Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carradale Bay Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Kintyre > Carradale Bay Caravan Park Reviews

Carradale Bay Caravan Park
Carradale Estate
Carradale
Kintyre
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA28 6QG
Tel: 01583 431665
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
                9/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: HeatherJA 4 reviews from this member

 One of the best campsites I have ever stayed on. Caravan pitch directly off the beach,

Great facilities and fantastic views of the mountains of Arran and Ailsa Craig.

Beach and rocks perfect for swimming, snorkelling, canoeing and fishing.

Will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diabolo 11 reviews from this member

 This is a well managed site in a superb location with clean washing facilities with good hot showers. There is WiFi access.

The fields are level and well drained and bounded by hedges. There is direct access to the beautiful beach. Pitches are generously sized. The owner is helpful and friendly.

The village shop is a mile away and stocks all essentials. We travelled to Campbeltown to stock up on extras.

The Glen bar and restaurant nearby serves good meals but pre ordering is essential for evenings.

Kintyre is beautiful and unspoiled with lots of lovely scenery. Midge attack level was low mostly!

The road to Tarbert is single track and slow going. Not recommended for towing. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wildjeff 1 review from this member

 Great site. Great warden. Great facilities.

Loads of walks from the site.

All in all a good experience. We were just before midge season, check.

Beach is fantastic and so close. We walked to the point and saw wild goats. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gillad 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, really clean and spacious next to a beautiful beach, and lots of walking.

Also some nice places to eat.

Very peaceful and quiet, we loved it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rushcroft 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location

Watch the "wrong way to carradale" on YouTube before you decide on your route if travelling from north to south on the kintyre peninsula.

We used a83 then b842, the campbelltown to carradale section has been widened for timber wagons.

There is a well stocked community shop in walking distance from the caravan site.

Lots of very well signposted walking routes bring your binoculars. Gannets diving, ringed plover and cuckoo's calling in the woods. Paradise 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Anneca 2 reviews from this member

 The approach to the site is via a very rough potholed track and through trees. The site itself seems to be divided up into sections ( by mostly gorse bushes).

We were as far away from the sea as we could possibly be, although we had booked well in advance - so that was very disappointing.

Toilet facilities looked very well kept ( although we used our own). The bins weren't adequate for the number of tents, caravans, etc on the site and I think it would be a god idea to invest in more.

We were most impressed by the little shop near the village hall which sold most food essentials and local produce too. A car came round selling newspapers every morning which was really appreciated as otherwise it would be a 30 mile round trip to Campbeltown.

We enjoyed our trip but wouldn't return in a hurry. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gracesett 17 reviews from this member

 Spent a lovely few days here just chilling in the peace.

The only noise being the birds and sea. Well run by a friendly owner and wonderful colour from all the rhododendrons.

Showers etc great and of very good standard - such a pleasure not having to press a button every few seconds and the water was hot.

I have no idea if the area is midge attacked later in the season but with the sea breeze it should not be a problem?

If you have already been around the West coast and don't want a trip back to Campletown for stores, stock up although I did see a small open food supply at the Carradale hall parking area.

Excellent value. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Valvelifter 10 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home from eleven days in Scotland. We had a lovely time, in fact, a very good holiday. We broke the outward and home journeys with two nights each way in Luss on the banks of Loch Lomond. Luss is a good location for exploring the area around Loch Lomond but does not have much else to attract visitors.

We travelled on to the Kintyre peninsular which is more like an island as it's connected to the mainland by a strip of land only about 0. 75 miles wide. We stayed on a caravan site in a place called Carradale Bay which was recommended to me by a chap who had stayed there several times and also on the strength of some great reviews.

The caravan site was fine. Very well maintained and situated on a beautiful, sheltered, sandy bay on the Kilbrannan Sound. The grass pitches were well spaced, level with excellent drainage. We had some torrential rain but the ground was never muddy. The toilets and showers were kept very clean and were well maintained. There was internet available for the nominal fee of a pound and it was excellent quality. There were not many occupants on the site so I can't vouch for the quality when the site is busy.

The site manager/owner was friendly and helpful and responded quickly when the elsan unit required fixing on one occasion.

The peninsular is quite pretty but not spectacularly so. The famed Mull of Kintyre has some beautiful views across the sound and the coast around the south end is pretty but not worth more than a casual drive through. Many of the walks marked on maps were blocked by rubbish and we witnessed a local builder dumping rubble on one the beaches near the Carradale harbour. The only remaining shops now are in Campbelltown. So if you stay in Carradale bay, you have to make a 28 mile round trip to Campbelltown for basic necessities. Campbelltown also has the only petrol station. We had a day trip to Campbelltown and found several cafes but all of the closed on a bank holiday Monday & most looked like they will not reopen. We eventually bougth an excellent afternoon coffee and cakes in the Royal hotel. But aside from three distilleries, there is little to attract the tourist. The whole peninsular gives the appearance of terminal decline. The local council seem blase about tourist development. A large electrical utilities company has a base on the Beatles 'long & windng road', the B842 single track road with passing places that runs up the East side of the Kintyre peninsular. The company offered to widen this road free of charge and make it a dual track road. The council refused because they said they could not afford the possible increased maintenance costs. They were apparently completely blind the the benefits of increased tourism. We booked a week's stay at Carradale bay park. It was a nice holiday but not very special and we will not return. I can foresee that in 20 or 30 years time, tourism in this part of Scotland will be all but dead. There are many beautiful and tourist attractive places to visit in Scotland. The Kintyre peninsular is not one of them. Personally, the English lake district is far more attractive and arguably more beautiful. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harv41 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite, provided with nice sheltered spot. Would recommend.

Toilet block very clean and modern inside but exterior could do with decorating.

Issued with key for toilet block which is kept locked to prevent non campers from using it however this became annoying as you always had to remember the key and impossible to gain access if one family member is already inside.

Wifi available for a one off payment of 1 per device but signal from it very variable.

Be very careful driving down driveway to site as very potholed. Could do with improvement.

No shop available. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Freddiebooks 2 reviews from this member

 I booked onto this site for 4 days and ended up spending 12 days there.

It has wonderful scenery, the beach is a 60 second walk away at most and the facilities are very good.

Colin is very helpful and assisted me on two occasions with problems that were nothing to do with the site. Also he provides a very helpful map on arrival that shows routes for walks in the area and to East Carradale where the shop provides basics including milk from Gigha in old fashioned glass bottles that you return to the shop and also homemade chocolate treats and cakes etc. I used the shop throughout my visit for everything apart from some chicken I had to get from Campbeltown on a bus trip there.

Personally if arriving from the south I'd be tempted to use the ferry from Ardrossan and then from Lochranza to get there. Via road it's 100 miles more but in a motorhome or towing I found it a 2 hour or so drag with Wynding roads.

But yes, if you get the weather which I did for 9 of the days it's a great place to be. 


Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carradale Bay Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carradale Bay Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Carradale Bay Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kintyre      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3238 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement