Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Grouse Hill Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Grouse Hill Caravan Park Reviews

Grouse Hill Caravan Park
Fylingdales
Nr Robin Hoods Bay
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4QH
Tel: 01947 880543
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 175
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 102 Reviews
                8/10 from 102 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Drewetts 3 reviews from this member

We had a very pleasant stay at this site. It is very well maintained by the family owners.

Highly recommended for couples and families. The local pub is close by and as welcoming as the site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Rsp2 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a great weekend with my grandson from this site it is one of the best I have stayed at.

The toilet shower block was one of the nicest I have seen in a long time it has a great park in the woods for the kids mine spent hours there. Never had any problems with midges as others have said all was quiet by 10. 30 with no noisy family/drunk parents but that's just pot luck as you can get bad neighbours on any site.

There is loads to do in the local area to many to mention on here

I will be booking this site again as its very clean with great views

Booking in was quick and friendly and I was given a choice of where I could pitch. There are no marked pitches but did not find that a problem as fellow campers kept a safe distance from each other

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Neville Aithwaite 1 review from this member

Arrived late and reception still open which was good. Staff very friendly and cheerful.

Campsite lovely and clean and quite spacious. Amenities mostly clean on one occasion we found them dirty but that could have been whoever used them before us.

Sadly I found the cost quite high, I thought when booking a site I had to pay 20 which I now know you don't get back. Then on arrival I paid another 84 which for three nights, even bank holiday I now think very expensive.

First night didn't get to sleep due to a party going on in a caravan with awning who were regulars and didn't care about anyone else. And also there was several little dogs who yapped constantly.

We would not return to this site because of these disappointments.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Compas4461 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 14 days. Cant fault site. Toilets clean. Showers hot and staff very helpful and friendly.

Would recommend this site. Will be back. Toilets were cleaned three times a day. Shop was well stocked.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Yummy Mummy 1 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights. Cheap at only 18 a night for 4 of us. Despite our children broken up for the Easter holidays - the schools hadn't in this area so it was very quiet.

We were allocated a pitch amongst all the seasonals. It was ok as there wasn't anyone else there but wouldn't be happy to be there during busy periods!

The children's play area was brilliant but was a long way away from the pitch and not visible from the pitch. The family washrooms were immaculate and brand new.

Showers were good but very hot! Toilets closed as it was so quiet. Dishwashing room brilliant- large indoor room with plenty of sinks and very clean. Shop on site but didn't use it. 10 walk to Flask Inn. Quiet pub - nice menu but a little pricey.

There are lots of pods at bottom of site so can imagine it to be a bit noisy at weekend. 10 mins drive to Falling Foss. Lovely child friendly walk to waterfall through the woods. Kids loved it. Overall - good value for money.

I would return but only during the quieter months.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wheats1 11 reviews from this member

Long weekend at this site. Good flat pitch. Toilet facilities excellent. Very clean, water warm and family bathrooms a godsend. Site had good facilities, a park, small shop, woods for children. Location was great, not far to drive to Robin Hood's Bay, Whitby, Scarborough or inland to Goathland etc. Handy garage for papers nearby, also a local pub (we didn't try it though).

Downsides - the midges were horrendous. We had insect repellent and a BBQ at night, not effective enough, and it stopped us sitting out. They were bad in the early mornings also.

It was also a windy, we thought we may be better off inland but it was very gusty.

There are no marked pitches for tents, even with EHU. Although there was plenty of room, we came back in the evening on 2 separate occasions to find people camped with guy ropes crossing ours and one group pitched ontop of our EHU cable. No attempt was made to enforce fire regulations. There is a 10. 30pm quiet curfew, but this was ignored and we had loud groups until 1pm on 2 nights.

We had a good break, the area is beautiful. But won't be returning to the site, as the midges and lack of marked pitches, with thoughtless fellow campers spoilt the other benefits of the site. Hence the high individual scores, but lower overall mark.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Craigsimo157 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend break here. On arrival we were not in the diary which was a panic however this may have been our fault as we chopped and changed our dates when we originally rang. The owners had no issues with making sure we had a pitch. We went with 2 other caravanning friends and were able to pitch the 3 caravans together, which is always good.

The shower/toilets blocks were immaculate on par if ot better than some hotels I have stayed at really well looked after and very clean, as were the washing facilities. The pitches were not marked out but seemed very spacious if you worked off the standard 4 pitches per electric hook up post. There was a shop on site where you could pick up a few bits if required (there is no alcohol licence so make sure you buy off site if you want to drink).

The only negative I had was the location of the park being in the bottom of the site. I like central parks so I can keep a eye on the kids from near the pitch. This however would be great for couples going for quiet breaks away from the kids. Next time I go I know to ask for a pitch down nearer the park, which I'm sure would be no problem.

The local area speaks for itself Whitby 1 way Scarborough the other.

Definitely recommend this site, and with the facilities it would be great for new/glamping visitors new to the outdoor life.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RpJpFh14 3 reviews from this member

Just returned sadly from 8 days away with my family in our tent what an amazing site and surrounding area.

The site is the nicest site I've visited, beautiful views really friendly helpful staff, fantastic toilet blocks well stocked shop and close to robin hoods bay, Whitby and Scarborough.

The play park was the highlight for our son it was brilliant for the kids set in the woods with so much for them to do and explore. The only small problem we had were the midges! Just take some repellant and it's not an issue.

We will definitely be returning it's a fantastic family site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BAZA10 1 review from this member

Visited site for the first time for a four night stay, Site was clean and tidy,

On arrival we were given our key (locks so worn any key would open all the locks) to the shower /washing facilities and main gate card, we were also given a site map and pointed in the direction to pitch our tent,

the site is tiered so the pitches are dead flat but it did concern me that directly above our tent was the car of the camper above us and no barrier should the unthinkable happen and the car roll down the banking, none of the pitches are marked out (people pitched where they liked) and in our case we had a huge area (10 man tent with porch, trailer and large car) but can imagine it would be a different story if the site was full, That been said the site was quiet,

clean and very pleasant but not a lot for kids on site other than the playground (kids can't spend all their time in the playground,

ideally situated for Whitby/Robin hoods bay/ Scarborough with very handy park and ride facility,

Will definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brensilva 1 review from this member

I liked how the owners took us to our pitch and told us where to put folding camper awning and car it was a nice touch and saves any confusion.

We did not have children but there was a big play area to keep kids amused.

A lot of reviews mention mosquitos we did not get bit and walked through the wooded area with dogs daily.

Facilities were always clean no queue for showers or dish washing sinks

We will definitely return

Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4314 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!