Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Caolasnacon Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Caolasnacon Caravan & Camping Park

Kinlochleven
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH50 4RJ
Tel: 01855 831279
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pam H 12 reviews from this member

Stunning location on shore of loch leven. Gorgeous scenery despite rain. Nice loo block, free warm showers although those with fixed central head. Covered dish washing area. At 15 for 2 adults (and dog), it was extremely reasonably priced. Well-positioned between Glencoe and Kinlochleven. Helpful owner.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: ScotlandLover36 1 review from this member

Best campsite 2017 to me.

We stayed 3 nights in caravan 15. Scenery is amazing, very relaxing. Widely recommended, has beautiful sunsets and sunrises are gorgeous. On a night you hear tawny owls and barn owls hooting away.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Rtf30 1 review from this member

Stunning Scenery and lovely people that warmed our visit, Can't thank them enough. I'd widely Recommend it to you all. When there I went fishing at Loch Leven, didn't catch anything but still a lot of fun

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheAgnews2017 1 review from this member

What a beautiful place! Absolutely stunning scenery - my whole family absolutely LOVED it! Breathtaking! I've camped for almost 45 years and I think this is my favourite site. The owners are incredibly friendly and very relaxed. Its camping as it should be - you can pitch where you like and stay for as long as you like - there's absolutely no fuss (no counting the number of people, the number of cars, dogs, no check out time - all of the things that make it stressful). The price is very reasonable and you get free electricity if you pitch close enough to the many electrical points placed around the site. Yes the toilet block does probably need updating but its clean, the showers were hot, there's an electric socket in the ladies, washing up facilities and a laundry. The owners seem to have thought of everything and were so welcoming. We'll definitely be returning. Thank you to the owners of Caolasnacon Caravan and Campsite - please don't change! The Agnew Family

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eileenhoops 5 reviews from this member

Absolutely beautiful. Me & my husband stayed here for 4 nights in early July and absolutely LOVED IT. What a stunning, beautiful location. It rained on and off but when we had sunshine it was gorgeous. Even with the bad weather it still made it beautiful to see the clouds on the mountain tops. Yes the facilities are dated but they're adequate and the family who own the place are really, truly lovely people :) I enjoyed chatting with Gayle in the showers while she cleaned. They're going to improve them, be patient. Also for 12 a night what a bargain. Thanks :)

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark Edwards 2 reviews from this member

Lovely lochside views, very clean site and friendly farmer's wife. However, for 12 a night (one person, one very small tent) I would have expected more. The toilets, showers etc had lots of hot water and were clean - but pokey and in need of replacement. I am also not sure if they were adequate for peak season demand. All in all, given the price of the 2 campsites IN Glencoe and the one I stayed in at Strathfillan on the way home (all cheaper) I couldn't get over my impression of naked profiteering.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lyndaxax 1 review from this member

Stayed at this beautifully stunning campsite for 2 nights would of quite happily stayed for longer however had an itinerary to follow.

Location of the site was jaw dropping, with 360 degree scenery. The actual camping area was close to the lock and with no fixed pitches you could decide where you set up, which for us was literally loch side.

The facilities where great for us. The toilets/showers where basic however clean and tidy and on both days we where there we witnessed them being cleaned. Laundry had 2 washing machines and 2 dryers which where reasonably priced. Washing up area had 2 sinks and was clean bit of a squash but met some lovely people whilst washing up.

We had 2 children with us and a play area would of been an added bonus however because both boys are adventures they spent many hrs discovering new places from down on the loch side, and what they called the hidden forest and the steam which ran right through the camp.

Owners where extremely friendly and helpful and you always seen them around camp busy working.

Only 2 down sides the midges which where very very annoying when around mainly in the morning and early evening would recommend repellent and head nets, and the beautiful 'Scottish weather' (rain and gales) which both are neither under the control of the owners

Wold definitely recommended this campsite as good base for the surrounding area and good all round value for money.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 2buyjps 2 reviews from this member

A proper good old fashioned campsite. What a gem. The scenery can't be beaten. Pitches right on the edge of the loch. Friendly welcome. But we must thank the owner Scott he was marvellous! On the way from loch lomond a van whacked our wing mirror of the motor home and this smashed the passenger side window to smithereens. Being an A Class motor home virtually impossible to replace within a week or two. On arrival Scott bent over backwards to help us repair the screen supplying two sheets of perspex, silicon, grinder etc and two hours of his precious time, allowing us to continue on our adventures without getting wet ( it is Scotland after all) ! What a beautiful brilliant friendly site and we highly recommend a stop here when visiting the hghlands. A big thank you and hope to visit again!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eebo 8 reviews from this member

Spent three nights at the this superbly located campsite, right on the shores of Loch Leven. The pitches are not defined, you just find a suitable place close to one of the sporadically positioned hook-up points and with each one catering for four sockets, your 25 metre cable could be used to its full extent.

We had a fantastic loch view for the first two nights, positioned right on the bank, but as we needed to go to Fort William for a day and because we were in a Motorhome and the pitches are not defined, when we returned someone else had claimed our spot. Not surprising really, but he selfishly parked his caravan with the car still attached across the way, effectively taking up an area two could have occupied.

The toilets were satisfactory, with signs requesting the lights to be switched off and doors closed at night to keep out the midgies. They, incidentally, we're not an issue during our stay, as the heavy rain and gale force winds kept them well away. Ah, the Scottish summer weather.

There isn't an awful lot to do here because of its remote location, so if you're coming with kids and the weather was as poor as it was when we visited, be prepared for lots of 'I'm bored' complaints.

We cycled the five miles to Kinlochleven where there's a pub, shop and a magnificent Indoor Climbing Centre where you can not only learn traditional wall climbing, but indoor ice climbing too. There's a cafe, kids play area and an outdoor clothing shop in the building too. The cycle back won't be for everyone as it is on a looooong gradual uphill climb.

Glencoe is about a 10 minute drive away and Fort William about half an hour.

There is no shop here, but you can obtain replacement gas cylinders. We didn't use the laundry area but the dish washing station was fine, with two sinks, but open to the elements on one side, as well as the midgies I'd imagine.

Overall, a nice site in a great location with adequate facilities, which would be even better if you're lucky with the weather.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shaana 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 nights. Brilliant location, the views are truly majestic, rugged scenery and you truly know that your in the Scottish highlands. As regular campers the scenery at this campsite is the best we have seen so far.

The midges here were pretty awful but we have experienced worse, we did bring along plenty of repellents. Facilities are very basic, ladies washroom was reasonably clean and have been told by my partner that the mens were covered in dead bugs. Washing up facility had two sinks and was outdoors which attracted the midges and bugs. The laundrette facilities were good. Campsite was kept clean. The cons would be facilities needing a bit of care and updating, camp pitching distances should be enforced as on the last day we had a loud family pitch too close to our tent that the guy lines crossed over which took away our privacy and would have most definitely ruined our holiday if this had taken place at the start of our trip, also a 'no noise after 11pm' rules should be put in place to create a more family friendly campsite, if these slight issues were to be addressed this would be an amazing campsite! However we would return if stopping in the area again.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2229 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019