Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitby Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Whitby Holiday Park Reviews

Whitby Holiday Park
Green Lane
Saltwick Bay
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4JX
Tel: 01947 602664
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 14/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 110 Reviews
                8/10 from 110 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  110 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Yellotem 3 reviews from this member

 We stopped on this site early September. Easy to get to, not far from main Whitby to Scarborough road. Checked in and was shown to our pitch by a warden, who assisted with pitching the caravan. Pitch was large but very steep, levelling ramps and corner steady blocks are essential.

Could just glimpse Whitby Abbey out of the kitchen window from where we were. Some other pitches had beautiful views out to sea, however I expect those to be very windy.

Whitby is a steady walk along the cliff tops, suitable for a push chair. The beach is a short but quite steep walk down the cliffs and is very secluded. There’s a nice big play area for children of all ages, our toddler really enjoyed himself. Pub and cafe were open however we had no reason to use them.

The main bugbear of mine was the toilet facilities were closed, due to C-19, where other sites have opened theirs with instructions in place. We were advised of this before we arrived but chose to stay anyway.

Also, the cost per night was pretty expensive. For a site with no open toilet facilities I would’ve expected some sort of discount.

We’ll probably return but not while the toilet facilities are closed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MNW7 3 reviews from this member

 Great little site within a short walk to the Abbey and Whitby,

Can't comment on the facilities due to restrictions but would return as staff were helpful & the site well run & maintained. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Broganny 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic location and I had beautiful views of the sea and the abbey. It is walking distance from Whitby and the abbey.

The lights on the touring campsite were very low and attached to the electric hook up. This meant that a bright light shone into the vans and caravans all night.

It was very odd that the toilets were not open for anyone to use during COVID 19 because public

Toilets were open everywhere. They still opened the cafe and the shop so it didn't really make sense that there were no washing facilities. There was no reduction in price for the lack of facilities. No toilets, showers or hot water to do the washing up.

It appeared there was a key for some people for a toilet/shower but that must have been a best kept secret because I never knew about it until the day I was leaving when the person on the desk asked my sister's partner if he was returning the toilet key! He was returning their caravan key.

I had a lovely time because my sister was staying in a static caravan on the other side of the site and I could use her facilities and I can sleep anywhere even with a light on. However, some people might be a bit disturbed by these aspects.

There was a good playground for children.

Beautiful location. A bit odd in terms of how it is run. Maybe it is the Whitby Way! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sharon 1 review from this member

 Excellent location and views. As new caravanners, we found it hard to level the caravan due to the very uneven pitch which we were allocated.

Very disappointed that as a couple without young children, we were placed directly in front of the children's play area which was very noisy and unsupervised until after dark.

We would return now that we are aware that we can request specific pitches if available. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Varonda 3 reviews from this member

 We were warmly welcomed and after paying the deposit for the toilet block key were shown to our allocated pitch.

I'd say that a pair of ramps would be advised as the site is undulating in most areas.

Position wise the site is superb, on the cliff tops about a 15 min walk from the abbey then the dreaded 199 steps down to Whitby, don't forget what goes down has to come back up ! the site has fairly well stocked shop, cafe and bar [ didn't try the bar ].

All the usual facilities are there and were generally clean and tidy, in fact the only issue we had was with the outdated and generally useless showers, either hot enough to boil a lobster or cold enough to keep perishables in ! nothing in-between - to reiterate clean but useless.

Oh forgot -don't forget your sink plug for the dishwashing area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jmc1988 1 review from this member

 Great site and friendly staff.

Cafe serves a lovely breakfast.

Lovely walk along the coast and down the steps into Whitby.

Ideal if visiting Whitby abbey 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Oldbird2 2 reviews from this member

 This site is in a prime cliff top position and a short walk from Whitby. The showers and toilets were clean and plentiful when we visited. However, the shower in the men's was scalding hot.

The women's showers were ok temperature wise but would only operate with the push button control held in constantly - necessitating a one handed shower!

The toilets are accessed with a key - £10 deposit. The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a cliff top pitch which was £31 per night. Our awning was an extra £3 per night.

For 2 people in a 5m campervan this is the most we have ever paid! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LR2007 23 reviews from this member

 Fairly easy access down a country lane with passing places should you meet oncoming traffic. Booking in procedure painless and £10 charge for key to facilities. Shown to our pitch by the warden who advised one of the less sloping pitches should we visit again as we did not want to be on the cliff top edge although the views are wonderful.

There are a few hard standing pitches on concrete at the site entrance, however, you would have all the passing footfall and no view at all. Facilities are Ok. Probably now in need of updating and the showers could be a little more roomy. Also the floors seemed to get extremely wet due to the dreaded shower curtains which were too short to be of use efficiently.

Fair standard of overall cleanliness though. Lovely cliff top walk into Whitby via the 199 steps down past the Abbey. Taxi back costs £6. 50 which also allowed our small dog to travel too which was a bonus as we have to limit her exercise.

Would definitely go back again out of school holiday times though as I would imagine it would be much noisier. Can’t comment on the on-site bar etc as we didn’t use them. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pete Ravey 1 review from this member

 Nice easy check in and really quick.

The warden showed us to our pitch and

Informed us of were everything was.

The toilet and shower blocks were basic and not much space to get dressed etc after a shower I’d rate them 7/10

The site is well positioned to walk into Whitby and get to some lovely places.

We didn’t stay for our second night we had been out all day and when we returned I parked the camper round the other way to block the wind, The warden told me to move the van to the position we were told to park in on the first day. I felt he was being unreasonable as we had paid for an extra large pitch so we would have flexibility with our small camper van but he wouldn’t see reason and offered no solution. So we left disappointed and won’t use the site again 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daleswalker 9 reviews from this member

 We tend to stay away from commercial sites where possible, preferring CL's but this one caught our eye so we thought we'd give it a whirl. It's a well appointed site, nice (if not spectacular) amenities and very well situated for access to Whitby itself. The key for the ablutions will cost you a £10 refundable deposit, I personally didn't use them much but when I did they were clean, warm and serviceable (quite pleasant if a toilet can be pleasant!) We arrived quite late (about 4ish) but well within the site rules, the girls at reception were very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. The same can't be said for the warden who showed us to our pitch, we were definitely an inconvenience to him! Due to the time of year (it was just after the half term) the site was quite sparsely populated so we were a little disappointed to be shoe-horned in between 4 or 5 camper vans with barely enough room to erect our awning, there was so much empty space elsewhere. We asked the warden if we could choose a different pitch from one of the dozens available (none of which became occupied during our entire stay)but were told this wasn't possible.

That being said this is an otherwise lovely site, a well stocked on-site shop whose manager was extremely helpful. A great club-house with games room and even a small cinema! Again the manager was very helpful full of advice about the local area. The club house is quite large and I can imagine that it gets very busy at peak times but whilst we were there it was quiet. There is also a very pleasant little café there where we treated ourselves to a full English before departing, service wasn't lightning fast but the food was all freshly cooked and very tasty!

A taxi in to town will cost you around £6. 50 but the cliff top walk (via the 199 Abbey steps) only takes around 15-20 minutes and is beautiful if the weather is kind!

Overall a great site and an enjoyable stay marred only by our pitch position. Will we be back?. Probably yes, there aren't many Whitby sites that are within comfortable walking distance of the town and the views from some areas are nothing short of spectacular! 


Previous     110 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitby Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitby Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitby Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3285 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement