Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Sedgwick
(lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 0JZ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: TrigGLX 5 reviews from this member

 We have been coming to this site for a number of years, and really love it in any season, each is different.

Site is enclosed in woodland with no real designated pitches, more like copses for a few vans.

The site is an old Gun Powder works and as such has the remains of this running through the site. Lovely walk also available in and around the site.

The site has the river Kent running through and at times can be noisy but idyllic.

Site access is iffy to say the least, single track road besides the river, with limited passing places a cars size. It really is enter at your peril!.

Good access to the lakes from here with Windermere being 20 -30 minutes depending on traffic.

Site is ideal or a stop over heading north or south as directly about 5 miles off Junc 36 - M6.

Wardens and facilities as expected from a C & MC site. 


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 Despite living in the area for over 40 years, this was our first visit to this site. We'd previously avoided it as we don't like to be pitched under trees and prefer some grass to all hard-standing.

We decided eventually to give it a try this March, and what a revelation it was!

Many of the pitches are not overhung by trees, and being March, the trees were mainly leaf free, so the pitches were nice and open. Although the pitches are all gravel, in clearings or in 2s or 3s by the access road, they are surrounded by greenery galore - banks and woodland floor areas covered in wild garlic, bracken, moss, rough grass, celandines, daffodils etc. Etc. So we did not miss the traditional grass areas at all.

The direct access to the Low Sizergh woods and the riverside path was a real bonus, and our 2 dogs absolutely loved the walks. There was plenty of mud around on these walks, but the gravel pitches meant it was easy to keep the van mud-free, especially after paddling our wellies and the dogs' feet in the little stream nearby.

The wardens were some of the friendliest we've come across too, and we were just left wondering why on earth we'd not tried this site before.

The only negative is the cost of the site. We were there at the start of season prices, and it was still at the top end per night of what we would normally pay, but unfortunately higher prices in all types of sites are the reality of camping and caravanning these days. 


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mariot 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site set in a wooded area. Walks from site can be muddy at this time of year.

Expect fallen leaves in Autumn which can cover van. You are in a wood!

Wardens were very helpful and welcoming.

Would love to return in the summer.

Keen cyclists will love the two cycle stores in Staveley. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jo Treby 30 reviews from this member

 What a great site this is. We phoned ahead because I have limited mobility and they allocated a space for us near to the disabled toilet facilities. Which was great.

All the usual facilities that you expect from a club site.

I would add that the disabled shower could do with a bit of a refresh. It was not possible to move the shower head fully up or down and the water did not spray out that well.

We had a really good stay and enjoyed being in the forest.

The wardens were all very friendly and helpful. I was able to use my mobility scooter and travel around the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pettergo 24 reviews from this member

 Site is heavily wooded, pitches are in small clearings with approximately 4 to 6 pitches.

Facilities were immaculate with a thorough cleaning regime.

Very nice walks straight from the site with interesting remains of the gunpowder works which was on the site until 1935.

A farm shop with cafe is about 20mins walk away, a pub is about 35 minutes walk away.

A number pitches are sloping and ramps are needed though most were flat. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LozzaS5 32 reviews from this member

 Impressive woodland site close to river

Well managed without being officious. Friendly and helpful wardens

No kids area but seems great for dog walkers

Great for walking and cycling

Facilities first class-2 blocks clean warm and ventilated.

One feels well separated from other units even though they are nearby.

Woodland layout makes the site nicely random.

Choosing pitch tricky as all so different

Site roads all tarmac and easy to get around in our 6. 2m van

Pub, farm shop and castle not far awAy so walkable.

Approach to site appears trickier than it actually is.

We chose here for a short stop off but could easily stay longer

Peaceful and fairly quiet.

Chocks required on most pitches which are mostly spacious.

A shame unit orientation constrained by CAMC pitching rules.

Didnít realise there are a few serviced pitches when we booked.

Relatively inexpensive

Warm rain on tree foliage delightful

Usual CAMC excessive lawn mowing replaced with fern trimming using Petrol trimmers and blowers. No grass but lots of ferns, trees and bushes.

Photos

Poor vodafone and O2 signal

TV areal point at every pitch welcome ( Take cable)

We will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trudy and Keith 11 reviews from this member

 Great welcome to this site which is very close to the M6 but feels a million miles away when you arrive down a very narrow lane. The pitches are dotted around the woodland in little groves and it all feels very relaxing.

The toilets were open and using covid secure procedures and as usual plenty of taps and disposal areas.

Lovely walk along the river into Kendal. Short walk though fields or woods to a brilliant farm shop. Great food for sale and milk straight from the cows which you can watch being milked.

Would visit again and highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Janey47 26 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a national trust area. You really feel like you are surrounded by nature.

There are many beautiful walks directly from the site.

There is a fabulous farm shop about 20 minutes leisurely walk from the site. Staff were very welcoming.

Toilets and showers were a band system and felt very Covid safe and spotlessly clean.

According to my sat nav was 3 miles from M6.

Would definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 76 reviews from this member

 Had a 3 day break at Kendal. Itís a woodland site with many cul-de-sacs for between 1 and 6 units, giving a level of privacy.

Campsite delivers a lovely ambiance ( especially when the sun shined) and is kept clean and sanitised in the public areas. Only issue is location of site.

Bus stop is available but is 20m walk away. Nearest pub is also 20m walk away. If you have a car, then this site is ideal 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fraser 1 review from this member

 First time on a caravan and Motorhome site.

The booking in process was quick given the current COVID restrictions. Staff were very helpful.

Pleased at being able to pick our own pitch Some of which are allocated for longer units.

The pitch itís self was more than big enough for the car, van, awning and table & chairs and still plenty space between us and our neighbours.

The site in situated in the formally known Low Wood Park, which is essentially a Forest. The pitches are arranged in quiet cul-de-sacs or even on their own. It actually feels like camping in the Forrest.

Site wardens are around but do not ďpoliceĒ the site like other clubs do.

Lovely to have babbling brooks throughout the site which run into the river Kent.

There is a circular walking route through the woods (on the same side as the site). You cross a bridge and Return along the river, over the swing bridge back to the site.

The site have restricted numbers in the amenity blocks which works well. Always very clean.

Youíll need a booster cable for the tv and my phone internet signal was good.

Plenty water/waste points throughout the site.

DO NOT ARRIVE BEFORE 1PM, IT'S A SINGLE TRACK ROAD INTO THE SITE. UNLESS YOUR AMAZING AT REVERSING.

Would definitely recommend this site. 
via mobile


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59058 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement