Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Whitby Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Whitby Holiday Park Reviews

Whitby Holiday Park
Green Lane
Saltwick Bay
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4JX
Tel: 01947 602664
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1st March To 14th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 105 Reviews
                8/10 from 105 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jmc1988 1 review from this member

Great site and friendly staff.

Cafe serves a lovely breakfast.

Lovely walk along the coast and down the steps into Whitby.

Ideal if visiting Whitby abbey
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Oldbird2 2 reviews from this member

This site is in a prime cliff top position and a short walk from Whitby. The showers and toilets were clean and plentiful when we visited. However, the shower in the men's was scalding hot.

The women's showers were ok temperature wise but would only operate with the push button control held in constantly - necessitating a one handed shower!

The toilets are accessed with a key - £10 deposit. The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a cliff top pitch which was £31 per night. Our awning was an extra £3 per night.

For 2 people in a 5m campervan this is the most we have ever paid!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LR2007 19 reviews from this member

Fairly easy access down a country lane with passing places should you meet oncoming traffic. Booking in procedure painless and £10 charge for key to facilities. Shown to our pitch by the warden who advised one of the less sloping pitches should we visit again as we did not want to be on the cliff top edge although the views are wonderful.

There are a few hard standing pitches on concrete at the site entrance, however, you would have all the passing footfall and no view at all. Facilities are Ok. Probably now in need of updating and the showers could be a little more roomy. Also the floors seemed to get extremely wet due to the dreaded shower curtains which were too short to be of use efficiently.

Fair standard of overall cleanliness though. Lovely cliff top walk into Whitby via the 199 steps down past the Abbey. Taxi back costs £6. 50 which also allowed our small dog to travel too which was a bonus as we have to limit her exercise.

Would definitely go back again out of school holiday times though as I would imagine it would be much noisier. Canít comment on the on-site bar etc as we didnít use them.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pete Ravey 1 review from this member

Nice easy check in and really quick.

The warden showed us to our pitch and

Informed us of were everything was.

The toilet and shower blocks were basic and not much space to get dressed etc after a shower Iíd rate them 7/10

The site is well positioned to walk into Whitby and get to some lovely places.

We didnít stay for our second night we had been out all day and when we returned I parked the camper round the other way to block the wind, The warden told me to move the van to the position we were told to park in on the first day. I felt he was being unreasonable as we had paid for an extra large pitch so we would have flexibility with our small camper van but he wouldnít see reason and offered no solution. So we left disappointed and wonít use the site again

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daleswalker 9 reviews from this member

We tend to stay away from commercial sites where possible, preferring CL's but this one caught our eye so we thought we'd give it a whirl. It's a well appointed site, nice (if not spectacular) amenities and very well situated for access to Whitby itself. The key for the ablutions will cost you a £10 refundable deposit, I personally didn't use them much but when I did they were clean, warm and serviceable (quite pleasant if a toilet can be pleasant!) We arrived quite late (about 4ish) but well within the site rules, the girls at reception were very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. The same can't be said for the warden who showed us to our pitch, we were definitely an inconvenience to him! Due to the time of year (it was just after the half term) the site was quite sparsely populated so we were a little disappointed to be shoe-horned in between 4 or 5 camper vans with barely enough room to erect our awning, there was so much empty space elsewhere. We asked the warden if we could choose a different pitch from one of the dozens available (none of which became occupied during our entire stay)but were told this wasn't possible.

That being said this is an otherwise lovely site, a well stocked on-site shop whose manager was extremely helpful. A great club-house with games room and even a small cinema! Again the manager was very helpful full of advice about the local area. The club house is quite large and I can imagine that it gets very busy at peak times but whilst we were there it was quiet. There is also a very pleasant little cafť there where we treated ourselves to a full English before departing, service wasn't lightning fast but the food was all freshly cooked and very tasty!

A taxi in to town will cost you around £6. 50 but the cliff top walk (via the 199 Abbey steps) only takes around 15-20 minutes and is beautiful if the weather is kind!

Overall a great site and an enjoyable stay marred only by our pitch position. Will we be back?. Probably yes, there aren't many Whitby sites that are within comfortable walking distance of the town and the views from some areas are nothing short of spectacular!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iain and kay 5 reviews from this member

A busy, fairly large site. On site facilities include a shop, play area, cafe and bar. Thereís a private beach which is a 5 minute walk down a steepish path. Our dogs loved it.

Very spacious pitches, so even though itís been busy at the weekend it doesnít feel too crowded. Thereís quite a few seasonal vans too. All the pitches are grass so can be soft after bad weather, but theyíre very good at helping stuck units off. Weíve had no problem despite heavy rain before our arrival. I do think itís on the pricy side for non serviced pitches, but thatís got to be partly due to the proximity of Whitby, a 20 minutes stroll along a glorious cliff top path.

All the staff have been super friendly and the whole site feels very clean and modern.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chillisax7 1 review from this member

Excellent site and my 7yr old daughter keeps saying this was the best holiday ever. Lovely views of the abbey and watched the firework display on the tops with a glass of wine. Lovely walk into the town along the cliffs and safe with fence along. We will definitely be back and hopefully this year. Toilets clean and never had to wait. Taxis from town back to site are very cheap. Not worth driving and trying to find a space. Bar was brilliant and just a small arcade which I prefer. Brilliant park for kids to play and a lovely private beach for bbq. Loads to do around and we didn't get chance to do everything. Andy and Tracy

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bessy525 48 reviews from this member

What a great site for visiting Whitby and the surrounding area, many of the pitches are very undulating and need various amounts of timber to level your van, but once you get over the shock it worth it. Site facilities were clean and tidy throughout our stay and despite their being only 5 loos 6 showers in the gents I didn't have to wait once. The on site shop covers the basics, the clubhouse was in good condition with films being shown each afternoon for the children. If anything they need to advertise the place more maybe on arrival a list of the events would be good, we missed the curry night as we didn't see the chalk board advertisement for the night. Its a fairly flat walk along the Cleveland Trail to Whitby where on arrival you will be met by the famous 199 steps down. Local supermarkets were within a couple of miles, site staff were extremely helpful at all times even helping with pitching on the afore mentioned timber blocks on arrival. TV and satellite reception was good but given the high location its a bit windy.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lamb a 1 review from this member

Unfortunately the weather was awful but we did have a fantastic view when the mist cleared.

Nothing was too much trouble for everyone on the camp, the facilities and all of the camp was very well maintained.

A lovely coastal walk into Whitby would definitely recommend to anyone and judging by the full house over the weekend everyone else felt the same.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trina 1 review from this member

Stayed for two weeks on a seaview pitch and what a glorious view we woke up to each morning. These pitches are slightly dearer than the others but well worth it, they seem to be a bit larger too. Beware it can get windy. The staff here from reception, shop, cafe and the wardens are all extremely friendly and helpful and the cleaners must work their hearts out as the toilets/showers were spotless regardless of what time of day you used them. Cant comment on the bar as never used it however it seemed to be busy when passing. Lovely walk into whitby then down 199 steps, however a £6. 00 taxi back by-passed those. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have already booked next year.

Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5812 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019