of empty bottles on the table was amazing. I bought some ear plugs in case the next night was as bad, but did not get chance to speak with Jim.

On the day we left, I bumped into the warden and told him about the noise. He had had 5 other complaints about the two vans the other side of me but had not realised that most of the noise came from 'The Purple Corner' as it was known, due to all of their fairy lights that they are lit up with at night. Apparently they are a group of seasonal pitches who built their own jetty into the river (with permission!) He said he would split them up in future, but I do not see how theis would solve matters as they would continue to congregate at 'their' jetty. It appeared that they had befriended Jim and were now able to do as they liked on the site. When we did leave we noted that one of the caravans had a wooden name 'Eldorado' and another had one saying 'S**tville'. We really wished that we had returned to our previous site in Howick.

We may have been unlucky as this may have been the first Friday night of the main holidays, but this site appeared to specialise in seasonal tourers or groups of friends touring together. We will not return and I would suggest anyone who did made sure they have the warden's number in their phone in case they need to complain about noise. We will not return.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John+Brenda 13 reviews from this member

Just back from 4 nights whit weekend, We stayed with 8 families with kids ages 6 years to 77 years old, There was lots to do for the children, there was two play areas and a games room with a TV and BINGO on a night time. We got a great welcome of Jim the warden, what a happy go lucky man he is he can not do enough for you. He was always smiling and very happy. The toilets and showers were very clean and tidy, there was plenty of hot water, Jim gave us a fire pit and logs which was great to sit around at night with a glass or two. We have now booked up to come back here in August and we are looking forward to retuning to this wonderful site.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soozndave 6 reviews from this member

Just back from 3 nights at Jedwater, we stayed with 3 other families with kids ranging from 4 to 9 years old. Lots for them to do, a play park, big zip wire and best of all, paddling in the water! Lots of lovely walks. Got a really warm friendly welcome from Jim, he could not do enough for us. Brought us a fire pit to use and told us to help ourselves to fire wood from a stock of old bits and bobs, was great for the kids to toast their marshmallows. Jim also was great with the kids and took them for a spin round the site on his golf buggy, they loved it! In summer there are various animals to see, we will have to come back for that.

We were put on hard standing, which initially I thought, 'oh no!', however, it was all small pebbles so quite comfy underfoot and actually a godsend when we saw how soggy the grass was, given that it's very early in the season, we had rain in biblical proportions whilst pitching and hail. The toilet block was nice and clean, showers could do with a bit of de-bugging, but guess that's living in a field for you! The shower itself was lovely and hot and powerful. The location is well off the road so is lovely and peaceful, no road noise. About a 10 minute drive into Jedburgh where there is a co-op and chip shop etc. All in all a very pleasant stay and I will certainly be back again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ailsajr 1 review from this member

We spent two days camping at this lovely site. It is very child friendly with a play park, zip wire and farm animals at the entrance. Jimmy, the warden, is very friendly and helpful. The tent pitches are beside the river and were well spaced out, there is EHU which we used. Facilities are clean and tidy. Site is approx five minutes from Jedburgh, it does have a small shop on it that opens at fixed times. Would definitely recommend this site and look forward to going back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mouseybrown 10 reviews from this member

We had 2 nights at Jedwater with our 3 children and small dog at the end of July. We were met on arrival and followed the friendly site manager to the touring area by the river (The rest of the site is dedicated to static caravans). Pitches aren't numbered and everyone seemed to have plenty of space. We were asked if we'd like a fire pit (which are free to borrow) and we thought this was a nice touch. The manager was soon back on his quad bike with the fire pit and some wood to get us started. The kids enjoyed looking for more windfell later in the evening. The toilet/shower block was situated nearby and was always clean. There are plenty of loos and sinks but only two showers, however there was never a queue. I guess the static owners use their own. The site has a nice play park and zip wire. Also a games room with tv and pool table. There were lots of socket points for ours to charge their devices too which kept them happy during the rain! There is a small shop which stocks basics and pocket money toys and sweets. There are horses, donkeys, pigs and hens at the entrance to the site and our kids enjoyed petting them. Jedburgh is a short drive away and we hit on with the Border Union Show at Kelso which was a great day out. Also recommend the nearby Teviot Water Gardens which were nice to stroll through and free of charge. We will definitely return to Jedwater. The site manager couldn't have been more friendly always chatting as he passed and checking that everyone was ok.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmcintyre 1 review from this member

Everything was spotless and kept that way for our whole visit, the staff could not have been any nicer and made our whole group exceptionally welcome. The kids enjoyed the zip slide and all the animals nearby the site and all the facilities to keep them entertained during our visit were on the whole excellent. I would highly recommend the site and we are already planning our next trip.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Broggas80 1 review from this member

Lovely, friendly campsite, just as we had hoped for. Warm welcome when we arrived from Jimmy who showed us straight to our pitch and was always around should be need any assistance with anything at all. Weather wasn't great, but that never spoilt our stay. Still plenty for the kids do do, there was 2 parks, a zip wire and an indoor entertainment room with pool and a TV. There was a shop there that opened 3 times a day, full of sweets and goodies for the kids, and essentials like toothpaste, shower gels, tea coffe etc. Toilets and shower block was clean well cared for. I believe the laundry room and dish wash was the same although we never used these, but others did comment that this was the case. We will definitely be returning, hopefully end of August, would defo recommend this site to anyone.

Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4090 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019