Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Strathclyde Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lanarkshire > Glasgow > Strathclyde Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Strathclyde Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Bothwellhaugh Road
Bothwell
Glasgow
Lanarkshire   (Browse area)
G71 8NY
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 107
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pedrosontour 7 reviews from this member

Well located site just off M74 at Jn5, road hum is audible but even in a campervan with pop top, it did not distract us at all.

Spacious hardstanding pitches with quality toilet/shower facilities. Good information shed with leaflets, guides and charity book swap corner.

Winter Wardens were really friendly and helpful.

Lots to do in Lanarkshire area, especially country parks.

Short walk to M&Ds theme park with year round indoor amusement arcade/bowling/cafe, and seasonal outdoor rides (tesco voucher deals possible). Excellent 4 mile walk from site around Strathlyde Country Park loch with 3 quality playparks to keep kids amused.

Pricing is only issue with club sites, £20 a night as members for 3 of us (1 x 10yr old) in February is ok, but much more expensive in summer.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nao1 10 reviews from this member

This campsite was nice, well laid out although pitches a bit close together. Main issue is the price! Over £40 per night, which is not far off a hotel room locally!

There is a play area, laundry and washing up place as well as the usual toilet and showers but nothing that justifies such a high cost. There is quite a bit of road noise, but we probably heard it more than others as we have a pop top camper (there are some amazing motor homes on site - very fancy!)

The location is good for m and d's, and just off the motorway so good for an overnight on route somewhere.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

As previous reviews have said it's ideal for a stopover, literally minutes off the motorway.

We did hear the road noise but wouldn't say it was too bad.

Pitches are very big, hard-standing with a grass area. There is a separate area for tents. Loos and showers fairly new, very clean and well looked after.

We found staff to be wonderful, really friendly and knowledgeable.

We ate at the Toby on Sunday evening, despite it being really busy they found us a table in minutes. Found was fabulous, but there was a long queue for the carvery.

The site is ideal for visiting Glasgow and the surrounding area. The country park itself is worth a day out and the New Lanark Heritage village is less than 10 miles away.

We found the site expensive at £25 for club members (£40 for non members) it was half empty on one of the warmest weekends of the year.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 12 reviews from this member

We stopped here for 2 separate nights to break up a journey to the Scottish highlands.

For a stopover, it is ideal. It is located just off the M74 south of Glasgow. Unfortunately, that proximity comes with a price. I think this is the noisiest site I have ever stayed on. The traffic noise is really quite intrusive 24 hours a day.

However, the site (as is usual with C&MHC) is neat and tidy, well maintained and the shower block looks to be very new.

Would I stay here again? Definitely, for a stopover. Would I stay more than one night? No.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonjesk 7 reviews from this member

Recently visited here for 3 nights, site is really lovely, well laid out with plenty of room per pitch. The shower blocks are the best we've seen [very minor gripe is that shower heads are fixed and spray is too close to rear wall, the staff were also very nice and helpful. Site is in a good area for walking and cycling and also close to a small theme park. Pub and eating places are within safe walking distance. As in other reviews its very close to the expressway which you can get used to, however the country park road and the expressway become the nightly hang out for the local boy racers from around 10. 00pm until 02. 00am [this is not the fault of the campsite though] I think its only fair that people are made aware of this. Only for this reason we probably would not stay here again which is a real shame.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JainEm 8 reviews from this member

A lovely site, with spacious pitches and the best toilet/shower block facilities we've come across so far. The welcome was very friendly and helpful too, nothing was too much trouble. We arrived on Boxing Day to meet family for a late lunch at the Toby Carvery 10 mins walk away. Even though the Toby Carvery staff were VERY busy with it being Christmas festivities, they were efficient and friendly. The site is right by a major road junction with roadworks ongoing, but we got used to the hum of traffic and it didn't cause us any problems. A little more costly than other sites at £27. 20 for one night, but it was Christmas so we overlooked it. We'd come back here if visiting family again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alanterri 46 reviews from this member

A fairly new very well laid out site just off the A74. The nearby road and roundabout are under going major upgrades to motorway standard. Yes there is some noise but nothing that interrupted our enjoyment. We chose a fully serviced pitch. Very large and not overlooked. The layout has used lots of curves so you don't see much of your neighbour.

Very friendly wardens. A typical CC site offering the expected standard and more. Dog walk takes you round the storage compound. Not bad but could do with a larger grass area for throwing the dog ball.

This site is within the very pretty Strathclyde country Park.

An excellent location for touring. Park and ride to Glasgow Central is a mile away. Bellshill station. Free parking and £4. 30 return each. Dogs go free. Glasgow City and it's museums etc along the Clyde are worth a look.

Hamilton had two excellent takeaways. Indian and Chinese.

3 minute walk from the site is Toby Inn place. New. Good value food but dogs not allowed.

Did The Falkirk Wheel and Kelpies.

Also if like us you coming up from the south this makes an excellent the stop over for a few days

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pjproby123 12 reviews from this member

As frequent travellers to Scotland this was our first visit to Strathclyde Caravan site, I found it very well laid out, a nice one way system round the site made it pleasant for all.

We pitched on the other side of the site away from the kids playground. The wardens were very friendly and the site was immaculate, the down side is its typical caravan club site prices, for two adults that are out from 9 am till 9pm it was touching £190 for 7 nights. Won't be going simply because we can get as good for less

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmy1980 29 reviews from this member

This was our first stay at Strathclyde Park and what a find! On arrival the site entrance is nice and wide with two entrance barriers - one for people staying already and one for new arrivals. The staff were lovely and friendly at arrival and throughout our stay - advising us to simply pick a free pitch. We pitched next to the play area so our son would be able to get there quickly! The park is very nicely laid out with a one way system. The toilet block is central, very clean and spacious and even had smooth radio playing - first time I've experienced this on a campsite but I found it a nice feature! Strathclyde Country Park is across the road from the site and we walked around the loch most nights - a nice flat 3. 5 mile walk. The sports centre offers pedalos, speed boat trips, etc. We got a 5 activity pass thinking we could use this over the week but unfortunately they are only for that day, but we still had great fun and the speed boat trip was something else (hang on to your hat though!). We didn't find the road noise particularly bad - I certainly didn't notice it unless I listened for it. The roadworks pose a challenge on the roundabout but as long as you keep your cool and take your time it's not bad! We would certainly return to and recommend this site. We planned to go to Edinburgh, Loch Lomond and Glasgow but there was so much to do nearby we just stayed local. There are plenty of shops within easy driving distance. Excellent site with lovely walks direct from your pitch!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trubytribute 16 reviews from this member

What is most amazing about this site is the fact that it is near 2 very busy roads and although there is traffic noise it doesn't detract from the ambience of the site. Its in the perfect location as a stop over going both north and south, in a lovely spot on the edge of Strathclyde park which has lots to do. The site is up to the standard of any Caravan Club site, friendly managers and well spaced out large pitches. There is absolutely nothing to complain about in any way. Excellent site and probably worth staying more than 1 night at a time to explore an area that most of us travel through.

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lanarkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4665 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019