Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Meadow Lakes Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Meadow Lakes Holiday Park Reviews

Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Hewas Water
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 7JG
Tel: 01726 882540
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 184
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Hydeke 1 review from this member

 The site is a perfect base for exploring Cornwall. Tent pitch was a good size and fairly level.

Staff were friendly and lots to do around the site - swimming pool, small farm where kids can pet the animals, games room, zip wire, play ground and fishing for the husband.

Only gripe was the toilet block - but this was more down to inconsiderate campers more than the camp owners.

Toilet block was clean but as they are wet rooms it was difficult to get dressed after a shower without getting clothes wet.

I would definitely stay here again - great camp site in a beautiful area with lots of supermarkets/ shops nearby.

Small shop on site reasonably priced but basic 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Gshackshaft 1 review from this member

 4 adults 4 children aged between 7 and 12 yrs old, all the kids loved the site,

We went out most days because it's a great base to see the sites and fab beaches in the area, however when we were on site there was stuff to keep the kids busy, with many families on site they were always other kids of the same age to play with, the pool was a big hit.

There's a little cafe on site, they don't have a big Manu but what they do provide is good quality, especially the pizza's always made fresh with good ingredients.

The showers/toilets could be cleaner as they were only cleaned once a day from what I saw but they weren't the worst I've seen either.

Our motorhome pitch was not on the level but we took the wedges so that wasn't a big issue,

All in all we enjoyed it and would go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: K5vda3 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site

Friendly staff

Great base for seeing Devon

Water at every caravan so you don't have to keep going to a tap miles away.

Left our dogs in the kennels and had a day horse riding and quad biking. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: The Morts 9 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this site. Great facilities, pool is very well managed and a good play park for the kids. Great location for some lovely beaches and Eden Project.

It's not the cheapest site we've stayed on but it is the summer holidays and they managed to fit us in with two pitches next to each other at relatively short notice.

We were disappointed at the new toilet block, sink toilets and shower all in one cubicle but this meant everything got wet and dirty. We didn't see them being cleaned at all the weekend we were there.

Only other negative was the length of the grass on the pitches, it was very long and we saw no cutting going on whilst we were there. Overall though still a lovely site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emma179 1 review from this member

 We have not long returned from our week long stay at Meadow Lakes. We used to come to this site as a family when I was a child when it was called Trencreek. It is a very different place to then. The old barn is gone and the animals are now all 'safely' in cages instead of roaming free as they used to.

There are much fewer of them now too. Despite this, we had an enjoyable week there, although this was a lot to do with the seeing family. We stayed in a tent in the unnamed field below primrose field. There are no non-electric pitches up a hill. Our pitch was nice and flat, but very near the lakes and no wind, so we were midged to death every sunset.

This was a shame as one of the joys of camping, is sitting out in the last of the evening light enjoying the atmosphere, but we had to retreat inside rapidly. If the site had been full, the pitches were were not accurately spaced.

The shower facilities in primrose field were very good and you got fit walking up and down the hill to go to them! Free, plenty of push button hot water, although non-adjustable temperature. The thing that perplexed us was a real shortage of washing up facilities. We found a couple of sinks in the laundry, but that was a long trek and not obviously washing up as opposed to washing clothes.

The kids enjoyed the playgrounds, but again they were a nearly 10 min walk from our field. The play barn is a good idea.

They've improved the roads since the old days so no driving around in muddy fields.

There are a few essentials missing for campers like the washing up. It would be nice to be able to charge phones or freeze ice packs. We didn't find either.

The pool is limited to 25 every hour, which works well, but fills up quickly.

The caravans and lodges seemed to dominate the site where we were and we did not get the usual 'camping spirit' when other people were sitting out or their kids playing.

We stayed with family who didn't camp, so the accommodation options are a boon. We discussed, would we come back again and on the whole I would, but the midges really spoilt it for us.

Given there are no un-sheltered (to get a bit of breeze) non-electric pitches away from the lakes, I would say probably not, which is a shame as the vicinity in Cornwall is ideal for many beaches, shops, towns and all that you could require from a visit to Cornwall, although you have to drive to everything. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Auraura 6 reviews from this member

 Bit like staying at a girls High School. Don't do this don't do that and don`t walk about with no shoes. We went primarily for my husband`s fishing but had also a pool for me to swim while he was occupied.

BUT oh no! as it was quiet and I was the only one at that time who wanted a swim I was refused entry, they cited insurance reasons, could they not have a waver to sign for a fully fit able adult. It spoilt my holiday.

The toilets and showers were fine cleaners in nearly all day overkill, maybe they should clean in morning and put life guard on in afternoon for campers. Have not got priorities right. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cyndi 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a lovely day, the staff were very helpful and cheerful. The little shop had a good supply of goods. Also there was an area at the back of the shop that had all the brochures for visiting local areas. The toilet and showers were very clean but they were down a slope, which, I as a disabled walker was unable to venture down unless I had someone with me.

The site was very clean, there weren't many units but it was early in the season.

The only thing that was disappointing was that the swimming pool was closed so was the little cafe, they didn't open till whit bank holiday.

Being we were quite away from anywhere it would have been nice to have had the Cafe open. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Triscombe 1 review from this member

 Had a fantastic time.

Staff really helpful. The kid's loved the animals especially the goats. Lots of space for kids to play and run around.

Could have more outside play activities. But not busy so adequate

Small shop had emergency supplies.

Pool tired but adequate and not busy.

Nice and close to st austell but far enough out to be in nice countryside 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rosemel 11 reviews from this member

 Not impressed with the hard standing all are on a slope, the awning would not fit properly could not peg down close to the caravan, to close to a kerb, trees above made the roof a mess with sap. First time had to use four jack pads on front legs to level up,

The staff are very good, customers are looked after, Fishing was very poor the fortnight we were there,

The new owners are trying to get it right and are working at it, the shop is basic and expensive but will get you by, Two supermarkets in town, Asda and Tesco,

Would I go back again (NO) My final gripe is that people with televisions/radios in awnings/tents should realize that the volume they listen at can be heard six and a half meters away at the same volume, As the seasonal one next to us did, I think the site will get better but will take a while, overall the site is worth going to, but not for us,

You can only try it and form your own view, One last thing to the site, you need to fence in the water outlets on the banks as someone slipped and the water butt hit my friends awning and would have hit the child sleeping in there, lucky shes was not there, The fortnight we were there no attempt was made to rectify this DANGER. After it was reported. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AdmWlr 7 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site with five adults and four children aged between 2 and 9 years old. We were pitched in the bluebell field which is adjacent to the children's play area. The pitch was a little sloped but drained well as a result on the one day we had torrential rain. The playground was handy for us and good for all the kids that were with us. The toilet/shower/pan wash facilities were very near and always clean. Could get busy but never had to wait too long for a free shower cubicle. My only criticism is that some of the showers were a bit weedy in terms of flow, and some of the female members of the group reported that the motion activated lights were faulty in their shower block, plunging them into darkness mid-shower! To be fair though the site owners knew about it and put signs up mid week warning about it. The temperature of the showers tended to fluctuate sometimes to very hot - something to be mindful of if you have young children with you. The outdoor pool was great although the biting insects that happened to be lurking around the pool on the day we went were less than welcome - quite a few horseflies at the site to be honest but that might down to the time of year, sunny weather and the nearby fishing lakes. The staff were all great at the site and the shop was well stocked and reasonably priced. The animal feeding time was a nice touch as was the evening film for the kids in the play barn. There is also a decent room for other kids to hang out and free wifi for those that can't tear themselves away from Facebook for a few days! Site is well placed with a supermarket within five miles and some great attractions and lovely beaches nearby. Would definitely go again and recommend it to others 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Meadow Lakes Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Meadow Lakes Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Meadow Lakes Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Meadow Lakes Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Austell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3352 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder