Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ynysymaengwyn Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Tywyn > Ynysymaengwyn Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Ynysymaengwyn Caravan And Camping Park
Ynysymaengwyn
Tywyn
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL36 9RY
Tel: 01654 710684
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 1st April - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pjfdinosaur 2 reviews from this member

Fabulous site really enjoyed our stay. Great location. Really looked after. Level pitches. Toilet facilities are cleaned daily and are very good. Lovely views. Near enough to the beach and pubs and shops etc. Rita in the office is very friendly and helpful and the walks in and around the site, with or without a dog, are very good. So looking forward to our next holiday here in a couple of weeks.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Topcat 01 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at the site for 2 nights with our folding camper, when we arrived the reception was closed but a friendly gentleman said to pitch in any space we liked and gave us the code to use the facilities. We popped back when reception was open to pay. The lady in reception was also very friendly. The site was not very busy but the size of the pitches was very good, and at a reasonable price for just the 2 of us. The views of the rolling hills were perfect, and so relaxing. The walks and the information about the site as you walk around the grounds were great, you would just not believe how large the site really is, and the wildlife you see when strolling around is wonderful. Facilities were always clean during our stay and showers were hot and had a large cubicle for showering. We would use this site again if in this part of Wales.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fern smith 3 reviews from this member

Our walking group camped here as part of a long distance walking trail for the second year running. It's in a stunning location, with a view towards the hills and out to farmland with a great oak tree which we camped near. The ground is flat, facilities modern and clean and we found the staff friendly, amenable and welcoming to our walking group. Reasonable price for tents too. Dogs are welcome though we didn't have our own. Very child friendly too.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Si-uk 19 reviews from this member

We as a small group had mixed feelings about this place, first up is don't try and call, it is a waste of time, it took several phone calls and still could not get through to anyone. So call if you are feeling lucky only. Don't try and turn up in between office hours as you would be wasting your time. We wanted to find out the prices and whether a pitch was available but got told to come back several hours later. It was near the second May bank holiday in May and we tried to find somewhere else who could be more helpful. In the end as most places were booked we ended up back here.

The prices were on the steep side as it went by per person and then electric on top, and some pitches cannot hold pegs in a bit of wind, in fact worse in high wind. As they never held out tent and it landed on barbed wire right next to the original pitch. It tore the tent to pieces in places, so I was not very happy, and my tent looks like a patch work of duc tape.

There was only three showers, go for the middle one it is the better one.

Right out with the negative.

The campsite is child friendly, very colourful in places.

The pitches were fairly level and decent sized but not properly marked out. Despite there been only few showers they were decent and the same goes for the toilets etc, over all they were ok.

The campsite has a fantastic woodland walk that can lead to a main path that leads to Tywyn, Bryncrug and near Bird Rock.

It is in a decent location and the surrounding scenery is lovely to gaze at. The only down side to it is getting out from the campsite as it is on a main road.

All in all despite the down bits my time at this campsite was ok. If the customer service would have been better I would have rated this higher. The only advantage of paying per person is if there are few of you, but more than 3 bumps up the price.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HollyMatt388 4 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a weekend at Ynysymaengwyn Caravanning and Campsite in Tywyn, Wales and I have to say, we had a lovely time.

Despite the fact that it rained practically all weekend (standard for Wales I have heard), the scenery and surroundings soon made up for it. This was my first time visiting Wales and I can honestly say I have never stayed in a more beautiful place. The drive through Snowdonia to the campsite was slow, but gorgeous. The campsite itself has stunning views of the mountains and is just a 5 minute drive into Tywyn, where you have the coast.

The steam railway that runs around that area is lovely and definitely worth a visit. There are also lots of lovely little villages nearby where there are plenty of nice pubs and restaurants.

The staff were all very friendly on the site and as there was a big group of us camping (39 people in total), they didnít charge us full price for the pitch and also didnít charge us for the electric hook-ups! The ground was very very hard and even though it had been raining non-stop for a few days, we still bent plenty of tent pegs. The ground is however very level, which was perfect for tents.

The only negative I have about the campsite is the toilet block. It was very dated and was never really clean. There were only 3 showers in the ladies and as you can image, there was always a queue in the mornings to get in one. There were plenty of toilets but again, I never really saw them very clean and the toilet paper had always ran out by late afternoon. The basins were also always covered in hair and mud so cleaning your teeth wasnít really a pleasant experience! I would say that the washing up sinks outside were cleaner! However if you have a caravan with its own bathroom, then I doubt this would bother you and I would certainly recommend the site.

There isnít a shop on site but there is a newspaper van that comes round in the morning so you can buy a paper and there is a Co-op in Tywyn for all your groceries. The ice cream shop down the road is also worth a visit. All the ice cream is freshly made on site with a different flavour of the day each day.

You definitely need a car if you are visiting this are as there isnít really a lot within walking distance. We have said that we would certainly re visit this part of Wales again but would probably pick a campsite with slightly better facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Auto_pilot 1 review from this member

Just got back after a 'trial run' camping trip with eldest son (aged 4). We've had a very enjoyable couple of days and we'll be going again soon.

The site is split in two by an access road, camping and touring caravans on the left, static caravans on the right a little further up the access road.

The camping site is level and an easy pitch. I'd imagine it could get pretty windy. Views great in all directions.

Site has plenty of space, good shower and toilet facilities (visibly being cleaned regularly). Just outside the toilet block are two large washing-up sinks with H/C water, very useful. These were also under cover.

Mostly families with children ranging from primary school age to teens. Quiet by 11pm latest on the two nights we were there. The site is next to the A493 and there was some traffic noise but, coming from Birmingham, it seemed pretty quiet in comparison.

There's a leisure centre with decent swimming pool in Tywyn

We'd also recommend the Tallylyn railway and the waterfall walks from Dolgoch station

Plenty of shops in Tywyn, decent-sized Co-op supermarket amongst them.

We left thinking there was loads to do that we hadn't done, which bodes well for return visits.

£24 all in for a tent with two people, no EHU, two nights.

One minor gripe - we arrived both desperate for the loo. The toilet block has keycoded doors and we didn't have the code. The site office is only open for an hour in the morning and evening, sign on the window saying 'ring the house doorbell in emergency only' - is being desperate for the toilet an emergency? We ended up asking a fellow camper to let us in. Not a problem but it didn't create a great impression as a 'first timer'. Wouldn't be an issue on a second visit as I'd know to phone up and ask for the code.

I did call a couple of days before to confirm the booking but the keycode info wasn't forthcoming.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizbal 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for race the train so it was very busy, maybe it is usually better than this. Despite having booked well in advance it was difficult to find adequate space, if you like camping where your guy ropes overlap your neighbours this is for you! If not avoid at busy times. The number of showers were inadequate for the number of campers and the toilets always ran out of paper and handwash. The floors were cleaned daily but the toilets themselves were not. The entry code lock on the mens toilet broke early one evening but there was nobody around to deal with this. Some brave soul had to climb in through a high window and open the door then leave it propped open.

Very noisy as well despite the proclaimed no noise after 11 policy.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PearceFamily 1 review from this member

Lovely site. Very laid back. Reception could have been open a bit longer but we soon got used to it. Toilets cleaned every morning early.Bit windy at bottom end by trees but have a good tent that stood up to it.

Great family site. We had a 13 year old and a 4 year old with us who found friends to play with. Woods brilliant. We had a lovely walk along the river. Views from site brilliant.

Area great. Found lots to do. Beach at Aberdovey is one of the best you will find.

Did train trip to Barmouth. Not so good as train late and very busy.

Would return to this site and would recommend to others looking for a site that does not have club/bar etc.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blackbomber 2 reviews from this member

Pancake level campsite with excellent facilities, nice hot FREE showers and beautifully manicured grounds. EHU's around perimeter of field, ample stand-pipes dotted about. Cars allowed to park next to pitch, Dogs welcome.

Fantastic views of Cambrian mountains and loads of woodland on-site to explore.

Kids love the guy with a van who comes round every morning with newspapers and essential groceries and sweets.

Booking essential in high season this is a very popular site. Tywyn minutes away, Aberdovey not much further. If you like your camping easy, this site is for you.

Statics are also on site, which are rented and are not owned, so there isn't a feeling that you are intruding on someone else's site.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gasguzzler 5 reviews from this member

Second camp of the year saw us visit Ynysymaengwyn a couple of years after the last visit. There has been some landscaping done to the woods near the site which make for a great walk. The bluebells and wild garlic flowers looked stunning.

The site itself was pretty quiet given the early season so we had no trouble finding a pitch with EHU. The rooks in the trees near where we camped were on form (read noisy) from early morning but after a couple of nights we didn't notice them.

The shower block was clean. The hot water boiler did pack up on the bank holiday Sunday but all credit to the site they somehow managed to get someone to fix it.

There isn't a shop on site but Tywyn is only a two minute drive away for supplies. Warning: if you have kids you will have to drive past the honey bear ice cream factory and will be pestered for one. Don't fight it, go and get one. They are delicious! The beach at Aberdovey is about 10 minutes drive away is superb.

The kids had a great time making and playing with new friends. The playground looks as though its been improved since our last visit. Very impressive.

We'd recommend the site to anyone. Not commercial at all but that's perfect for us!

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Tywyn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


922 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019