Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Loch Ness Highland Resort

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort Augustus > Loch Ness Highland Resort Reviews

Loch Ness Highland Resort
Fort Augustus
Fort Augustus
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH32 4BG
Tel: 01320 366257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 63 Reviews
                7/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PeteLuc 22 reviews from this member

 Was using this site as a couple of night stop over to break up the journey. From the moment I booked it I regretted not adding more nights and this view didn't change whilst we were there! Easy to find. Went into reception to get checked in. Site layout and facilities explained nice and clearly so off we set to get pitched up. Location was absolutely superb. We were very lucky with the weather as it was sunny all the time so we we able to just sit and relax at the loch side whenever we felt like it.

On site the facilities included two toilet / shower blocks, motorhome point, bar and kids play area. The toilet blocks are a little old and could do with a refresh. First time use of the shower and it was cold. The light sensor in the toilets was too short and went off before completing!

The bar was well stocked with a variety of drinks. Food was ok if not a little overpriced, but not too bad. About a mile down the road is invermoriston which had very little to do but is picturesque with some nice walks about the area. The shop of note was the local craft shop making leather goods. Worth a visit.

Overall the fact that this is by Loch Ness was more than enough to outweigh the negatives and I wouldn't hesitate stopping again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: CKC100 15 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this site, but this time staying in one of the 'Hobbits'

This is a great little site on the shores of Lochness, the views is stunning and the park is clean and tidy. We booked online which was easy and fast really.

When we arrived we checked in with ease at reception, then on the night we visited the on site bar which was nice and tidy also. Drinks were good priced along with the meals, which were of good quality. Good friendly staff. We had another meal on another night it was great as well.

As for the hobbit it was nice and cosy also with loads of room inside. Also they have been moved back a bit from the shore side so sitting out in front you get the sun but not the wind.

The toilets were clean and tidy and kept like that for our stay. Would say the taps are big of a pain with the push type and low water pressure, but only a small thing really.

Certainly recommended the site to others. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Fox Hat 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here with friends from Canada doing a tour of Scotland for a bit of 'Nessie spotting'. We stayed an extra night. It was so peaceful and the twin 7 year olds LOVED the 'hobbit houses', especially when we told them that Nessie used them like lobster pots and she emptied them during the night to eat the occupants.

Yes, it is basic but the showers were warm and efficient, the microlodges were clean, warm and comfortable, it was a convenient stop for the top leg of the tour and the management were friendly and helpful.

It felt private and looking at stars and the calm of the water was wonderful. Well worth the money. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CKC100 15 reviews from this member

 Dropped into this site early afternoon to check it was open and found a right grumpy guy coming out to the reception to meet us.

We established it was open, but he never mentioned the bar being closed.

However we came back after visiting the other things in the area.

When booking in I went into reception to find a nice lady working, she was helpful and welcoming unlike her husband I surmise.

Anyway we got the choice of the site right on the loch front. Great spot for a site.

The facilities were quite clean and tidy, pity about the taps though as they stop instantly.

We did think twice about going back after the first encounter but glad we did. Great site and location.

Looking at the hobbit cabins on our next visit to the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Megolodon 17 reviews from this member

 We did not book this site just popped in on the way past. The views from the site are spectacular it has to be said however the site is not so great.

Pitches close to the Loch are on a steep slope(2 caravan's were having real problems when we were there), water pressure is very low. Showers, taps and dish washing facilities use the press system which only lasts seconds - very annoying.

Bar/restaurant was closed even though it was July and was advertised as being open!

The half mile pebble beach they advertise is a bit of a con! One entry point and you only get a tiny bit of cobble beach, the rest you have to risk life and limb to scramble down to (I have the bruises to prove it!).

Lots of complaints about all of the above and the response from the guy in the 'NESS 1' white transit (who clearly owned the site) was a shrug of his shoulders and said he only worked there! Not very customer friendly.

Positives: site was clean, lots of power points, 2 ladies shower's and cracking views.

Negatives: water in showers and dish washing area was a real pain, no bar, no restaurant as advertised, no where to exercise a dog, very small beach, price 22 a night is very steep for what you get and the most important point which I think sums things up - No refunds (this is posted in all toilets just so you are aware!). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mickirvine48 5 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we had visited this site and, whilst the views over the loch are fantastic, the facilities on offer were less so. In particular the site offers bar and food facilities in peak periods. The last visit was in September and this time in June - which I consider to be peak periods but the bar was not available because 'the numbers on site did not warrant opening' - even though the site appeared to be about half full. If the site cannot provide these facilities they should not advertise them. Pitch size also were cramped with units quite close together and leaving little space to put out chairs etc. Otherwise the toilet facilities were just adequate and the cleaning regime for outside water sites seemed to consist of another coat of whitewash. Disappointed, we shall not use this site again. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Little Bella 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here overnight whilst touring Scotland. We had a hard standing pitch right at the edge of the Loch. Gorgeous views. It was freezing cold and very windy but we enjoyed our stop over. We found the wardens very pleasant and helpful. We took a walk up to the waterfalls which were beautiful about a mile up the hill. There were only a couple of us braving the conditions at that time of year so we had the pick of the pitches. The toilet and shower block were immaculate. Would definitely return. No we didn't see Nessie although we were advised that this was more likely if we drank more whisky! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pearson family 12 reviews from this member

 Great location in the middle of nowhere on the Loch Ness shore. Staff are friendly and the site is very well maintained. Nice bar/restaurant. We didn't eat there but the meals looked reasonable and were of a good size. Drinks no more than you would pay in a pub.

If you are into your water activities then there is probably quite a lot to do from this site as they have their own pier.

I was hoping that there would be some cycle tracks around the Loch but sadly there wasn't. The only cycle track there was, was over a busy road and then a steep 100m climb. Sadly the climb was of the pushing bike variety to get to the start point. Not really feasible with two children of 8 & 11. Going for a walk would take you the same way but you would be in woodland and have no view of the Loch.

We visited the Loch Ness Centre and Exhibition but felt a little ripped off by the experience and would not recommend it to anyone. It is informative in the form of 5 or six short films that take about 30 minutes to see. You then say to yourself what next for that 20 for a family of four. The sad answer is, is that there is nothing else other than retail outlets. It gets a 5* rating from the Scottish Tourist Board and for the love of me I cannot see why unless it is being awarded for being one of the best ways to extract money from the tourists.

I probably wouldn't return to the campsite as there just isn't enough to do for our family in the area. At 26pn we also thought it was quite expensive for what it was. It was also the only place in Scotland where we had midges this year and so remember your repellent. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tench 10 reviews from this member

 You really can't fault the location of this site. It is, quite literally on the banks of Loch Ness as its name suggests.

The site itself is good with generous and level hard standing pitches. Units are in two rows facing the Loch so roughly half of the pitches are right by the water. There are also some 'Hobbits' that you can rent as accommodation which look like fun.

We were just there on a stopover and it was a Sunday evening so there was no food on in the bar. A shame as this was the only site we stayed on that had a bar.

Toilets and showers were OK.

Reception was efficient and there were plenty of information leaflets on offer. They were selling a VERY limited range of food (a few tins of soup from memory) so go prepared - especially if its a Sunday. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wilko124 37 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights 22 anight with electric 2 adults 2 dog motorhome.

They have no competion really as there the only site on loch ness

The van all have a sea view we were on the back row but had a good view over the loch lots of boats and cruisers going past the road was noisy but as the road is above the site it couldn't be helped got used to it after a while

There is a bar that does meals but didn't use

There was 2 shower blocks only used the one near reception had 3 toilets and sinks in ladies and 1 shower which for a big site was not good but nice and clean and water was hot but had the annoyng push button for water

The hobbits were interesting with good views over the loch 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Loch Ness Highland Resort?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort Augustus      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6269 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement