Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Betton Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Betton Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

Betton Farm Certificated Site
Racecourse Road
East Ayton
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO13 9HT
Tel: 01723 863143
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 23 Reviews
                7/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Kellye 1 review from this member

 Great location and lovely on site facilities, great for the little ones. Had the farm animals which the kids loved.

Lovely staff and farm shop and the pop up cafe great too.

Electrical hook up really helps! We loved it there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karen5 5 reviews from this member

 Quiet and peaceful site, road noise not intrusive at all. Very friendly lady at reception.

Slightly sloping on nice short grass with fab views. Long hookup lead may be needed for some of spots.

Toilets and shower very clean, although you need 50p for 5 mins in shower.

Food in tearoom was lovely.

Easy access off the road into the farmshop carpark but it could be a tight turn onto site with a caravan 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianbe4 1 review from this member

 Lovely views

Good links to Scarborough and surrounding area.

Not very flat pitches

Nothing about 50p for showers.

Shared facilities with visitors to farm 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: VWSaffy 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night here in our 1971 VW campervan during a cold wet week in February. The grass pitches were too wet to stay on without sinking so they threw the electric hook up cable over the hedge so we could stay on the hard car park which we were happy to do.

The site itself is great especially for young children with a little farm where the children can see the pigs, miniature ponies, rabbits etc. There was a great play area too. There is a visitors centre on the site with a little shop selling home baking and also a tea room which we didn't actually visit but it seemed to attract lots of visitors.

There is a new shower / toilet block/ pot wash area which was absolutely immaculate. You do have to buy tokens for the shower - 75p for 5 mins from the little shop which closes at 4pm so you need to get your tokens in advance!

17 for an electric hook up for the night which was fantastic value for money. We will definitely re visit this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squitty 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 day break which we extended by one night because we loved the place so much. New toilet block, washing up area and toilets- always kept spotless.

Shower is 75p for 5 mins- tokens obtained from the farm shop. Upmarket cafe which is very reasonably priced. Small shop which provides the basics, honey bee farm and woodworking demonstrations, again all on site.

Children's play area small animals miniature ponies, pigs, geese, hens. 3 small fields- one of which is mainly for caravans. Not at all busy.

Visitors centre is busy during the day-(10-5) which if your on site isn't a problem. Buses run to Scarborough every half hour or its just a 10 min run in the car.

Spar shop in the village- 2 min drive away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickclark 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights during April bank holiday, on arrival we were greeted by Harry (what a great character) who showed us to our pitch, which was slightly sloping, but the views were worth the effort in levelling the caravan.

There was a small farm, bee centre, play area for kids and a small cafe.

The toilet facilities and washing up area were excellent having just been updated.

The nearest pub was in East Ayton about a 20 minute walk from the site, if you like very large meals and very expensive drinks then this is the place for you.

You can catch the bus into Scarborough from here which we did and they run frequently.

Overall a great little site and thanks to Harry for all his help while we were there, we will definitely return again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coates Family 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival a very nice place with much going on around tea rooms, woodworkers shop, honey making and other bits and bobs.

We got there early and was allowed to go set up our bell tent which we had to pay for two pitches

Anyway two fields which one looks for caravans and the bigger of the two for camping and non hook up but we got told to hook up by crossing into the other field with our power cable.

Really nice views with at the time farmers were bring in the crop and tending to their fields. Yes muck spreading which soon blew over.

One shower that you have to pay 75p for 5mins. The place is a visitors centre and I go to get showered in JimJams and was getting odd looks from the many people hanging around taking up the shower block!

At night time there was no lighting so pitch black every where.

Really needs some work doing on this place and felt it's no were near worth the money.

Camping Fields need gating off and locked after 9pm for safety with one key per camper and a shower block away from the coach loads of people that don't pay and fill up the shower block from paying customers. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woody95 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a most wonderful weekend at Betton farm, The site is on a slight slope but no problem, it was kept beautiful and had what we needed without electric.

The toilets where a little walk away from the site but very clean and well looked after with frequent bin changes, there was a lovely pot washing area and even washing up liquid in there.

My only criticism is you need to have tokens for the shower so you must plan ahead and buy yr tokens, as the shop not open early morning or night-time when I most wasn't a shower (next time I'll buy my tokens when I book in).

The food/cafe on site is fantastic and reasonable so you can have a fab full english breakfast and a decent cuppa.

We went with other family and our ages where from 4- to pensioners and all very happy here, the kids so happy in the park and with the animals and the play area is fenced in so safe for little ones.

We where woken by the sheep at 6. 30 but that just adds to the camping fun.

I initially booked for 2 nights but ended up staying an extra night as it was so nice. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KIRSTIE666 1 review from this member

 We stayed her for 1 night when we arrived we went to the tea rooms to find someone to pay it was only 14 which we thought was a bargain. It has a children's play area, some of it broken but enough to entertain out 3 yr old for half hour or so,lots of space to play ball games,

A tea room which turns in to an italian take away or restaurant at 5pm very handy, we had a pizza which was lovely. There is a bakery which was also open selling cakes and jams etc, and a fishing shop.

Its not that far to Scarborough, 4 miles to north shore, staff helpful and friendly, said there is a bus but runs every hour. Would definitely recommend and be going back camping there again. Only let down no showers or electric. Toilet block clean enough open 24 hours.

We had no problems. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarah99 7 reviews from this member

 I stayed at Betton Farm on my own with three children for 7 days. The site is based among a number of small business including a bee and honey business, which you can visit, a cafe / restaurant, fishing tackle shop etc.

It consists of one CL-sized field with hook-ups and water and an adjacent larger field, which we had all to ourselves! All nicely fenced with either horses or crops to look out onto. There is some road noise, but not bad and didn't both us. (Flip side is easy access to main road to coast!)

Plus Points:-

There are various animals which our children loved; rabbits, ponies, horses, sheep etc. These are all close to the camping area so our children (9+) could easily go and 'talk to the animals'. Any child who knew to stay away from the road would be fine to wander I would say.

The bird of prey centre looks as if it's shut down to me, but there was some lovely birdlife to observe from our caravan.

Big play area with a wonderful climbing frame which our children adored. Some of this vast climbing frame is roofed so it can be used even in the rain! Also various obstacle course typed games. Most equipment is good but you might want to check a couple of the older items.

There is a cafe, but we didn't visit this as we were out during the days. In the evenings a very friendly and helpful gentleman runs a kebab / pizza restaurant / takeaway in the cafe. It might look a little odd, but the food is home made and delicious with big portions and they are really friendly - highly recommended. You can eat in or take away to your van / tent. This is a good way of feeding the family after a busy day without breaking the bank. The Denison Arms is also good, but do give the takeaway a chance.

Another nice gentleman runs a bakery on site, so you can go and buy your cakes, sausage rolls etc there.

Wonderful view across open fields towards some low hills. Feels very away from it all even though you have good access to coast.

A couple of miles from good park and ride into Scarborough. Lots of great places to visit locally, Scarborough obviously, Whitby - lovely, Flamborough head - spectacular, Hunmanby Gap - lovely quiet beach with cafe, nice walking locally in the Gorge woods and lots more.

Excellent big Spar supermarket at the garage in the village with cashpoint, petrol - everything you need in one place - good choice. Also there is a chemist in the village. Village shops are walkable.

The field we were on seemed very well drained, perhaps because of the gentle slope. I would think it would be fine for camping. It was kept regularly cut.

It's confusing where to go when you arrive. Basically bear left through the car park, pass the play park on your left, enter the track and then turn immediately right if you are on hook up (quite a tight corner) or continue down this short track into open field at bottom if you're not hook up. The corner into the hook up field is quite tight; if you have a very big van you might want to ask about pitching in the bigger field and passing a wire through the fence, as access would be easier.

There is no indication when you arrive on where to check in - after wandering around various businesses you discover it is the cafe - but now you don't need to wander do you?

There are toilets with toilet paper, soap and a hand drier. Always appreciated!

10 a night without hookup meant we could come! I think this is good value for what you get.

Cons:

I found it difficult to communicate with the site in general. Calls not returned etc. But I was very glad I persisted. (We had a much more relaxed and enjoyable stay than on some of the larger sites we've camped in nearer Scarborough.)

There are some hefty potholes as you cross the car park, but it isn't far. Proceed with caution and just go slowly when you turn off the road.

There are no showers. There are two toilets in the ladies and two basins. Occasionally coach parties visit and then you'd struggle to get in the loo, but I never met anyone in there! The toilets are a bit shabby, but have all the essentials and we were fine with them.

The whole place has an air of slightly struggling, but I really think it deserves to succeed. It has a lot going for it. We had a wonderful stay, we will come back and would recommend it to any family, particularly with kids who love animals, who want to spend a relaxed and not too pricey holiday near a beautiful bit of English coast. Lots of space to run around and have kiddy fun.

I would not (currently) recommend it to anyone fussy about everything being smart, shiny and new.

Recommendations to site - if you read this!

- Fix the pot holes - not expensive but would make a BIG difference.

- Sort out the soap dispenser in the gents

- Communicate.

- You have the makings of a very succesful site here.

And thank you for a lovely stay. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Betton Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Betton Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Betton Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3287 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement