Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Scarborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Scarborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Scarborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Field Lane
Burniston Road
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO13 0DA
Tel: 01723 366212
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 290
Open: 01/04 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 152 Reviews
                8/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: PARKC 1 review from this member

 Arosa Camping was a very well organised site. It was kept clean and tidy and had tall Beech hedging partitioning off site areas. They had Barbeque nights whereby you could order Spit Roasted Chicken, Steaks, Gammon and a variety of other items at very reasonable prices.

We enjoyed our stay here and would return to this site again as it was not too far from Scarborough itself.

My only negative comment was we had to pay for showers. Which although only cost 50p but they only lasted for 6 minutes which is insufficient time to wash my hair! Normally my husband and I would be travelling through France and Spain throughout Summer and we have never had to pay for a Shower on top of normal camping fees! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crofto 1 review from this member

 We have found the camp site brilliant it was the first time in the camper van learning experience.

The toilets & shower block so hygienic cleaned. It's the first visit but not the last.

Good walking area for the dog.

Brilliant time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Gabic7 1 review from this member

 Fabulously clean site which has gone above and beyond to cope with current situation. Toilet block was cleaned 6 times a day!

Excellent location for walking Cleveland Way or any of the other dozens of places to walk. Although it's a large site (I think it can take 250 units at full capacity, but was probably only 3/4 of that) there was plenty of distance between pitches and lots of low hedges to give privacy from other campers. A family site so little noise in the evening and nothing after 10pm, so was perfect for some peace and quiet.

Well situated for access to Scarborough and an easy (hour long) bus journey (x94) from outside site took us to Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay. Bus details were confusing as timetable shows two buses in that direction but only x94 goes past site, the x93 bus stop is a 20 minute walk away, but that's not campsite's fault that's Arriva buses for you!

Facilities were (by necessity) limited so no shop, playground or meeting hall, laundry etc and reduced toilets and washing up, but to be honest, its didn't bother us as we tend to use smaller sites so don't normally gt those facilities anyway.

Friendly, helpful staff and altogether a great week in an area we'd never explored before. 


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Paul and louise 1 review from this member

 Great site and facilities with a pub adjacent,

Nice walk to scarborough via the North bay or north to the flat and easy walking former railway track.

The bus stop outside is really handy for getting about. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ratcatcher 8 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a nice 4 night stay and as expected the staff were helpful and friendly, facilities spotless, getting a bit tired but you can't expect gleaming new wherever you go.

Site was very muddy due to weather lately although weather was ok while we were there. A lot of the site was un usable and we heard that a lot of bookings had to be cancelled. We expected mud and it is something you either deal with or just go home we didn't use an awning and I think a few who did regretted it

Anyway the site is in an excellent position We had a nice walk along the path to pub next to sea life center and then along the north bay

The pub through the gate nexxt door is so close it is almost part of the site and is ok (think some previous reviewers expected the Dorchester which it is not) we found it friendly and reasonably priced.

Altogether a good club site just one gripe Green plastic Netlon mesh over grass does NOT constitute a hard standing 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andie74 21 reviews from this member

 Site easy to find. Though check in was 12pm but changed to 1pm already caravans waiting.

Nice welcome and check in and was shown to pitch by bike very good idea.

Good location close to Scalby village with pubs and shops.

Our first stop at camping and caravan site, not the best site we have stayed at. Needs an update floor in toilets always dirty no mat to wipe feet, needs a painting only 2 showers in 4 of blocks.

Only one place to empty toilet waste. Laundry was locked at 7pm. Pitches felt cramped. Nice big dog walk but not enclosed. Chippy on site, pub next door through gate dogs after 8pm. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grandhare 7 reviews from this member

 Check in great. Very busy and lots of pitches taken. Chose spacious one, but, having set up, began to realise that road noise was going to spoil our 2 week stay. Warden great and we upped sticks and moved to better pitch.

As has been said, lots of toilet/shower blocks, some of which have been refurbished and some not. 3 washing machines in laundry room but one always breaking down. Has to be said though, that repair man was out day after I reported it and fixed it. Wardens always cheery and very hard working.

Having read previous reviews, was looking forward to walking the Cleveland Way into Scarborough. What a disappointment! Most of it is basically the edge of a farmers field plus very uneven patches.

Steps are not really steps at all, and very uneven. I only walked it once! After that walked into town via Tesco Express. Bus service back to site very good. One every hour and single ticket is £2. 25.

Finally, the cycle way 1. Again, what a disappointment. Most of it very worn and potholed surface (which used to be tarmac). Hard going on a bike!

Having said all of this, obviously, my gripes are about the area outside the site itself. We had a great holiday. Sun shone and site was immaculately kept. Had fish and chips from the shop on site - fish was lovely (haddock), but why use frozen chips?

Oh, one last thing, I saw many instances of cars etc exceeding the 5pmh speed limit. As the site is so open, there were lots of children running about and I was very much aware that they were rather vulnerable should they run onto the road.

Difficult one for the wardens to 'police' I know, and a common complaint on all sites. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grannygrandma 5 reviews from this member

 Good site, always clean and tidy, staff usually nice and friendly, very close to Scarborough sea front and shops, we stay here 2/3 times a year and always enjoy it.

The adjoining Scalby Manor serves food but since changing to stonehouse pizza the carvery has gone down hill.

Chip shop on site is good, there is a play area and games room and roads good for children to ride bikes, scooters etc 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SUMMEROF63 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed friday to sunday, giving my new tent a run out, weather was really good, ground can be a bit hard so take good quality pegs, the site is very big, however because of the lay out never felt too imposing

Wardens etc really helpful, and the facilities clean and tidy. Nice pub next door that do meals, both eat in and take away, got an audience from the caravan crowd whilst putting up my tent single handed, but then sat and relaxed whilst my old faithful BBQ complete with briquettes, was glowing away glorious, while the caravan crowd mob handed couldn`t get their state of the art gas burning affair to work ! plenty to see and do if you don`t mind a bit of walking, would I return, without a doubt ! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 29 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of May/beginning of June. A very well run site which considering how big it is it didnít feel too crowded.

We were shown to a few pitches and were aloud to choose which one we wanted. There are plenty of toilet/shower blocks around the site and I never had to queue for a shower. The showers were hot and lasted plenty of time. There is a games room on site and a fish and chip shop which is open Beverly day from 1700 to 2000.

There are 2 pubs within walking distance and also a Tesco Express about 15 mins walk away. The pub next to the site has various deals each night - we stumbled upon 2 pizzas and a (large) bottle of Prosecco for £20. 00! Bargain!

A walk into Scarborough (North Bay) takes around 25 mins but is worth it. Once there we took the little train into Peasholme Park and enjoyed a ride on the old log flume which was built in 1932 - brought back some childhood memories! We then took an open too bus on the sea front round to the South Bay which is busier and more like the old seaside with slot machines etc.

Overall the site is ideal for a quiet stay with the option of walking to the seaside. Would definitely stay again. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Scarborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Scarborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Scarborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1036 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement