Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sparchford Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Ludlow > Sparchford Farm Reviews

Sparchford Farm
Culmington
Ludlow
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY8 2DE
Tel: 01584 861222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 18

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LOOPYLUNAR 9 reviews from this member

 If you want peace and quiet then don't visit on a weekend or bank holiday. Signs stating no ball games, kite flying or frisbees. All units must be at least 17 feet apart. Either some people can't read or they just don't care because children were playing football (which can cause expensive damage to a 'van), and, next unit to mine, no more than ten feet. There is cctv on site which does work. I don't think the owner cares as long as they get the money in. The last half mile to the site is a narrow lane with the vegetation growing over the road. Cutting it down to no more than seven feet. Will we visit again, not in my lifetime. I would rather pay ten pounds a night more. Ps. The hardstandings are road planings over soil with the soil seeping through. Owners, please spend a little money making your site a little better. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CarryOnCamper66 3 reviews from this member

 Myself and wife have camped here a few times and have always been very happy with it. It is in a beautiful location, very quiet and rural, and the main point which I always liked is that the caravans and tents are in separate areas.

We camped here at Spring bank holiday weekend and I'm sorry to say that things have slipped. Only a small portion of the tent field was mown, the remainder being too dense to drive through. As a result people were camped shoulder to shoulder on the two strips of the field that had been mown and it was uncomfortably crowded. The grass was too long for children to play ball games on so they were playing football on the mown strips where the tents were. I'm not a Victor Meldrew (five kids and one grandchild) but I can take a football being kicked at my tent and car for so long.

The showers and toilets were upgraded a few years ago and are very nice. They are usually immaculately cleaned but they weren't great this time (thank you to the site owners though for finally putting door knobs on the inside of the shower doors as previously when you shut yourself in the shower it was extremely difficult to get the door open again. I used a car key to prise the door open one time so I could get out).

We gave up after one night and went home.

Maybe the very long grass was an oversight. Shame. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mragt 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 7 nights here at 15 per night (2 extra for hook-up). Had the tent field to ourselves for 2 nights out of 7. The tent field is a field on a slight slant with longer grass in the centre and mown grass around the edge. The facilities comprised of a washing-up area, recycling/rubbish, men's/ ladies' toilets/showers and drinking water. The toilets/showers were kept spotless throughout the week.

Nearest shops were in Aston Munslow, Craven Arms and Ludlow. Great butchers (Wall's) in Craven Arms. Great pub in Corfton, The Sun Inn, with its own brewery.

This is an absolute gem of a sight, and a great place for exploring the surrounding countryside.

(If going on the Heart of Wales Line, I would recommend Ffairfach as a great place to stop off for food, with two pubs, a butchers and a post office. ) 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helgahw 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a totally relaxing week at Sparchford. Its a very simple site, quiet with lovely views from the tent field. The owners were very friendly and helpful and after the weekend we had the place to ourselves so very peaceful! Close to Ludlow and beautiful Shropshire countryside. We had electrical hookup which we achieved by throwing the connector over a high hedge - you do need a decent length lead if you are in the camping field. Spotlessly clean loos and showers, fully tiled. The mens shower was a bit of a dribble unless you waited a while for a pump to kick in but that was a minor inconvenience. Can really recommend this if you are looking for a quiet, simple, rural break. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Celtic1 13 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site! It is surrounded as far as the eye can see, by farm land.

The owners are incredibly helpful and friendly. We had a problem with our electric hook up and the owners were quick to sort it out.

Even though it was half term. The tent field was very peaceful and for 3 days out of 7 we had the whole field to ourselves!Even when 'busy' there were only about 6 tents.

We arrived in torrential rain. And the tent field did get very muddy.

The pitches are flat and there are wild flowers and long grass in the middle of the field. It was so lovely watching the butterflies and swallows. Flying about.

The showers whilst new. Could really use some descaler. Solely because. The showers would spray fairly well at the perimeter of the shower head. But. No water came from the middle. So. If you stood directly under the shower. You would be completely dry.

There are no walks from the site. And we had to drive every where.

Despite the negatives. This is a wonderful campsite. Great views. Really. Really quiet. With delightful owners and I would not hesitate to go back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sasquatch 3 reviews from this member

 We visit this site at least twice a year. We meet up with friends who haven't any kind of unit and so they rent the static on the site and we take our motorhome. We never tire of Ludlow especially at festival time. At the arts festival we saw Jools Holland and the Searchers and The Hollies. Good local pubs and its a foodies paradise.

Recently the site has rebuilt the toilets and washroom with a continental type food prep and washing up area.

There is also a tent camping field. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sasquatch 3 reviews from this member

 Returned for a fourth time for the Arts festival.

Site facilities have been upgraded, new toilets and showers-super.

The site is a 10-15 minute drive from Ludlow via the Golf course and race track. Local pubs are unique notably The Apple Tree in Onibury, its in the old village store and a free house with good real ale.

Ludlow itself is a foodies paradise with different markets on various days ranging from local produce to antiques and bric a brac. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cassper85uk 1 review from this member

 I would go back to this lovely campsite on a nice farm, all the facilities were well looked after the shower was hot. The owners were really friendly, they let us use there freezer for our ice blocks. The area is in the middle of lovely country side but not too far from local town Ludlow. My partner and I had fun bird watching from our tent, as well as the lovely walks through the country side. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KevP 7 reviews from this member

 Myself and three children(12, 10 and 7) spent a lovely weekend at this beautiful spot. If you're looking for a quiet good old basic campsite with clean facilities for only 11 per night then this is it.

The campsite has an area with hard standing and electric hook ups for the caravans and a separate field for the tents. The field was huge and although there is a sign saying no balls games my kids played football and cricket and nobody was inconvenienced as there is so much room.

Previous reviewers mentioned the paucity of shower facilities but we never had to wait to use them. 1 provides eight minutes of hot water.

Mrs Jones the owner was very helpful and was always replenishing the loo rolls and cleaning the shower blocks. The site provides a good base for exploring - we visited Ludlow - great Saturday market and unusual shops, a medieval castle and historic buildings- something of interest for all the family.

In Ludlow there is a co-op and a tesco and in nearby Craven Arms there is a Harry Tuffins which is worth a visit. Not far away too is the farm which was used to film A Victorian Farm on the BBC - Acton Scott. On the day we visited they had a day of old fashioned crafts which was fascinating. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shollis 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 5 nights over the whitsun bank holiday. The positives: This is a lovely quiet, friendly site tucked away in beautiful scenery. The warden is very friendly and there is plenty of space available with mainly flat pitches.

The toilet and shower facilities were always very clean but unfortunately this does lead me on to the one big negative: There is only one ladies toilet and shower and one mens toilet and shower.

There were 3 portaloos but unfortunately these do not have sinks so you have to go back to the main wash block to wash your hands. This also means there is only one sink for each sex so the morning and evening queues to wash were a bit long.

This would be ok if the number of units was kept low but while we were there, there were 12 caravans and 24 tents! However this may have been because it was a bank holiday.

Overall though we had a lovely stay and there is plenty to do in the area, I would particularly recommend carding mill vally as it is simply stunning. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sparchford Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sparchford Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sparchford Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ludlow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement