Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carry Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Kames > Carry Farm Reviews

Carry Farm
Ardlamont
Kames
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA21 2AH
Tel: 01700 811717
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 4
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 37 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome and then off we went to pitch the tent at the side of the loch looking north to the mountains. Well away from any caravans. Tents only and only one other family there.

The down side of this is it's quite a hike to the loos but that's not a problem on a nice day (might have been less fun in the wet). There is a coffee cafe on site, but this only opens 10:00-16:00 so we were not able to use it.

Nearest shop is at Kames which is roughly 4 miles away, so stock up before you cycle or walk to the site. The road loop south of the site was a very nice cycle ride too. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Minoltaman 7 reviews from this member

 I agree with the previous reviews, it has lovely views, great for launching boots, nice villages nearby and access to ferry at Poravadie to get to Kintyre. Only takes 3 motorhomes or caravans with hard standing and electric. More geared to static caravans and cabins. Also when they say the facilities aren't great. It has a nice toilet block that's all. I may advise you that there is no lights in the toilet block at night (I asked about this and the answer was they did not think motorhomes and Campervans needed them as they had their own facilities but would think about adding them). No heating in the toilet block and no chemical disposal point. Also poor phone signal and no WiFi (great if you want to get away from civilisation) All this for 18 a night. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

 An informally run site next to a farm (as the name suggests). It mostly hosts static caravans, but has a hard-standing area with 3 EHU points.

The site is well out of the way, you're unlikely to stumble on it, but if peace and quiet is what you're after, this has it.

The facilities aren't great, but are certainly usable. But that's not this site's strong-point.

If you wander the short distance down the lane on site, you'll be treated to a marvellous view back up the Kyles of Bute to the villages clustered on the coast. And if the site is quiet you'll have this magnificent view to yourself.

And good value too - 12 for a motorhome, 2 people and electric.

There are some sleepy villages nearby, and they do a nice Haggis lasagne at the Burnside Bistro in Tighnabruaich. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiferfolk 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite and very friendly owners, super tearoom in the Dairy, brilliant homebaking, great location with beautiful views,

We had pitch with electric and hardstanding adjacent to the static vans which was very satisfactory,

Toilet block was well kept and clean.

The site also had pitches for tents and campervans on the point beside the sea that were also excellent.

The pet sheep, lambs, hens and Lucy the collie added to the stay on this campsite,

This was our first visit to this site but it will not be our last and all for 12.00 a night 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The-monsters 4 reviews from this member

 Famtastic site with wonderful views and location. Camping virtually on the foreshore was lovely and enabled firelighting adjacent to the tent.

A short walk to the toilets which were clean and fine. Showers cost 1 for 7 minutes and washing facilities including tumble drier were good as well.

Small playground which our youngest loved.

Some midges but nothing decent repellent didn't cope with.

Loved it and would return here if in the area. One word of warning - don't put the postcode on their website into your satnav - it took us the long way round 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: A+AD 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived on Monday 23rd with our tent, despite the Met Office having forecast heavy rain and gale force gusts of up to 70mph.

On our arrival, Derek the proprietor was very helpful in suggesting that we didn't pitch on the shore (as is usual) but instead let us pitch at the end of a row of static caravans, with at least a little shelter from the elements.

The shower and toilet facilities were clean but basic and rather draughty. No problems (apart from a powercut) while we were there but I did wonder what it would be like in the high season.

A beautiful, peaceful location, wonderful for walking and both Derek and Fiona were extremely friendly and helpful, we'll definitely go back, but hopefully under better weather conditions. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Monty0304 4 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend here. The weather was perfect and so was the welcome. The people who run Carry Farm are so friendly. They organised an Easter egg hunt for Easter Sunday.

The position for camper vans isn't great - just on some hardstanding. However, you are two minutes from the water, there is a lovely walk to the beach and back round and there are animals on site to keep the children entertained. They loved seeing the lambs, the donkey and the resident dog, who's name I have forgotten.

It's mostly statics on this site but don't let that put you off. People seemed very friendly. The facilities are basic but adequate for a short stay, and all very clean.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dunny70 5 reviews from this member

 Went here last month 2 nights, great little site as reported by others tourer pitches used by statics for parking. We cycled in to Kames hotel, & grocers, post office 3 miles then into Tighnabruigh 2 miles. Big hill between 2 villages, mostly charity shops,spar and hotel.

Price 14 per night, 1[2x50p] for 7 minutes in shower. Drive round loch Lomond very good, 2 1/2 miles to Glasgow. Large hill in and out of Tighnabruigh

Will go back 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cdoyle 1 review from this member

 Magnificent site in a very scenic location. Camping field by the sea has good flat pitches. Shower is nice and clean.

If you are looking for somewhere quiet with beautiful scenery well you need look no longer this is the place to be. The views just left me speechless. This is a must if you love camping.

There's lots of nice walks. Or you can go for a drive into Tighnabruaich where you will find shop's pub's etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ahalst21 35 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a very scenic location. Camping field by the sea has good flat pitches and is well away from the static caravans.
Only one shower in ladies and outside washing up so not many facilities although they were nice and clean.

We couldn't get on the camping field as it was too wet for the van and we didn't think we would be able to get off next morning. So we parked on the hard standing which although had electric hook ups was more like a car park for the statics. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carry Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carry Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Carry Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3893 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement