Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grouse Hill Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Grouse Hill Caravan Park > Reviews

Grouse Hill Caravan Park
Fylingdales
Nr Robin Hoods Bay
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4QH
Tel: 01947 880543
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 175
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 111 Reviews
                8/10 from 111 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Igelst 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, second time we visited the site.

Toilets and washroom facilities were always clean.

Fellow campers respected the rules about noise in general.

The only time we had a problem with noise, the owner came out to sort it 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GWTE 23 reviews from this member

 As the name suggests the campsite is on a hill however the pitches are terraced and very flat. All the touring pitches that I saw were grass but they should drain very easily after rain.

The prices are very reasonable although you will have to pay an extra £3 per night should you wish to put up an awning.

The site is generally very quiet. We were there the week before the school summer holidays and the main toilets were shut. Instead the family rooms, which contained a shower, toilet and washbasin, were open. There were four of these in the toilet block we used and each was very clean. On our final night all the toilet blocks were open and they too were very clean.

The mobile ‘phone and TV reception on site were excellent.

I noticed from previous reviews some campers had problems with midges. We had a slight problem but nothing that would stop me from camping there again. We were in the field at the top of the campsite: here it was open and generally breezy which helps enormously. This may not be the case at the bottom of the hill which is surrounded by trees, as is the children’s’ playground.

The site is almost exactly midway between Whitby and Scarborough. Both of these resorts have, in my opinion, expensive parking and toilets are 40p a visit.

Close to the site is Boggle Bay where you can park for free. There is a Youth Hostel there with a café and from where, when the tide is out, you can walk to Robin Hood’s Bay. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Captainbiggles 4 reviews from this member

 Great site, owners were lovely. Facilities were spotlessly clean.

Ground level and perfect for tents.

Location was great for getting to whitby, Scarborough and Robin Hoods Bay,

WiFi costs were very reasonable and all went to a not for profit organisation so more than happy to pay it.

Couldn't fault any bit of it will definitely be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mhewitt 1 review from this member

 Stayed 3 nights over the May/June holiday. We stayed as a family of 3 adults and 2 children.

ON arrival they were fantastic very informative and great location for the tent.

We pitched up on a level pitch no rocks and good pitch drainage.

Pitches were well sized and was plenty of space, The first night was great however by 2pm the second day loads of insects / midges arrived at our tent we had a few bites but nothing major

On the day of leaving there were millions of midges etc we put the tent away and by the end of it we were covered from head to toe in bites and I mean head to toe so have blisters so have scabbed and some are bright red and really sore.

Half way through packing we sent our eldest to the shop to try and get some bite spray they charge £8 for a small bottle, I believe this is a mega rip off they were fully aware that midges are there in the summer months and residents in caravans were also aware of this.

All though the campsite can do nothing about the insects it would have been nice to pre warn guest especially if they had young children.

Love the site, location and everything else however I would not return to this site again.

Sorry 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sueban 1 review from this member

 Very nice friendly, clean site.

Very good amenities everything you need at hand.

Would definitely stay again.

Would like to stay on top level next time for better view. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RebeccaH 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay as a family with 6 and 12 year old and found the site to be excellent.

The pitch sizes were great with plenty of room. The toilets and showers were immaculately clean. The utility area was big with lots of sink areas for washing up.

The kids enjoyed the play area and being able to explore the woods and pond area. Also the wifi was good.

A short car ride to boggle hole beach

We would highly recommend this site and will return in the future 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Smanso 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic weekend! We have 2 boys (aged 7 and 3) amd 2 dogs, and this was our first ever camping trip.

The facilities were immaculately clean and there were plenty of blocks so never a queue - we used the elec hook up and were pleasantly surprised there was also a tap right alongside the elec hook up, making it quick and easy.

The site was thoroughly clean, and the kids play area and woods meant the kids could just play to their hearts content with the others on site. The fact that the play area also has CCTV gives added reassurance.

Felt like a really friendly, welcoming and safe place to take the family.

Loved it so much, we’ve already booked to go back again for the weekend in less than 2 weeks time! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Shep110687 1 review from this member

 Brilliant park! Friendly owners! Great clean facilities.

A stones throw from the beaches!

Brilliant children’s play area with cctv!

All in all a very good experience! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Emst78 10 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a great weekend here. Staff were fantastic and extremely helpful.

The toilet/shower block we used was very clean all the time. Plenty of bins about. Locals on the site very nice.

The lady on reception took time out of her crazy busy schedule to help me with cycle routes she was most helpful and very kind.

There are a couple of nice walks from the site and a pub at the end of the drive.

The beach is about 2 1/2 mils away (boggle hole) or you have whitby robin hoods bay or Scarborough all close by also ravenscar to see the seals.

Highly recommend staying here merely due to cleanliness and kindness.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Drewetts 3 reviews from this member

 We had a very pleasant stay at this site. It is very well maintained by the family owners.

Highly recommended for couples and families. The local pub is close by and as welcoming as the site. 
via mobile


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Grouse Hill Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grouse Hill Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Grouse Hill Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45257 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement