Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alston Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Salcombe > Alston Farm Campsite > Reviews

Alston Farm Campsite
Kingsbridge
Salcombe
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 3BJ
Tel: 01548 561260  or  07808 030921
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueapr 1 review from this member

 Canít say anything but the BEST, been staying here 15 years, firstly 10 days in larger tent, now 2days smaller tent as we do a week residential( old bones& all that)

However if salcombe prices go the way they are, it will be 10 days at Alston farm again,

Give me the cod liver🤣🤣x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Howsthatcamper 2 reviews from this member

 Needing fine weather for our tent holiday post C-19 closed season without electric, Phil at Alston Farm said you could just turn up as plenty of room. No booking and no deposit was our preferred option. This proved very helpful when many sites are either fully booked or less flexible.

The essential requirements of a freezer for ice-blocks worked well but toilets were in need of basic maintenance. Campers were friendly and respectful towards each anther.

Site was far away from busy roads for a quiet night when weather was calm but this assumes people and large parties respect the 10pm to 8am quiet period which may not always apply as on on first night. Shower cubicle space in the adult camping field were larger than average and had welcome bench, however, the sink and toilet facilities are very very basic for a large three field site.

The statics, caravans, campers sit in a central field with reception area whilst two additional fields are at opposite ends for two tents/ campervans and occasional caravans. A long term user described one field as "adults only" and the other for "families with children. "

The 20p showers can be made economical if you use the On/Off switch during your shower to lather-up as opposed to letting the water and electric run for the duration.

I thought the "general purpose refuse" side was rather messy and always seemed full-up or near full with one bin per location per field in use at any one time - removed / replaced as required, but fighting the wasps each time you used it wasn't fun. An additional small bottle bank was also provided.

The three fields sit amongst pleasant countryside and people are arriving and leaving all the time and enjoying themselves. I found both Phil and Penny to be very accommodating and very good with written and verbal communication.

Basic facilities in need of improvements - toilet flushes in particular. You may find the "shared" shower and toilet blocks unusual but the extroverts don't seem to mind so you might share space as girls wash their hair and the guys shave brings out a smile as the SOS goes out that a 20p got stuck in the meter during a shower. Best tip: Keep your 20p's dry when using the shower! Second tip: people often reserve electric hook-ups and pay a deposit but don't turn up so don't be surprised if you see vacancies at hook-ups but cannot use them.

Third tip: one way system isn't obvious but suggest you exit site past the reception office and central field to avoid hassle. All traffic is requested to enter via a "private road" that isn't sign-posted or visable until after you have arrived! But leaving site via this private road could see you meeting up with campers arriving and the lane is far too narrow for both. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iandavies 1 review from this member

 This is the first time we have stayed at Alston Farm, and it won't be the last. We were greeted by friendly staff and our pitch was perfect, in fact next to the stream and trees. We were there for three nights whilst visiting our daughter in Salcombe.

This is such a perfect location for a relaxing break. No one bothers you at all and it's a quiet site, although it was half term.

They have a nice little shop which is opened for a few hours in the morning and again in the evening, you can pre order news papers for the following day if needed. The toilets and showers are very clean.

What more do you need.

I would rate Alston Farm a 5 Star if on Trip Advisor. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bytebandit73 1 review from this member

 This is our 2nd visit to Alston this year in a large family tent with electric hook up. We've been to campsites with more modern facilities, but they were also more expensive, and they didn't have anything this one doesn't, just newer. The location is nice but from the electric hook up pitch you can't see much as it's at the bottom of the valley next to the popular playground and the 'stream' (its tiny with steep sides and often smells, bridge over it to playground).

The facilities by the tents appears to be a basic brick/concrete building with 4 communal showers, large separate toilet facilities with many basins and 3/4 large communal sinks with drainers. In the same area is a dryer, washing machine, hair dryer and there might be an iron/board, don't recall. Outside on the front there are some smaller sinks. Ample hot water for washing up dishes and hands/face yet they charge 20p for what seems like 2 minutes for a wee electric shower. The cubicles are spacious for most people but I did encounter an elderly couple who struggled owing to the lack of handrails and no clear instructions on how the shower works (coin fed meter box on wall, fun with soapy hands/face as there is no warning it's about to stop). There is a drinking water tap near by and I presume all the water in the toilet/shower block is drinkable but there are no signs either way. If you like to be clean bring plenty of 20p coins and optimise your shower ritual before you come. The block was never cold despite no obvious source of heating (or I just didn't see it). Washing machine and dryer take 50p coins and the one time we used them seemed to offer good value.

The on site shop seems to cover all the basics but is only open in the morning and evening. There is a Co-op very near by (exit the campsite and turn left to West Alvington, Co-op on the bend, can be VERY busy with a small car park to rear and at the wrong times looks like it's been raided). Tesco and Morrisons in Kingsbridge but to be honest, eye watering markups notwithstanding, the Co-op pretty much kept us supplied.

Rarely spoke to any staff, but seemed pleasant enough.

The site is central to numerous beaches but nothing is less than a 10-15 minute drive given the wiggly and narrow nature of the local roads. By and large driving around was mildly exhilarating and occasionally white knuckle. Certainly not for the feint hearted but there are some stunning views to be had of sweeping bays. There are many other campsites in the area, but this is one of the more central ones and certainly seems well priced (just don't shower daily).

The electric hook up pitch is largely flat with a few minor bumps, the other pitch in this field is on a varying slope. We did also see another tent field that appeared to be gently sloped. We did have some heavy rain but the ground seems to be well drained, what it would be like in a wetter part of the year I don't know.

No issues with the electric hook up. No idea how much current you can draw but I strongly suspect one tent was running a fan heater 24x7 and we had numerous phones/tablets on charge in the evenings.

We're all on EE and there is generally constant, if rather slow, coverage on the electric hook up pitch but none in the toilet/shower block. Coverage is patchy at best around the whole area though and non-existent on every beach we went to (Bantham, South Milton, Outer Hope Cove, Bigbury (coverage on Burgh island though!)).

Dogs are allowed, but should be confined to another field as at least one camper was unable to keep theirs on a lead in the small hours of the morning necessitating them running around the tents calling for it.

Now for the not so good part.

There is site wide wifi but it's rubbish. Getting devices to reach the signin page was a nightmare on several of our devices (all Samsung Android devices too). Once signed in we often got no or very little data. When it does work it's fine, even Netflix works, but it's not as stable or as fast as you'd expect in this day and age. The 5-device weekly rate is pretty good value considering, but it does make the daily rate look rather high.

And the really bad part.

Noise. Tents are flimsy things these days and everybody can hear everybody else across the entire field. Although there is a 'keep the noise down between 10pm and 8am' sign on the toilet block, there is no enforcement and of the 8 nights we were there only 2 were not wrecked by inconsiderate campers. For a family friendly site I also feel that 10pm is too late to be allowed to make as much noise as you like.

Would we go again? Probably. The playground is popular with primary age children and pretty safe though supervision from the tent is difficult due to a line of vegetation and zero lighting other than round the toilet block. The facilities are functional and at the end of the day you're camping, not in a hotel. A bit of sand never killed anybody anyway. The lack of a clear (as in sign this contract when you arrive) and enforced noise policy is a significant concern, though is likely to be primarily a problem during peak times only.

Scores

Location - 10 - central to a lot of beaches and places, even in a week we couldn't cover it all

Facilities - 6 - functional but needs updating, communal showers seems a bit weird these days though useful for parents with younger children. Wifi needs sorting out, desperately

Value - 7 - the camping itself seems good value, but coin fed showers have no place in the 21st century and they felt expensive given the unlimited hot water in the taps

Customer service - 10 - what little we required was fine

Child friendliness - 5 - the lack of effective noise control, lack of even the most basic lighting in the playground and the inability to supervise your child from a few 10s of feet away from your tent

Overall - 8 - it does what it says on the tin, at a good price and a good location. It could be a lot worse, but it could also be improved whilst still maintaining that more and possibly desirable rustic edge 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 132 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit to Alston Farm. We pitched in the top field, opposite the main site. There were no more than half a dozen others in this field all weekend so loads of space. The field slopes gently although there are flatter areas at the top and bottom of the hill. The entrance is untidy, next to the bins and tired looking outbuildings, one of which is a toilet/shower block! This runs on 20 pence pieces. We did have issues with the water being shut off one night, although the meters still took our money. The shower blocks on the main site worked fine. The whole place is looking run down and the facilities are in need of an update.

It is an hour's walk along narrow, high banked country lanes into Salcombe. There is much fauna and flora in the hedgerows, just watch out for the locals/yachties in their 4x4's. There isn't much room to pass, even when walking!

The location is amazing, with numerous beauty spots all within a short drive. The campsite is adequate, but nothing to get excited about. The personal touches noted at our previous visit were missing. Improvements to the facilities are overdue. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Morts 9 reviews from this member

 We have just arrived back from a very wet bank holiday weekend at Alston Farm. The facilities are basic but adequate and clean. The showers use 20p, I used two for a quick shower and hair wash. The hairdryer also uses 20p but dried my long hair with one 20p.

We had a flat pitch in the overflow field with electric. Our pitch was flat and the ground was very amenable to our pegs.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The small but well stocked shop was open in the mornings and afternoons. On the saturday evening there was a visit from the fish and chip van. The chips were lovely and came in huge portions too.

The surrounding area is beautiful, some amazing coastline and lots of wildlife. Our kids loved mackerel fishing in the sea.

We didn't get chance to use the dog walk or play park due to the weather but the park looked well equipped and the dog walk appeared more than adequate.

In short this site is great if you are satisfied with standard facilities rather than ones which have been heavily invested in.

We would go back but hopefully in better weather! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nix12 1 review from this member

 Have visited Alston Farm a few times now and keep meaning to write a review so hear it is. Alston Farm is situated at the base of a valley on the side of the Salcombe Estuary. The caravan park paddocks are amongst rolling hills and offer you a wide choice of pitches, elevated positions, sheltered corners, secluded nooks and crannies.

At this time of year nature is abundant, hedgerows full of wildlife and wild flowers, even foxgloves. This morning I woke to complete silence other than happy bird song. On my walk to the toilet block there were rabbits pottering and strutting pheasants.

To me this a world away from my manic work life and I now feel completely relaxed ready for the next working week.

The facilities are more than sufficient. Yes, basic but ample toilets blocks and showers where ever you decide to pitch. Though dated all are clean and tidy. The pitch price reflects the basic facilities but these are more than compensated by the parks natural beauty. It is a rural campsite. There is plenty of space, a great children's play area and a well thought out dog walk through a wooded valley. There is also a small shop on site open first thing and early evening selling your basics as well as laundry facilities and loads of washing up areas. A fish and chip van visits Friday evenings and is very reasonably priced.

All in all if you want a site for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle, this is for you.

I will be returning again this season. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vaughnsins 4 reviews from this member

 A very beautiful campsite in a very beautiful part of the world. We stayed in the overflow tent field and had the most peaceful break there. The facilities were suitable for the job and we were able to freeze our ice blocks with ease. A great location for all the best beaches, and a wonderful view of Salcombe estuary from our field. A fantastic camping experience. We shall definitely visit again 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jarmie40 2 reviews from this member

 Camped here over the bank holiday weekend for 3 days. It is relatively close to home and we know the area well. The site is in a truly beautiful location and we were given a pitch up on the upper terrace, The pitch was generously sized, had electric hook up and was level. The campsite supervisor was helpful and flexible and allowed our friends to pitch next to us even though they had been allocated to a pitch further down. Salcombe is a short drive away as are the beautiful beaches of Hope Cove, Thurlestone and the surfing haven of Bantham.

Pitch fees are very reasonable but it is only on seeing the facilities that you realise why! There are a number of toilet and shower blocks across the site, but it is clearly geared up for the numerous static caravans on site. Showers and toilet blocks are separate. Each are bare concrete and the stencilled information on the walls gives it almost a concentration camp feel. Showers are basic and need a supply of 20 pences to work. There is plenty of hot water - but there appears to be no limiters on the temperature and the water was scaldingly, dangerously hot. The showers were also not always clean - the bin in the ladies shower block was not emptied at all over the 3 days we were there and the contents were less than sanitary! The laundry room on site was a real education in how washing facilities have moved on - an actual mangle and an iron that a 1950's housewife would've been proud of - all required further 20p coins to be used and no sign of a pat test anywhere! And although several sinks were provided, there was no hot water supply. Dishwashing facilities are also basic, with none of the sink areas having lights and the sink block near to our tent was cold water only with an unlabelled hot tap attached to the shower block a short distance away - we only discovered this by accident on the second day and this was after finding a couple washing their clothes in the dishwashing sinks - which sort of put us off!

It's such a shame, it's clearly a well used and well located site but is in desperate need of some investment to bring the facilities up to date. There is a small, well stocked and very reasonably priced shop on site and you can order newspapers. There is also a shed with a freezer for ice blocks and this is offered free of charge. Would I stay again - because of the location, yes, but definitely not for more than a night or two! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RichieP 3 reviews from this member

 Site well sign posted but maize of rough tracks to site is somewhat confusing with public tracks running right through the site and splitting some of the areas up. We stayed on the terrace area with EHU which was flat and sheltered.

That is where to good news stops. Toilet and wash blocks are circa 1950's in appearance, finish and functionality. Laundry facilities where even worse bordering on unusable and certainly not fit for purpose. Many of the wash areas are semi open plan and open topped to the elements. There seemed to be very little attention to hygiene. It was a great shame as the site is located in a good position above one of the creeks into Salcombe.

Small shop opening for an hour or two mornings and evenings with very basic stock of essentials.

If you are fussy about your washing facilities, laundry or dishwashing areas, then this is maybe not the site for you. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Alston Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alston Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Alston Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Salcombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


50259 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement