Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Forest Edge Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Forest Edge Holiday Park
229 Ringwood Road
St Leonards (new Forest)
Ringwood
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH24 2SD
Tel: 01590 648331
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 5 February To 3 January

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 64 Reviews
                5/10 from 64 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (7)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TentLover101 1 review from this member

So much goodness in this park I love it. If you want you can add me up on Facebook I do loads of reviews on campsites just search 'George Hodgson'. Ill be the fat boy with a scarf tied to my neck. My Gf is Tash Barney we run a YT channel of showing love to tents.

Yours Sincerly, GBO.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pompeyphil 2 reviews from this member

Noisy, dirty and generally run down. I agree with the previous comments. We took our new (first) caravan for a couple of nights as we knew access was easy and it was near where we live.

We won't be back!

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Harley hiker 2 reviews from this member

My husband & I booked 2 nights at this site and we're looking forward to our first weekend away of 2015. Arrived early afternoon on the Friday, unfortunately the Camp Warden was not in the reception but elsewhere on the campsite, luckily there was an electrician turned up same time as we did and he called the warden on his mobile, first impressions did not bode well, no explanation or apology was offered, but was very friendly and as the site was empty we could pick and choose which would suit us best. The toilet block was freshly painted and was clean and warm. We decided to go for a swim at Oak Dene, which was lovely and quiet used the steam room & sauna. Reception staff were to busy gossiping to acknowledge we wanted to know about any evening entertainment, offhand comment was there is a notice but the function room door, extremely small board which was hard to read as we neither had our glasses with us, nice lad promoting the Go Active stall read it for us. This is not a site we would return to, due to soulless camping area, noisy dual carriageway and general poor attitude of staff at Oak Dene, think they need retraining on Customer Service. On a final note no recycling bins so glass went in general waste.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andypandy0192 3 reviews from this member

Booked two nights here but only stayed one night as we were woken at 1. 30am by a car outside our window and the occupants being so noisy they did not give hoot about anybody else. The site is too noisy and run down. Would never stay again. We complained to the owners who replied that no refund would be given. Dump.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tappm 2 reviews from this member

We packed up and left after one night of our 3 night booking! I honestly couldn't believe the traffic noise, it was like trying to sleep next to the M25! The proximity of the A31 dual carriageway is ridiculous. Why would you put a camp site here!??

Ok so the site itself - tiny pitches, dirty little swimming pool, outdated facilities, electrical hookup box was hanging off, noisy fellow campers.

For me, camping is about the peace and quiet and wide open spaces, so definitely not for me

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markhcfc 2 reviews from this member

This site backs on to the A31 which is fine, unfortunately Shorefield forgot to mention that overnight roadworks were going for two weeks from 10pm through to 5. 30am, the noise was horrendous, didn't sleep a wink. Had a moan in the morning to the warden who acknowledged that they had been informed !

After a day at the beach returned to find the showers not working in either male and female areas, other guests said they had been breaking down all week. The warden said it was the weekend and he couldn't do anything about it and walked off, had to wash the kids in a bowl of water.

Also the outdoor pool is only open Saturday and Sunday, again not mentioned anywhere.

Asked if we could stay on the pitch for an extra couple of hours so we could use the pool bearing in mind the above, told we would be asked to leave the pool and site at 12. 00

Certainly wouldn't recommend this site !

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ImmortalDruid 3 reviews from this member

We booked in to Forest Edge, last minute, having arranged to meet up with friends staying at neighbouring Oakdene. We were allocated a pitch by the entrance.

The night we stayed the charge was 36. The toilet/shower block was adequate, though rather grubby looking, I feel this is due more to the age of the decor than the efforts of the staff, who do their best.

The CDP is ridiculously high, I am disabled and have limited use of one arm, so although emptying the loo is usually my job, this time my husband got lumbered as I was unable to reach the CDP. I hate having to be dependent on my husband for simple chores like this and it quite upset me. Please can something be sorted about this.

