Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grouse And Claret Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Rowsley > Grouse And Claret Caravan Park Reviews

Grouse And Claret Caravan Park
Station Road
Rowsley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 2EB
Tel: 01629 733233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 28
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 96 Reviews
                7/10 from 96 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Brendan Moroney 1 review from this member

 Great facilities, very clean. excellent food in the pub. nothing to dislike

We will be returning for sure.

Plenty to do and see in the surrounding area great for walking /biking etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lorrai 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Really clean. Staff are very helpful.

The security man Gary is lovely. Very helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

Very relaxing and peaceful camp site. Highly recommend.

Cant wait to go back. The toilets and showers are very clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Shirle 1 review from this member

 We were staying 2 nights but stopped an extra night. The site is well kept and lovely setting.

The pub on site is an added bonus with a nice outside area and dog friendly. The food is really good we had lunch Friday 2 courses 10.50 then Sunday lunch which is 11.95 but well worth it.

You are in easy reach of matlock, bakewell and Buxton has well as Chatsworth.

My only concern are they really need an extra waste bin there was far to much rubbish stacked up also the bins are placed in front of the fire extinguishers which would be impossible to get at if there was a fire.

You have to park your car in the car park not at the side of your van. That is not problem it makes it safer for children to play also the site looks better. But you still get some who don't heedto the rules or just think they are better then everyone else.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueswa 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights whilst we visited friends and dealt with some family business, so it was a mixed visit business and pleasure. We had stayed once before.

The showers were fine and the site only had 4 other people. Check in took a while as only the third staff member I spoke to knew how to do it.

We left our table and chairs on our allocated spot when we went off for the day only to find on our return our neighbours had taken them assuming we had forgotten them. They did return them as soon as we got back but in all our extensive travels in Europe and at home, we have never had that happen to us before. There were also some quite loud radios!

On the second evening we treated our friends to a meal in the pub. Sitting outside in the garden was pleasant except for some very rowdy customers next to us. The meal was disappointing, the staff inexperienced and not familiar with the concept of good customer service.

I think we will find an alternative next time we go to visit Derbyshire. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Springer52 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent 1 night stay

Toilets and showers spotless cleaned at 6 am as well as in the day, better than some campsites we have been to

The only thing was the grass was ready for cutting but if it had been cut would probably been took into motorhome as a lot of mowers donít pick grass up 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulineah 1 review from this member

 This is a great site, we have been visiting and staying on it every year since 2002 and love it

Great management. changes every time, great updates of sites and toilets which I may add all clean.

Great food for dining we had lovely food there and great service not just from waitresses but manager too.

See you all again soon 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Markly 1 review from this member

 Great caravan site next to the river x

The pub is great and the staff are lovely and friendly x

Showers closed atm due to covid, toilets open 8am till midday,

£27 per night, the site is next door to a shopping village and it is also on a bus route.

Will definitely be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Shens3 1 review from this member

 Brilliant campsite, landlord very friendly and accommodating. We had an excellent time as usual and are going back in 2 weeks.

We had a meal in the pub garden and this was excellent too.

Would highly recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: PHILLD 1 review from this member

 The site was level and hard standing with little room for an awning, the car will need to be parked on the pub car park.

All Facilities are found to be clean and warm and comfortable.

The Pub are accommodating as I was leaving on a Sunday and booked for a Sunday lunch and was told it was ok to leave the unit in place till we left after the meal.

I will return as the area has a lot to offer 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dunx 2 reviews from this member

 The Grouse and Claret is in an excellent location situated between Matlock and Bakewell on the A6. There are bus stops within a couple of hundred yards to Matlock and Derby to the south and Bakewell and Buxton to the north. The adjoining public house serves excellent food from a Covid related restricted menu.

However, the site itself is disappointing. The male and female toilet/shower block is clean but there are only 2 small hangers within the shower compartment and nowhere to place soap, flannel or shampoo. The floor became very wet very quickly.

Attached to the toilet block is the one and only fresh water tap. Within the 28-pitch ground there is no grey water drain. There is a drain for chemical toilet waste which could be used for the grey water but it's around 15-inches above the ground.

As some of the waste water containers hold 45-litres, lifting them to empty them is not an easy feat. Although Wifi is available the signal is poor as is mobile phone and TV reception.

There is supposed to be TV through connectors at each pitch but they didn't work. At £25 pn during the week and £28 pn at the weekend I thought it was poor value for money. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grouse And Claret Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grouse And Claret Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Grouse And Claret Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rowsley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4185 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement