Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Silver Sands Holiday Park (PHolsUK)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Lossiemouth > Silver Sands Holiday Park (PHolsUK) > Reviews

Silver Sands Holiday Park (PHolsUK)
Covesea West Beach
Lossiemouth
Moray   (Browse area)
IV31 6SP
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 43 Reviews
                6/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: 77lizardking 1 review from this member

 What can I say? Positive points, excellent facilities, very close to town, great walks and beautiful beach with the most friendliest and kind staff.

Negative points, absolutely none, nada, zip! Loved my break here, the glamping pods are awesome, and entertainment was first class.

I'm definitely going back it was such a fun, happy holiday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Colmanek 3 reviews from this member

 Nice site on a beautiful beach with good facilities including a bar fish and chip shop restaurant and evening entertainment and kids entertained and a shop that could be better stocked.

Only fault with the place is totally unorganized touring pitches people who had paid for elec hook up where on fully serviced pitches that they had not paid for badly needs sorted touring warden was never about when he was needed.

Bar is nice but very expensive. Staff where also very nice. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jwilky 2 reviews from this member

 Been before in static not camping why we chose the site!

Camping pitches big and lots of them! Drainage good but also made it hard to knock pegs in had to buy hard ground pegs!

Great location!

Love the sound of jet engines why went back!

Toilet block in need of refurbishment but showers hot free and no need to keep pushing a button for water!

Very clean site near the sea! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Orangepeel 13 reviews from this member

 The worst pitch I have ever stayed on. A mix of gravel, sand, fag butts and beer bottle tops. And the odd clump of grass.

Can't comment on the shower block due to covid, However the toilets in the entertainment centre was open

The only thing this site has going for it is its location. Lovely sandy beaches nearby. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Avalonjim 1 review from this member

 Always wanted to visit this site due to its location. Which is great.

Now back to the site. Great welcome.

Then downhill after that. We booked in for one night luckily. On a standard pitch. Grass suitable for tourers and tents.

Could only describe as a litter strewn waste land. No grass. The odd weed. So decided to upgrade from 30 to 35 fully serviced pitch. Was better with some grass. But then realised on the pitch some rubbish which included a pair of used surgical gloves. We left with refund.

A company that doesn't really care about tourers obviously. But quite happy to charge top dollar for a dust bowl. Considering there's no facilities due to the virus. They have had all spring to do something about the pitches.

We have been touring for many years. Easily the worst. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fionagh1 3 reviews from this member

 Camping pitches poor with limited choice. Lots of stones on very dry soil. Site facilities good.

Location excellent. We were disappointed overall with site this year due to limited pitches.

Site has been increased for static thus reducing pitches for campers. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spender58 2 reviews from this member

 Let me just say what a fabulous location. Right on the beach. Now let's look at the rest. We arrive and check in, fine. Well organised. We head to our fully serviced pitch. No electric working. OK so we move to another pitch. No water. I am disabled and moving again was too much so my wife just goes to someone else's pitch to get the water. They don't mind because campers help each other. My point is that this place isn't cheap and we expected the quality to match the price.

Tonight we went to their bar/restaurant. OMG! I went to the bar and got a bottle of Becks and a Malibu and Coke. 6. 25. OK it's expensive I drank the Becks and went back to order a 2nd round. This time I asked for Becks again and a different barmaid said 'alcohol free? ', I said 'no just Becks', she said 'we only have alcohol free Becks'! So I had just spent 3 on lager flavoured water! I said to the girl who served me originally that she had served me alcohol free Becks.

She said 'oh I'm sorry I didn't know it was alcohol free'. OK take it on the chin. Anyway, I ordered a Bud and a glass of Rose. 8. 20! Ouch! Got back to our seat and the glass with the rose was filthy so our son took it back. He returned with the rose in a half pint tumbler.

No large wine glasses left. Classy eh! We then get told our meal is ready. So of we trot to be fed. My steak and my sons were overcooked, the wife's hunters chicken was stone cold, and the kids pizza was burned.

To add a touch of class they served the steak on a chopping board which had a blue gingham paper towel on it. As soon as I poured on the peppercorn sauce the blue gingham paper towel disintegrated and stuck to the steak. So I and my son had blue gingham paper towel flavoured overcooked steak. You couldn't make it up.

My advice here is. Come to the site for the location because it's terrific, don't expect the quality of the pitch to match the price they charge. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wildrover58 5 reviews from this member

 Not the best organised site I have been on in recent years, chaotic at reception when large number of units arrived at same time. Was free to select own pitch, some had parked head first, some tail first resulting in awnings facing awnings.

Utility blocks are fairly modern and adequate for the site.

Site was quiet at night, exception being when the Typhoons take off at night from adjacent airfield, nobody can sleep through that. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sunny Jim 60 8 reviews from this member

 Typical static site that takes tourers but appears not to really want them! We counted 24 electric sockets out of use which made it hard to find 2 pitches together.

Hard standing is a bit misleading, there are stones to pak on! Idea is good but people were just parking any where as the site didn't monitor in any way.

There were no drains for the grey waste, which had to be taken to the toilet block and pulled up 3 stairs.

Toilet block looks relatively new but bits were missing in the showers, hooks had disappeared, toilets weren't working etc, which is a big shame.

Laundry room also has 3 bathrooms which were well used. On site facilities included food and drink, swimming pool and gym.

Please improve the touring site 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick McP 9 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here with tent. This is our third year we have camped at this site and will be the last. They are obviously catering for status vans and motor homes etc and each year we have been the camping area has got smaller and smaller.

Facilities are ok, nice to have a bar but the staff aren't that great, a bit scruffy and unprofessional.

The bar is always busy and people drink copious amounts of alcohol which is fine if you want that type of holiday.

The best bit about this site is how close it is to RAF Lossiemouth. Great watching the Tornados and Typhoons. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Silver Sands Holiday Park (PHolsUK) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Silver Sands Holiday Park (PHolsUK) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Silver Sands Holiday Park (PHolsUK)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Silver Sands Holiday Park (PHolsUK) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lossiemouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Moray

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45270 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement