Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Scarborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Scarborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Scarborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Field Lane
Burniston Road
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO13 0DA
Tel: 01723 366212
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 290
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 147 Reviews
                8/10 from 147 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  147 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andie74 21 reviews from this member

Site easy to find. Though check in was 12pm but changed to 1pm already caravans waiting.

Nice welcome and check in and was shown to pitch by bike very good idea.

Good location close to Scalby village with pubs and shops.

Our first stop at camping and caravan site, not the best site we have stayed at. Needs an update floor in toilets always dirty no mat to wipe feet, needs a painting only 2 showers in 4 of blocks. Only one place to empty toilet waste. Laundry was locked at 7pm. Pitches felt cramped. Nice big dog walk but not enclosed. Chippy on site, pub next door through gate dogs after 8pm.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grandhare 7 reviews from this member

Check in great. Very busy and lots of pitches taken. Chose spacious one, but, having set up, began to realise that road noise was going to spoil our 2 week stay. Warden great and we upped sticks and moved to better pitch. As has been said, lots of toilet/shower blocks, some of which have been refurbished and some not. 3 washing machines in laundry room but one always breaking down. Has to be said though, that repair man was out day after I reported it and fixed it. Wardens always cheery and very hard working.

Having read previous reviews, was looking forward to walking the Cleveland Way into Scarborough. What a disappointment! Most of it is basically the edge of a farmers field plus very uneven patches. Steps are not really steps at all, and very uneven. I only walked it once! After that walked into town via Tesco Express. Bus service back to site very good. One every hour and single ticket is £2. 25.

Finally, the cycle way 1. Again, what a disappointment. Most of it very worn and potholed surface (which used to be tarmac). Hard going on a bike!

Having said all of this, obviously, my gripes are about the area outside the site itself. We had a great holiday. Sun shone and site was immaculately kept. Had fish and chips from the shop on site - fish was lovely (haddock), but why use frozen chips?

Oh, one last thing, I saw many instances of cars etc exceeding the 5pmh speed limit. As the site is so open, there were lots of children running about and I was very much aware that they were rather vulnerable should they run onto the road. Difficult one for the wardens to 'police' I know, and a common complaint on all sites.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grannygrandma 5 reviews from this member

Good site, always clean and tidy, staff usually nice and friendly, very close to Scarborough sea front and shops, we stay here 2/3 times a year and always enjoy it. The adjoining Scalby Manor serves food but since changing to stonehouse pizza the carvery has gone down hill. Chip shop on site is good, there is a play area and games room and roads good for children to ride bikes, scooters etc

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SUMMEROF63 3 reviews from this member

Stayed friday to sunday, giving my new tent a run out, weather was really good, ground can be a bit hard so take good quality pegs, the site is very big, however because of the lay out never felt too imposing

Wardens etc really helpful, and the facilities clean and tidy. Nice pub next door that do meals, both eat in and take away, got an audience from the caravan crowd whilst putting up my tent single handed, but then sat and relaxed whilst my old faithful BBQ complete with briquettes, was glowing away glorious, while the caravan crowd mob handed couldn`t get their state of the art gas burning affair to work ! plenty to see and do if you don`t mind a bit of walking, would I return, without a doubt !

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 23 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of May/beginning of June. A very well run site which considering how big it is it didnít feel too crowded.

We were shown to a few pitches and were aloud to choose which one we wanted. There are plenty of toilet/shower blocks around the site and I never had to queue for a shower. The showers were hot and lasted plenty of time. There is a games room on site and a fish and chip shop which is open Beverly day from 1700 to 2000.

There are 2 pubs within walking distance and also a Tesco Express about 15 mins walk away. The pub next to the site has various deals each night - we stumbled upon 2 pizzas and a (large) bottle of Prosecco for £20. 00! Bargain!

A walk into Scarborough (North Bay) takes around 25 mins but is worth it. Once there we took the little train into Peasholme Park and enjoyed a ride on the old log flume which was built in 1932 - brought back some childhood memories! We then took an open too bus on the sea front round to the South Bay which is busier and more like the old seaside with slot machines etc.

Overall the site is ideal for a quiet stay with the option of walking to the seaside. Would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mogadon69 15 reviews from this member

We visited this site over the very cold, very wet Easter weekend, on arrival we were told an email had been sent out advising there was no hot water on the site, but that work was under way to restore the supply, we didn't see anyone working on it over the weekend.

Out of the 5 toilet blocks on the site, there were only 2 open and only the gents block that had any hot water while we were there, thank goodness for the facilities in our van, if we had been in our old caravan, we would have had to have found somewhere else to stay or gone home. The toilet blocks appeared to be unheated so were very cold and are in need of more than a lick of paint, they need full refurbishment.

The site does not seem to have any drainage and was waterlogged meaning the wardens had to tow several motorhomes off the 'hardstanding' pitches, which comprise plastic mesh over grass, not brilliant when said grass is sodden.

The site is close to Scarborough, which has all the usual seaside attractions as well as a castle on the hill, the beaches, both north and south are safe and clean and there is a small fairground between the two, close to the harbour. There are several park and rides to Scarborough with one very close to the site, handy if you don't want the hassle of taking your car into the town.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 1JMW 2 reviews from this member

Having paid for our 2 sons and families to join the club it was a disappointing first visit this Easter. Overbooked for facilities, and electricity failures with the high demand as weather was cold - we had battery in camper van but sons' tents soon cold.

Children's play facilities poor, with swings missing and indoor play area had unusable pool table and no bats and balls to borrow for the table tennis ( which have been on other sites ).

Advertised fish and chips on site not open for whole time. Long queues one day for some to get on site, staff coping with new layout of pitches. Hopefully lessons may have been learnt by management and some of the profit made used to improve things. However we will not return to know.

Please note staff kept toilet block clean and cleared rubbish which piled up at end of the day, the next morning I felt they were struggling with their work load.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JDSin 4 reviews from this member

Adequate to good facilities, but for a single backpacker, it's expensive. Convenient location for Cleveland Way. Toilets an showers were clean and plenty of hot water. I arrived late, so my friend paid and so I didn't meet any staff. I was woken by early morning barking dogs on the dog walk that goes past backpackers' field. Lots of warnings about recent crime spree of slashed awnings etc, but apparently no more incidents since an arrest in late August.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 42 reviews from this member

This is a large site divided up into different 'fields' so one person's experience may be very different to another's.

Our welcome was friendly. The facilities are good. The TV in the recreation room gathered quite a crowd for the Wales v Portugal football match! Some pitches are sloping and quite exposed but we asked to be tucked in under the trees. I can't comment on drainage as it didn't really rain over our stay. We liked the on-site chip shop.

There is plenty of walking and safe cycling straight from the site or you can explore the North York Moors if the traditional seaside town of Scarborough isn't your thing.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

A very large, well kept site situated a couple of miles north of Scarborough, immaculate toilet & shower facilities and very friendly wardens, the site has it's own little fish & chip shop and there's a Crown Carvery pub next door (although I wouldn't recommend the pub as we had an awful meal - tough meat, dried up veg insufficient staff and crammed in seating) There is a lovely walk along the cliff top into Scarborough and a Tesco Metro about a mile up the road,

Previous     147 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5567 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019