Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Castleton
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 8WB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 94
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 116 Reviews
                9/10 from 116 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazza1309 20 reviews from this member

 Great site, near the town of castleton one way and Hope the other.

Easy walking both for the pubs and restaurants.

Good walking country.

The site itself is the usual C&M club standard.

The wardens were very good. 


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vans4eva 5 reviews from this member

 A spotlessly clean and well-maintained site, easy to access with lovely views and ideally placed for exploring the Peak District.

Dog owners will find the on site dog walk area a bit of a joke because it's a very short path that winds amongst a handful of trees, so for a proper walk you have to go offsite.

You can walk into the village in just a few minutes and you won't be short of places to eat out, for a small village castleton has a great many pubs and restaurants!

We are never disappointed in CAMC sites and this is no exception.

However we will be switching to CL's in future because if you're not bothered about having lots of facilities, they do offer better value for money in these expensive times. 


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vangelina 34 reviews from this member

 Castleton site is one of my favourites. Iíve been visiting the village since I was a small child and I love to return.

We only booked for one night as we were on our way to somewhere else. It was a Sunday and we were lucky to get in as this site is incredibly popular.

We were greeted by the extremely helpful Steve and Tom. Two extremely nice new wardens who had only been there 2 days.

The site was immaculate as usual. Itís impossible to find fault with this site. It exemplifies the CAMC brand. 


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graham White 4 reviews from this member

 Great site, excellent facilities, friendly wardens

So convenient for the castleton village with its lovely pubs and places to eat.

Great for walking, Mam Tor is only a short distance away with stunning views.

Super location for exploring the local area with all its attractions. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 37 reviews from this member

 Check-in was easy and the warden very friendly. Filled up at the motorhome point and off to find a pitch. Fairly level pitch only needing one ramp.

Site is very clean and well organised. I can only speak for the accessible shower/toilet room but this was spotless and warm.

Shortcut through the dog walk area was useful and then only a short walk to castleton.

The road is busy and at least there are good pavements along the route.

Site is certainly peaceful and we will go again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Catarinabod 62 reviews from this member

 First time solo travelling (with dog) for 1 night.

Friendly check-in and chose pitch 29 as it was at the back of the site and had grass either side - not amongst all the large caravan/awning setups.

Usual good C&MC facilities.

Small enclosed dog walk area and path through to main road.

Great position just before castleton centre coming from Chesterfield.

Excellent for access to Lose Hill/Hollins Cross/Mam Tor walk.

Also highly recommend Cave Dale walk from village centre.

Disappointed chip shop only open at lunch time! If you like walking, this is an excellent location. Several pubs in castleton. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michae 1 review from this member

 We are new members to caravan and motorhome club and we were very impressed with the excellent facilities on the site and lovely scenery.

The site was very clean and tidy and very well managed considering the covid restrictions. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Chappies43 39 reviews from this member

 We only live a short drive away from this site so we visit every year but we last left a review in 2013 so an update is required.

Approach is easy for us via Hope (site immediately off the main road) but do not attempt to tow down Winnetts Pass if you are arriving from the Buxton area. Departures are by 12pm with no arrivals before 1pm due to limited arrivals area meaning there would be queuing on the main road. Friendly wardens who are new to castleton this month.

The toilet block has been refurbished in recent years and the facilities are now much better and more worthy of CMC status. We visited on the second weekend after the site reopened following the COVID-19 lockdown.

On arrival we were issued with 2 wristbands and the system for using the toilet block was explained - outside each male and female there were 3 hooks onto which you hung your wristband and entered. If there were already 3 there, you needed to wait until someone came out and removed their band.

In theory this is a good arrangement to maintain social distancing but a lady beat me to it one day with her 2 children and they were all going for a shower so I had to cross my legs for quite some time before they exited!

I do think that perhaps they could allow more in the block if some are going to shower but realise this would be hard to monitor - no perfect solution. Only 3 toilets, 3 showers and one privacy cubicle were open in the ladies with similar restrictions in the male side according to Mr Chappies. Some facilities still closed such as the drying room and games room but can understand why at the moment.

Over the years we have been visiting this lovely site we have noticed that more and more pitches are now allocated for non-awning (roughly half and half now); a sign of its popularity amongst the motorhoming community, we suspect, which is understandable as the walks in the area are spectacular and we never use our car when staying here, especially since we added a dog to our family.

Castleton has always been one of our favourite sites and continues to be so but, be warned, weekends book up very early so advance planning is required. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Janey47 26 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights. I was concerned when we arrived as I realised Iíd forgotten my levelling blocks. But our pitch was very level and didnít require any. Facilities were spotless as usual for a club site. Recycling is encouraged with separate bins which I think is excellent. Lovely little touches like a help yourself herb garden.

Wardens were extremely helpful especially Carol who was lovely.

The town is a short level walk from the site.

My only reservation was public transport was very limited. We prefer to leave the motorhome on site and use public transport. The only available bus was to Sheffield.

I recommend the ďDevils ArseĒ caves. Our guide was an experienced caver and was a mine of information. Excuse the pun. There are a wide range of gift shops and tea shops in the town. We found the Blue John stone very expensive.

The town is very pretty and Iíd say definitely worth a visit. But for us we probably wouldnít return as we feel we experienced everything we wanted to and as true motorhomers decided to move on to Chatsworth. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maz9999 31 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site 15 minutes walk to the village, little dog walk area but donít arrive before 12 or you will queue on the busy road as they are very strict with times even when thereís loads of space. We parked up on a very uneven pitch so even with chocks we were sloping, and our pitch was one of the better ones

Finally got as level as we could only to have a knock on the door saying we were 2 feet to the left of where we should be, booked a pitch with an awning even though we donít have one or a car but ridiculously we were asked to move over 2 feet ?

Perhaps spend more time levelling the pitches before worrying about a few feet of empty space 
via mobile


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Castleton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2712 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement