Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rigg Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Rigg Farm Caravan Park > Reviews

Rigg Farm Caravan Park
Stainsacre
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LP
Tel: 07969 064825
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 9
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Northw 1 review from this member

 Touring pitches all looked a bit "tired". There were a couple of untidy caravans pitched on the site. One of the other pitches was home to a farm trailer. Here was a rusty water tank with rotting timber on top of it behind our pitch and an old satellite dish pushed down behind it.

No sign to show entry into the site meaning I drove into the first entrance which led to the static van site. I had to reverse out.

No hand sanitiser station. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Hclark 1 review from this member

 Due to Covid19 showers and toilets not available but we used our own facilities. Quiet site conveniently situated for Whitby. Owner was easy going about our departure time so we enjoyed most of the last day in the area.

It would be handy to have a sign clearly showing the entrance to the site as we drove past it and had to reverse caravan down the hill. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rayha2 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Well kept and plenty of room. No one disturbed us and we enjoyed the surrounding countryside and views.

Due to the COVID 19 crisis we used our own facilities but water and waste water facilities were at the pitch and the bins and toilet waste were more than adequate.

We were made to feel very welcome and really enjoyed our short break here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TandB 9 reviews from this member

 We looked for a quiet site nr Whitby and were lucky to find Rigg farm, only a couple of miles from the town. Everywhere else was packed out as it was regatta weekend and folk festival. Simple, clean, peaceful, recommended! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizali 2 reviews from this member

 We visited here last year and the owners were soo kind it is still on my mind. We travelled with a friend in an electric wheelchair and it was our 1st time away camping. The owner met us on arrival and lent us an ehu to charge the chair. We assumed we would be limited to pitches given the ehu but no. The owner who's name I unfortunately cannot recall suggested we chose where ever we wanted to go and he would make sure a ehu reached us. He also offered to build a ramp into the facilities. This was not required but the offer was much appreciated. The views from the site are lovely and we never had to queue. The toilets and showers were clean and more than adequate. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crashman 2 reviews from this member

 We recently spent two weeks on this site in our 8 man tunnel tent and we were really not impressed and wished we had not paid up front for the holiday.

When we arrived we were shocked to discover that the advertised space for 29 tents and tourers (as per the website) was non existent there was in fact room for around 8 tents as half of the site had been fenced off and was being worked on by heavy earth moving equipment during our stay, not four feet from the side of our tent and where our children were walking.

The owner explained to me that this was due to unstable sub strata and that parts of the campsite had subsided after heavy rain over the past few years including where we were pitched. So fingers crossed for no rain !

The washing/showering facilities were adequate and reasonably clean however this was due to light usage rather than being cleaned.

The shower temperatures would vary from nice and hot to scalding/freezing depending if anyone else in the male or female block was showering or running any water, in fact during our stay a little girl was in the shower and a toilet was flushed and she was nearly scalded and was examined by a nurse. Not good (this happened on a Friday). The owner then turned down the temperature saying he will get a plumber out to sort it out on the following Tuesday, we then had to undergo 5 days of at best luke warm at worse ice cold showers, the following Wednesday I refused to but my son in this ice cold shower, and spoke to the owner who went and turned up the heat again, just proving that he had no intention of getting a plumber out !.

The tent area is below the static caravan parking and is linked by 23 metal steps that you have to use to get to the shower/washing block, this was bad enough during the day as some of the steps move when you stand on them due to rotten mountings, but at night this was lit by three solar lights and you can not see the steps and is extremely dangerous, added to the fact the head of the steps exits onto the entry road into the caravan area with no warning or signage.

The small amount of green area available for the children to play on was subject to no ball games, no cycles & no BBQ's, kite flying is out due to overhead power lines, this lead to us keeping the children in the tent for the time we were on the site or staying out late in the local area so they did not get bored.

The one day we decided to stay on the site for the day, the owner decided to come and start earthmoving just beside our pitch with not a word to us, which I think is just plain rude, this is our two weeks away with the kids. I do not want to listen to heavy groundworks only feet away and to think I paid for the privilege with no warning from the owner.

The plus side is the campsite is ideally located for exploring the local area, just minutes away from Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors, 20 mins form Scarbourgh and only an hour from York. I believe all the pitches have EHU's and nearby water points.

The site was the cheapest by far in the area at 26 per night, but I now understand the reason for the low costs.

The site would need some urgent repairs and updating before I would consider advertising it for tent holidays, in my opinion.

Overall I would recommend that if you have children you give this site a miss as it is bordering on dangerous and I was really disappointed with this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lilacmount 2 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet camp site. Owners only too happy to help and very easy going.

We stayed with a tent and awning and EHU and had a fantastic time.

The shower block had 1 shower in both males and females and was always hot.

The loos always had toilet paper on hand so no worries there!

Good pot washing area.

All in all couldn't fault the site at all and would happily return.

No children's facilities but hey kids in the country should be able make their own entertainment in the great outdoors. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Baldy1 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at Rigg farm and we cannot praise the site enough for the cleanliness of the caravan and the site as a whole.

The caravans are well spaced out so there is very little noise from the other units and you can park right outside.

The attention to detail of the owners by providing everything you may need, even down to kitchen roll etc. Was a pleasant surprise.

We did find the bedrooms a little cold, but it was an exceptionally cold and wet week !

The site was very quiet with only the sounds of the wildlife nearby.

The only thing we would have changed is the weather, one dry day out of seven !

As we were in the static caravan we did not use any of the other facilities, but I am sure they would also be of a very high standard going by the owners care of the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Jets 1 review from this member

 Campsite was easy to find and get to by car, owners were helpful giving us the basics and we didn't require them for anything else for the rest of our stay.

Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby are both within walking distance if you can manage an hour and a bit walk, both are easy to drive to.

Toilet Block and shower were good, very clean, shower was hot and easy to use. We never had to wait to use either and the campsite was quite full.

There is a pub within walking distance, it was closed when we went past on our way to whitby but thought I would mention it as others have said there is not.

Cost was by tent and came to around 7 a night for our 2man/3man tent. This was a little pricey but mainly because one of our number could not make it so we wouldn't have needed as many tents.

Overall it is a very nice campsite and we would be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carperjake 10 reviews from this member

 The site isn't big, 29 units I think. There's one male and one female shower with 2 toilets for each sex too, not the largest but they are clean and functional. There's a pan wash and a laundry. We never had to queue at any time in 3 days there and when we left it was chokka!

We were due to pitch in a larger field but asked to move to the other area which was emptier and we would have been further from others. We were OK to move and were glad we did as by the last day every pitch was full but we were nicely out of the way.

The EHU tripped a couple of times, probably due to our over usage. The water points were plentiful and there is a chemical disposal for those who need it. The site is spotlessly clean and very well maintained. The owners were very helpful (they even lent me a claw hammer to get the pegs out as they were solid when we came to take the tent down!).

The site is very out of the way, up and down some pretty fierce hills on small roads, could be fun with a larger unit but no worries for us with a small trailer. The area has no real camping shops, be warned, we were very lucky to find somewhere in Whitby that sold pegs as we'd left ours at home although the owners did say that they have a bag from the ones left before! Too late, we'd been into Whitby and bought some by then.

There's nothing in the way of a play area though, our 7 year old makes his own entertainment and there were other kids to play with so that was no real problem. It also meant the no ball games and no cycling rules were overlooked, no problem when there were nothing but kids around but it would only take one grumpy swine to put an end to it!

Would we go back? Maybe if we needed somewhere as a last resort but we would prefer somewhere less remote with a few more facilities. All in all not bad but basic. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Rigg Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rigg Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Rigg Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3190 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement