Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Castleton
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 8WB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 94
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jayarbee 38 reviews from this member

 This would be our 3rd or 4th visit for this site and enjoyed it just as much.

Signs could be earlier and more obvious but maybe thatís just me.

On arrival greeted by a lovely lady warden who gave us a site map and marked which pitches might suit.

This is a MACC site so as youíd expect, very clean and well kept with lavatory block immaculate but the usual hobbit sizes shower cubicles.

There is a dog walk we didnít use but a Labrador reckoned it was ok.

One excellent facility we used a lot was the drying room. Put our wet walking clothes in on our return. Nice and dry next morning.

Usual laundry room and information room with a family games room.

There is a barrier on the gate for which you get a fob. No drama.

I believe all pitches have EHU.

If you turn right out of the gate 10 minutes walk gets you to castletom itself.

Nice village with a nice bakers Peveril Stores. They do nice pies and cakes. I like cakes me. Otherwise it was jewellers and eating places.

We wanted to eat out but couldnít due to every eating place playing loud music. I really canít understand this need for constant noise. Seems people nowadays are afraid of silence.

We did have a nice lunch at the Bay Tree but again had to sit outside because of music.

If you turn left out of the gate and walk for five minutes you will come to a footpath by a bus stop and post box. Walk up there and you come to Lose Hill and can walk along the ridge to Mam Tor. Great walk with great views. We stopped for our lunch along the ridge. Walk right round and come down back into castleton by the caverns.

2nd walk. Start out to castleton but just short of the village lookout for a green sign directing you to Hope. This is a nice flat walk which indeed does lead to Hope. Have lunch at the Adventure cafe. There is good butchers and a delicatessen there. Walk up the side road and turn left at a footpath and walk round in a loop back to the main road near the caravan site.

All in all a good site for a walking base. You can even hear the sea lions at night. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Christians Shelby 10 reviews from this member

 A well kept campsite with good, well spaced pitches and excellent facilities.

Easy short walk from castleton.

An excellent base for walks in the Peak District 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 80 reviews from this member

 Our first time at castleton after many failed attempts to get there, staying 3 nights.

A lovely site, well laid out and really good facilities which were kept spotless, and the majority of pitches were flat.

Wardens were polite and helpful, especially when recommending a sunny pitch!

Took the 10m walk into castleton a few times, which on the weekend as you would expect is very busy with motorcyclists and cars. The path is narrow in places so need to be on your guard.

There are so many places to eat and drink, however we enjoyed the food (especially the pizza) and drink at The George, as it was off the main road and so less noisy.

Took a circular walk up to Man Tor (not for the faint hearted) passing the many Caverns that you could enter. If you went into them all it would set you back the best part of £70 each, so as the sun was out we didn't bother.

On the walk we came back through Cavedale, a steep path with lots of loose stones, be careful.

Also took a bike ride up to Lady Bowers Dam and Derwent Valley Dam which was lovely.

A wonderful site with options to walk, cycle or just relax 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazza1309 50 reviews from this member

 Great site, near the town of castleton one way and Hope the other.

Easy walking both for the pubs and restaurants.

Good walking country.

The site itself is the usual C&M club standard.

The wardens were very good. 


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vans4eva 7 reviews from this member

 A spotlessly clean and well-maintained site, easy to access with lovely views and ideally placed for exploring the Peak District.

Dog owners will find the on site dog walk area a bit of a joke because it's a very short path that winds amongst a handful of trees, so for a proper walk you have to go offsite.

You can walk into the village in just a few minutes and you won't be short of places to eat out, for a small village castleton has a great many pubs and restaurants!

We are never disappointed in CAMC sites and this is no exception.

However we will be switching to CL's in future because if you're not bothered about having lots of facilities, they do offer better value for money in these expensive times. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vangelina 42 reviews from this member

 Castleton site is one of my favourites. Iíve been visiting the village since I was a small child and I love to return.

We only booked for one night as we were on our way to somewhere else. It was a Sunday and we were lucky to get in as this site is incredibly popular.

We were greeted by the extremely helpful Steve and Tom. Two extremely nice new wardens who had only been there 2 days.

The site was immaculate as usual. Itís impossible to find fault with this site. It exemplifies the CAMC brand. 


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graham White 4 reviews from this member

 Great site, excellent facilities, friendly wardens

So convenient for the castleton village with its lovely pubs and places to eat.

Great for walking, Mam Tor is only a short distance away with stunning views.

Super location for exploring the local area with all its attractions. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 Check-in was easy and the warden very friendly. Filled up at the motorhome point and off to find a pitch. Fairly level pitch only needing one ramp.

Site is very clean and well organised. I can only speak for the accessible shower/toilet room but this was spotless and warm.

Shortcut through the dog walk area was useful and then only a short walk to castleton.

The road is busy and at least there are good pavements along the route.

Site is certainly peaceful and we will go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Catarinabod 75 reviews from this member

 First time solo travelling (with dog) for 1 night.

Friendly check-in and chose pitch 29 as it was at the back of the site and had grass either side - not amongst all the large caravan/awning setups.

Usual good C&MC facilities.

Small enclosed dog walk area and path through to main road.

Great position just before castleton centre coming from Chesterfield.

Excellent for access to Lose Hill/Hollins Cross/Mam Tor walk.

Also highly recommend Cave Dale walk from village centre.

Disappointed chip shop only open at lunch time! If you like walking, this is an excellent location. Several pubs in castleton. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michae 1 review from this member

 We are new members to caravan and motorhome club and we were very impressed with the excellent facilities on the site and lovely scenery.

The site was very clean and tidy and very well managed considering the covid restrictions. 
via mobile


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4103 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement