Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kendal > Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Sedgwick
(lake District)
Kendal
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA8 0JZ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Twotrees 5 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Very picturesque woodland setting. Approach road is single track but has numerous passing places.

Shower and toilet facilities are the usual high standard we have come to expect.

Had a walk to the farm shop approx 20 minutes slow walk and the Strickland arms a further 10 minutes away. Both well worth a visit.

We liked it here, very peaceful. Would return again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 32 reviews from this member

 After a horrendous journey up the M6 in torrential rain, it was lovely to receive such a warm welcome from the site staff.

The site is split into small cut de sacs and you have the choice of pitching with other units or on your own.

We thought it was a really lovely site and will definitely be back either before they close this winter or early spring next year.

Unfortunately we only had one night here on the way home, but really enjoyed the stay and thought it was a beautiful site.

Very interested in the old gunpowder works and hope to do the tour on our next stay.

Facilities are as you expect on a club site and were spotless. Wardens do fantastic job of keeping the site clean and tidy given that it is in a forest.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Anneparker 10 reviews from this member

 Beautiful spot, great for an overnight stop but would have been happy to stay longer.

Super farm shop a short walk away. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Smashing site deep in the woods so felt private at all times. Loads of Dog walks in the woods and a fab walk into Kendal along an old canal with no water any longer !

Forget it if your not able bodied as aside from the above thatís all there is without a car 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 58 reviews from this member

 We fancied a last minute get away and decided to try this site which is only about an hour and a half from home. When we arrived, the check in procedure was quick and easy, despite a number of outfits arriving at the same time. We were given a map of the site and told to pick our own pitch. This is where the problems began. We circled the whole site and could not find a single reasonably flat pitch. Every pitch seemed to be on a side to side slope, some of them excessively sloping. The site is made up of a number of smaller cul de sac type areas with 6-12ish pitches in each area and if you turn into one of these and change your mind, the only way out is to reverse. This is not easy as the site has many steep hills and narrow roads with steep drop offs on one side. After driving round a few times we eventually settled on a pitch which appeared to be the flattest available but even so, we still had to put the caravan on the second level of our levelling ramp. This made the setting up process very stressful as we had to adjust the van several times in order to get the van level and the Alko wheel lock on.

The site has 2 toilet blocks which are both fine, kept clean and nice and warm.

There are lots of nice walks directly from the site. We did one on each of the days we were there, one along the river Kent and one through the woods to Sizergh castle which is a National Trust property. There is also a nice farm shop with cafe a short drive from the site or about a 30 minute walk. The Strickland Arms pub is also within walking distance. We didnít eat there but just popped in for a drink but the atmosphere was nice and the food looked good.

The wardens were very helpful and when we had a problem with the EHU bollard, they came and sorted it out for us very quickly, even before we managed to walk back to the van from reception! Overall, we liked the location of this site and the fact that there were lots of good walks nearby but I would think twice about going again due to the stress of setting up on very sloping pitches. 
via mobile

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 37 reviews from this member

 Itís been a couple of years since we visited this site and we forgot how busy it can get - despite being told on arrival by the warden that there were several pitches still available we drove around 3 times and couldnít see a single pitch free - not helped by the small cul-de-sacs where it is not obvious which pitch is which and the fact that cars were parked on pitches that they were not occupying. We did eventually find somewhere to pitch up.

The whole site is pretty much under trees so if the sun is out, you donít see much of it. The dog walk is through the woods and is adequate - As we have 3 dogs we now find it easier with a large enclosed field where they can run off lead and we still have visibility of them all, just a personal preference.

Did notice quite a few people with camp fires which, given the dry weather and moorland fires we have been experiencing, plus the fact this is a ďcaravan clubĒ site, I was very surprised at.

This site is great for a stop off point due to its close proximity to the M6 but thatís probably it. Doubt weíll be rushing back. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Denisebr 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week mid September. Lovely peaceful site with level gravel pitches. TV booster cable required. Excellent staff on the reception which also has a chiller cabinet with milk and other essentials. Fresh bread available daily as well as newspapers to order. Fish & chip van comes on Fridays. Two toilet/shower/washing up blocks on site were always spotless. Acess to site is narrow with passing places which is fine as long as the departing outfits leave on time, which did not happen in our case. Fortunately we had just turned into the lane, but had vehicles behind who also had to back up. Bus to Kendal about a mile walk through the lane to the main road roundabout. Bus takes under ten minutes. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NEL1950 1 review from this member

 We have just spent 3 fantastic days here and what a fabulous location. The site is very clean- showers are very clean and warm. We had lovely weather walked into Kendal ( which took about 2hrs but couldn't manage the walk back so called a pet friendly taxi who took us back. The driver was brilliant.

We walked up to the Strickland arms on 2 nights ( only 15mins walk) the food is fabulous as is the locals- We were made very welcome. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparrowlegs77 26 reviews from this member

 We have just had 3 very enjoyable nights on this site. The site is laid out into small bays which have around 4 or 5 caravans in, so there was plenty of privacy. The ground was very hard for awning pegs and I cannot help but think I should have had a fracking licence when I was hammering them in. The toilet block was adequate and was clean. Some of the roads on the site were steep for short stretches so if anyone has any mobility issues it may take some planning. It was utterly peaceful however, and so quite at night - thoroughly relaxing. It was very easy to find from the M6 but the access road is a bit tight. We used the site as a base for cycling to Hawkshead on one day and down to Arnside on another day. The country lanes are perfect for cycling with very little traffic. The Strickland Arms (10 minute walk away) was a lovely pub for a well earned pint and to sit and relax in the beer garden. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greg M 38 reviews from this member

 Always find it difficult to give an honest review with just a one night stay, as we were on our way back to South Wales from Scotland.

On arrival, staff were very welcoming and explained the layout of the site which can be slightly confusing.

We were soon hooked up in a clearing along with I believe, four other units.

Water points, grey water and chemical disposal were all conveniently near.

The toilet and shower block we used were spotless.

Perhaps October is not the best month to visit this site, we had heavy rain all night and with the overhanging trees it sounded like we were being hit by lego blocks all night.

Having said that, I can imagine it being glorious in the right weather.

Hard to criticise the site on a one off nights stay with bad weather.

Would we return, probably in finer months. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kendal Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kendal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4905 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements