Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Meadow Lakes Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Meadow Lakes Holiday Park Reviews

Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Hewas Water
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 7JG
Tel: 01726 882540
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 184
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 51 Reviews
                8/10 from 51 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emma179 1 review from this member

We have not long returned from our week long stay at Meadow Lakes. We used to come to this site as a family when I was a child when it was called Trencreek. It is a very different place to then. The old barn is gone and the animals are now all 'safely' in cages instead of roaming free as they used to. There are much fewer of them now too. Despite this, we had an enjoyable week there, although this was a lot to do with the seeing family. We stayed in a tent in the unnamed field below primrose field. There are no non-electric pitches up a hill. Our pitch was nice and flat, but very near the lakes and no wind, so we were midged to death every sunset. This was a shame as one of the joys of camping, is sitting out in the last of the evening light enjoying the atmosphere, but we had to retreat inside rapidly. If the site had been full, the pitches were were not accurately spaced.

The shower facilities in primrose field were very good and you got fit walking up and down the hill to go to them! Free, plenty of push button hot water, although non-adjustable temperature. The thing that perplexed us was a real shortage of washing up facilities. We found a couple of sinks in the laundry, but that was a long trek and not obviously washing up as opposed to washing clothes.

The kids enjoyed the playgrounds, but again they were a nearly 10 min walk from our field. The play barn is a good idea.

They've improved the roads since the old days so no driving around in muddy fields.

There are a few essentials missing for campers like the washing up. It would be nice to be able to charge phones or freeze ice packs. We didn't find either.

The pool is limited to 25 every hour, which works well, but fills up quickly.

The caravans and lodges seemed to dominate the site where we were and we did not get the usual 'camping spirit' when other people were sitting out or their kids playing.

We stayed with family who didn't camp, so the accommodation options are a boon. We discussed, would we come back again and on the whole I would, but the midges really spoilt it for us. Given there are no un-sheltered (to get a bit of breeze) non-electric pitches away from the lakes, I would say probably not, which is a shame as the vicinity in Cornwall is ideal for many beaches, shops, towns and all that you could require from a visit to Cornwall, although you have to drive to everything.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Auraura 6 reviews from this member

Bit like staying at a girls High School. Don't do this don't do that and don`t walk about with no shoes. We went primarily for my husband`s fishing but had also a pool for me to swim while he was occupied. BUT oh no! as it was quiet and I was the only one at that time who wanted a swim I was refused entry, they cited insurance reasons, could they not have a waver to sign for a fully fit able adult. It spoilt my holiday. The toilets and showers were fin,e cleaners in nearly all day overkill, maybe they should clean in morning and put life guard on in afternoon for campers. Have not got priorities right.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cyndi 2 reviews from this member

We arrived on a lovely day, the staff were very helpful and cheerful. The little shop had a good supply of goods. Also there was an area at the back of the shop that had all the brochures for visiting local areas. The toilet and showers were very clean but they were down a slope, which, I as a disabled walker was unable to venture down unless I had someone with me.

The site was very clean, there weren't many units but it was early in the season.

The only thing that was disappointing was that the swimming pool was closed so was the little cafe, they didn't open till whit bank holiday.

Being we were quite away from anywhere it would have been nice to have had the Cafe open.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Triscombe 1 review from this member

Had a fantastic time.

Staff really helpful. The kid's loved the animals especially the goats. Lots of space for kids to play and run around.

Could have more outside play activities. But not busy so adequate

Small shop had emergency supplies.

Pool tired but adequate and not busy.

Nice and close to st austell but far enough out to be in nice countryside

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rosemel 9 reviews from this member

Not impressed with the hard standing all are on a slope, the awning would not fit properly could not peg down close to the caravan, to close to a kerb, trees above made the roof a mess with sap. First time had to use four jack pads on front legs to level up, The staff are very good, customers are looked after, Fishing was very poor the fortnight we were there, The new owners are trying to get it right and are working at it, the shop is basic and expensive but will get you by, Two supermarkets in town, Asda and Tesco, Would I go back again (NO) My final gripe is that people with televisions/radios in awnings/tents should realize that the volume they listen at can be heard six and a half meters away at the same volume, As the seasonal one next to us did, I think the site will get better but will take a while, overall the site is worth going to, but not for us, You can only try it and form your own view, One last thing to the site, you need to fence in the water outlets on the banks as someone slipped and the water butt hit my friends awning and would have hit the child sleeping in there, lucky shes was not there, The fortnight we were there no attempt was made to rectify this DANGER. After it was reported.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AdmWlr 7 reviews from this member

First visit to this site with five adults and four children aged between 2 and 9 years old. We were pitched in the bluebell field which is adjacent to the children's play area. The pitch was a little sloped but drained well as a result on the one day we had torrential rain. The playground was handy for us and good for all the kids that were with us. The toilet/shower/pan wash facilities were very near and always clean. Could get busy but never had to wait too long for a free shower cubicle. My only criticism is that some of the showers were a bit weedy in terms of flow, and some of the female members of the group reported that the motion activated lights were faulty in their shower block, plunging them into darkness mid-shower! To be fair though the site owners knew about it and put signs up mid week warning about it. The temperature of the showers tended to fluctuate sometimes to very hot - something to be mindful of if you have young children with you. The outdoor pool was great although the biting insects that happened to be lurking around the pool on the day we went were less than welcome - quite a few horseflies at the site to be honest but that might down to the time of year, sunny weather and the nearby fishing lakes. The staff were all great at the site and the shop was well stocked and reasonably priced. The animal feeding time was a nice touch as was the evening film for the kids in the play barn. There is also a decent room for other kids to hang out and free wifi for those that can't tear themselves away from Facebook for a few days! Site is well placed with a supermarket within five miles and some great attractions and lovely beaches nearby. Would definitely go again and recommend it to others

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carl01623 4 reviews from this member

Friendly and informative welcome, pitched up on block paved hardstanding with grass side, picture perfect view. 2 shower blocks which could do with a major revamp to bring them to a standard the campsite deserves, also hot water and toilet roll issues, shop selling all food requirements, facilities for children looked very good to keep them entertained, on site hot food outlet selling a wide variety at good prices. Entrance and exit roads have large road humps which throw a tourer about a bit even going slow (my opinion not required- go slow signs would be enough), fishing is excellent and out of the way of playing children. Situation is good to use as a base to visit other places. All supermarkets to be found in st austell 3 miles away. Took advantage of the 6 for 7 night deal in mid season and the holiday proved to be a steal. The weather was very hot which was the icing on the cake for us. We try to visit different sites but when we return to cornwall it will be hard not to book back onto this site

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smogian 13 reviews from this member

I could sit here all day trying to write something negative about this site but still wouldn't manage it. As campers who normally go to small basic sites we were a bit worried but there was absolutely no need, the pitches were a very good size the facilities were very good and always spotless and even though the site was busy when we were there we never once waited for a shower. The staff were always friendly and helpful and if we were ever visiting this part of Cornwall again would certainly return to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Dwal 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at Meadow Lakes.

We stayed in the family sized camping pod. Having stayed in standard pods in the past we loved having a bit of extra space.

We really loved this site. It was very family orientated but also had a lovely quiet, relaxing, outdoorsy feel!

There were two play areas. A large one on the bottom field and a smaller climbing frame and swings on the top field near the pods. Our children played here every night and met lots of new friends.

The swimming pool was a real bonus. We had a swim late afternoon most days and never found it to be too busy.

The shop was fantastic, stocking everything you could possibly need. They also had lovely croissants, hot sausage rolls and pasties which was perfect when we couldn't be bothered cooking.

There was also a little catering trailer there most nights selling takeaway food. They had a fantastic range of gourmet burgers (everything from aberdeen angus to kangaroo!) Plus pizzas, fish and chips etc.

There were three toilet/shower blocks. They were very clean and in the brown block there was a row of around 5 individual shower rooms and 2 bathrooms with a shower or bath, toilet and basin. We never found them to be too busy. The only downside we found was that the pods were at the top of a hill, a bit of walk to the facilities. Probably exaggerated as we have two young children and wouldn't be an issue in a tent or tourer as there were loads of pitches nearby.

All in all a fantastic holiday. Lots to do in the surrounding area. Lovely beaches, villages and plenty for kids. We would definitely return to Meadow Lakes.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glassqueen 3 reviews from this member

We arrived after a very long journey and the site was a welcome sight.

The bluebell field (non electric)was an excellent size all be it a bit slopey we got a great pitch and could see the excellent childs play area from all areas of this field.

The swimming pool, animals enclosures, play areas and barn were excellent well kept facilities.

The shop was well stock with everything you could possible need, forgot or run out of.

The reception staff were very helpful and friendly

The changing areas and toilet and shower blocks were abundant and exceptionally clean ( could do with wooden mats though as floors did get quite wet after a shower).

The games room and wifi lounge were also an added bonus, unfortunately couldn't get wifi to work at all but just made me put away my technology for a while. Was a bit peeved I couldn't freeze my own ice blocks and had to rent the sites ice blocks even though it said in the welcome pack I could freeze my own.

Also we loved the fishinglakes but couldn't be bothered to go to the post office to buy a permit. It also said permits were available from reception which they weren't.

Our dog loved the site and our children had a ball and made lots of friends - would def recommend over any other st austell / mevagissey sites

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3553 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019