Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - High Sand Creek Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Stiffkey > High Sand Creek Campsite Reviews

High Sand Creek Campsite
Greenway
Stiffkey
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR23 1QF
Tel: 01328 830235
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 80
Open: March To Mid October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lincolngr 8 reviews from this member

This was our fourth visit to this campsite and we recommend it. Centrally located on the North Norfolk coast in the small village of Stiffkey, it is set away from the village itself along a road leading to the North Norfolk Coast path and the marshes, which are both found at the northern boundary to the camping field. Other paths wind their way across the marsh and bridges crossing inlets which are worth a stroll along. Views extend to Well-next-the-Sea to the west, towards Blythburth in the east on a clear day and above, expansive skies. If you're intending to reach the sea though, you'll need to be well prepared, cautious of the tides and patient.

So to the site itself, it has everything we needed as tent campers, including well-kept toilets, washing facilities for pots, pans and bodies including numerous hot showers. All facilities were clean and well presented. The pitches are spacious at approx 12m x 12m each and when we visited £11 per pitch +£7 per adult per night (high season). Most of the pitches are on level ground, but some are gently sloping towards the north. For those in tents, I would recommend investing in a set of heavy duty pegs and a sturdy metal hammer as the ground can be a peg killer.

The coast hopper bus service runs along the coast road and stops at the end of the road leading to the campsite, so the local area is within easy reach and a boon to walkers such as us, looking to break up the coast path walk into manageable sections each day. The village has the popular Red Lion pub and a grocery / stores, and Well-next-the-sea is close at hand for more shopping and eating venues where plenty can be found.

Should we be looking to visit North Norfolk for a fifth time, this site will be high on our shortlist!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suebear 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site in a good location, we are a family with small children and really enjoyed it.

PRO's: Location - straight out on to the salt marsh for wild swimming, clean facilities, free (push button) showers, really hot water for washing up. 20p plus £1 deposit for freezer blocks, but they were really well frozen.

CONS: The exposed location meant it was very windy. Also for us, the pitches felt a bit squashed in somehow, although we weren't on top of anyone and the site was pretty much full. We were also near the shower block, and people kept walking over our pitch, including between our tent door and the car, which was only about 3m away! BBQs are allowed but no burning of wood or fire logs. It was a bit of a shame that 15mins before we had to be off of the pitch our son came back from the office with a message to tell us to hurry up because the next people were there, and they then drove round and stared at us while we finished up. Needless to say we finished at 12noon exactly! A bit of a damper on the end of our holiday that.

We visited Wells beach, Brancaster beach and had a day in the creek. And did a seal boat tip stopping at Blakney Point, which was fantastic.

But overall, a great site in a good location. When we return we will be booking in early and requesting a pitch well away from the loo's!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WHeaps 7 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed this site. Wonderful location on the edge of the salt marshes, and far enough away from the road to be away from traffic noise. Pitches are clearly marked by mown lines in the grass, leading to an informal but organised site. Reception were very helpful, and re-jigged our booking to ensure we stayed on same pitch when we decided to extend our stay. Facilities clean and sufficient even at the weekend when it got very busy. Staff always seemed to be on hand cleaning, or attending to minor problems. Always plenty of very hot water in the showers, dishwashing, laundry areas. A great base for this part of the coast, with easy access to nearby pub and village shop. One to return to again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dave 418 32 reviews from this member

Considering it was Bank Holiday weekend and the site was packed I was surprised how well this site coped. We were at the back of the site between the barns, pitch C2. There was only two pitches were we were and we were behind the tents. We had views across the site to the sea and the marshes. The toilet block had everything you would want. The water was warm and the floors clean. The outdoor wash off for muddy people is a great idea and helps keep the showers clean.

The fresh water points had a hose reel with enough length to reach motorhome water tanks. I enquired about grey water disposal and the owners said they would take us up to a field if we needed to empty our tank.

We walked into Wells-Next- The-Sea from the site along the coast path. A lovely three mile walk to a lovely harbour town.

There are bus stops at the end of the lane both ways along the coast road.

There is a small shop in the village but we didn't use it. Due to it being bank holiday we didn't try the local pub either.

There is a Coop Supermarket in Wells.

A site we will go back to.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Martindx 7 reviews from this member

This is in a grand spot with views over the salt marshes a very intriguing and wild habitat full of creeks and gullies - you can access the beach by a walk over 5 narrow bridges. We just back from 5 days - really friendly helpful staff, lovely site with plenty of room facilities great - free hot showers. Site borders small wooded areas great for kids to play in and right on the salt marshes - for walks out to the sea and coastal footpath to Wells and Blakeney - we will be back!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bathsheba2 2 reviews from this member

Lovely big pitches, clean facilities and friendly staff, what's not to like?!

We pitched a six berth+ Quechua and there was loads of room to spare. The site is sloping but didn't present a problem to us or other campers/vanners. It was a good view down over the marshes to the sea. Red Lion in the village does great food albeit not cheap and there is a lovely and well stocked stores about a mile away.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thebigsleep 1 review from this member

Upon arrival, I received a very friendly welcome from Julie the head steward. The rules and facilities of the site were carefully and clearly explained.

Julie's husband Ray, was as helpful as his wife. He took me to my plot and showed me the modern shower/toilet block. This also included a spacious room for washing one's crockery etc. , and a separate laundry room. Everywhere was nice and clean, and as I discovered later, the water nice and hot. All the plots were nicely marked out; very well organised.

There are many salt water creeks accessible after a short walk. I have talked to swimmers who have said they are good fun. There is a nice outdoor shower facility to wash ones wetsuit, body, kit under, after a swim or a muddy walk.

I stayed for three days at the beginning of the month of August, but returned for another three days at the end. I returned yet again in the middle of September. Marvellous weather; how did they arrange that I wonder?

This was an easy to get to site, which has good views of the sea and adjoining countryside. The bottom end of this camp site abuts the coastal flood plain, which has free public access. I believe it is an English Heritage site.

The camp site ground was quite stony and I had a little difficulty getting my tent pegs in. With perseverance and a little patience, they went in all right.

There is a quaint village shop not far away. Here they serve lovely tea and cake; they also have a well stocked shop. The village has a pub that has a good selection of beers, ales, lagers and the like. A wonderful menu of food too. There are many places of interest to visit nearby, and Wells-Next-The-Sea is only a stone's throw away. A lovely and quiet seaside town.

I am unable to walk or cycle; I came here for the fresh sea/country air, and wasn't disappointed. It is a good place however, to walk and cycle from, either on the coastal path or the narrow country roads, (if you dare).

I recommend you visit this site, I don't think you'll be disappointed. I'm going to return next year.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Iluvhippos 3 reviews from this member

A really super site with great views over the salt marshes. Pitches seemed really large. Quite busy for mid week, out of season, but plenty of space and no feeling of being crowded. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and keen to make sure everything was satisfactory. Difficult at first to locate the water taps. The toilet/shower block was quite new and always clean and stocked. The six toilets and shower units in the gents were cut to three, no doubt to reduce cleaning time. The showers were hot, but the cubicles had no internal curtains. This meant when the shower was turned on, the spray reached shoes and clothes. Plastic bags were in order second time around! This was our first camp without electric hook ups - a facility we did not miss! Torch required for night time loo visits as campsite has limited external lighting. We will certainly return!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andreapotts 2 reviews from this member

Great spacious site with a modern and v clean toilet block. The couple running the campsite were so hospitable and friendly. We stayed for 3 nights. Its a short walk to the local pub where the meals are fab. Alternatively its a short walk to the coastal road bus that runs regularly and gets you to lots of different places. Or its a walk across the salt marshes to the sea ( we could see seals !) We loved this site and will certainly be going back There's nothing to complain about.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Delkay 1 review from this member

Stayed on a busy weekend during gorgeous weather in May. We didn't book an electric hook up, as I estimated we had plenty gas. Wrong! The (lady) warden couldn't have been more helpful. She also let us use the phone to book a table at the pub, and she was all smiles! The site is simple but in a wonderful place, and the walks to the salt marshes are yards away. Not sure the lights in the toilet block work. Seems to be dark in there most of the time, but they are clean and warm.

All in all a great site with excellent wardens and in a lovely spot. We'll be back very soon

Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5070 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019