Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Castleton
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 8WB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 94
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 108 Reviews
                9/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Janey47 22 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights. I was concerned when we arrived as I realised I’d forgotten my levelling blocks. But our pitch was very level and didn’t require any. Facilities were spotless as usual for a club site. Recycling is encouraged with separate bins which I think is excellent. Lovely little touches like a help yourself herb garden.

Wardens were extremely helpful especially Carol who was lovely.

The town is a short level walk from the site.

My only reservation was public transport was very limited. We prefer to leave the motorhome on site and use public transport. The only available bus was to Sheffield.

I recommend the “Devils Arse” caves. Our guide was an experienced caver and was a mine of information. Excuse the pun. There are a wide range of gift shops and tea shops in the town. We found the Blue John stone very expensive.

The town is very pretty and I’d say definitely worth a visit. But for us we probably wouldn’t return as we feel we experienced everything we wanted to and as true motorhomers decided to move on to Chatsworth.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maz9999 31 reviews from this member

Nice clean site 15 minutes walk to the village, little dog walk area but don’t arrive before 12 or you will queue on the busy road as they are very strict with times even when there’s loads of space. We parked up on a very uneven pitch so even with chocks we were sloping, and our pitch was one of the better ones

Finally got as level as we could only to have a knock on the door saying we were 2 feet to the left of where we should be, booked a pitch with an awning even though we don’t have one or a car but ridiculously we were asked to move over 2 feet ?

Perhaps spend more time levelling the pitches before worrying about a few feet of empty space
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

Excellent site within a short walking distance to the village centre.

Excellent walking and caving base.

Facilities on site are excellent.

Friendly and helpful wardens.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swiftescape624 4 reviews from this member

Everything about this site is fabulous. There are lots of walks straight from the site. The facilities are first class. The staff very friendly. It was very quiet at night apart from the sheep in the next field (which we loved). Train station about 1. 5 miles walk. Love it and will definitely returning.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

An excellent if compact little site up to the usual CC standards in the heart of the Peak District. The beautiful village of Castleton is a 5 minute walk away and has 6 pubs and a very decent Italian restaurant.

Obviously this is prime hiking country and there are plenty of trails to explore from the village.

The only issue to watch out for is traffic around the Manchester area if you're trying to connect with the M6. The Snake Pass route from the site to Glossop is stunning, but Glossop itself is traffic jam central even at off peak times. Next time I'll head south towards Macclesfield for M6 access

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan-c1 8 reviews from this member

We visited this site several weeks ago and were very impressed, but 1st my only pet hate of many sites. As is usual with most club sites the shower/toilet block closes for cleaning between 10. 30-11. 30 each morning. This is usually when I want to use it. Of course those units leaving to return home may need to spend a penny at exactly this point before journeys home. As there are 4 wardens (2 couples) this strikes me as unnecessary, as the men could clean the gents and of course conversely the ladies. Neither scenario need entail closing the entire block, as they could be cleaned and used simultaneously. As many private sites do this I see no reason to inconvenience campers without good reason.

That’s it for the criticism though! The site is perhaps a 15 minute walk into the beautiful village, where there are several lovely country pubs, a village store and 1 restaurant. It is of course the perfect location for walkers too, as well as those wanting to tour the area seeing its many lovely towns and villages. Nothing much here for kids though, this area is mostly suitable for adults. The site itself is beautifully kept and spotlessly clean, with all of the wardens being very friendly and helpful. There was certainly none of the ‘regimented’ inspections referred to in previous years. To sum up then an excellent site, which is deservedly very popular.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Marham2 8 reviews from this member

This is a very busy site and generally fully booked. Knowing that I booked this when this year's booking opened. After four days stay I wondered why it was so popular. The site itself, while up to the usual Club standards, is pretty featureless. The nearby village of Castleton has few shops but many restaurants and pubs. Clearly a tourist destination. What the area excels I is the walking and this must be the main reason for the popularity. Having said that some of our fellow campers only walk was to the toilets. There are many caverns to visit, some where blue stone is still mined. The road out Westward was closed so there was only one way out so it was not a great centre for touring however this may be temporary. I do not want to give a negative impression as we enjoyed our stay. The restaurant at the Cheshire Cheese Inn is worth a visit.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mogadon69 15 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site just outside the village of Castleton. The site slopes slightly so blocks and chocks are required, all pitches are hardstanding (good for winter caravanning), some pitches are smaller than others and unsuitable for awnings. Facilities are up to the usual CMC standard, always clean and well stocked.

At the time of our visit, we could not get an awning pitch, so had to make do with one of the smaller pitches, that said there was ample room for the caravan and car.

The area adjacent to the site is full of caverns if that's your thing, while on top of the hill overlooking the village is Peveril Castle (English Heritage, and unfortunately closed during our stay) from which the village takes its name. Being in the Peak District, there is walking aplenty in the local area too. For the stately home lovers, Chatsworth House is not too far away, the house and gardens are open to the public daily.

The village has an abundance of pubs, the closest (and we found friendliest) being the Cheshire Cheese, good grub and a good pint, what more could anyone want.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NEJane 25 reviews from this member

I have just returned from a three night stay, on this site, meeting up with friends to enjoy a pre-Christmas social gathering. My first impression (bearing in mind the time of year) was how festive it looked. The decorations around the site office were beautiful! Others, on site, had also decorated their units, making it feel very Christmasy. The half mile walk, into Castleton is worth the effort for the pubs and places offering coffee. We enjoyed two evening meals and one morning coffee - all in different hostelries, and we certainly weren't disappointed in any of them. As walkers, we took advantage of the rights of way, direct from the village, without having to turn a wheel. We also walked the two mile distance, to Hope train station (footpath all the way )and travelled into Manchester (or Sheffield, if you wish, in the opposite direction). Wheelchair users will manage fine with the hardstanding pitches as they are compacted, rather than the dreaded gravel - thumbs up for that one! I only have one little grumble, regarding the facilities - the pressure in the showers was dismal! I had to hop from one cubicle, to the other, wrapped in only a towel, in the hope of getting more pressure. Unfortunately, no. I do believe though, there is to be a facilities re-vamp, early next year. Summing up, my friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our gathering here and I will definitely be back, bringing my son the next time, this being the type of countryside he enjoys for walking/climbing.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jadsett 45 reviews from this member

We spent 3 nights on this site. As a regular user of CC sites, I found Castleton to be well up to all the standards that we have come to expect from Club sites. All pitches on site are hard standing and most offer excellent views.

There is a bus stop within 50 yards of the site gates with regular services into Castleton, Bakewell, Hope, Hathersage and eventually Sheffield. Castleton is less than a half mile walk and is a centre for a whole range of activities including rock climbing, potholing and walking, It offers pubs, cafes and tea room. We can heartily recommend Tilly's, which although it calls itself a 'tea room', offers a selection of very tasty hot and cold meals.

We will be going back to this site

Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5555 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019