Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Celtic Camping & Bunkhouse Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Celtic Camping & Bunkhouse Accommodation Reviews

Celtic Camping & Bunkhouse Accommodation
Pwll Caerog Farm
Berea
St Davids
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6DG
Tel: 01348 837405
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
                9/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Michelo 1 review from this member

My first camping trip. I was very impressed by the friendliness of the staff and their welcoming of our dogs. Facilities are excellent ant the location is amazing! Highly recommend for a relaxing break or for coastal treks
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gracie1 1 review from this member

Visited this summer and had an amazing time. Booking was easy (even with a late add on). We got a warm welcome and lots of info. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. They even moved a picnic bench closer to the tent. Campfires are allowed and all 3 of our dogs. The site is very relaxed, the facilities are really clean (hot showers) and lots of helpful extras like boiling water on tap and toasters. Useful beer and wine fridge. Cooked breakfasts were available which was perfect on the rainy day.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loll90 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 6 nights at the Celtic Camping and Bunkhouse. We were warned that we would be using Campsite 3 as the Bunkhouse side of the site was accommodating a school group and that we would be using converted cabins for showers and toilets. The dish washing sinks had limited hot water so we were boiling kettles to wash up. The women's toilets were dirty and there was one hot tap working and only one sink with a plug available. The men's showers and wash basins had no hot water so my husband used the women's shower block while I waited for him outside the cubicle. He shaved from a bowl placed on one of the picnic tables near our tent. Wood for a fire was expensive, 8 logs and a tiny bag of kindling was 10. Nisa supermarket was much cheaper. Having said that, the views were magnificent but be prepared for a rough ride as it gets REALLY windy up there.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: N123 4 reviews from this member

A rustic friendly site.

We stayed at the start of the season but we were lucky with the weather to enjoy this lovely location.

We pitched in the flat electric field. Other pitches outside this area were on sloping fields.

The toilet block is well built and kept clean despite the dirty footfall.

The barn behind the toilet block was appreciated when we had a damp evening and could spent time inside with the kids.

The kids took part in dirty rascals which was held on site (a 3k mud run) which was well organised and enjoyed by all - thoroughly recommend.

No shop on site and 15 mins into st davids

St davids is a lovely place to visit but dogs are not allowed in cathedral.

Not sure if I would like to stay here when the bunk houses are full, I think the facilities would struggle to cope.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MandyMaddy 1 review from this member

When we stayed the main site and buildings were full so the owner had opened a temporary field with temporary toilets, showers and kitchen facilities which were fantastic. It was great to be able to pop up and make a pile of toast for everyone in the mornings. The site is overlooking the sea and you can access the coastal path from the field. Abereiddy beach is within walking distance and so is the Blue Lagoon, where you can jump off a low or a high ledge into the freezing water!

The main site is awesome with all the facilities going but we wanted to be away from it all so camped at the edge of the field overlooking the sea, where we watched the sunset while sitting next to our roaring fire and BBQ. Heaven!

We can't wait to go there again in August.

Great site with amenities if you want them but if you don't, you can just go to the edges of the site, away from it all.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Doodlebugdil 5 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Celtic Camping, a working farm on the Pembrokeshire coast. As usual, we hadn't booked. The weather was sunny and clear for the whole week but quite chilly in the evenings. We chose an electric pitch which is in the small field close to the shower block.

You are free to pitch wherever you choose at Celtic Camping, which is quite important to me.

You can also light a fire wherever you choose, which I find both unusual and odd. Why not build firepits or insist on raised fires/barbecues? It would prevent the scorched spots all over the field.

Celtic Camping enjoys extensive sea views from all pitches and being West facing, some incredible sunsets over the sea, if you are lucky.

While the 'electric field' is level, the rest of the site isn't. The slope varies depending on where you pitch but is mostly fairly gentle.

As with all coastal sites, the wind can be a problem here and it did pick up enough on one day to break our flexible porch pole.

The facilities block is housed in a large barn and comprises hot showers (free) basins, loos, freezers, toasters, microwave, washing machine and tumble dryer. Best of all, the main barn (carpeted) houses loads of large picnic tables (wooden pub garden style) so if the weather is horrendous, you can cook and eat in the barn at no extra cost!

Celtic Camping is a large site but there are plenty of toilets and showers. The owners are very laid back and friendly and they will leave you alone unless you approach them for help/advice.

We paid our bill at the end of our week and they asked how we had found it. I replied honestly that we'd had a fantastic week, marred slightly by a drunken reveller, shouting and swearing until 3 am on the Saturday night. I was offered sincere apologies, a cash discount and a bottle of wine for the missus. Can't grumble at that!

The site enjoys direct access to the coastal path and is an easy walk to Abereiddy, Porthgain (pub and restaurants) The Blue Lagoon, Lyfn beach or, for the more energetic, Whitesands bay and St Davids.

We absolutely love this place. We've been before and we'll definitely go again

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martin8161 1 review from this member

Had a great few days here and even though the site has no clubhouse, bar, shop or swimming pool we still found plenty to do

Like a swim in the lake just below the camping field

Or a 45 min walk to the blue lagon a must for adventures kids

Or a walk down to the cove a bit of a steep clime back up but worth it

Our son had a great morning collecting stones a wood to build a real fire just out side the tent

The site also has lots of bunk houses for large groups and an indoor hall with tables and benches, toaster, microwave, hot water machine for boiling water, fridge freezers and washing up sinks which campers can use if the weather gets nasty ( so long as a large group don't have sol use of it )

The toilets and showers were clean and lots of hot water

The owners and staff could not have been more helpful and the whole place had such a relaxed atmosphere

St Davids is a 10 min drive away with some great pub's, shop's and a super market also the abby is well worth a look at

Would definitely recommend it if you want a nice camp site but with out all the bell's and whistles

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poggle106 2 reviews from this member

Visited this campsite last year and was stunned by the beauty of the views and the freedom to choose our own pitch. Will definitely be visiting again. The site was very windy but the constant breeze kept the tent cool. We had a wet fortnight here but because of the fantastic facilities and views we enjoyed our holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Webbhq 3 reviews from this member

The views are great from this site which is halfway between St Davids and Abereiddy. We liked the fact that it has a large barn you can picnic in if it's raining. The downside is it was very windy when we visited - there is no shelter as it's quite exposed but to compensate the views are stunning. Also we pitched near the barn which was full of a very noisy group in the evening and our kids found it hard to get to sleep. Pitch away from the barn is fine! The owner was very friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davidwillington 1 review from this member

Lovely people, took very good care of us when the weather took a turn for the worse and our tent collapsed. We stayed in the bunkhouse for a couple of days to dry out. Good facilities, great location on the coast even if it can be windy. Loads of space. They're happy to let you have fires and sell wood for them. St David's is a drive away so you can't walk to the pub unfortunately. It's a lovely city. The campsite is on the Pembrokeshire Coastal path which is beautiful

Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3227 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019