Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Deepdale Backpackers & Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Deepdale Backpackers & Camping
Deepdale Farm
Main Road
Burnham Deepdale
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE31 8DD
Tel: 01485 210256
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 82
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: G Soames 2 reviews from this member

Great site that was perfectly located next to cafe and shops. Facilities were the best we've had and exactly what you'd want! Nice ale pub 10 minutes away and a smart one nearer. Peaceful site, yet always someone on hand.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tiatote007 1 review from this member

This place is everything a camper would need. It has the lovely balance between small enough to be very personal but enough facilities to make your stay extremely comfortable. The showers are a massive seller for this place, always warm, clean and enough space to Ďswing a catí. The staff are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble and they have a well enforced curfew which is a godsend when youíre camping with children!

My lot absolutely love this site and with Brancsster beach just a drive away. Who could ask for more?. Oh maybe a pizza night on site:) yes they do that too! They only thing the kids would like to add is a playground, but they manage well with the playing field and a ball or Frisby.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RosieLR 5 reviews from this member

We had a great long weekend here. Easy walking distance to local pubs that are dog friendly and serve food. Used the pop up curry shop on Saturday evening and took the food back to eat in our campervan, which was tasty and good sized portions. I had made some raita to take with us as I knew we were going to do this, so the samosas were even better! Excellent facilities with toilet, sink, shower and hair dryer in private rooms. The site wasn't full when we went, so never had to queue, but there were plenty of rooms in two blocks, plus separate toilets available anyway. The washing up facilities at the lower block had the sinks and draining boards open to the elements which was a bit odd and draughty, as the surrounding area was under cover. The only gripe was that our pitch was in the bottom field near the shops and there were refrigeration units running all night which kept us awake. But there's not much the campsite can do about that. It's the nicest most shetered field, but if you are bothered by noise at night then it's probably worth asking for a pitch in a field further back.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Drlizjones 8 reviews from this member

What a cracking site!

Friendly welcome and introduction with the very reasonable site rules explained courteously and lightly. Other sites could learn from their approach and the way they word their rules (ie with all the focus on what you CAN do, rather than what you canít).

The best shower facilities Iíve ever used - warm, clean and spacious with self-contained wetrooms including WC and handbasin, push-button shower, height-adjustable shower stool, hair dryer, and enough hooks (6) for a family to wash together. As others have said, the push-button timers could have been set for longer, but thatís a very small criticism.

Very quiet even though itís close to the road - the only noise came from the thousands of geese flying over at dawn and dusk. Good access to public transport.

Great amenities including small supermarket, petrol-filling station, shops and pop-up restaurants. Pubs close by, but we didnít try them. This all makes it sound like a hectic site, but it really isnít - itís very well-planned and the Ďquiet after 10:00pmí policy was completely adhered to. Free wi-fi.

Also on site are a hostel and bunk barn. This makes it a great place to stay if youíre with a mixed group of walkers/campers/campervanners.

Pitches were dry and well-drained. Newly-planted hedging will be great when itís fully established. Our pitch was slightly sloping and we didnít have levellers, but it didnít stop us having a great nightís sleep.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kennyboy278 1 review from this member

My wife and I visited this site on spec. No problem and because it was the 'windy season' we were allocated a pitch in the sheltered paddock near the office. The staff were brilliantly friendly and when we extended our stay from 2 nights to an eventual 5 they never quibbled. The site is reasonably flat catering for any unit. Showers were clean and hot and the rest of the amenities are excellent and plentiful. Just outside the gate is a cafe and the site itself has a well stocked shop of camping supplies.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JamesO 10 reviews from this member

Excellent campsite in so many ways, but especially for the toilet/shower facilities which are probably the best I've ever seen. Each is a nice large room with plenty of space to do everything you might need to, and as clean as can be. They are the sort of facilities so well provided and looked after that customers respect them too, so at any point of day they were the exact opposite of the trauma you face at some campsites. As some have said, larger toilet/shower rooms perhaps mean fewer of them, but as a couple we tended to share - they are that big(!), which speeded things along. The freezer for ice packs was a bit hidden away, but available if you ask.

Despite the heavy rain that fell during part of our stay the field we were in drained very well, and the pitches were next to a hedge which provided a degree of shelter from the elements too.

The location isn't without drawbacks, heavy, noisy farm machinery passed by on a fairly regular basis, literally a couple of yards from our pitch, I think the earliest start was about 7:30, which would be more a problem if we were sat around our tent all day. I wouldn't say if troubled us very much.

Otherwise, quite a good situation, shops right on site (a little expensive as to be expected). The village is pleasant enough, and it is the perfect base for exploring the North Norfolk coast, especially with the bus stop right outside.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 97 reviews from this member

We were recommended this site and it didn't disappoint. The pitch was large, the washrooms were the best I've seen on any site, with shower, loo and washbasin all in one. The staff were very helpful when we arrived to find the previous campers still on our pitch and paid towards a meal at the local pub for us as compensation. Very kind.

We ere at the top of the site and watched lovely sunsets, hares boxing in the field nest to us and pied wagtails feeding near us. We made use of the two pop up cafes for pizzas and curries which were excellent( Friday and Saturday evenings). Having a petrol station, convenience store and other interesting independent shops at the entrance was great as was the bus stop just across the road. A lovely stay if a bit expensive in August.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ban49 1 review from this member

WOW WHAT A DIFFERENCE SINCE 2013

We had stayed at Deepdale previously in 2013 and at that time I had written a review and actually did complain to some camping organisation as to the inadequate amount of shower and toilet facilities and their condition but apparently then they were just within what was required.

Whilst in the area last year we took a look at the campsite as I had received an email stating that the campsite was now being run by someone else. At that time we bumped into the owner and looked around one of the new shower blocks.

Decided to stay there again this July as the campsite is ideally situated, with the bus stops just outside the site (great if you have a bus pass!), can get to lots of local places by car, is a nice quiet site and with 2 decent pubs within walking distance.

What a difference from our last stay Ė the shower facilities are now fantastic Ė large wet rooms, incorporating toilet and wash hand basin, half with hairdryers (my only complaint here being that there was no mirror at the side where the hairdryers were), with so much space so that you donít get your clothes wet not like before and if you have young children theyíre spacious enough for them to go in with you.

The pitch sizes are good with enough space between the pitches. First time we had ever had a hook-up and must admit did find this very useful.

The only downside with our stay was that we had the worst couple of days weather out of the whole of the lovely June and July!

Would most definitely recommend this campsite for a nice quiet peaceful stay.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tim Wood 11 reviews from this member

We chose this site due to relatives recommendation and it hasn't disappointed. We were made welcome from the first 'Hello' in reception. It's been bone dry lately and the pitches were rock hard with plenty of flint under the surface, so bring rock pegs. Also fires and charcoal BBQs were banned due to the dryness (fair enough). Make sure you use the pizza stall (Wed/Fri) as they are amazing.

One of the reasons we choose this site was it's proximity to the coastal path and coastal bus route, both are right outside the site. Furthermore, there's a well stocked garage/convenience store, info centre, cafe and more right out front of the site. Don't think that make the site feel commercial as it's still really quiet.

Toilet blocks are plentiful and really good. I preferred the top block as the fixed shower heads came out the wall rather than directly out of the ceiling. They're huge rooms with loo and basin. However, the push button shower valve drove me insane. I know why they do it, but pushing them every 10 seconds (I toned them) is a bit much.

Would I come again? Most definitely.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sheffield Davs 17 reviews from this member

What a great site!

This is one of those sites that you want to keep to yourself as you know that in a few years time, it will be difficult to get on.

Apparently it is under new ownership and some serious money has been spent on a large new toilet/shower block. One of the only minor things I can think of is the fact that each large room has a toilet/sink and wet room style shower, but some of the showers only run for a few seconds. They are free and you can keep pushing for more warm water, but I think some more sensible adjustment is needed. There has also been expenditure on hedging around all the new pitches to try and stop the site feeling too large. The walled garden for small tents looks attractive and then the other pitches for motorhomes/large tents are divided into smaller fields. The green ethos that their publicity espouses is clearly shown in the thoughtful way they have planned things.

There is a field for larger kids ball games and a well fenced dog walk around this that allows the dogs to be off their leads - excellent!

The staff are efficient and helpful and the rules all sensible for comfortable family camping.

The location is great and just across the road from the bus stop and the Norfolk Coastal path. The adjacent garage shop is very well stocked and although slightly pricey, has everything you might need including plenty of fresh food. The cafť looked popular, although we never got there.

The village has the smart White Horse which is dog friendly on the terrace and in the bar (the terrace is superb with marsh and sea views and on top of the green roofed bedrooms). The other pub, the Jolly Sailors, is more family friendly with a big beer garden and again takes dogs. You can walk to both along the coastal path and there is a pavement through the village if you want the slightly shorter route. Both have a selection of local real ales.

A great site in a great location and we will certainly be back.

Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019