Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hereford Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Hereford > Hereford Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Hereford Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Millpond
Little Tarrington
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR1 4JA
Tel: 01432 890243
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 102
Open: 08/03 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 87 Reviews
                9/10 from 87 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jacasino 5 reviews from this member

Exceptionally good site with a choice of grass or hard standing pitches and a warm welcome from helpful and experienced staff, there is a small shop (great bread) and a mobile fish and chip shop on a Friday night.

Very popular fishing lake and very well maintained grounds, plenty of opportunities for an evening stroll without leaving site, we didnít take bikes this time but will do in future as there are a network of lanes to ride if you leave the site and turn right.

Facilities are to a very high standard, well designed & executed and very well maintained, faultless. Drainers and J Cloths in the washing up area with plenty of hot water.

I wish there were more sites designed and managed like this one.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nanny 22 7 reviews from this member

This is a really lovely site The pitches are spacious and very well maintained. The showers have been updated to a very high standard and were lovely and warm with piped music. The staff were without exception, very friendly and welcoming and always ready for a chat. There is a very pretty fishing lake on site which was enjoyed by many of the campers and is lovely to stroll around in the evening. Plenty to do in the surrounding area. This is fast becoming one of our favourite sites and we will be back next month.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 70 reviews from this member

Wonderful clean and friendly site and team, the staff were always waving and smiling it was a pleasure.

All facilities are great, modern clean and it all worked.

All the lawns and grounds were in superb order, very well maintained and looked after.

Good handy shop which is always a benefit.

Itís ideally a Caravan site as without a car your in the middle of nowhere, not even a Pub to walk to and with few walks full stop.

If you Fish though it looked superb for fisherman.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: James-Kelly 2 reviews from this member

A truely fantastic campsite, owners/staff, facilities and views.

Staff were very welcoming and full of knowledge, in and around the area.

Facilities were very clean. Showers were great with underfloor heating. On site shop had a bit of everything you'd need. Dog walking paths around the site. One for the dog on a lead and one without a lead. Some fantastic roads around for bike riding. Worth every penny to stay here. We will definitely be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The 147 Clan 12 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site.

This site is very well managed, the facilities are spotless. The shower block is warm and has piped music.

The pitches are a generous size and most are level and the grass is kept short.

The staff were all really friendly and were always up for a chat.

The lake is not only good for fishing but is nice to walk round, keep an eye open for the wildlife.

A visit to Westons Cider Mill is a must and they conduct tours of the factory, all of their vats are named.

My only concern is that there are only 5 or 6 showers in the mens and if the site was busy you may have to wait ?

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 35 reviews from this member

Although only a one night stay on the way back to South Wales, having joined the C&CC the month before we decided to stop off here as a neighbour visits regularly.

What a gem.

The site is well laid out and well looked after.

There is a fishing lake in the grounds and was a delight to take a walk around.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Showers and toilets were spotless and waste water and chemical disposal were all conveniently placed.

Being only there for one night can not comment on the surrounding area.

Tv reception for me was good, mobile signal was a bit hit and miss.

A word of warning, we were coming from Ludlow and as we neared the site the Sat Nav took us down some real narrow lanes. My fault really, they warn about it on their website.

This site is a definite keeper. We will return.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 664DaveS 30 reviews from this member

We have just spent a week at this lovely site, only 70 miles from home.

We were given a very friendly welcome by the staff and allowed to select our pitch-we had booked a hardstanding.

Its a big site, with level pitches surrounded by trees and adjoinig a lovely lake with fishing allowed. Its a nice walk around the lake.

There is a short cut to the bus stop on the main road with buses to Ledbury and Hereford.

There is also a dog walking area.

The facilities were spotless with plenty of hot water although you have to push the shower button quite often! I liked the glass doors on the showers which stops your clothes/towels getting wet while you shower, often an issue on some sites!

Reception sells a range of meat and frozen meals etc, you can also order papers.

The fish and chip van comes on friday evenings, good value and very nice too!

Wifi is available whole site coverage at £5 for a week quite reasonable. Phone signal was variable on EE net, don't know about others!

Its a lovely area with lots to see and do. Ledbury is a nice town with interesting shops and pubs.

Hereford city is pleasant too, lots of pedestrianised streets.

There is some noise from the adjacent A417, but quitens down at night. The railway behind the site has 2 trains an hour, which did not bother us as they are not too noisy.

We will definitely visit this nice site again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mazmann 2 reviews from this member

We are quite new to caravanning only staying at another site in the Forest of Dean for a few weekend breaks, so coming somewhere new was an adventure. As soon as we arrived we were met by Andrew. After enquiring what type of pitch we were after he escorted us on his bike, while telling us that as it was a Friday the Fish and Chip shop van would be arriving in the early evening. What a bargain.

The site itself is in pristine condition, with our three dogs enjoying the walk that is set up with dog bins around the site. There is such a diverse selection of trees, of which my favourite was the edible cherrys.

The facilities were spotless and new, with some great touches, such as piped music and a j-cloth dispenser in the plate wash area.

We will be definitely coming back and visiting this site again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jusbluey 22 reviews from this member

Following a recent 5 day stay on this site I can highly recommend it. It is very well looked after & has excellent facilities (although like a lot of sites it would be good to have a slightly longer shower timer, instead of having to press the button so often, and I thought the water could have been a bit hotter). It is ideally placed for visiting Hereford (was disappointed thought it looked shabby, though cathedral was stunning), Ross on Wye was interesting, Ledbury was lovely, some good chippies & cafes. Particularly liked Malvern & the Malvern Hills were fab (so very popular). Had a meal at the Trumpet pub nr Ledbury, really enjoyed it. There are lakes on the site & the fishing seemed to be really popular. Thought the site was peaceful (apart from the trains which go by every half hr, but stop at midnight but they were not too bothersome)& I thought it was a friendly site too.

One note of caution, as we were in a motorhome & we enjoy walking we normally make use of the bus service to take us to different locations. On this occasion as we don't live too far we decided to take a car. It appears to be the right decision because a notice on site warns that the buses do not allow dogs & as we have 3 that would have been so disappointing & would obviously have meant using the m/home to get about.

Overall liked the site very much & would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 32 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site and I'm still wondering why we left it two years. We will not be doing that again! Pencilled in again for before the end of season.

Welcome was friendly and informative and we were allowed to choose our grass pitch. Once again the toilets and showers were immaculately clean. The shop is still well stocked with local produce including fresh bread every day.

Regarding the comments about being overlooked by houses on one side; there are 8 houses, they are reasonably well screened and do not detract from the feeling of being in a very rural location.

The road outside of the camp is pretty quiet at night and road noise did not disturb our daughter who was sleeping in a pup tent.

The railway has a couple of trains each way per hour, hardly busy and they stop running during the night.

All in all a peaceful and relaxing place to be especially with the lake.

We took our cycles this time and enjoyed a 21 mile ride around the cycle cider route. Most enjoyable.

The site is well located for visiting Symonds Yat, Hay on Wye and we also travelled to Blaenavon World Heritage Site, which was less than an hours drive.

The Starchip Enterprise provided every bit as tasty fish and chips as we remembered.

There is no playground and no games room and for this reason I would not recommend this site for children unless they really do enjoy nature and getting away for it all and amusing themselves without causing problems to those who seek peace and quiet!

My only criticism of this site (and to be honest many other ccc sites these days) is that the installation of hard standing pitches has gone too far; there are far too many of them and they have ruined the flow of pitching, making it all very regimented. Not everyone wants hard standing and not everyone has a pneumatic drill handy for pegs on awnings etc!

Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5488 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019