Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glen Dochart Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Crianlarich > Glen Dochart Caravan Park > Reviews

Glen Dochart Caravan Park
Luib
Crianlarich
Perthshire   (Browse area)
FK20 8QT
Tel: 01567 820637
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LBBK 56 reviews from this member

 Don't write this site off because of its name or outdated website. It is mainly a static vans outfit but also caters for touring vans (hardstanding) and tents (grass - with electric if required). We used email to secure our booking & paid on arrival, cash or card. £25 per night for 2 adults, car, medium tent & electric.

Very friendly welcome.

The tent pitches are level, well drained and include a picnic table. Your car stays next to the tent. There is some road noise from the A85 but nothing excessive and quieter at night. The dawn chorus of birdsong was louder. Reception sells some basics. Toilet block was clean & perfectly acceptable. Showers 20p coin: didn't use. Also washing up sinks with washing machine & tumble drier. Full range of recycling bins.

You are surrounded by high mountains but there is level walking for some miles straight from the site along the old railway line.

Sorry, didn't try the local pubs so can't comment on those.

We did visit Balquhidder church (Rob Roy's grave) & Fortingall church (5, 000 year old yew tree). Both buildings & churchyards open and well presenting their local history.

Too early in the season for us to comment on midges: we didn't meet any but it was early May. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Scotsrogue 1 review from this member

 The owner of this site was extremely friendly and we had two adjoining pitches which was very nice.

I feel that the site could do with some TLC. The shower block is in need of some modernising as if looks a bit jaded. There was quite a lot of black mould in the grout and the 20p meter is just inconvenient. Few carry cash these days. I would rather they did away with this and charged a wee bit extra.

There is also traffic noise from the main A85 road behind our pitch. We were here for one night.

It was alright but there is better out there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ryans gran 1 review from this member

 Found this gem of a site on a last minute booking site. The owner Jan is the hardest working lady I have ever seen, and her site is an absolute credit to her.

We had a huge hardstanding pitch with water and waste, with plenty space for our awning. The pitches are clean and tidy, and the pegs not too hard to get into the ground.

The shops are a wee drive away, but that didn't bother us as we bring all we need with us.

The views from the site are great, and it is so peaceful. There are lots of places to visit nearby, such as Callendar and Killin, with the beautiful falls of Dochart.

There is a little bit road noise, but it stops early evening, and didn't bother us at all.

The site is also very reasonably priced, and I have paid a lot more for a lot less at other places. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jenny3 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely, well organised and equipped site. There were lots of great touches, like your own tap on each pitch and little stands for takeaway BBQ’s on the picnic tables. A massive tumble drier. Also, every pitch has a hook up & the facilities are spotless.

The owner is also very helpful & friendly. It is a good base for the surrounding countryside & short drive to many great places.

The only draw back as others have mentioned, is the showers. Having to pay 20p and then the water flow isn’t that great.

This wouldn’t stop me returning though as everything else was fabulous. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claremac 2 reviews from this member

 Nice campsite which is well signed from the A85. The owner very friendly and at only 8 pounds per night per person it is in line with the price of other sites in the area.

The site is well drained, even though it would seem that all of the water in all of the world was attempting to accumulate in Scotland that weekend the ground didn't flood.

Toilet block is fine with handsoap and a hand dryer which is always a bonus. The showers are pretty awful - its only 20p for 8 mins which is fine but the first 2 minutes are the water trying to warm up. It does then get hot but the shower heads are a bit blocked up so the water kind of squirts about, mostly hitting the plastic shower curtain. A wind blows in under the shower cubicle door as well so the whole experience is quite shivery.

I didn't go to the Suie Lodge hotel which is the closest place to get a drink at about half a mile from the site, I pushed on for another quarter of a mile or so to the Luib Hotel. It was nice, if quiet and the landlord is very accommodating. Not much atmosphere on the Friday night. The walk to either of those bars is down the A85. There are no pavements but there is enough grass verge to walk on. Cars travel down that section pretty quickly so if you're walking back in the dark then its useful to take a head torch and something reflective.

Nice views from the site but not much atmosphere, tents are in the middle of the site with touring pitches and fixed pitches around the outside. Very quiet when I was there. Next time I visit the area i'll go closer to a village or town as its about 6 miles to Killin and about 8 miles to Crainlarich meaning everywhere was a drive. Not much in the way of midges around. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GT60 8 reviews from this member

 Toilets were not clean one was leaking for the three days we stayed.
The showers were okay a 20 pence charge was made but the hot water lasted for ages. There was a washer and dryer for clothes washing. Yes the water was brown but it made a lovely cup of tea.

The pitch was littered with some rubbish like old pegs and a screw and broken plastic. The scenery was stunning pity the park grounds were not as there was over grown weeds on part of the site.

If a bit of effort was put into the site it would be okay.

Play area, a swing!

Most of the vans were statics and touring vans left there all the time.

Beware of the Midges!

Would I stay again? Only in an emergency. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andybajb 1 review from this member

 My wife, 12 year old daughter and I booked this site not having read any reviews and not knowing what to expect as we turned up, we were not disappointed. First of all the site is very well sign posted and easy to find. As you drive up the entrance way you cannot fail to find the reception and the owners are very friendly and most helpful.

I can't comment on surrounding attractions or 'things to do' because we were using the site as a base for the Highland Games weekend in Callender but suffice to say, it is a place of outstanding natural beauty and a hill walkers paradise.

The site itself is predominately used by long term caravans but there are tourers and an area down the middle of the site for tents. All tents in the camping area have their own picnic area with bench set and are a stones throw away from anywhere in the site including reception and its small shop which caters for most of your daily camping needs.

The facilities block is a modern building which is very well maintained and spotless. The second night we were there our friends arrived having not even booked and the owners managed to squeeze them in next to us which was fantastic of them. The small play area complete with swings etc and the surrounding area kept our two families children amused. Overall, this was site was most impressive, very accommodating and thoroughly enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scottish steve 10 reviews from this member

 Have stayed here twice, very good site, all very nice people. Good showers and toilets, good Scottish water straight from a burn (beck), will be brown after heavy rain.
Pub 1 mile away suie lodge great home cooking just what you need after a hard day in the hills. Great site to explore the highlands or central belt. Half hour to killin just over a hour to the outdoor capital of the world (fortwilliam). 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

 My son and his fiancée stayed in our caravan here for 3 days. Nice flat pitches. Statics on either side as you go in , the touring site is further back. Fully serviced pitch £17.50 per night. Modern clean toilets. Take the midge spray,trees surround the site.About 6 miles from Crianlarich. Would come and stay here myself. Quiet site. Friendly people. 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dragonflyreiki 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site.
 
We spent two nights here in March, the pitch was level and spacious with a picnic bench right next door. Close to a very clean toilet / shower block with good laundry and dish washing facilities. The shop is small but reasonably priced, you can order fresh bread and eggs for the morning.
 
The owners are very friendly and helpful, they pointed out a good walk that would take us all the way to Killin via a disused railway, but beware, the bridge is out so you need to scramble across a small stream and up the opposite bank. You will need to keep dogs on a lead as there are a lot of sheep around.
 
There is an absolutely fantastic pub/hotel a 5 min walk away (turn right when going out of the entry and it is the first pub on the right), but be careful as it is along the main road and there is no pavement or lighting. The owners are very welcoming and it is dog friendly. The food is lovely, we can highly recommend the Lumpy Bumpy toffee dessert! Well kept ale too :-)
 
We will not hesitate in coming back. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Glen Dochart Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glen Dochart Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Glen Dochart Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crianlarich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


32300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement