Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sun Valley Resort

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Sun Valley Resort Reviews

CLOSED: Sun Valley Resort
Pentewan Road
Mevagissey
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bryan1324 16 reviews from this member

 This was my second visit this year. The first time was in May. This time it was very different. Torrential rain greeted us on our first day. The hardstanding pitch was already waterlogged as we arrived. I went and asked if I could move to the vacant pitch next door only to be told NO. This pitch was drier and slightly higher than ours,and it remained drier throughout the week. Apparently as I was only there for 12 nights it was going to be used by a person who had paid for a two week stay. (By the time we left person number 4 was using the pitch).

So by 2100hrs (On our first night) our pitch was flooded, we had two inches of water in the awning. The central touring area looked like a lake no grass was visible at all. Over the next 10 rainy days the awning began to smell because of the stagnant mud. We managed to get sand bags (10 in total) placed around the awning, it helped slightly. We had to spend two days cleaning our awning flooring down, we were unable to sit outside.

We had to get our traffic van towed off the pitch as the wheels had sunk. I will not use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Twinklepuss 15 reviews from this member

 Very well kept site in an excellent location in a very sheltered valley. The air temperature was certainly higher on the site than in the surrounding area outside. For example, in the evenings it was warm enough to sit outside & eat when it was too cold to do so in any of the local eateries. Very quiet on the site at night even though it's on a road. Good for star gazing at night too. Excellent amenities. Fab indoor swimming pool. Only less than favourable comment about it is that, unfortunately, it does feel a little crowded as soon as there are more than about 8 people in it. It's still great to have it though. Clubhouse well decorated & comfortable to sit in. Good choice of food; the daily 'specials' were much better than the standard menu items. Very reasonable prices. Drinks not unreasonable either. All staff very friendly & very efficient. Any problems or questions were resolved almost immediately. The static I occupied was quite old & so not in tiptop condition but had been well maintained. Easy 20 min walk along a dedicated riverside/wooded trail to the beach & pubs at Pentewan. Same distance along the trail in the opposite direction to get to the pub & restaurant at London Apprentice. Very easy to get from the site to all tourist attractions in Cornwall. Also easy access to north & south coast beaches. The only thing that would make this site better would be sea views but then it wouldn't be so warm & sheltered! Very highly recommended site. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bryan1324 16 reviews from this member

 It was our first time at this site, It came recommended by a friend. On route we followed the directions as given by the site. I'm glad that I ignored my Satnav, otherwise I would have had to negotiate a tight bend in St Austell.

The Site has an easily negotiable entrance and road to reception.

At reception we found the staff to be very helpful. ( This was borne out a few days into the holiday, when the owner arranged an appointment for our grand daughter at his doctors surgery when she was taken ill with Tonsillitis). The site itself is flat, it has a mixture of Grass and Hard standings. All have EHU. The pitches are very generous, The grounds are tastefully maintained. Plenty of water points. The site is sheltered by trees making a haven of tranquillity on windy days. Compared to the beach sites just down the road.

The site shop stocks basic provisions, newspapers and a few toys for the kids. It has a lot of information leaflets about what to do in the area.

My only moan is that the Kids play area was close to the road so, as our grand kids are tiny we would only let them go under supervision, (minor moan), it is a good play area.

The toilet and shower block is very clean. The toilets & Showers are made into individual bathrooms, Some are old, but they work and are clean and there is plenty of hot water. (at no extra cost)

There is a heated indoor Pool, we found this to be brilliant, very clean and well maintained. (Free to use)

The on site Launderette came in very handy, It was cheaper to was & completely dry bedding & clothes than in Birmingham.

The on site Restaurant& Bar was great. The steaks were done to perfection. Very reasonably priced. A good selection of beers. The entertainment was good Especially 'Coz' the clown, the grand kids loved him.

This is a FIVE star site at 3 STAR prices, We will be back again. It is a great base for discovering Cornwall. Padstow on the North coast was only 12 miles away.

ASDA TESCO & LIDL are all accessible in the town along with lots of other shops 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo p 6 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. This really was a find, the site is spotless and well maintained. The games room was a little tired and the game machines were not all working but when we go away we shy away from these and try to get back to basics. There is limited phone/internet access so this was a total break from the rush of everyday life. The staff and customer service was fantastic they really couldn't do enough to help us. The showers again were a little bit tired but they were kept clean and hand wash and loo roll were plentiful as was the hot water. The toilet cubicles each had a loo, sink and shower with a chair and plenty of room to allow you to dress comfortably. There is a great little park for kids of all ages (Adults included) simple but we had hours of fun in there. The club/restaurant were also accommodating and the little play area kept the children in our party (5 in total) occupied with ages ranging from 7 to 14. A perfect holiday for us. This is the most dog friendly site I have ever been and f you like cycling or walking there are pleasant walks along the river taking you through the Pentewan valley. We will definitely return to this site and hope that it never changes. We stayed for two weeks and I don't think anyone really wanted to leave 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Daves mate 23 reviews from this member

 Our 1st visit to this site and this particular part of Cornwall, we ended up in both as our usual haunts were fully booked due to our last minute arrangements.

Firstly, the area is stunning. Taking the Mevagissey road from St Austell it's not long before you leave the hustle and bustle behind and find yourself in lush, green countryside. A 1 mile walk down a cycle/footpath takes you down to the beach at Pentewan, by no means the best Cornish beach I've ever been to but a long way from the worst and as it's part of the Pentewan Sands complex there's a whole load of watersports available. Mevagissey is short drive, or a walk along the coastal path away. It doesn't have the charm of St Ives or Portlevan but is still a nice place to eat fish and chips on the harbourside.

The site itself is set in very picturesque woodland, most of which is set aside for static caravans. The camping/touring field is nice and level with space for about 30 units, a few of which incorporate hardstanding. Some of the ehu points are quite far from the pitch and our lead wouldn't reach, this was rectified by the site lending us a longer lead for a refundable 20 deposit. We had heavy rain throughout our 2nd day and through the night, by bed time the field was very boggy yet by the time we woke was as dry as a bone. As others have said the facilities block is comprised of several self contained units consisting of shower, toilet and basin. Although a nice idea in theory it doesn't really work, if you're bursting for the toilet but all the showers are in use. Well, you get the idea!The whole block is a little dated and although I often saw the cleaning staff about it never looked spotless. There's quite often no loo roll as well.

The swimming pool is clean and well maintained if a little on the small side. The same can be said of the club house. Entertainment is a little infrequent and at times can seem a bit ad hoc. Also, I'd question what they call 'family entertainment' at times. Next to the clubhouse there's a small play room consisting of a soft play and a few grab machines. All the kids loved playing in here. There's also a small games room by reception containing some outdated arcade machines, during our stay more than half of these were out of order. The on site shop seems to open as and when they feel like. I visited one morning at about 9. 30 and they were still waiting for a delivery of bread and milk and had no idea when it would come, which isn't great. There's a small shop at the petrol station in Pentewan and a general convenience store at the side of the road heading back towards St Austell. Both are well stocked but are a drive away when you've got a family waiting for breakfast. Special mention must go to the site staff, all of whom were very pleasant and extrememy helpful.

I'm told there's been a recent change of management who've put some considerable investment into the site. Personally I think there's a little more investment to be made, mainly to the games room and facilities block, but overall we enjoyed our stay. This site is firmly on our radar now and we certainly wouldn't rule out a return visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moss1 1 review from this member

 Just back from great weekend at sun valley our first visit. Staff very helpful friendly. Pitches good size. All well maintained. Kids loved the outside and indoor play areas. The swimming pool was warm clean and free. The toilets and showers were hot and impressive. Good location nice walk and ride on trail opersite site. The TV reception bit patchy only negative point. We live in Cornwall and we will definitely be visiting sun valley again soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sun seeker 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 weeks and we thought it was great. When we arrived we realised we had lost the instructions for our awning and only having used it once some 3 years previous we had no idea! the staff were great and very helpful, we actually had fun putting it up with their help!

The location is really good for access to places. We hired bikes from the site and cycled along the local tracks that you can access from the site, it was great.

The pool was great, clean and warm, our 11 year old was in it virtually every day and it was warm enough for our 3 year old to spend quite some time in unlike others we have experienced. The only problem was my daughter had to be accompanied as she was under 15, she is a very good swimmer and this caused some issues.

I agree with the previous poster that the shop was very poor. Toilets/showers could possibly do with a bit of an upgrade but they were clean and lots of hot water with none of those stupid push taps.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Gary Tun 1 review from this member

 Just spent a week at Sun Valley in a standard static caravan. Luckily for us the caravan was in a good secluded area with nobody able to look in (not that we had anything to hide!). The caravan was clean and quite smart and at the end of the day it is just a base. Apart from a kettle that took an age to boil and didn't whistle I have no complaints at all there.

The site is quite pleasant with plenty for the smaller children to do. The donkeys were no where to be found but the goats and rabbits were there.

The club is fine but doesn't open until 6pm even on a Saturday and after a 270 mile trip a coffee or a beer would've been nice as the accommodation wasn't ready. It opens 6 until 11 every night and the entertainment is dreadful when it happens at all. It is quite a large site but very few people use it and the number goes down as the week goes on.

We didn't eat in the clubhouse but used the takeaway a few times which is prepared by the same people. The prices were holiday prices but we enjoyed the food. The ordering time though is 6pm until 9pm so again not the greatest.

The shop too is the poorest I've ever come across. Practically nothing in it and they only seem to stock one of anything. If you need milk and a paper you might be alright but that's about it really. It opens until 6pm but we went around earlier in the day and it was mysteriously shut.

There is an arcade that never seemed to have anybody in it, staff or customers.

We never used the pool so can't comment on that. The staff were very good and friendly so no complaints with them.

Overall I enjoyed the holiday and the site but just think that it needs better management, later takeaways, better entertainment and a better shop.

Its in a good area but could be a goldmine if they ran it correctly. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kirkbeck 2 reviews from this member

 We spent few nights at this site. We have stayed here many times in the past when owned by previous owners. We were shocked how the site has gone downhill.

The showers were a little shabby and in need of tlc. Admittedly we have had an awful summer but the whole camping field was totally waterlogged. They had a pump going to try to empty the stream alongside site to try to drain pitches. Grass was like a bog. You sank into water if you trod on grass, luckily we were on hardstanding.

The pool is very good. The staff very pleasant but overall appearance of flower beds etc scruffy. The clubhouse is pleasant enough. The food could be improved upon, very ordinary, burgers etc. We did eat in there twice but no atmosphere as apart from some men playing pool it was empty. Ate our food and returned to van.

The whole site appearance is sad. Even static vans are old looking. Needs tlc. We found it impossible to get tv to work, shame we had not been told before hand about bad reception. Certainly no longer 5star but still 5 star prices. Such a shame as setting beautiful, lovely walks, nice area. We knew this site as a wonderful place to stay but no more. Will not return. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3224 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement