Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of High Sand Creek Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Stiffkey > High Sand Creek Campsite > Reviews

High Sand Creek Campsite
Greenway
Stiffkey
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1QF
Tel: 01328 830235
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/03/2022 to 15/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
                9/10 from 78 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kolin 1 review from this member

 I usually go to Wales but I needed somewhere closer to try camping in my new (vintage) trailer tent.

This site was only 60 miles from me. I was attracted to the marshes at this site, which seemed to offer a different experience.

The site itself is faultlessly run, clean and well-maintained loos and showers. I arrived on a Monday and there was plenty of space.

The next day I explored the marshes but was disappointed to find that the featured bridge had been removed which seems to make difficult access to the greater marsh area. I crossed anyway and got thoroughly muddy but that was my choice - no complaint.

On another day the pathway to Wells provided good views and varied landscapes.

When the next Saturday came I realised that the plots were actually quite close together as people poured in. I like the potential of this site.

Next time I will pay for EHU which looks to provide privacy on at least the rear and the protection of the internal road at the front.

It's an interesting location, seemed a little expensive but prices have risen everywhere. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mandreed 22 reviews from this member

 This site is 'Back to Basics' camping on a fairly flat field site bordering the marshes. It is in a stunning location with wide, light pollution free, open skies for amazing sunsets and stargazing.

You are unable to book online it has to be done via phone.

The site is laid out pretty much in rows/grid which does detract slightly from the wild camping feel, but the pitches are large enough for modern family sized tents and a dining shelter if required. If in a campervan you may wish to bring levelling plates for some pitches, it is mainly flat, with a very gentle slope across the site.

There are mown paths with slightly longer grass in places to designate your pitch. The open layout allows family/friends to be on adjacent pitches. However if you wanted a bit more privacy, or indeed protection from the wind, pack a wind break or two!

We opted for electric hook up meaning we were on a pitch towards the top end of the site looking out across the field, down to the trees and marshes. We were pleased as although the pitches are large if we had been on one in the middle we would have been surrounded on all sides.

The shower and toilet block is located in the middle of the field and although a bit dated it was always stocked with soap and loo roll, free hot water/showers and it was very clean. Although Covid restrictions have been lifted, people have been kindly requested (although not compulsory) to where masks inside the building/facilities if possible. Understandable given it is a fairly compact space.

No campfires allowed but bbqs off the ground are permitted. They provide old metal shopping baskets to raise disposable bbqs up.

No specific play area, or ballgame area for children. There is a strip of trees/wood bordering the site on the coast path (not part of the site) where many children were playing and climbing trees.

Excellent base for North Norfolk Coast. Small Co-op at Wells-next-the-Sea, about 4miles away by car or if you wanted bigger shop, large Morrisons inland at Fakenham, about 15mins away. It is small market town.

Along the coast are lots of places to visit, wonderful walks and villages. Crabbing is very popular at Wells and also Blakeney. We have spent many an hour sat on the Quayside. At Wells, you could try a walk in the magnificent pine woods, with the odd secret rope swing and endless trees to climb, and dunes that sweep down on to the beach. A favourite of ours!

Also at Wells, eating fish and chips (Try French's) on the Quay and you are spoilt for choice for flavours of ice creams! There is a little train that runs between the beach/woods carpark and the Quay at Wells. Maybe walk one way and train back, great for little ones with tired legs!

All in all, great site, amazing location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BigSis2012 10 reviews from this member

 This is a well kept site right on the coast at Stiffkey, although 'right on the coast' is true, this area has about a mile of salt marsh before you get to the sea and as such, it is a haven for flora & fauna (but not for swimming and sandcastle building!).

The site is fairly level with large pitches, with the grass being left long at the edges to mark them out rather than a bit of hedging (which is a shame as it would have served as both a windbreak and to provide a bit of privacy). I had read a few reviews before coming here and people said it was windy, so we bought a windbreak and were glad we did.

It was on the pricey side at £35 per night with EHU, but showers were free and water was hot. There was one bathroom block which was clean but a big dingy in the daytime due to lack of natural light. Six shower stalls and 6 loos in each (Ladies & Gents), a washing up room and laundry. There was also an outside shower for washing mud off yourself or your dog.

Walking to the village with a dog was easier than expected. The villages on this coast road sometimes donít have pavements and it can be quite dicey, but we discovered that a path has been created opposite the pub in the village which comes out a short distance up from the Green Way (road to the campsite) to make it safer. The pub is the Red Lion and is worth a visit.

We walked to Wells-next-the-Sea (about 4 miles). The Norfolk Coast Path runs there but it isnít suitable for prams, wheelchairs etc at this point as itís too narrow. Thereís a small shop in Stiffkey and also a Co-op in Wells. The buses ran along the main road through the village and looked to be fairly regular (but we didnít use them).

This site is well placed for visiting a lot of what North Norfolk has to offer and I would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert S 3 reviews from this member

 Great site, very natural. I cannot find anything wrong to say about this site. Basic general amenities, but very good.