The cost we felt was a tad high for the facilities, though we were offered the use of the better facilities on neighbouring Oakdene, this involves a hike through the woods, over some very rough terrain, due to the recent bad weather. Not good for disabled visitors, and would definitely not be accessible by wheelchair.

We could find no parking spaces at Oakdene that would accommodate our motor home, so walking was our only option. We did get a taxi back, but the driver told us that we were lucky to get one as they usually refused to do this run as it is too close by! Disabled motorhome users are out of luck totally then!

The children loved the playpark, though were unable to use the pool as the lifeguard disappeared, despite the pool supposedly being open! Never mind.

Forest Edge is rather noisy, being situated on the A31. Convenient for access but not so good for restful sleep!

On a positive note, the facilities at Forest Edge are outshone in every way by the staff, who are cheerful, friendly and helpful.

Overall, the staff are fantastic, but the price does not reflect the facilities available on site. Its great for an overnight stop, but perhaps customers could be offered a cheaper price, if they are not able/wanting to use the facilities at Oakdene?

Personally, I think next time we need an overnight stop, we will find a convenient lay-by for free!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 30 reviews from this member

Been on Shorefields sites before & couldn't fault them, both touring and in statics. I get the feeling that they have only just recently acquired this site? Pitches are far too small and tightly packed in, staff are very helpful though.

Amenity block very very outdated and not up to the job! This will hopefully change as Shorefields stamp their mark on site. I saw people struggle to empty their waste water containers. How can you lift 30+kgs up 0. 5mtrs to empty them out. H&S should be paramount? Not everyone camping is Conan the Barbarian!

Police came in one night to arrest unruly element. Not good when you have an 89 year old lady camping with you! Good base to visit the area, but would not return until fully revamped.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gary404 11 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for the weekend, as we were meeting friends for a large dog walk in the New Forest.

The site is small and because of the time of year, not a lot of facilities available and the on site shop was sparse, as expected.

It is a noisy site with the dual carriageway so close and the aircraft/helicopter noise which is louder from the sister site. A local said it was from Bournemouth Airport?

The shower blocks where clean but did need updating. The warden was great, really helpful guy.

You can walk to the sister site, through the woods just across the road or by road along the dual carriageway.

Because you could walk to the sister site through the woods, we could easy meet up with friends staying in the static caravan on that site, although you wouldn't want to walk that way at night Lol Very Dark.

All in all not a bad site for a weekend stop off, but not sure I would want to stay on it at the height of summer.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hazmaz 1 review from this member

We stayed at Forest Edge in early August with our 2 children aged 3 and 5 and had a great time.

The site was well sheltered (which was a relief having had a previous bad camping experience involving a cheap tent, gales and a campsite in open fields. We now have a stronger tent and never choose a campsite on the East coast!)

There was the road noise, as you would expect from being so close to the A31, but it did not keep us awake and I feel this is reflected in the price.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful and there is a small well-stocked shop on site and Sainsburys 5 minutes away in the car. We made sure we specified the size of our tent on booking, and our pitch (no 4) was big enough for our tent (Kampa Filey 6) and very close to the toilet/shower block.

Also on site is a play area, which the kids spent a lot of time on and an outdoor pool which consisted of a smaller paddling pool which was perfect for my 2, and a slightly larger pool to swim in.

The toilet and shower blocks were a little dated but were cleaned at least twice a day, which is more important to me than the decor.

A short walk through the woods (about 20 minutes with our children) is Oakdene, the sister site, where there is a restaurant which did OK food ( if a little pricey), an indoor pool with a slide that the kids liked and jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which I liked. For the evening entertainment, there is a club room with a large dancing squirrel and a larger play area outside (where our kids spent most of the evening as they were terrified of the large dancing squirrel!) Be warned, the walk back through the woods to Forest Edge is very scary in the dark if you have ever watched the Blair Witch Project, so take a torch or designate a driver and take the car round!

The location is excellent - close to Bournemouth, Poole and most importantly Peppa Pig World!

We will definitely be returning.

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2288 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019