Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carradale Bay Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Kintyre > Carradale Bay Caravan Park Reviews

Carradale Bay Caravan Park
Carradale Estate
Carradale
Kintyre
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA28 6QG
Tel: 01583 431665
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gracesett 17 reviews from this member

Spent a lovely few days here just chilling in the peace.

The only noise being the birds and sea. Well run by a friendly owner and wonderful colour from all the rhododendrons.

Showers etc great and of very good standard - such a pleasure not having to press a button every few seconds and the water was hot.

I have no idea if the area is midge attacked later in the season but with the sea breeze it should not be a problem?

If you have already been around the West coast and don't want a trip back to Campletown for stores, stock up although I did see a small open food supply at the Carradale hall parking area.

Excellent value.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Valvelifter 10 reviews from this member

We have just returned home from eleven days in Scotland. We had a lovely time, in fact, a very good holiday. We broke the outward and home journeys with two nights each way in Luss on the banks of Loch Lomond. Luss is a good location for exploring the area around Loch Lomond but does not have much else to attract visitors.

We travelled on to the Kintyre peninsular which is more like an island as it's connected to the mainland by a strip of land only about 0. 75 miles wide. We stayed on a caravan site in a place called Carradale Bay which was recommended to me by a chap who had stayed there several times and also on the strength of some great reviews.

The caravan site was fine. Very well maintained and situated on a beautiful, sheltered, sandy bay on the Kilbrannan Sound. The grass pitches were well spaced, level with excellent drainage. We had some torrential rain but the ground was never muddy. The toilets and showers were kept very clean and were well maintained. There was internet available for the nominal fee of a pound and it was excellent quality. There were not many occupants on the site so I can't vouch for the quality when the site is busy.

The site manager/owner was friendly and helpful and responded quickly when the elsan unit required fixing on one occasion.

The peninsular is quite pretty but not spectacularly so. The famed Mull of Kintyre has some beautiful views across the sound and the coast around the south end is pretty but not worth more than a casual drive through. Many of the walks marked on maps were blocked by rubbish and we witnessed a local builder dumping rubble on one the beaches near the Carradale harbour. The only remaining shops now are in Campbelltown. So if you stay in Carradale bay, you have to make a 28 mile round trip to Campbelltown for basic necessities. Campbelltown also has the only petrol station. We had a day trip to Campbelltown and found several cafes but all of the closed on a bank holiday Monday & most looked like they will not reopen. We eventually bougth an excellent afternoon coffee and cakes in the Royal hotel. But aside from three distilleries, there is little to attract the tourist. The whole peninsular gives the appearance of terminal decline. The local council seem blase about tourist development. A large electrical utilities company has a base on the Beatles 'long & windng road', the B842 single track road with passing places that runs up the East side of the Kintyre peninsular. The company offered to widen this road free of charge and make it a dual track road. The council refused because they said they could not afford the possible increased maintenance costs. They were apparently completely blind the the benefits of increased tourism. We booked a week's stay at Carradale bay park. It was a nice holiday but not very special and we will not return. I can foresee that in 20 or 30 years time, tourism in this part of Scotland will be all but dead. There are many beautiful and tourist attractive places to visit in Scotland. The Kintyre peninsular is not one of them. Personally, the English lake district is far more attractive and arguably more beautiful.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Harv41 5 reviews from this member

Excellent campsite, provided with nice sheltered spot. Would recommend.

Toilet block very clean and modern inside but exterior could do with decorating.

Issued with key for toilet block which is kept locked to prevent non campers from using it however this became annoying as you always had to remember the key and impossible to gain access if one family member is already inside.

Wifi available for a one off payment of £1 per device but signal from it very variable.

Be very careful driving down driveway to site as very potholed. Could do with improvement.

No shop available.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Freddiebooks 2 reviews from this member

I booked onto this site for 4 days and ended up spending 12 days there.

It has wonderful scenery, the beach is a 60 second walk away at most and the facilities are very good.

Colin is very helpful and assisted me on two occasions with problems that were nothing to do with the site. Also he provides a very helpful map on arrival that shows routes for walks in the area and to East Carradale where the shop provides basics including milk from Gigha in old fashioned glass bottles that you return to the shop and also homemade chocolate treats and cakes etc. I used the shop throughout my visit for everything apart from some chicken I had to get from Campbeltown on a bus trip there.

Personally if arriving from the south I'd be tempted to use the ferry from Ardrossan and then from Lochranza to get there. Via road it's 100 miles more but in a motorhome or towing I found it a 2 hour or so drag with Wynding roads.

But yes, if you get the weather which I did for 9 of the days it's a great place to be.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 88 reviews from this member

Access is via a long, bumpy track, but don't be put off. You will receive a warm, enthusiastic and informative welcome. The pitches are varied, some secluded and some with sea views. The wash blocks look nothing from the outside, but inside they are faultless.

There is a beach and fantastic views across to the Isle of Arran. The local area is beautiful. The restaurant/pub nearby, The Glen (5 mins drive) is also very friendly for a drink but also does fantastic, good quality food.

£21 per night for 2 adults and a tent. A friendly chatty owner. Site wide wifi.

A good base for visiting the Southern half of Kintyre. If you like local food, the Fishmongers in Campbletown does a lovely salmon/chilli scotch egg!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Traceygill 5 reviews from this member

Reached the site later on in the day (brace yourself for a bumpy road into the site). Once there a helpful gentleman showed us where to set up & went into all the in's & out's of the site. We had a lovely view of the sea from our pitch. The wild life on the site is fantastic, a robin watched on at Breakfast & a couple of rabbits walked me back to our pitch after doing the dishes. There is only one word I can use to describe the toilet block, SPOTLESS, but could maybe look at the lighting in the dish washing area had to do the dishes at night in the dark. Would definitely recommend taking the time to visit.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fluffyjac 1 review from this member

We have been visiting this site for over 20 years, and having camped on many different sites over the years we keep returning to this one.

We love the friendliness of the site manager Colin who is happy to do all he can to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable, and if he canít sort your problem then he is able to recommend someone local who can. The shower block is spotless and kept clean and tidy and hot water is free which in my experience is a big plus, there are dish washing facilities which are more than adequate. There are also laundry facilities with washing machines and driers, and freezers which can be used to store any frozen foods or ice blocks which for us campers is godsend.

The site is set in a lovely area with a beach right on your doorstep which is great if you have a dog which we have.

We have met lovely people both on site and in the local community.

There are two roads to the site, one where it is a single track and you do need to take your time driving along it but the reward is the stunning scenery which is beautiful no matter what the weather with great views of Isle of Arran on route, or the more main road which also has lovely scenery.

All in all we think this a great place to camp and wonít be changing any time soon and would highly recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fred Stubber 8 reviews from this member

The site is run properly by the owner to the highest standards. The pitches are widely spaced and the layout is excellent. The setting is excellent. The wifi works very well and is only a quid per visit. The info sheet has a large scale Ordnance Survey map of the area on the back, which is incredibly useful. Why don't all sites do that? The toilet block is astonishingly large and the facilities are immaculate. What can a say that's bad? All I can think of is that the access road has potholes. If you can live with that, visit this site.

Oh yeah, you have to use some special bog fluid, not the blue stuff, I don't know why, but they sell it for £11 which is OK.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

Wonderful setting with direct access to the beach. Very well maintained site with excellent WC and shower block. Stunning views across to Arran. There is a small village and harbour within walking distance. We had drinks and a meal at the Glen Bar - very pleasant.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Photolady 7 reviews from this member

This is a really lovely campsite. The approach to it is quite magical as you have to drive 3/4 mile down a tree lined driveway to reach reception. The site is owned and run by Colin who bought the estate and is a really friendly and helpful guy. The pitches are quite different in character as some are facing the beach which is beautiful and have a sea view whilst others are tucked in amongst gorse bushes and hedges giving a high degree of privacy. We went for the privacy angle and it was a grass pitch. The facilities are good - plenty of toilets and 4 showers for the ladies all very clean. The Carradale area is the nicest part of Kintyre and well worth visiting. The views alongside the eastern side of Kintyre are unbelievably beautiful across the water to Arran. The main town is Campbeltown and the distillery called Spring Bank is worth doing. The town itself needs a makeover. We did two boat trips from Kintyre - one to the island of Gigha where we had the most amazing meal at the Boathouse Restaurant there. It is worth making the trip just to eat there. The second trip was to Arran where we basically drove round the whole island stopping for lunch at Brodick -fantastic views from there.

This is a site well worth a visit.

Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4409 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019