This is a basic site with no frills, just very natural. Off busy roads.

Nice walk to the pub and small shop for essentials. Great for wildlife with it being right next to the marshes.

We have visited this site on numerous occasions over the years. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lincolngr 10 reviews from this member

 This was our fourth visit to this campsite and we recommend it. Centrally located on the North Norfolk coast in the small village of Stiffkey, it is set away from the village itself along a road leading to the North Norfolk Coast path and the marshes, which are both found at the northern boundary to the camping field. Other paths wind their way across the marsh and bridges crossing inlets which are worth a stroll along. Views extend to Well-next-the-Sea to the west, towards Blythburth in the east on a clear day and above, expansive skies. If you're intending to reach the sea though, you'll need to be well prepared, cautious of the tides and patient.

So to the site itself, it has everything we needed as tent campers, including well-kept toilets, washing facilities for pots, pans and bodies including numerous hot showers. All facilities were clean and well presented. The pitches are spacious at approx 12m x 12m each and when we visited £11 per pitch +£7 per adult per night (high season). Most of the pitches are on level ground, but some are gently sloping towards the north. For those in tents, I would recommend investing in a set of heavy duty pegs and a sturdy metal hammer as the ground can be a peg killer.

The coast hopper bus service runs along the coast road and stops at the end of the road leading to the campsite, so the local area is within easy reach and a boon to walkers such as us, looking to break up the coast path walk into manageable sections each day. The village has the popular Red Lion pub and a grocery / stores, and Well-next-the-sea is close at hand for more shopping and eating venues where plenty can be found.

Should we be looking to visit North Norfolk for a fifth time, this site will be high on our shortlist! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suebear 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a good location, we are a family with small children and really enjoyed it.

PRO's: Location - straight out on to the salt marsh for wild swimming, clean facilities, free (push button) showers, really hot water for washing up. 20p plus £1 deposit for freezer blocks, but they were really well frozen.

CONS: The exposed location meant it was very windy. Also for us, the pitches felt a bit squashed in somehow, although we weren't on top of anyone and the site was pretty much full. We were also near the shower block, and people kept walking over our pitch, including between our tent door and the car, which was only about 3m away! BBQs are allowed but no burning of wood or fire logs. It was a bit of a shame that 15mins before we had to be off of the pitch our son came back from the office with a message to tell us to hurry up because the next people were there, and they then drove round and stared at us while we finished up. Needless to say we finished at 12noon exactly! A bit of a damper on the end of our holiday that.

We visited Wells beach, Brancaster beach and had a day in the creek. And did a seal boat tip stopping at Blakney Point, which was fantastic.

But overall, a great site in a good location. When we return we will be booking in early and requesting a pitch well away from the loo's! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WHeaps 18 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed this site. Wonderful location on the edge of the salt marshes, and far enough away from the road to be away from traffic noise. Pitches are clearly marked by mown lines in the grass, leading to an informal but organised site. Reception were very helpful, and re-jigged our booking to ensure we stayed on same pitch when we decided to extend our stay. Facilities clean and sufficient even at the weekend when it got very busy. Staff always seemed to be on hand cleaning, or attending to minor problems. Always plenty of very hot water in the showers, dishwashing, laundry areas. A great base for this part of the coast, with easy access to nearby pub and village shop. One to return to again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dave 418 38 reviews from this member

 Considering it was Bank Holiday weekend and the site was packed I was surprised how well this site coped. We were at the back of the site between the barns, pitch C2. There was only two pitches were we were and we were behind the tents. We had views across the site to the sea and the marshes. The toilet block had everything you would want. The water was warm and the floors clean. The outdoor wash off for muddy people is a great idea and helps keep the showers clean.

The fresh water points had a hose reel with enough length to reach motorhome water tanks. I enquired about grey water disposal and the owners said they would take us up to a field if we needed to empty our tank.

We walked into Wells-Next- The-Sea from the site along the coast path. A lovely three mile walk to a lovely harbour town.

There are bus stops at the end of the lane both ways along the coast road.

There is a small shop in the village but we didn't use it. Due to it being bank holiday we didn't try the local pub either.

There is a Coop Supermarket in Wells.

A site we will go back to. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Martindx 7 reviews from this member

 This is in a grand spot with views over the salt marshes a very intriguing and wild habitat full of creeks and gullies - you can access the beach by a walk over 5 narrow bridges. We just back from 5 days - really friendly helpful staff, lovely site with plenty of room facilities great - free hot showers. Site borders small wooded areas great for kids to play in and right on the salt marshes - for walks out to the sea and coastal footpath to Wells and Blakeney - we will be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bathsheba2 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely big pitches, clean facilities and friendly staff, what's not to like?!

We pitched a six berth+ Quechua and there was loads of room to spare. The site is sloping but didn't present a problem to us or other campers/vanners. It was a good view down over the marshes to the sea. Red Lion in the village does great food albeit not cheap and there is a lovely and well stocked stores about a mile away. 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is High Sand Creek Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to High Sand Creek Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is High Sand Creek Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stiffkey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement