Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West Runton Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer > West Runton Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

West Runton Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Holgate Lane
West Runton
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 9NW
Tel: 01263 837544
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           01/04/2022 to 02/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dottylou 3 reviews from this member

 Level site. Good washing facilities.

Nice play area for the children. Access to the site was very narrow and bumpy.

Easy walk to Cromer and also west Runton beach.

Would definitely stay again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jamesvolunteer 11 reviews from this member

 I always enjoy coming here. For a solo tent traveller, it is perfect (if you like walking). The walk to and along the coast is amazing, and allows you to take in some woodland, town and beach in equal measure.

The main criticism of the site (the appraoch road), I don't actually have a problem with. It's unique and makes you feel like you're really getting away from it all. Basically with a bit of organisation, there are few issues.

The staff have been excellent whenever I've been, and have always been very keen to help me out with directions etc.

Great site overall. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: KatieBooth 1 review from this member

 Lovely site and facilities. Short drive to many beaches so a great location to explore.

Sandringham is just up the road too. I didnít find the road noise too loud at all, I only noticed it once.

Itís a dusty site due to the Sandy soil but again that didnít worry us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ANNIE1971 8 reviews from this member

 The site itself was very nice. Facilities could have been better. The area was fantastic a 20 minute walk down to the beach a lovely walk down.

The wardens well to say it's the friendly club not sure there knew the meaning of friendly. Why are wardens letting us down.

We had a issue on departing the site made us feel like we were a burden very rude to us.

We will not return again. Come on Caravan and Camping Club please sort your Wardens out. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JanHu 1 review from this member

 As previous reviewers have said, the access road is in a poor condition and I can imagine that people with larger motor homes and caravans would feel uneasy driving up and down.

The site was busy while we were there, with a lot of turnover so it wasnít as peaceful as we had hoped, and the timing of a NATO air exercise added to the noise on several evenings until very late.

There was only one toilet block open, and although the staff made valiant efforts to keep it clean, they couldnít keep on top of it, largely because of the high volume of people using the facilities, and because of the very poor state of repair of the block.

The menís side in particular was poor, especially the showers which were always awash with dirty water making it unpleasant to get dry and dressed.

This was our first stay on a Camping and Caravanning club site and Iím not sure Iíd want to repeat it. We were surrounded by huge motor homes and caravans which dwarfed our tent.

It didnít feel particularly friendly somehow. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rival 1 review from this member

 Although I was told that I had booked the wrong night everything was sorted out very quickly with no fuss

All I can say is Thank you and I wish more people had this can do attitude

Good site run by gray people 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Funky 18 reviews from this member

 We were so looking forward to come here to West Runton

How disappointed I am.

The entrance road is a nightmare. Rough and full of potholes. The wardens on arrival ma e one feel as if life is one big chore, which they don't enjoy in the least.

The facilities need a bit more attention than the occasional waving about with mastic gun.

Lastly.

Of you don't into key planes don't come. The noise is incessant. Even then they can't be e seen but it's loud enough to rattle our van.

All in all. Not a very pleasant experience. Come on C&CC. You can do far better than this. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mallor 1 review from this member

 Whilst the site was full it was a peaceful stay and the site team were active in administering the site and keeping us safe

It was unfortunate that we could not get a pitch with services and whilst we recognise that certain facilities were not available the size of site warrants a restaurant facility 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sam bunker 2 reviews from this member

 It's a very busy site but manages to stay peaceful and quiet.

The wardens are doing a good job of keeping the loos clean. Only one block is open at the moment and in that block only half the toilets are in use. I never had to wait to use the loo though.

Plenty of lovely walks to do from the site and you'd be bonkers not to go and watch the beautiful sunsets from the top of the hills at the back of the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jeanlp 2 reviews from this member

 The access down to the site is dreadful, potentially dangerous, possibly the worst I have ever used. The access lane to the site is in horrendous condition with deep ruts, scree. , narrow and manic cambers, not for the fainthearted.

The site is quite pretty, with pedestrian access to East and West Runton and beaches. The wardens are pleasant, under difficult circumstances.

The toilet block I saw was old and needed some attention. Because of Covid, most of the facilities were closed, which made life difficult. One of the 2 toilet blocks was closed and the only available toilet block was closed for 2 hours every morning for cleaning, leaving 1 disabled toilet for 100 units for 2 hours.

To make matters worse on two occasions whilst we were there the disabled toilet was also closed for cleaning - not good ! There must have been 100 units on the site (too many for 1 toilet block to be open, with only 3 toilets and the same number of showers in the ladies block. We ran out of gas but they couldn't sell up any - covid !

We asked for a copy of the surrounding area for footpaths, we were near the gate and numerous people wee asking directions, they could'nt provide any because of Covid ! and no takeaway food sellers could come on site - Covid !

Yet another issue with the site was the access to the camping area once through the gate. Because there was only 1 lane in, there was almost always a queue to get to your pitch, whilst waiting for newcomers to sign in.

There was no Wifi on the site and the site was in a dad area for some mobile signals. This wasn't mentioned in the site description. There was no playground for the children, although the playground itself was very good.

Compare this to the Caravan Club Site just a short distance away. We had to go there for gas and noticed that everything was open, even though they clearly had in place Covid controls and would you know, takeaway vans were allowed on site - we actually saw a chippy van whilst we were there. The access was a doddle

None of the above was the fault of the staff - they have their instructions, but I believe that the C and C Club are using the Covid issue to their advantage and using Covid for not doing things.

In my view, their measures were draconian and unnecessary. Incidentally, there was no reduction in tariff offered even though most of the facilities were out of use. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is West Runton Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is West Runton Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cromer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3231 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement