Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Celtic Camping & Bunkhouse Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Celtic Camping & Bunkhouse Accommodation Reviews

Celtic Camping & Bunkhouse Accommodation
Pwll Caerog Farm
Berea
St Davids
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6DG
Tel: 01348 837405
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 25/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Lisach 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site- very relaxed and well organised- certainly doing their best during COVID pandemic.

Amazing sea views, lots of open space and a great spot for sea based activities like SUP board and Kayaking. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BobEyp 1 review from this member

 Ian, John and their team have a brilliant set up. Loads of space plenty of hookups, dozens of showers And loos all immaculately maintained never a lack of hot water, wifi on site although we had 4G.

There is a huge communal indoor heated room with washer and drier Toasters and microwaves. Great coastline walks 2 hrs north to the Sloop Inn (half price food in Jan) stunning views.

Beach 10 mins walk, pebbles with loads to explore but down a steep path but well worth the visit. They also have a direct access for ramsey island boat trips (Apr onwards) and other activities come rain or shine.

St davids 10 min drive 20 min cycle. Veh size not an issue from ours is 7x3m. 


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tracyh 1 review from this member

 Toilets and showers clean.

Nice to find a site open in the winter.

Weather awful when we stayed so access to inside area was really useful.

Also access to a dryer if everything wet. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Vtrjames 6 reviews from this member

 The campsite has wonderful views, is spacious and relaxed.

The site is set 3 miles from St David's centre and can be walked via the coastal path but I would recommend driving or cycling because of the sites location.

We paid around 25 per night for pitch and electric hookup. You're allowed fires (which I think is great) and the other campers and staff were very friendly.

We saw some seals off the beach below the site; this can be tricky to access for young children and would be extremely difficult if you're disabled.

The showers and toilets could do with upgrading (some toilets had dowels for flush buttons) but that's only a minor complaint. There were plenty of wash facilities serving the site, however there were no child wash facilities and washing an infant in a standard shower is difficult.

While not the fault of the site there were a number of places where campers had allowed their dogs to foul.

I'd recommend the place especially for the views. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Michelo 1 review from this member

 My first camping trip. I was very impressed by the friendliness of the staff and their welcoming of our dogs.

Facilities are excellent ant the location is amazing!

Highly recommend for a relaxing break or for coastal treks 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gracie1 1 review from this member

 Visited this summer and had an amazing time. Booking was easy (even with a late add on). We got a warm welcome and lots of info. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.

They even moved a picnic bench closer to the tent. Campfires are allowed and all 3 of our dogs.

The site is very relaxed, the facilities are really clean (hot showers) and lots of helpful extras like boiling water on tap and toasters. Useful beer and wine fridge.

Cooked breakfasts were available which was perfect on the rainy day. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loll90 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent 6 nights at the Celtic Camping and Bunkhouse. We were warned that we would be using Campsite 3 as the Bunkhouse side of the site was accommodating a school group and that we would be using converted cabins for showers and toilets.

The dish washing sinks had limited hot water so we were boiling kettles to wash up. The women's toilets were dirty and there was one hot tap working and only one sink with a plug available.

The men's showers and wash basins had no hot water so my husband used the women's shower block while I waited for him outside the cubicle.

He shaved from a bowl placed on one of the picnic tables near our tent. Wood for a fire was expensive, 8 logs and a tiny bag of kindling was 10. Nisa supermarket was much cheaper.

Having said that, the views were magnificent but be prepared for a rough ride as it gets REALLY windy up there. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: N123 4 reviews from this member

 A rustic friendly site.

We stayed at the start of the season but we were lucky with the weather to enjoy this lovely location.

We pitched in the flat electric field. Other pitches outside this area were on sloping fields.

The toilet block is well built and kept clean despite the dirty footfall.

The barn behind the toilet block was appreciated when we had a damp evening and could spent time inside with the kids.

The kids took part in dirty rascals which was held on site (a 3k mud run) which was well organised and enjoyed by all - thoroughly recommend.

No shop on site and 15 mins into st davids

St davids is a lovely place to visit but dogs are not allowed in cathedral.

Not sure if I would like to stay here when the bunk houses are full, I think the facilities would struggle to cope. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MandyMaddy 1 review from this member

 When we stayed the main site and buildings were full so the owner had opened a temporary field with temporary toilets, showers and kitchen facilities which were fantastic. It was great to be able to pop up and make a pile of toast for everyone in the mornings. The site is overlooking the sea and you can access the coastal path from the field. Abereiddy beach is within walking distance and so is the Blue Lagoon, where you can jump off a low or a high ledge into the freezing water!

The main site is awesome with all the facilities going but we wanted to be away from it all so camped at the edge of the field overlooking the sea, where we watched the sunset while sitting next to our roaring fire and BBQ. Heaven!

We can't wait to go there again in August.

Great site with amenities if you want them but if you don't, you can just go to the edges of the site, away from it all. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doodlebugdil 5 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Celtic Camping, a working farm on the Pembrokeshire coast. As usual, we hadn't booked. The weather was sunny and clear for the whole week but quite chilly in the evenings. We chose an electric pitch which is in the small field close to the shower block.

You are free to pitch wherever you choose at Celtic Camping, which is quite important to me.

You can also light a fire wherever you choose, which I find both unusual and odd. Why not build firepits or insist on raised fires/barbecues? It would prevent the scorched spots all over the field.

Celtic Camping enjoys extensive sea views from all pitches and being West facing, some incredible sunsets over the sea, if you are lucky.

While the 'electric field' is level, the rest of the site isn't. The slope varies depending on where you pitch but is mostly fairly gentle.

As with all coastal sites, the wind can be a problem here and it did pick up enough on one day to break our flexible porch pole.

The facilities block is housed in a large barn and comprises hot showers (free) basins, loos, freezers, toasters, microwave, washing machine and tumble dryer. Best of all, the main barn (carpeted) houses loads of large picnic tables (wooden pub garden style) so if the weather is horrendous, you can cook and eat in the barn at no extra cost!

Celtic Camping is a large site but there are plenty of toilets and showers. The owners are very laid back and friendly and they will leave you alone unless you approach them for help/advice.

We paid our bill at the end of our week and they asked how we had found it. I replied honestly that we'd had a fantastic week, marred slightly by a drunken reveller, shouting and swearing until 3 am on the Saturday night. I was offered sincere apologies, a cash discount and a bottle of wine for the missus. Can't grumble at that!

The site enjoys direct access to the coastal path and is an easy walk to Abereiddy, Porthgain (pub and restaurants) The Blue Lagoon, Lyfn beach or, for the more energetic, Whitesands bay and St Davids.

We absolutely love this place. We've been before and we'll definitely go again  


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Celtic Camping & Bunkhouse Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Celtic Camping & Bunkhouse Accommodation?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Celtic Camping & Bunkhouse Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Haverfordwest      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1391 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement