Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Waveney River Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burgh St Peter > Waveney River Centre Reviews

Waveney River Centre
Staithe Road
Burgh St Peter
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR34 0DE
Tel: 01502 677343
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 159 Reviews
                9/10 from 159 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  159 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Kayleighhb88 1 review from this member

 We arrived at Waveney River Centre on their first opening day after COVID-19 closures.

The staff were lovely and polite and also organised and knew what they were doing.

The showers and toilets were regularly cleaned. The restaurant was well organised with separate entrance and exit doors.

We hired canoes and also a boat for the afternoon which was lovely.

The view over the river was nice and our friends hired some Yurts which were nice and cosy with a little fire.

Will definitely come back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Darren36554xhc 1 review from this member

 Fantastic place, all the staff more than helpful, everything so clean.

Great selection of things to do.

It was so good we have booked up to go again next year with other members of the family

Thanks to the crew. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Victoria Lee 1 review from this member

 We stayed in 3 of the pods and they were fabulous.

Clean, dry and lovely and warm.

Quiet location and a perfect spot for the children as the play area was just outside.

Swimming pool and shower block were all really clean.

We will definitely be back we loved it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bobswan57 1 review from this member

 Good facilities.

Everything clean and tidy. Well stocked shop.

Reception staff helpful.

Always lots going on as site is next to the river.

Worth taking the foot ferry over the river and walking to Oulton Broad 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Angie Fox 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed on Kingfisher pitch which was good size & views of marina, individual clean shower /toilet & basin unit with keypad lock for entry.

Friendly staff, loved free use of swimming pool & jacuzzi.

We took our own kayak & Sup & was great to use their slipway, you can also rent them there if you want.

We also hired boat for half day which was fun.

Will definitely be using this site again.

Dislikes. Nothing 10/10 
via mobile

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Campocassionally 1 review from this member

 Stayed on this site with my daughter.

We hadn't been camping for years but had a go and absolutely loved the site, beautiful location and facilities were very clean with friendly staff.

The situation allowed us to drive to various locations which were all within a reasonable distance.

Made a trip to Africa Zoo which was brilliant and to a stately home amongst other places.

Contrasting places to see and things to do which made such an interesting stay.

The site is spacious enough to have privacy or join in. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tim Wood 11 reviews from this member

 This really is a lovely site!

Just returned after a 2 night stay. We were 2 couples in 2 tents and had pitches 4 & 5 on 'Coot', right by the water front. Huge pitches on 'Coot' to accommodate the largest of tents.

The grass pitches, I think, must have taken a battering this summer as grass was fairly scarce, but due to the size of the pitch we were able to pitch on the grassiest part. Just gorgeous to wake with the sun rising over the trees in the distance and casting amazing reflections on the water.

Great individual showers, each with loo and basin. Didn't use the pool but it did look lovely. Well stocked shop and pub was nice too. Will definitely return. Next time will try a yurt, they looked brilliant. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bahhumbugessexgirl 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a long weekend camping and couldn't fault this site. The pitches had a perfect view over the marina.

The on site pub served really nice food and the staff in the pub and on reception were so friendly and helpful (even when one family decided they didn't want to pay for their meal and were shockingly rude to staff. Staff handled them really well, not sure I could have kept my cool with such nasty people).

You can hire boats there too, which we did, the instructions were excellent and even though we're not 'boaty' people, we thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon on the water.

The centre also has a lovely indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. What more could you wish for!

All in all, a spotless site and we will be going back. Thank you Waveney River Centre for an amazing long weekend :) 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Strider212 2 reviews from this member

 Just a weekend away visit, the directions given on the website are very good, it says not to trust a sat nav so I didn't even use one.

We visited the weekend after the beast from the East storm, the snow was gone but the roads were wet (Very dirty van), and the roads are very narrow and pretty much single track (With passing places). On the way the road was dotted with some large potholes, but on the way back they had been filled by the local council :-).

So on to the site itself.

Fist impression was it was fairly small, we were on the king fisher pitches, which are fully serviced, make sure you have a suitable length of water pipe as I turned up with a standard off the shelf water kit and found it about 4 meters too short and the on site shop did not seem to stock water connectors or drainage pipe etc, the view was wonderful, looking out from an elevated position down to the river and marina.

As it was very early in the season there were not many visitors on the other pitches lower down toward the marina, even when the site is full I would imagine the view would still be good. Again as it was quiet we had the indoor swimming pool to ourselves which was clean and warm, with changing rooms and showers.

Only one of the toilet blocks was open at the time of our visit, but I would imagine that they are all usable in high season.

They were clean and warm, each with a toilet and sink, the doors were code locked, so if your anything like me write it down as by the time I had walked the whole 1 minute distance I had forgotten it!

The staff were friendly and the shop on site was very useful as we run out of teabags !.

The Waveney Inn was nice, a basic menu, fish and chips, burgers, pasta etc and what ever was on the special board such a steaks, but the portion sizes were very good and it was very well presented and tasty. The staff were great and dogs are welcome as well.

All in all a very relaxed location and we will certainly visit again 


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 266 reviews from this member

 A lovely site and not too expensive for what is on offer - free swimming included in the price and we had the pool to ourselves, there is also a Jacuzzi which was a first for us.

There is a shop which sells most things, including wine but not spirits, so buy these at Morrisons near the main road at the edge of Beccles.

We had a meal in the pub, but it was only average.

The ferry is not running at this time of year; we were taken across the river in a day boat. There is no landing stage on the far side of the river, just a muddy bank. Coming back the tide had gone out and we had to access the boat by a foot wide plank at a 45 degree angle. OH had to carry the dog, don't know how he did it, and both OH and the boatman had to hang onto my hands. So would suggest not using it in the winter.

The road to the site is a nightmare, and muddy, your car and caravan will get filthy.

Don't let any of the above put you off, it really is lovely. 


Previous     159 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waveney River Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Waveney River Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waveney River Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waveney River Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Burgh St Peter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4250 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements