Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Strathclyde Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lanarkshire > Motherwell > Strathclyde Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Strathclyde Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Bothwellhaugh Road
Bothwell
Motherwell
Lanarkshire   (Browse area)
G71 8NY
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 107
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
                8/10 from 67 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Chaletpiplin 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a visit to this site near Glasgow as our grandchildren were taking part in the UCI BMX World Champs. Our unit was a caravan (6 berth) plus a tent. We were seven in total and paid for a separate tent pitch to house the extra people.

We are Caravan Club members, have been for over 22 years, but were sorely disappointed with the service on site. From day 1 two of the menís toilets were blocked - maybe a sign? Then on day 6, luckily both boys had competed by then, three of our party retired to the tent to find that there was rising water. At midnight other tent occupants roused them to say that sewage was rising closer(you could smell it)and helped them and others to move the tents to another spot. The wardens waved a couple of torches about but thatís where their help ended.

The next morning the water board were waiting outside the site, no warden roused until 8. 15, no notification to campers that there was a possible health hazard and people already walking through the sewage, unaware of the hazard. Area was cordoned off at around 9am and water was hosed onto the sewage, essentially spreading it further. I think the wardens need some further training in common sense approaches in such circumstances.

Needless to say we left site that morning just in time, as the road then collapsed we hear. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Gari 11 reviews from this member

 Not much to add to the previous reviews on here. Site is very well kept, facilities are good and kept clean.

Hamilton is easy enough to get to for supplies by car or by walking/cycling through the park.

I'm a light sleeper but found the road noise not too bad as its a consistent hum.

Its not the kind of site where you can sit outside and relax due to the road noise but its a great site for visiting Glasgow and the surrounding area or for an overnight stop if you are heading north.

Fish & Chip fans - I thoroughly recommend the Olympia in Bothwell High St (about a mile from the site) - it lives up the the great reviews on google. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Magsie 63 reviews from this member

 I was shocked at the cost of the Club's new 'dynamic pricing', charging most when the site is full. On a tour of Scotland in July/August, including private sites, the three Caravan Club sites were the most expensive, despite having already paid about £60 to join!

Private sites (with no membership fee) all had a fixed price according to season (low, middle, high), so price was clear, not subject to filling in dates - and all were cheaper than Club sites, often with better facilities, such as site-wide WiFi.

This site was difficult to find coming from M74, then badly signed within the Country Park. Then the pitch was difficult to find, driving round in concentric circles with no help from the warden in Reception and most empty places too small (despite having booked). No privacy between crowded pitches with noisy children and dogs. Motorway noise.

WiFi only at reception with nowhere to sit and use it. The joy of overpriced July camping at its worst! As a new member, I expected better and won't be renewing next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 84 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights on this site.

It is very convenient for the M74 but obviously this means that there is a constant hum of traffic noise.

The toilets and showers were clean and warm.

It is adjacent to Strathclyde Country Park, but this is not a particularly attractive park.

We drove to nearby Chatelherault Country Park for a more rural walk. 


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pepsi20698 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, this is our 3rd stay,

Facilities always immaculate too,

Perfect for a wee visit to home town Milngavie for Colpiís ice cream,

We will definitely be back again soon 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 Stopover heading North. Booked on the new system a few days before arrival so paid upfront. On arrival warden said hello and said as booked just carry on in unless we needed to know anything. Really so much better than the old system.

Site as everyone says, immaculate. Brilliant walks around the loch and plenty of eateries. Park run and rowing competition taking place whilst we were there. Fair ground seemed a major attraction for many.

Less than a couple of minutes from M74 so perfect for a stop off or longer with plenty to do within walking distance of site and Glasgow just a few miles in by taxi.

We did find motorway noise annoying but guess it the price for convenience of site location.

All in all its great but price brings in down overall on scores 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 45 reviews from this member

 I was a bit dubious about the site location, being so close to the motorway, but that wasn't a problem.

The most noise was from "Boy racers" on the road that runs past the site, however it was quiet overnight.

The large flat site was surprising quiet considering that it was summer. It was of the usual high standard expected of club sites although it was a bit of a walk to the toilet block.

If I had taken more time I might have found a closer pitch, but I chose instead, a shaded one.

Overall, this is a very good site and very well located for a stopover going north or south.

The National Museum of rural life is an easy drive away and is signposted from outside the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jo Treby 30 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with all the usual club facilities. All very clean and well maintained.

We forgot to phone ahead however they still managed to find us a pitch near to the disabled facilities (I have limited mobility). I was able to ride my mobility scooter round the site.

The country park looks a great place to go for somewhere to eat and there is lots of leisure activities also in the park. ( We did not use these). 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Joobug 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay at Strathclyde.

It had everything we needed, showers and bathrooms were clean, all facilities were really useful and staff was very helpful and nice.

We would definitely return! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 Arrived 27th December to a very welcoming warden who was polite, friendly and full of cheer. Choose our serviced pitch (winter treat), set up and had a little walk around the site.

All pitches looked level and well spaced out and nicely configured, no banks of units in endless lines like dominoes but little avenues and curves so the site felt roomy and light.

Will comment on the road noise which we felt wasn't intrusive, it was in the background, a pretty constant hum of motorway traffic but within our van with the radio on quietly, almost non existent.

2 little niggles for us about this site, firstly, the little pavement outside reception being taken over by planters, signage and a barrier leaving no room to create space should someone be coming out of reception.

This area felt cramped and overcrowded with unessential obstructions. Across from reception there are grass / tent pitches and creating a walkway on this side would be the perfect solution without compromising on safety or taking away any pitches.

2nd niggle, the service area near the serviced pitches wasn't lit after dark during our stay. We often do our loo later in the day and dispose of our rubbish and although with a torch, this was still possible, would have been easier and safer if the lights were on.

This area is also a cross path towards the sites main washroom facilities but too dark at night. We are happy not to have too many lights for environmental and aesthetic purposes but feel certain areas need essential lighting.

Overall, we liked the site. Perfect for stop overs or longer stays. Great for dog walks around the nearby Strathclyde Loch. The site was clean and tidy even in winter.

The planters around the site looked very tired and lacking of care but I imagine in the spring /summer months, they would be full of colour. It isn't the cheapest site on the UK network by far, a little overpriced I think here.

We paid pennies short of £140 for 4 nights on a serviced pitch.

We will be back to perhaps explore the area more or to just amble around the Loch and chill out. 
via mobile


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Strathclyde Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Strathclyde Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Strathclyde Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Motherwell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lanarkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56969 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement