Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chertsey Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Surrey > Chertsey > Chertsey Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Chertsey Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bridge Road
Chertsey
Surrey   (Browse area)
KT16 8JX
Tel: 01932 562405
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2024 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: TimCESmith 70 reviews from this member

 My third visit to the excellent C&CC Chertsey, again by bike and in my backpacking tent. Everything was as immaculately clean and well-ordered as ever except that one area of grass+EHU pitches was taped off having been flooded in the recent storms. Sunken boats, silt and detritus on the riverbank downstream suggests this wasn’t trivial flooding, so kudos to the team for getting everything pristine.

The site itself is very pleasant in that regimented C&CC way which I find rather charmless and would not choose for a fortnight’s holiday. The majority of the clientele was motorhomers using it for the location – some people were hanging out in the larger, swankier ones but most people chose to go off site during the day.

Lastly, and a big bonus, the cost of the night’s pitch was £7. 05 – a record for me. A great weekend and a really good site. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Andrew Birkin 5 reviews from this member

 We chose Chertsey as a base for week travelling with my daughter and Granddaughter on a super service pitch

The site was spotless and facilities very well looked after and amazingly clean with everything you could want including a huge communal meeting room. Being next to the river was so relaxing with 2 pubs within walking distance and a food trailer on-site Friday to Sunday.

Local places we visited included Harry Potter world, Windsor, Brooklands and Mercedes Benz world.

We used Weybridge station for a direct train to Waterloo getting a travel card giving us unlimited travel trains/ underground and buses. About £50 of peak £60 peak for 2 adults and an infant.

The staff welcomed us and showed us to our pitch being very helpful with information. I would recommend this site without question and will definitely be using it again. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: TimCESmith 70 reviews from this member

 This was another quick overnighter by push-bike and very pleasant. The site was rammed, but the helpful wardens found room in the overspill for a backpacking pitch @ £18. 50, so quite a hike on my February visit (see below).

Despite being so busy it was all very calm - maybe everyone was taking it easy in the weird heatwave we've been having. Fellow campers seem very civilised, which I suppose shouldn't be a surprise for a C&CC site of this type - it's not the sort of place you'd go for a rowdy holiday.

I used the showers this time and they are excellent - good pressure, controllable temp and a usable delay on the push buttons.

Chertsey itself was much more amenable in the warm sunny weather than the dark of February - I think I may have short-changed it in my previous review. Am fully expecting to come back here before long. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 87 reviews from this member

 Easy access to this site less than 10 mins from Junction 11 of the M25. Once in Chertsey look for the entrance which is well signposted in Bridge Road just before the bridge over The River Thames.

This site has been refurbished since we were here last and has a mixture of hard standing service and standard pitches and grass.

Two facilities blocks one by reception and the second much larger one in the centre which has all the usual facilities. There is a motorhome service point near to the exit.

Locally there are two pubs either side of the bridge, The Bridge Hotel and The Kingfisher. We had a meal in The Kingfisher which was very nice.

The site is very close to Thorpe Park so it is very popular with families for this reason. Being in an urban environment there is some road and plane noise but this did not bother us.

Overall we found this a very pleasant site with friendly hard working wardens and would happily stay here again.  


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Camelsoutback 35 reviews from this member

 Lovely to use the on site cafe for an evening meal and for the breakfast on the day we left, such a bonus to packing. Reasonably priced and good.

We have visited the site before so we know what to expect (4/4 on the shower hook rating).

Roadworks opposite the site are causing some delays but it does make leaving the site that bit easier.

Visited Osterley House NT, impressive. Wisley RHS was closed due to wind damage. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 42 reviews from this member

 Immaculate facilities and friendly staff. Showers much wider than at St Neots CCC site (stayed at in June) and proper bench seats to put clothes on, not tip up seats which get wet.

I was curious to see big flood warning signs (saying green low risk) but with no information next to them on what to do if the alert level changes. Again curious to see this as there is no equivalent at St Neots which is right next to the Ouse.

There is a Londis shop at the petrol station across the road, but take care crossing as the road is busy.

I arrived by cycle. Chertsey Bridge over the Thames immediately east of the site has extremely narrow pavements and nothing to protect people cycling from traffic so despite this being part of national route 4 I would not recommend it for families. There is a cycle route south to the Wey Navigation which is off the busy roads.

The only downsides to the site are the noise from the M3, but you get used to this as its continuous, and the flights approaching Heathrow which were over the site until end of flying around 11pm. This did mean next morning we were off the flight path. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ROSSlass 7 reviews from this member

 Easy to find site from M25. Well kept site by the river with new, very clean facilities.

Friendly staff and very welcoming.

Left the car and trailer at the site and took the train to Kew, Windsor and Hampton Court. Train station a little way away but we walked there and back every day.

The site is on the flight path for jets so there is some aircraft noise.

Considering it is accessible to London, the prices for the site are good.

Would go again. It felt a happy place. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Junior pullman 7 reviews from this member

 We booked Chertsey campsite as a base for The Oval cricket ground. We stayed for two nights, arriving the day before our planned trip to the Oval.

We spent the first day relaxing, and the whole of the next day until early evening, away from the site, but we had already decided to stay another night as the site was so relaxing, we didn’t want to go home when planned. Sadly there were no available pitches for us to stay, so we have already decided to go back next year for a two week stay.

There seems plenty to do and see near or not too far from the campsite.

The campsite itself is lovely. A warm welcome on arrival, very clean facilities, with constant hot water, and despite the traffic noise we could hear, very peaceful.

Despite only being there for two nights, and being away from the site for a whole day, we were able to shut out the road noise easily.

Looking forward to to our visit next year.  


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Niclef 1 review from this member

 Site beautifully landscaped and all facilities were spotlessly clean.

Staff, without exception, very friendly and helpful.

Pitches were generously spaced 


Date of Visit: February 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: TimCESmith 70 reviews from this member

 A delightful welcome from the wardens at Chertsey C&CC who take a lot of pride in the site. The tent camping area was closed (it's February) but they found me a pitch as they have a policy "never to turn away a backpacker" and I'd arrived by bicycle. Backpackers are also given the best possible rate, which for me was £8. 50. Excellent.

The ground is very well kept but quite gravelly - it needs to be well drained as it is right on the Thames. There are many trees and hedges to break up the usual C&CC car-park layout, but it's quite pleasant away from the high-density hard standings. It was busy with motorhomers, campervanners and caravanners, many of whom stopped for a pleasant chat.

The facilities are absolutely immaculate and well heated. I didn't use the showers but it looks as though you can adjust the temperature - luxe! There's a large common room open till 8pm which might be handy on a wet day or if you needed to charge electronics without EHU, but I found it a bit antiseptic and disliked the TV burbling scratchily away.

There's pleasant walking on the other side of the river and the Bridge pub has a waterside terrace and a good wine list, but otherwise the area is unprepossessing. It's under the Heathrow flight path, and the light from the facilities block is excessively bright. Tent campers might want ear plugs and an eye mask. There is road traffic noise but it's distant enough not to be intrusive.

As I live in zone 2 I didn't imagine anything would ever cause me to come to this site, but it turned out to be ideal for checking over my gear before I head down to Cornwall for an overnighter round Penwith. A real bonus that it was such a pleasant stay - well done and many thanks to the wardens. 


Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Chertsey Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chertsey Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Chertsey Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chertsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Surrey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


48029 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement