Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swanage Coastal Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Swanage > Swanage Coastal Park Reviews

Swanage Coastal Park
Priestway
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 2RS
Tel: 01590 648331
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Davidb 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, located close to the town, with certain parts with great views to Swanage and the sea, beware there is a steep hill to walk back up on the way back.

The pitches looked ok but if you are put in the unmarked pitch field there isn't much in the way of flat ground which makes for uncomfortable night's sleep. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smg1 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a weekend, Fri to Sun.

The site has just fantastic views over Swanage, and is situated behind a static caravan park, in a large field up the the hill.

Whilst the camping area is on a steep slope there are lots of flattish areas to pitch, which means all the pitch's are spread out.

When we got there we thought there would be queues with only 2 mens and 2 ladies showers available, but we never ran into any issues, and there was always plenty of hot water.

Whilst the showers and toilets were not the most luxurious looking, they were always clean and checked everyday.

All in all, a good site with great views and close to the town.

We would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jemimasmith 1 review from this member

 Spent a really lovely five days camping in the overflow 'coastal heights' section of Swanage coastal park with five friends and another arriving later on, and we all would highly recommend this camp site!

We arrived on the monday and signed in at a friendly and welcoming reception (who have a clean and accessible toilet that they welcomed me to use- long journey) and the lady was very polite and gave us a big welcome pack of brochures and maps, and even though I am very familiar with swanage, came in handy. The site was easy to find and signposted, and the staff were brilliant with giving advice on travel routes and the best cheap cooked breakfasts in the town (the blue cafe opposite the angling shop, was quite nice and good value with flexible choice and vegetarian options)

One minor disadvantage of the sites location however is the VERY steep hills going up towards coastal heights, one of our cars almost broke down trying to cope with the incline, especially with having luggage and camping equipment adding extra weight, so I would recommend that if you think your car may not be up to it for some passengers to perhaps walk up the short hill which made it a lot easier on the car.

The place we chose (which is also a bonus as you can pick a spot best for you) from the hilly but green and very spacious field was perfect and gave us enough room to comfortably park three cars and a six man tent with a large space to sit and cook was brilliant and was a good distance from the toilet and shower blocks. The location of the site is perfect as it is not too close to the busier paths but not too far from the amenities. The site had absolutely amazing picturesque views to see the beach and the sun in the day, and the town lit up at night, but just far enough away to give an incredible view of the stars at night.

The toilet and shower blocks were down the steep hill which was a bit of a task climbing up in the mornings (and at night after the pub- which were all great in the centre of town and a very walkable distance away, either by the road or through footpaths) but the facilities were kept really clean and the showers were always warm and there were enough for there not to be queues, even though one night there was no toilet paper in one of the blocks but the was some in the other block so it wasn't a major problem. The only other problem would be that this site isnt brilliant for disabled access as there are stairs for every block and the reception also has stairs to the door. Every staff member we encountered was polite and friendly and the site was quiet and calm with a good atmosphere. There was no electric hookup for our site which was a bit of a down side for charging phones etc. But we would recommend just buying a usb in car charger which works just as well for charging phones whenever you take a drive.

Swanage is a beautiful place and the beaches are perfect and the town centre is brilliant for eating, shopping and having a look. The value for money of this campsite has made it much more possible for us to visit swanage again more frequently and I will definitely be booking with this campsite again when we next visit, hopefully very soon! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhinosfan 6 reviews from this member

 Spent a glorious weekend in Swanage lovely weather and great walks, even though they were a bit hilly around the coastal path! Got a really bargain at this campsite, only 25 for two nights with electric hook up. Really friendly and helpful staff, clean toilets and showers, they do need a bit of tlc but they are doing them up continually and making it look nice inside and out. The views are fantastic but that it was you get being up a steep hill. Got a taxi from Swanage one day and was dropped off at our tent and only charged just over 3, another bargain. The Globe pub at the bottom of the hill was very friendly and had free wi-fi plus a nice little beer garden. The only thing was where our plot was, due to having electric hook up, it wasn't very wide and had a dirt track through to the other camping bit so wasn't able to put all our guy ropes out but not a problem as the weather wasn't too windy. Although we didn't take a dog here are lots of great walks for them, chatted with lots of friendly dog walkers. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Jrainbrim 1 review from this member

 Although there was a steep hill to our caravan, it was good for losing those few pounds that I always usually gain on holidays.

Some beautiful scenery can be seen from this site, which was also clean and having a dog had plenty of dog bins.

The caravan was comfortable and had everything we needed for the week.

The position of the site was wonderful for the coastal walks, a must for those who like walking.

Not far from town to walk for the groceries but I also used the shop left onto the high street from Priests way.

The only thing that I thought it lacked was a bit more lighting on the paths. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Falfaz 1 review from this member

 Visited this site in October. On going into the shower/toilet block there was ivy growing across the ceiling from the gaps in the roof and up the shower rails. Tiles falling off walls. The roof looks to be asbestos sheets which are damaged and spiders size of tarantulas. All in all a disgusting unhygienic block and cant believe this is run by shorefield. Would not recommend this site whatever the views 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bethnaomi 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite in easy reach of Swanage town. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped on the top field 'coastal heights' described by the reservation team as the overflow field, but easily the best spot to pitch your tent!

Great views of the sea, Swanage and the Purbeck hills-can even see Corfe Castle in the distance. Lots of different sections to the field so you can pitch up with a bit of privacy. Quite windy when we were there, but as it is so high I expect that's fairly standard so take a windbreak!

The 'seasonal toilets' were a great his & hers wash room on wheels, much newer and more convenient than the permanent facilities which are a 5 min walk down the steep hill in the main part of the campsite.

Walk into Swanage is easy, about 15 mins. However walking back to the top field is a bit of a trek, but well worth it, and judging on the number of families camping up there it obviously wasn't a problem for kids either.

I think 19 a night is reasonable for this site, with good facilities and its proximity to Swanage. You can also go to the bar at the campsite next door where there is entertainment every evening-not our cup of tea but reasonably priced drinks and lots of kids to do! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chriscable 38 reviews from this member

 What a disappointment. No hardstanding and all pitches ( only seemed to be 6 despite what the website said) were on slope - got stuck in motorhome twice.

Toilets/showers very old and although kept clean there was shrubbery growing through the roof and earwigs to be cleaned out of the showers before use.

Totally geared towards statics with tourers a very poor second. Would not return despite great access to Swanage 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Palmer2 18 reviews from this member

 What a gem in the heart of Swanage. A few spaces for motorhomes on hookup and water taps available and good toilet/shower facilities are close to hand unless you are sited at the top of the hill where the excellent views are, so we will stop up there next time. We were pitched close to play park due to the weather but quiet at night.

Very pleasant staff and towed me off the slippery grass after major downpour. Easy and pleasant walk into Swanage and beautiful surroundings. You must walk to Durlston and view the free exhibitions now its all been refurbished.

The drive into site is of easy access for motor homes.

Plenty of pubs and shops nearby, our favourite was the Black Swan (and Pickle 'the dog') just down the road, out of the footpath at bottom right of site a few minutes walk.

So much to offer in Swanage, steam trains, punch&judy, a pier and lovely safe beach.

Very reasonable pricing so will certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trugnug 1 review from this member

 A great site with really friendly wardens. They give the impression of enjoying what they do and want you to feel welcome.

We camped at the top field and we were pleasantly surprised to find that the old portaloos had been updated. They now contain 3 great showers (6 including the mens' ones as well). Clean and plentiful hot water.

The ground was quite sloping, but it was soft and there was plenty of space.

Awesome views as ever, and we even braved the clubhouse on the next door site on Sunday night!

Would definitely return again. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swanage Coastal Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swanage Coastal Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Swanage Coastal Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2909 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement