Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - St Davids Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

St Davids Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Dwr Cwmwdig
Berea
St Davids
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6DW
Tel: 01348 831376
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04 to 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 21 Reviews
                6/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Saxylydz 10 reviews from this member

The smallest Club site that we have stayed on, but that was very much a postitive for us. It was blissfully quiet, despite our pitch being right next to the reception and facilities, everyone was very quiet.

Facilities were as you would expect for a club site, clean and modern. Plenty of hot water. Washing up area suitable and the laundry facilities very reasonably priced.

Location wise, it was only ok for folks like us, not wanting to drive from the site. There are miles of walks which is lovely, and a great circular down to the blue lagoon, along the cliff top path to Porthgain, for a pint and an ice cream, and then back along the quiet road to the campsite. 6 miles in total and lovely. However, getting to St David's was a bit of faff - the bus timetable wasn't brilliant despite there being a stop outside the campsite - 3 buses a day but random timings - 8. 30am 2. 30pm and I Forget the other one now. It didn't work for us - because we didn't want to have to set an alarm and get bus at 08. 30. So we cycled, the warden said it was flat - not sure he had cycled it before as although it wasn't REALLY steep, it was certainly hard work! Not helped by the fact that on arrival to St David's there was no bike parking available - unusual for such a tourist hotspot.

No mobile signal at all at the site, but 4g popped up again half a mile down the road, and on the cliff path?! Wifi was overpriced and the warden said it wasn't very good anyway so we went without, but that's typical of club sites - really think wifi should be included these days.

Nice enough site though and would best suit those in caravans/tents who have their cars.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Slantie 5 reviews from this member

The site is a little out of the way, but that is the point.

The site owner is always on hand to answer questions and lend a hand.

There is no facilities for kids on site.

The site has few level pitches so bring large levellers.

The site is ideally located for the blue lagoon (redbull diving).

Lovely amenities, warm showers and friendly guests.

This site has a wonderful view for the setting sun.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Care Bear 5 reviews from this member

This campsite is on a sloping and windy field, accessed via single track lanes. The facilities block required going up a step and the shower cubicles were relatively small. They were kept clean. I did not have to queue to use the laundrette. Facilities for actual campers i. E. People with tents, were lacking. It cost 1 to borrow an ice pack; there were no facilities to freeze your own or to charge mobile 'phone or camera batteries.

Despite being advertised as quiet between 11pm and 7am and having WiFi, this is misleading, as the site was very noisy at night with music until 4am, drunk people running around and shouting, vehicle car doors being slammed and dogs barking. Night time disturbances were reported to the warden but he did not get back to me. The WiFi was not working; no apology or refund was issued. Views from the campsite were disappointing.

Dog owning campers a nuisance to local residents. I noticed that turning left out of St David's campsite, signs asking people to refrain from allowing their dogs to foul in their front gardens. I also found dog faeces by the signs.

There is some picturesque surrounding countryside, but it is blighted by inconsiderate dog owners- I was attacked by a dog as soon as I stepped on to the beach after descending the metal steps. St David's town is a boring, ugly little place with dirty dogs in food shops, whose owners even make school children walk in the road in order to avoid their 'precious' dogs taking up the pavement. The accessible parking spaces in the town's car park were the same size as the others! Dogs are even allowed in the cathedral, although not officially.

I wouldn't stay there again if I was paid to.

All Club sites are closed to traffic from 11pm to 7am during which time noise should be kept to a minimum and a quiet period observed for the benefit of all campers.

Friday 9th September 2016 10. 40pm and 11. 40pm dog barking. Around midnight constant vehicle door opening/ closing for around 20mins.

Sunday 11th September 2am drunk men shouting at St David's. Music still being played gone 3am.

Tuesday 13th September radio/ music and St. David's 1. 30am-3. 30am. Caravan radio at 3. 40am.

WiFi- CCC claims to 'work with honesty and integrity'

Did not work and no refund or apology was issued.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sylvieb 24 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site and had a very warm welcome from the warden, who had even taken the trouble to check our name before we booked in - a nice touch. Unfortunately, this was the only positive. We booked in because I had been told St Davids was worth a visit and it appeared this site was very close. Not so, it was about a 10-15 minute drive down very narrow roads. The site itself whilst clean is in dire need of updating. The pitches were not particularly spacious, could just glimpse the sea fro ours. This could be a really nice site, but we were glad to leave after 2 nights.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cybercamperat 9 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Fabulous views of the coast. The holiday managers Keith and Maggie are wonderful.

Most of the pitches are on a slope. Also the site is quite exposed so gets the wind - bring your storm straps and extra guy ropes! The location and beautiful sunsets more than make up for that.

The loo block is dated but freshly painted and spotlessly clean. Showers are push-button but lots of hot water and free! Washing-up area is under-cover, as is loo disposal and there is a payg washer plus dryer if you need it.

O2 and Three had no mobile phone signal. Sometimes EE did. There is a pay phone on site. Also you can sign up for the Camping and Caravan Club wifi deal. It works very well near the reception block but signal is poor on tent field. I believe TV signal isn't great but with views like that who needs it?

The Pembrokeshire coast and countryside is simply stunning. We visited St Davids - ice cream shop just off the square is highly recommended. Lots of wonderful beaches, coves, walks and castles to visit. If you are taking kids lots of good options like Folly Farm and Oakwood.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Traceywacey 1 review from this member

We had booked to stay at another campsite but when we got there we were very disappointed and decided not to stay.

From the moment we phoned this site till the time we left the customer service was absolutely brilliant. Both Stephen and Maureen the current managers take pride in their work and want people to feel welcome and have a good time. They were constantly working at keeping the site looking cared for, tidy and clean. They made sure people were happy with the facilities and were very friendly and welcoming. They had information about anything you needed and would help out as much as they could. Just to be clear they were always around if you needed them but not in your face.

We could not fault the facilities which were always spotlessly clean and cared for. The showers were always hot and really powerful. The bins were emptied regularly throughout the day. It was a pleasure to see how much this site was looked after so people enjoyed their stay.

This is a lovely site which is nice and quiet. Very dog friendly which is a must for us with four of them. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet of this site with lots of nice walks from the campsite.

Stephen and Maureen should be very proud of themselves because it is clear how much they care about this site and the people that come and stay.

Definitely would be happy to recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maz9999 31 reviews from this member

Pros and cons but we wouldn't return

Pros are superb location right next to the beach, very clean well maintained site. Wardens Friendly. TV reception for digital, we got all stations very well. Nice pub on the Beach about 20 mins walk

Cons

There is nothing else in the area, the next town about 30 mins walk along coastal path is nice but very quiet. We left a day early to see some life so went to prestatyn.

Wifi was free at the time but terrible

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dillonsma 6 reviews from this member

Mixed feeling on the site.

The facilities are tired but clean.

The wardens were very friendly and helpful.

For motor, o rs it is a bit our of the way and the bus service as very very limite.

We had a stunning walk to the blue lagoon and beyond along the coastal path.

A word of warning, do not purchase the site wifi, after paying 10 online we could not connect again for our whole stay. We queried with the warden and she said it hardly ever worked but she cold do nothing and could not refund. The CCC have still not refunded either saying we should have checked with warden first, no idea how we were supposed to know that!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doolieweasel 3 reviews from this member

If you want a campsite close to St David's I wouldn't recommend this campsite.

The facilities are clean and very nice.

The overseers of this campsite were rather rude to us and as such we would not recommend this campsite as it did rather tarnish our 2 day stay on a tour of Wales.

It is near a lovely blue lagoon in which you can go swimming.

I states it is near a pub but it is a long walk on narrow country roads so wouldn't recommend walking late at night.

Surrounded on all sides by roads so not ideal for children or dogs.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spicer1 9 reviews from this member

After telephoning the owner of this site,because we were lost, we arrived to a very warm welcome.

Couldn't get hook up this time as all pitches were full. But what we did get was a fabulous pitch overlooking the bay. It was very exposed though to the hurricane and torrential rain,which developed during the 3rd day of our stay.

The facilities were good with laundrette & wash up. Also a pay phone as there wasn't mobile signal at all. Everything was very clean. Good spot for visiting all the area.

We had to leave on the 4th day as the weather was still very damp,& I was feeling the cold. But all in all a nice site to visit especially in the summer months. Will certainly go back.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2808 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019