Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rutland Caravan And Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Rutland > Site Reviews

Rutland Caravan And Camping Site
Park Lane
Greetham
Rutland
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 7FN
Tel: 01572 813520
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 248 Reviews
                8/10 from 248 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  248 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Newark on Trent 1 review from this member

Just spent three nights here over the weekend, Such a clean and well kept site. Staff very friendly. Stayed on the adult only area with the toilet block only a few feet away. Toilet and shower block are probably the best we’ve ever used, so clean at all times plus underfloor heating. Walked through the woods and into the village although only one shop which sells just the basics still a pleasant walk. Had a drink in The Plough which has friendly staff but didn’t eat. Will definitely return next year.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Opal0313 21 reviews from this member

Arrived to a friendly welcome. Pitches are a mixture of grass or gravel hardstanding all with their own water tap waste and EHU. Not large but adequate for car caravan and awning. Amenity block clean modern and warm. Looks like there's plenty of things to do but as we only stayed for two nights we only visited Rutland water and Oakham which are both lovely places.

Walked into the village on the first night to have something to eat from one of the local pubs. The first was small and booked up the second said the restaurant was full but we could eat in the bar which was fine for us, however when we read the menu it was what we call 'posh nosh'. No one in our group of 4 liked anything on the menu. One dish was baked snails! As there were only 2 pubs we decided 2 go back to camp site and see if we could order a takeaway. As we were passing the first pub we decided to try again. Lucky because they managed to squeeze us in. The restaurant was very small with only 6 tables but the food was excellent. We tried to book for the next night but with no luck.

The camp site was very quiet at night. It has a cafe which we didn't visit and an indoor swimming pool which you have to book and pay for but again we did not use. We had no problems at all and would visit here again.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Millyjack 3 reviews from this member

We first visited this site back in 2009 & so lovely to be back to see so many fantastic improvements ! The owners have vastly improved the site over the years to the excellent standard that it is now.

It now seems that most of the spacious pitches have water & drainage as standard, the shower facilities on the Adults only side of the park are superb & the best we’ve seen for some time with cosy underfloor heating & your own cubicle with toilet, shower & sink.

We didn’t use the lovely swimming pool but had a look around the luxury lodges that there are to hire & again these were so impressive. There is a lovely addition of a new children’s play area and a great tea room on site too.

The site is in a fantastic location within easy reach of Rutland Water, Stamford & Oakham and there is a lovely walk to the village where there’s a shop & 2 excellent pubs to eat.

The site is a credit to its owners & staff and we hope to be back for a longer stay next time !

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ashleycarpfishing 1 review from this member

We have stopped here a number of times now and it is just perfect for our family. A play area we can keep an eye on our child whilst we are in the Caravan. Very well kept and great facilities especially the swimming pool which is fantastic. Games room, washing facilities and family bathroom. The staff here are exceptional and nothing is too much hard work for them They always are there to help if needed. Many thanks and see you again soon. PS lovely walk to the pubs in the village which is only 15 minutes. ( a few more back depending on how many you've had )

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 36 reviews from this member

We recently spent 2 nights here, as we wanted to visit Stamford and also look at Burghley House. We were very impressed with the campsite. We were on the adults only side and hadn't, on this occasion, brought our 2 dogs, although most people seemed to have dogs with them. We were very impressed with the site and, in particular, the sanitary blocks, which (in our opinion) easily beat those on standard CMC sites. We loved the shower/sink/toilet rooms. There was plenty of space for dog walking. The village was a short and pleasant walk away and we had a very nice and reasonably priced meal at The Plough. The site was quiet and, with the large green area around the toilet block, felt open and spacious. We have not used UK sites in August before and the price (at £30 a night) seemed dear, but is probably about the going rate for high season. There was an extra charge to use the indoor pool, but we didn't do so.

We had planned to visit earlier in the year, but due to sickness were unable to. The site kindly held our deposit and we used it for this booking.

A barrier card made the site secure and we gave our CMC membership card in surety for its safe return.

Stamford is a very pretty town and we visited its large and diverse market on Friday morning. Burghley was a fascinating place. We had an excellent and reasonably priced meal in its Orangery Restaurant. Children seemed to love the garden of surprises - a delight of water jets and water 'sculptures' that they were encouraged to enjoy to the full!

We will visit both the site and the area again. 2 days is simply not long enough. There is plenty in the area to occupy a week at least!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ahallam 1 review from this member

Couldn't have been more impressed with how we were treated and the quality of the campsite. We stayed for 2 nights in June with a family of 9 in 2 separate tents and 4 children. The owners were extremely helpful on arrival (especially the Scottish lady). The campsite sits on the edge of a lovely village that is accessed via a country lane in-between open fields. The children friendly area overlooks a lovely sand play area with swings. It is not too busy and everyone is friendly. Each site had EHU and easy water access.

There is also a brand new indoor pool and a hot tub to hire. The shop is well stocked. Everything is so clean and well kept.

It is a short stroll into the village to enjoy very nice pubs. We also ate in the Sun Inn in Cottismore (5 min drive away) and that was superb with a good children's play area.

I also recommend a trip to Rutland Water which has an array of leisure facilities. We will be back!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donkeyelddis22 2 reviews from this member

First the good points. Toilets and showers spacious and clean - plenty of hot water.

Now the rest. Roadways are so full of deep potholes its difficult to avoid damaging your unit. Would be very easy to damage a motor mover on potholes. Although the weather could be blamed this site is advertised as being a 365 day a year site, so I would expect better.

Wardens not very welcoming and listing off the many rules didn't help. We arrived with a 12 month old baby, and as we had booked to be on the children's side of the site, we thought we would be fine to visit friends on the adult only part of the site. Warden made it very clear that this would not be allowed.

All the pitches are fully serviced although ours had a broken drainage access and could not be used. Although I spoke to groundsman, he was not interested in resolving the issue.

First two days of our visit, complete site kept loosing its electric. The only way we found out about this was that we couldn't get in to the site as the security barriers wouldn't open. A female warden shouted this to us in a very aggressive manner. No electric was quite a worry with a baby on board and low temperatures. Sunday morning and this time no water available. It wouldn't be so bad if staff even tried to offer an explanation as to what was going on.

Given that this site is £30 a night even at Easter, I would have expected either an apology or some form of compensation from the site. Instead, on departure, not even a 'have a safe journey' was uttered. Clearly a site more interested in making money than satisfying its customers. We will not be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimhynd 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. Very clean. Busy when we were there so had to use family area which was quite noisy with the kids, would have preferred adult side as the showers were excellent, also had a dog shower. Very secure and safe with electronic gates around the site both for walking to town and at main gates. Splendid swimming pool as a bonus. Short walk to town with 2 lovely pubs and a shop. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a holiday in this area.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philandlol 19 reviews from this member

We were looking for somewhere open and not far away to try out our new van. Not disappointed we chose this site although not completely our cup of tea. The initial greeting wasn't the greatest but hey ho. Its a caravan club affiliated site so very 'regimental' in its approach ie park here, van here, awning here, car here etc.

Facilities are excellent and very clean.

Village is great and I recommend both pubs, The Plough and especially The Wheatsheaf which is top quality.

From a personal point of view this site in the summer would be too busy for us, but this time of year it was ideal. We would return but only in the quieter months.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andrewbutler56 8 reviews from this member

Superb! A cold and wet weekend. Not many pitches taken but everything open. The Plough Pub was great! Nice places nearby - Melton, Oakham etc. A great weekender from Northampton. I had the feeling it would be a warm and welcoming family place during the summer. We will put it top of our return site list!

Previous     248 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1379 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019